Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

I grew up like most children curious about paranormal stuff. I was pretty cynical however, even from a young age and brushed off stories by assuming it was just people making stuff up.

So when I was 7/8 I got the shock of my life. It was a Saturday morning and typically the first thing I always did was turn on the telly to watch cartoons. That morning, instead of turning the telly on, I sat down on the sofa. As I'm siting there I'm wondering, what the hell are you doing siting down go put the tv on you're being strange, so I look up at the tv screen and as I do that I can clearly see the reflection of archway to the kitchen on the glass. However, there was also a few children standing in the archway. They were smiling and holding eye contact, I still remember the clothing, hair and the fact their feet appeared to be in long grass. I wasn't scared, I honestly thought, oh these kids are in my house but they're looking kinda old fashioned, that's a little strange. So i turn my head to the archway to speak to them and I see a dark shadow flash over the glass on the door beside the archway. Thats when I felt the fear. Its hard to explain but in that instant I knew the shadow was bad news and it was like i considered it like a beast, not a dog but like a wolf. I quickly looked back in the tellys reflection for the children but they were gone.

Now to clear some things up, I never had imaginary friends ect. It wasn't a lack of sleep because I'm pretty sure it was like 11am. My home at that age wasn't some old house, it was the home my father built.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

I love this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

The night after grannys/grandfathers die is a busy night for spirits on this threads evidence! :)

P.S Great thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

A couple years ago, I was living down in Waterford but had been down home for the weekend. I always preferred driving that journey at night because there was less traffic. Anyhow, was coming through ballyraggart, just coming over the slight rise in the road when ahead of me, I saw someone laying in the road. It was about 1am, the whole town was deserted. I stopped in the middle of the road, didnt know what to do. Something in the back of my mind was telling me not to get out though, so I locked my door and was just about to reverse back the way I came, to call the guards when your man got up off the road and walked onto the path on the opposite side of the road. I drove on down slowly, noticed how he was dressed (like a scobie), gawking out at him and happened to just look across the road (on my side) and there was 2 more lads dressed similar outside the derelict hotel.

Not exactly creepy but scared the life out of me at the time. No doubt in my mind had to I stop and get out they'd have probably taken the car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

xLexie wrote: »
    A couple years ago, I was living down in Waterford but had been down home for the weekend. I always preferred driving that journey at night because there was less traffic. Anyhow, was coming through ballyraggart, just coming over the slight rise in the road when ahead of me, I saw someone laying in the road. It was about 1am, the whole town was deserted. I stopped in the middle of the road, didnt know what to do. Something in the back of my mind was telling me not to get out though, so I locked my door and was just about to reverse back the way I came, to call the guards when your man got up off the road and walked onto the path on the opposite side of the road. I drove on down slowly, noticed how he was dressed (like a scobie), gawking out at him and happened to just look across the road (on my side) and there was 2 more lads dressed similar outside the derelict hotel.

Not exactly creepy but scared the life out of me at the time. No doubt in my mind had to I stop and get out they'd have probably taken the car

Jeepers, you were lucky you didn't stop. I was reading at the weekend how many people are no longer stopping for breakdowns on the side of the road as sometimes it's a ruse for robbery!

I wouldn't have even thought of that :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

xLexie wrote: »

Very similar story posted earlier in the thread from reddit except set in america.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Brad768

HoggyRS wrote: »
    Very similar story posted earlier in the thread from reddit except set in america.
    Was talking to the guy on twitter and he was saying he plans to go back to that scene sometime soon, for old times sake lol :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Piriz

i wrote this in a boards thread called 'Spookiest experience of your life' over a year ago...it belongs here too...

In 2011 i was on a clinical placement in a mental health hospital in Maryland in the US. The hospital dates back to the late 1800s it is made up of scores of buildings on a huge campus: 6 or 7 times the size of St.Stephens Green. Many of the buildings are disused and dilapidated surrounded by overgrown grass, weeds, ivy, trees etc. The dilapidated buildings are very impressive red brick with great features and lower windows and doors are boarded up. The hospital once held 4000 mentally ill patients, now its about 600 after deinstitutionalisation etc.

I was staying in the employees dorm on the campus and felt safe around the place. After a night out on the beer I went up to an area on my own where there is about 20 derelict buildings. Its pitch black but im not really a believer of the paranormal etc. and was quite drunk and considering the history of the place I thought it’d be fun and spooky. So I had a wander around right through for a while and really enjoyed it.

The following weekend after the pub I decided I would do it again but this time borrowed a camera off my intern buddy to capture some pics of the spookiness. Again I was on my own, it was colder and darker and I was less drunk and a little bit more scared and cautious.

It was about 2am & so dark i needed to stand so close to the buildings to get the flash to light up the picture..(you'll see the pics attached below) anyway i was walking on a 4 direction open walled roofed path that linked 4 huge buildings..I imagine patients probably paced these paths when this part of the hospital was operational (maybe they didnt). I was nearing the intersection looking forward into the darkness. This is the best part of the whole place and my camera stopped working when I got onto the 4 way path. All of a sudden as im walking forward into the pitch darkness there is this huge loud bang sound; like if you pushed over a table, the sound came from straight ahead somewhere in the pitch black, i stopped dead in my tracks and starred forward with my heart beating... my bottle of beer became my weapon of defence as i switched the way i held it in my hand.. i waited to hear further sounds to get more information..i heard nothing and after about 15 seconds i decided to get the hell out of there... i turned and ran, turning to look back to see if i was being followed or chased every few seconds... i got to a lit up part within 20 or 30 seconds and started walking again..i decided to give up..it was too freaky..and the camera i had borrowed had died so i couldnt get more pics..then all of a sudden..a flash came from the direction i had ran away from..it was ****in weird..i thought ‘was that a camera or what is going on, did someone just take a picture of me from the darkness?’.. im not entirely sure what happened up there that night but i didnt going up there again...

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/131747/178531.jpg
    https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/131747/178532.jpg
    https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/131747/178533.jpg
    https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/131747/178534.jpg
    https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/131747/178535.jpg

Last pic below is of the 4 way open roofed path..this is the last pic i took..when i took it i walked onto the path in the middle of the photo and headed towards the intersection (at the left).. i took the camera out but the zoom would just go back in and switch off i tried to get it working a few times but the battery was dead...5 seconds later...huge loud Bang!

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/131747/178536.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Piriz, I'm not seeing anything except a red light in picture 4...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Piriz, I'm not seeing anything except a red light in picture 4...

I'm not sure they're claiming there's anything in the pictures to be seen, just showing us pictures of the place where something odd happened.

Maybe there was someone else up around there creeping about too? Which would freak me out a lot more than a ghost, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Really enjoying this thread!

As kids we always went to the UK for our summer holiday (different parts, usually seaside resorts), and one year we went to Blackpool.

On our first full day there, we got up and had breakfast and my Dad decided he'd nip down and get the paper.
    My Mam said "OK, I'll take the kids for a walk along the beach and we'll meet you at the cafe (can't remember the name of it)".
    So off my Dad went and my Mam took me (I was about 8 at the time) and my sister (4 at the time) for a stroll along the beach.

In Blackpool you've got the beach and the promenade which runs alongside the road.

I remember after walking for about five minutes, my Mam kept looking behind her and after a minute or two, she grabbed our hands and said "C'mon walk quickly."
    Just as she said that, Dad was crossing the road, with a weird look on his face, like he was angry and he was walked past us and started to run but looking in that direction, there was nobody there.

At the time I don't know what had happened, but when I got older my Mam told me she had seen a man following us as we walked.
    She said she kept looking back and he was walking faster and he looked really sinister.
    Then as luck would have it, she looked across the road and my Dad was there.
    Turned out, he had also seen the man following us and had crossed the road quickly to join us and the man had scarpered after my Dad was about to give chase.

Mam always says she shudders when she thinks what might have happened if my Dad hadn't have been there.

The man had obviously seen a woman with two young girls and thought ...well, who knows what he though *shudder*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

fussyonion wrote: »
    Really enjoying this thread!

As kids we always went to the UK for our summer holiday (different parts, usually seaside resorts), and one year we went to Blackpool.

On our first full day there, we got up and had breakfast and my Dad decided he'd nip down and get the paper.
    My Mam said "OK, I'll take the kids for a walk along the beach and we'll meet you at the cafe (can't remember the name of it)".
    So off my Dad went and my Mam took me (I was about 8 at the time) and my sister (4 at the time) for a stroll along the beach.

In Blackpool you've got the beach and the promenade which runs alongside the road.

I remember after walking for about five minutes, my Mam kept looking behind her and after a minute or two, she grabbed our hands and said "C'mon walk quickly."
    Just as she said that, Dad was crossing the road, with a weird look on his face, like he was angry and he was walked past us and started to run but looking in that direction, there was nobody there.

At the time I don't know what had happened, but when I got older my Mam told me she had seen a man following us as we walked.
    She said she kept looking back and he was walking faster and he looked really sinister.
    Then as luck would have it, she looked across the road and my Dad was there.
    Turned out, he had also seen the man following us and had crossed the road quickly to join us and the man had scarpered after my Dad was about to give chase.

Mam always says she shudders when she thinks what might have happened if my Dad hadn't have been there.

The man had obviously seen a woman with two young girls and thought ...well, who knows what he though *shudder*.

That's creepy as hell. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Janedoe10

Piriz wrote: »
    i wrote this in a boards thread called 'Spookiest experience of your life' over a year ago...it belongs here too...

In 2011 i was on a clinical placement in a mental health hospital in Maryland in the US. The hospital dates back to the late 1800s it is made up of scores of buildings on a huge campus: 6 or 7 times the size of St.Stephens Green.

Your story compelled me to google the Hosps in Maryland came across this link for the US . Any one of these are contenders for spooky spots http://www.travora.com/articles/afflicted-11-abandoned-american-hospitals-and-asylums-open-for-exploration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

In the Summer of last year I decided to bring my 3 year old Son to my Aunties grave as she had a soft spot for me and him when he was born,now a bit of history on my Auntie,she was a medium(if you believe in that type of thing or not)and a freakishly good one,when she met my Sons Mother for the first time she spoke about her stepfathers damaged leg and how he would get better etc I had never told anyone in my house about him,anyways at my Sons christening she told my Sister in law that she had taken the last picture of her(with my son in her arms)and died a few weeks later,roll on a year and a half and im up at the grave when my Son starts pointing just beside the grave and starts running after "the kitty" and runs about 10 feet before he turns around and back to the grave where he said the cat went,I asked him to describe the cat and he told me its a ginger called Tigger......my dead cat which she loved,he told me the woman is taking care of him now.

Another story was not soon after she had died my Son had begun crawling and one day while busy and not paying attention(I never made the same mistake again)his baby Piano made a noise and a key lit up(you literally had to press down on of these things to make noise and light up)I looked up and he wasnt there,I ran into the hall and found him in the messy spare room he had just crawled in and there where bags of stuff he could easily choke on or pull the tv down on himself etc something inside me told me it was her that made that toy go off.

I went to a medium last year and she told me im surrounded by spirits and that she had never seen so many in one go,apparently there where 7 when I walked in 3 I personally didnt know :confused: which I found strange but it didnt freak me out.

AAAAAAAAND finally a funny one,in my ex's house they told me theres a spirit of a woman that stays upstairs I didnt know wether to believe that or not until one day when my ex was dropping her Brothers to school I stayed in bed and after a few minutes I woke up as someone got into the bed,I said back already and fell straight back asleep.......well im woken up again to find my ex getting into the bed and I said what did you get out of bed for when you only got in.......she says im only in the door......needless to say that freaked me out.....I was Ghost spooned:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭Wurly

wilkie2006 wrote: »
    I think I've met that chap before. Along with the pictures, he's got fairy lights all along the interior of his car? I think he does an Elvis impersonator show too...? Yea, I thought he was a bit of an odd character too when I met him...

That's the one. Mad loon.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭pitythefool

Janedoe10 wrote: »
    Piriz wrote: »

In 2011 i was on a clinical placement in a mental health hospital in Maryland in the US. The hospital dates back to the late 1800s it is made up of scores of buildings on a huge campus: 6 or 7 times the size of St.Stephens Green.

Your story compelled me to google the Hosps in Maryland came across this link for the US . Any one of these are contenders for spooky spots http://www.travora.com/articles/afflicted-11-abandoned-american-hospitals-and-asylums-open-for-exploration[/Quote]

could be the setting for Batman Arkham Asylum the game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Great thread. Reminds me of something that happened me a good few years ago now. Funny how we encounter really strange things but put them away in our brains and don't really think of them. Well, that's what this is like for me.

I lived in the UK in my early twenties - doing further study for a year in a university in the English Midlands. The campus (I lived in halls of residence) was at the edge of town and I would often put hiking boots on and walk off campus, through some housing estates and would be on very pleasant walking tracks leading up into a woods and beyond, into the English countryside. Would normally do 5-10 miles of a Sunday morning.

One morning I did just that. It was a really, really nice April morning. Sunny and warm. Could walk in just a jumper. About an hour into the walk - close enough to the spot where I would normally turn to head back - I hopped over a stile and walking towards we along the side of a field was woman in her late 40s. I remember thinking she looked quite attractive but was dressed for dropping the kids to school rather than a good walk. She had neat, red hair, a white, floaty shirt/blouse and grey trousers. Looked to have very light, flat shoes...not walking shoes, almost slippers.

Anyway, I stop for a second, she keeps coming towards me - 20m - 10m. I, being the shy type, stepped slightly off the path and made to head around her and continue on as she - I presumed wanted to go over the stile. As I said, I was shy, so I looked down at the path as she came nearer so that she didn't think I was staring. On looking up though, expecting her to be right next to me, there was no sign of her. Nothing.

I was dumbfounded. I looked around me and there was no sign of her. There was no way she would have gotten by me without me seeing her (her feet at least, even if I kept staring at the ground). I was a bit rattled, so instead of turning around on the path, I went on, came out onto a road and walked straight back.

I made the mistake of saying it to people in class afterwards and they found it hysterical, gave me **** about it. But to this day, I can't figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

I went to a medium last year and she told me im surrounded by spirits and that she had never seen so many in one go,apparently there where 7 when I walked in 3 I personally didnt know :confused: which I found strange but it didnt freak me out.

Whether you believe in ghosts or not, if someone told me that I'd literally cack my britches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Pudders

I live in an old georgian house. One day I came home from work and I could hear the radio on full blast in the kitchen. I thought it was a bit odd as we rarely put the radio on. Walked into the kitchen and the ghetto blaster was unplugged with no batteries in the blaster. Couldn't figure out how the hell that happened. Told my girlfriend and she didn;t believe me.

About a week later, at 3 in the morning, we were woken the TV on full blare. I had assumed that there had been a power cut and the TV had switched itself on. Went down and again it wasn't plugged in. This time the girlfriend came with me as she was to afraid to stay upstairs on her own.

We've had a few other strange occurences in the house but nothing as odd as either of those. To this day I still don't understand how either happened. Frightened me but scared the hell out of my girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

I was on the Luas the other day and I got a text from my mother telling me daddy had been fired from KPMG. I started crying and a man beside me tried to comfort me. As nice as this was, I wanted to be alone. So I put my headphones in only to have him actually take them out of my ear and pat me on the back. I screamed at him and he got off at the next stop.

I think his name was Ted something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭burstbuckle

The_Gatsby wrote: »
    I was on the Luas the other day and I got a text from my mother telling me daddy had been fired from KPMG. I started crying and a man beside me tried to comfort me. As nice as this was, I wanted to be alone. So I put my headphones in only to have him actually take them out of my ear and pat me on the back. I screamed at him and he got off at the next stop.

I think his name was Ted something?

Ha Ha was just reading that other thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

I thought I would share a few stories a friend in work has told me. She's married with two young kids (5 & 2) and they live in an old house.

The first is the 5 year old has an imaginary friend. Nothing too strange about that. However one night as they lay in bed they heard childrens footsteps running in the hall outside their bedroom. Thinking it was their 5 year old her husband got up to put him back in bed.Went out in the hall, nobody there. Checked on the kids and they were fast asleep. This has happened a few times.

Another day the 5 year old asked my friend "Mam, do we own this house ?". "Of course we do. Why would you ask ?" "Well the angry old woman in the orange light says it is her house". The previous owner, an elderly woman, died in her sleep in the house.

The last incident happened at Christmas. The kids were excited about the whole thing so the husband was in with the 2 year old trying to get him to sleep and my friend was doing the same with the 5 year old. Just as the 5 year old was about to drop off, my friend heard a male voice say her childs name. This woke the child again and it took her another 20 minutes to get the kid to sleep. My friend went in to her husband to give out about waking their son. He had no idea what she was talking about and said he hadn't said or called out the childs name. She believes him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 64478339

The Mother told me this storyfew years ago. It happened her when she was younger and made the hairs on my next stand up and still does!

Her family were always into guns and hunting. One day,she was in the room with her brother,my uncle, and he got his rifle out from the press. He proceeded to point it at her and joke like he was going to fire it. She started feaking out, screaming , cursing and yelling at him in tears- as you would! He realised in an instant he had gone too far and put it down, having only wanted to give her a fright.

He then sat down and went about cleaning the gun etc. My mother said then that she saw his face turn chalk white and he went completely silent. Unbeknownst to him or her, the gun was loaded. He said that the only reason he didn't pull the trigger when he pointed it at her was that she had freaked out so much and was a split second away from doing so.

Mam said he wasn't right for a long time afterwards and ended up scaring himself much more than her! Made me think about how close I came to not existing also if he had of pulled the trigger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Janedoe10

Friend in kerry her dad told her in the 70's driving from Killarney to sneem up thru national park . It's a desolate place boggy area by the road . It was dusk so getting dark but still bright enough to see . A woman in the bogland kept up with the car as he drive back to sneem . Looked like she was running . Long raggedy hair there was no human way that she could have done that unless she was flying .
    Gives me shivers if I drive that way now does not help when the fog closes in ... Prob banshee I guess .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

Not scary or freaky but here goes.
    When I was about 8, I lived in a block of flats in Ballinteer.
    It was night. Me and my neighbour were up one end of the balcony, looking over and taking ****e. We lived on the top floor so we could see right over Dublin.
    My Dad and his dad were down the other end having a chat.

The two of us suddenly spotted something in the sky. It would have been over the Terenure/Harolds Cross area. It was high up, but under the clouds. It was motionless. It was completely white in lights, all over. So it couldnt be a plane. It was too big to be a helicopter.
    It would have had to have been about the height of two stacked articulated lorries but only half the length.
    A few seconds later it just went up in to the clouds and was gone from sight.

To this day I don't tell people because they put it down to my childish imagination but I know what I saw. He knows what he saw but he denied it from the following day onwards.

I know what I saw was not an ordinary flying machine.

This happened in around 1997 or 1998 at the latest.

Was more than likely late summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭TheRealSquishy

Sitting in my car in a forecourt of a closed petrol station the other night around midnight with the bf, chatting away for a while before I drove up for college. Next thing we hear a bloodcurdling scream coming from really nearby. Im afraid of my own shadow and nearly sh1t myself and locked all the doors. The bf was trying to convince me it was an animal but then it kept it up for a few minutes and started to sound more and more like a child screaming, like real terrified kinda screams.

I decided I'd have to go and help in case it was a child and someone was hurting them or was after breaking in and hurting their parents or something (my imagination is always on overdrive). Was trying to decide whether to ring the guards or go out myself when a cat appears beside the car..it was a cat all along. I'm absolutely terrified of cats and the bf always gives out to me for it..not anymore, he was just as scared :P

Sounds kinda ridiculous now but it was so fcukin scary! At least it proves my point though, they're definitely evil little baxtards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭FueledByAisling

Brad768 wrote: »
    Was talking to the guy on twitter and he was saying he plans to go back to that scene sometime soon, for old times sake lol :)

I think he should along with everyone from After hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭TheminxIRL

This didnt happen to me but my daughter who was taking a shower in her Nanny's house a couple of years ago.

She was in he shower and was rubbing shampoo into her hair when she heard a male voice shout her name. She got a fright and looked but there was no one there. There have been no males in the house since my father died a few years ago. She was convinced it was her Grandads voice.

So she starts to rush finishing to get out of the bathroom because she is a bit freaked out and her nose starts to bleed badly. She rarely if ever gets a nose bleed so she jumped out of the shower to sort her nose out and when she was sorted went to get back in and rinse off the suds etc but as she went to get in again the shower went off. Tried it over and over and asked her Aunt downstairs to check the fuse box and see if it had tripped.

No it hadnt so my daughter had to finish rinsing her hair in the sink, not blessed pleased either.

Did tell her Nanny and Aunt about hearing her Grandad shouting her name, neither dismissed this as a few things have happened since he passed.

Next day the plumber/electrician come to check out the shower and electrics, they open the unit and are looking at each other in shock. Turn to my mother and tell her that if my daughter had stayed in any longer she would have been electrocuted because the wiring was completely worn and two wires were touching each other which is why the shower wouldnt come back on

Had Hayley stayed in and not gotten the nose bleed from nowhere and stepped out of the shower and then the shower going off as she was about to get back in, she more than likely would have been electrocuted.

We all firmly believe that my Dad was watching over Hayley that day and when she didnt get out when he shouted he some how caused her nose bleed so she would have to.

So many things have happened at home since he died and all amazing and completely unexplainable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭circadian

Was on the Luas a few nights ago after a tough day at work. Was having a little sob to myself and the guy beside me patted me on the back and pulled out my earphones. Weirdo!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

circadian wrote: »
    Was on the Luas a few nights ago after a tough day at work. Was having a little sob to myself and the guy beside me patted me on the back and pulled out my earphones. Weirdo!!!

It must have a been a big decision to post that, weighing up the "is this funny or not" factor.

You picked the wrong option. It is not.