Begging for food and charity.

• 10-02-2013 04:08AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭

It was just before Christmas when I went into the city center to get some gifts for the family. It was pretty damn busy in Dublin at the time, people everywhere. I was walking up Grafton street on my way to HMV to buy the new Mumford and Sons album when I passed this lady with a buggy. At a glance I thought she was just another beggar looking for money. She had a buggy which was filled with blankets and pillows, I wasn't sure what to make of her. She was asking people for food. Now, I am used to people asking for a spare euro every now and again and I don't oblige, but I would sometimes offer a coffee or something only to be turned down and given looks of contempt.

There was something about this lady that made me slow down and take notice. She didn't look homeless, but she seemed quite desperate. She asked this old man for food, he looked at her and kept walking. My guess is that he wasn't that well off himself and wasn't able to offer her anything. This lady was very polite and courteous as to not hinder anybody. She didn't block peoples paths or act obnoxious to those who ignored her, which was a lot of people.

It's understandable, in town, to ignore people begging for food or money, but there was something about this lady that made me stop. Mumford and Sons could wait a while longer, I decided to see if I could offer something to this lady. As she was asking for food I offered to buy her a sandwich. She kindly thanked me and asked me if I would give her the price of a sandwich in the form of a coupon/voucher for Dunes Stores (Stephens green). This made me more curious and I asked her what did she need, it's was groceries she was after, a bag of carrots, spuds, some fish fingers and some tins of peas.

I said fcuk it, lets go to Dunnes and i'll get you a few bits. So we walked up Grafton street to Dunnes stores, all the way the lady thanked me. She was anxious too, in case I changed my mind or she lost me or something. We got to Dunnes anyway and I picked up a basket, I told her to get what she wanted (I wasn't going to pay for fillet steak or anything). She got some bread, ham, carrots, spuds, the usual basic groceries. She wasn't greedy at all, she asked me each time was it ok if she got X or Y. We ended up with a basket full of goods which she said would last her the week. It wasn't that expensive, about 30 euro.

I did tell the lady that I wouldn't give her money, she said she didn't want money at all, only some food to feed her kids. The poor divil. She was down from Sligo as her child was very ill and needed special care. I didn't intrude and ask what was wrong or anything. She was staying in a hostel and didn't have any money for food. Imagine, she went out onto the streets to beg for spuds and carrots to feed her kids.

It was only 30 euro, but in the shop I was asking her if she would like this or that and she declined on several occasions.

I'm not quite sure why I am telling ye this but I would hope that it will inspire some to give when you can. No matter how bad you think you have it, there are a lot of people who would dream of being in your position.

Have you ever done any charity work?

She wasn't greedy at all, she asked me each time was it ok if she got X or Y.

If you have kids the rings they'll run around you will be visible from space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

Aw that's a truly lovely thing to do, well done OP :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Seeing scams like that for years around Dublin city centre ,in this day and age I remember working on a door in town and watched a kinda distressed woman with a buggy approach and be approached by genuinely interested shopper's and yes she gave a sob story starving children and what not every hour or two people would take her into a dinner and buy a few bags of food again nothing fancy ,but then she would leave the bags with a friend and went on her walk about at about 5/5:30pm a van collected her and the friend along with about 50 bags some big some small of groceries and as she walked past various shops she would tell the various door staff see you tomorrow lads this went on for years ,and yes you could say the lady you helped was genuine she probably spent years perfecting her art of hook line and good Samaritan

Gatling wrote: »
    Seeing scams like that for years around Dublin city centre ,in this day and age I remember working on a door and watch a kinda distressed woman with a buggy approach and be approached by genuinely interested shopper's and yes she gave a sob story starving children and what not every hour or two people would take her into a dinner and buy a few bags of food again nothing fancy ,but then she would leave the bags with a friend and went on her walk about at about 5/5:30pm a van collected her and the friend along with about 50 bags a groceries and as she walked past various shops she would tell the various door staff see you tomorrow lads this went on for years ,and yes you could say the lady you helped was genuine she probably spent years perfecting her art of hook line and good Samaritan

I wonder if it's the same one who's spent the last 5 years just North of the Liffey varying her accent and recounting the story of the miscarriage she just had and how she doesn't have money for the bus back out wesht.

Buttonftw wrote: »

I wonder if it's the same one who's spent the last 5 years just North of the Liffey varying her accent and recounting the story of the miscarriage she just had and how she doesn't have money for the bus back out wesht.
    Sounds earily familiar

She started with an English accent, usually heading back to Leitrim or Mayo. The last couple of years she's managed to put on a non-descript Irish non-Dublin accent. Her boyfriend is still a dick though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭The Dagda

It was just before Christmas when I went into the city center to get some gifts for the family. It was pretty damn busy in Dublin at the time, people everywhere. I was walking up Grafton street on my way to HMV to buy the new Mumford and Sons album when I passed this lady with a buggy. At a glance I thought she was just another beggar looking for money. She had a buggy which was filled with blankets and pillows, I wasn't sure what to make of her. She was asking people for food. Now, I am used to people asking for a spare euro every now and again and I don't oblige, but I would sometimes offer a coffee or something only to be turned down and given looks of contempt.

There was something about this lady that made me slow down and take notice. She didn't look homeless, but she seemed quite desperate. She asked this old man for food, he looked at her and kept walking. My guess is that he wasn't that well off himself and wasn't able to offer her anything. This lady was very polite and courteous as to not hinder anybody. She didn't block peoples paths or act obnoxious to those who ignored her, which was a lot of people.

It's understandable, in town, to ignore people begging for food or money, but there was something about this lady that made me stop. Mumford and Sons could wait a while longer, I decided to see if I could offer something to this lady. As she was asking for food I offered to buy her a sandwich. She kindly thanked me and asked me if I would give her the price of a sandwich in the form of a coupon/voucher for Dunes Stores (Stephens green). This made me more curious and I asked her what did she need, it's was groceries she was after, a bag of carrots, spuds, some fish fingers and some tins of peas.

I said fcuk it, lets go to Dunnes and i'll get you a few bits. So we walked up Grafton street to Dunnes stores, all the way the lady thanked me. She was anxious too, in case I changed my mind or she lost me or something. We got to Dunnes anyway and I picked up a basket, I told her to get what she wanted (I wasn't going to pay for fillet steak or anything). She got some bread, ham, carrots, spuds, the usual basic groceries. She wasn't greedy at all, she asked me each time was it ok if she got X or Y. We ended up with a basket full of goods which she said would last her the week. It wasn't that expensive, about 30 euro.

I did tell the lady that I wouldn't give her money, she said she didn't want money at all, only some food to feed her kids. The poor divil. She was down from Sligo as her child was very ill and needed special care. I didn't intrude and ask what was wrong or anything. She was staying in a hostel and didn't have any money for food. Imagine, she went out onto the streets to beg for spuds and carrots to feed her kids.

It was only 30 euro, but in the shop I was asking her if she would like this or that and she declined on several occasions.

I'm not quite sure why I am telling ye this but I would hope that it will inspire some to give when you can. No matter how bad you think you have it, there are a lot of people who would dream of being in your position.

Is the new Mumford & Sons album any good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Seeing scams like that for years around Dublin city centre ,in this day and age I remember working on a door in town and watched a kinda distressed woman with a buggy approach and be approached by genuinely interested shopper's and yes she gave a sob story starving children and what not every hour or two people would take her into a dinner and buy a few bags of food again nothing fancy ,but then she would leave the bags with a friend and went on her walk about at about 5/5:30pm a van collected her and the friend along with about 50 bags some big some small of groceries and as she walked past various shops she would tell the various door staff see you tomorrow lads this went on for years ,and yes you could say the lady you helped was genuine she probably spent years perfecting her art of hook line and good Samaritan

Yea I had doubts myself, but I watched for a few moments before I approached her. She seemed genuine and she didn't approach anybody. I was in town a couple of times afterwards and never seen again. For the sake of 30 euro, it's a risk worth taking. I did offer to buy her beef and the likes, but what she got for that was some basic dinners to last her the week. She was really grateful and my heart went out to her. She didn't harp on about her kid or anything like that, you know?

I can only imagine how hard it is to go out on the street and beg for food, a few spuds, tin of peas etc etc. She was picking the cheapest of stuff and I was asking "you sure you don't want this one?" the better quality food. She declined it.

The Dagda wrote: »
    Is the new Mumford & Sons album any good?

It'll wait. It'll wait for you. Ad nauseum. On every ad ever.

By picking only fairly basic items and turning down more expensive items it doesn't draw attention to her or risk the Samaritan walking away its pretty ancient scam to be honest and yes you might not have seen her again doesn't mean she was genuine just moved to a different patch

"Oh no I just want to get home, I'll get the bus, forget about the train!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Thanks for the groceries OP, I sold them off and bought some drink. Thanks again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Buttonftw wrote: »

Fùcks sake lads, it was €30, not €300, it was a small gesture that made the OP feel like they did a good deed for the day. I'd have done the same tbh.

I meet a homeless chap on a fairly regular basis and in all the time I've known him, he's never asked for a penny from me, won't even let me take him in for a meal because he says he'll get looked at. He knows I won't give a flying fcuk, but he still has his pride. He'll hold out the cap for others alright, but something tells me it's more the fact he wants people to acknowledge that he exists rather than the euro or two they'll throw in his cap.

A few yards down from him is another regular beggar that sits at a phone box opposite an ATM. I wouldn't give this guy the steam off my pìss because he scowls at me like I'm scum.

There are some genuine down on their luck cases, there are some that you know they're a scam, but you don't care, and there are some that have chips the size of cinder blocks on their shoulders that expect you should feel sorry for them. I do, but only because they're so bitter at the world, not because they're homeless.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Fùcks sake lads, it was €30, not €300, it was a small gesture that made the OP feel like they did a good deed for the day. I'd have done the same tbh.

I meet a homeless chap on a fairly regular basis and in all the time I've known him, he's never asked for a penny from me, won't even let me take him in for a meal because he says he'll get looked at. He knows I won't give a flying fcuk, but he still has his pride. He'll hold out the cap for others alright, but something tells me it's more the fact he wants people to acknowledge that he exists rather than the euro or two they'll throw in his cap.

A few yards down from him is another regular beggar that sits at a phone box opposite an ATM. I wouldn't give this guy the steam off my pìss because he scowls at me like I'm scum.

There are some genuine down on their luck cases, there are some that you know they're a scam, but you don't care, and there are some that have chips the size of cinder blocks on their shoulders that expect you should feel sorry for them. I do, but only because they're so bitter at the world, not because they're homeless.

Nothing worse than a grumpy bum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

I know it's not done here in AH......but big hug to you OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

It can be hard to distinguish between who's genuine and who isn't. I would rather take the chance of them being a genuine case and give them food, rather then not doing anything about it at all and let them starve. Op did a good deed and should be proud, well done Op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,344 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

OP was probably scammed but it gave them a warm glow inside, plus they could afford the €30, so did anyone really get hurt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Is anyone thinking of the children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Not if you think that what you did was charity work. I have, on occasion, been scammed for "€2 for a hostel" though. For €30, I hope you got a major warm fuzzy. Because you were suckered.

One of the better pan-handling approaches is "I'm not going to lie to you - I need money for drink!". You would be surprised how many marks fall for that one.

My experience is that the people who actually need charity do not beg on the street. Label me cynical, but there you go.

"My wallet was stolen, and I need the bus fare home."

There are many variations on the theme, but you have to realise that it is always a tune on the fiddle.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I don't really get it regarding the scam thing. What was she going to do with a bag of cheap groceries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I've given a few homeless people food, they'd just be hanging around outside or inside a fast food place. Didn't go out of my way for them like you did though, OP. Just happened to be there at the time.

This past Christmas I signed up for something called the Christmas Angels program being run by the Salvation Army. They give you the name of a kid, their age, clothes sizes and a couple of toys the kid has asked for from Santy. All you need to buy is the two toys and the clothes are optional. He'll be the most pimped out 5 year old in his neighborhood. Got him some pretty cool clothes and runners.

I gave a homeless guy $100 in Las Vegas, I finished up 100 at the tables, in my logic I figured I got to drink for free all day, got a thrill and entertainment from gambling so I got my reward for the day.

Gave a lot to different charities the past year but have had a good year, work wise.

I didn't have my best year as a person. I let some people down, so have been trying to help others out to try to rid myself of guilt...so not completely selfless on my part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Not charity work but I did work for a charity if that counts.

Really nice thing to do op lets hope she was genuine. I know I use to get a bus on parnel street and people would be trying to sell you steaks and bags of carrots, no joke.

Also I never get those people buying tea and sandwiches, that costs about a fiver, least economical thing you could possibly buy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Why has the OP waited almost a month and a half to tell the story?

Thunly veiled boast about helping someone who was begging.

kneemos wrote: »
    Is anyone thinking of the children?

No, but it sounds like you have it covered. Even if they may not exist.

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Why has the OP waited almost a month and a half to tell the story?

Thunly veiled boast about helping someone who was begging.

Cynicism?really?on a Sunday morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Ah look. The OP did what hey thought was a good thing. The lady got her carrots & tea bags. Nobody lost an eye. Be nice.
    ( wouldn't do it myself in a flying fit and particularly never in town . Without food - in the city centre? Should have pointed her to temple bar Focus , Merchants Quay, Salvation Army, whitefriars street etc. three full free meals a day no questions asked. I don't get that!)

Cynicism?really?on a Sunday morning?

What has the day of the week got to do with anything?

juan.kerr wrote: »
    What has the day of the week got to do with anything?

Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

On the day I moved to Wexford many years ago, I was approached by a lady in the car park of the hotel where I was staying. She gave me a fairly harrowing account of her circumstances and, to cut a long story short, I gave her a few bob.

Anyway, I now know that this lady is probably the least deserving recipient of charity from anybody. I won't go in to details. However, from my point of view, I have no regrets on parting with the few bob. I would rather get caught out once or twice than ignore the genuine case where somebody is truly in distress

Jesus.

Manuel.

Am I doing it right? Random Spanish name dropping?