Pub that's open at 10am on Saturday

• 01-02-2013 12:34PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭

Meeting up with some old mates tommorrow. Is there any pubs that are open and serving at 10am?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

snaps wrote: »
    Meeting up with some old mates tommorrow. Is there any pubs that are open and serving at 10am?

I think Freeney's pub is open on Quay Street but not 100% on that.
    Several hotels will be open I'm sure around the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Buskers opens at 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,083 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

I suspect opening time isn't officially 'til 10:30. But you might be successful in Woodquay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

http://www.galwaycitypubguide.com/

If the opening hours aren't up trying ringing a few.

Anyone that opens for breakfast will be open at 10am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,181 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

amiable wrote: »
    I think Freeney's pub is open on Quay Street but not 100% on that.
    Several hotels will be open I'm sure around the city.
    High Street. Id agree on Woodquay, you might even get in before 9 if you know the right knock.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

10.30 is fine but I know a lot of places don't open till midday-ish!

I know the law is 10.30, but many places don't open till later. Thanks guys, anywhere in the centre is grand. Would be great to have a meeting place arranged 1st. I can ring before hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Ascii

i see a super saturday happening :D. Rugby all evening would be class....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

I know the law is 10.30, but many places don't open till later. Thanks guys, anywhere in the centre is grand. Would be great to have a meeting place arranged 1st. I can ring before hand.

Failing that, bottle o' bucky up behind the cathedral, if the weather is with ye :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Garveys

Zzippy wrote: »
    Garveys

Now thats a blast from the past, used to be my old haunt when i lived in Galway. Ill give them a ring so. Fairly handy place as well with the train station and bus station nearby. Thanks lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I don't think there's any early houses left in the city.
    An Pucan maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

The Market Licences still exist. Not sure if Taffes, Murphys etc. still use them though.

Yes i remember having a pint early in the "Trad" pub opposite Taffs,next to Bank of Ireland

Opening time officially is 10.30 by law? So even if we have to wait somewhere for a few minutes, its not the end of the world! A few of us are all getting into Galway around 10, thats why im asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Yep 10-30 but the Market Pubs can open at 8 on a Saturday if they are keeping up the licence. I'm never in town that early these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,083 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Yes i remember having a pint early in the "Trad" pub opposite Taffs,next to Bank of Ireland

Opening time officially is 10.30 by law? So even if we have to wait somewhere for a few minutes, its not the end of the world! A few of us are all getting into Galway around 10, thats why im asking.

Coili's still has the market license but he doesn't usually use it to open. Doesn't have a tv either so no good for rugby heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

High Street. Id agree on Woodquay, you might even get in before 9 if you know the right knock.;)

Sorry. I'm a blow in :)

I know I watched a Rugby match in Freeney's early one Saturday morning a couple of years ago.