Developer missing for 8 months found starving on roadside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭thomasm

The thing i found extremely strange when i read the story was that he was reported missing 8 months ago, but there was never an appeal made to find him. Seems kinda odd.

Lots go missing every year, mayby he was not considered 'vulnerable' and no appeal was issued. Just speculating though

• Site Banned Posts: 49 johnnycarrick

Looking at where he was found, I would say it was an ex-Provo tiger kidnapping (possibly gone wrong). They would have held him until sufficient funds were secured for his release. That would explain his apparent Amnesia about the last 8 months. The ransom was paid, and he was released with a mobile phone so he could be found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Missing for 8 months.
    Emaciated.
    No clothes or shoes.
    No money.

8 months is a long time to be knocking around especially having come through a very cold period recently, with no clothes and no shoes.
    If he was living rough surely someone, somewhere saw him in this condition?
    Ireland's not THAT big a place.
    He must have eaten something over the last 8 months, so again someone must have seen him somewhere given how dishevelled he must have looked he would have been remarkable.

Torch.
    Mobile phone.

For these to be the only belongings found with him is bizarre.
    Both battery powered.
    If he has been living rough for 8 months both would be out of power long ago so why would he be carrying them around with him.

VERY odd to say the least and would love to know the juicies on this:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

If he was being held for ransom, it could explain him being released in the middle of the night in a remote area and being given a torch to see by and a phone to call his family.
    I'm sure all will be explained eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭marvsins

Anyone know how long it would take for life assurance policy to pay out, if he was assumed dead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I think it was the Provisional-ARA. They're like the regular NAMA, but they don't feck about with the niceities..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

With just the facts that we know right now it's a mad story. It's like an episode of the xfiles or something. I wonder what will come of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

All he can remember is walking,with lights coming towards him.Probably something to do with his cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭marketty

I heard another mad story durin the week. This young one took €350,000 out of ATMs over a year and has no recollection of how she spent it.

Aliens IMHO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 betterfly

I could write a book on KMM, rather than a post. Buy the newspapers tomorrow as there is alot more to this story than is being reported right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

marketty wrote: »
    I heard another mad story durin the week. This young one took €350,000 out of ATMs over a year and has no recollection of how she spent it.

Aliens IMHO

Ah they didn't happen to mention how she managed to take it, did they?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Liamario

He must recall something in fairness. He doesn't have amnesia and I doubt the scum who had him kept him comatose or something; I mean what would be the point in doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Auldloon

betterfly wrote: »
    I could write a book on KMM, rather than a post. Buy the newspapers tomorrow as there is alot more to this story than is being reported right now.

Intrigued!! Go on give us a bone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Headline should read;

Man In Miracle Rescue From Irish Wilderness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

I did read comments by other big developer Bernard McNamarra I think it was ?
    He said some Irish people were left in a bad way mentally from the property boom. He said that there was some Irishman walking around the South of France talking to himself.

Now treating the man as a human first, maybe it is him and he doesn't remember a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

P_1 wrote: »
    Sounds like he had some sort of nervous breakdown.

Could easily happen especially if he got ruined financially.

I once had a breakdown in Leitrim and it took 8 months for another car to pass.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭tenton

Looking at where he was found, I would say it was an ex-Provo tiger kidnapping (possibly gone wrong). They would have held him until sufficient funds were secured for his release. That would explain his apparent Amnesia about the last 8 months.
    Right enough, there was a provo kidnapping in the eighties and the captive was held in Leitrim. A Guard and / or Irish soldier was killed in his rescue.

Thing is, why kidnap a property developed in 2012? They have no money now. Unless someone paid a deposit and it all went wrong...?
    Very intriguing story. He must have ate something or had some shelter over the past 8 months. Someone knows something.

• Site Banned Posts: 49 johnnycarrick

tenton wrote: »
    Right enough, there was a provo kidnapping in the eighties and the captive was held in Leitrim. A Guard and / or Irish soldier was killed in his rescue.

Thing is, why kidnap a property developed in 2012? They have no money now. Unless someone paid a deposit and it all went wrong...?
    Very intriguing story. He must have ate something or had some shelter over the past 8 months. Someone knows something.

There are a lot of retired ex-Provo's around Ballinamore. Not all of them received a pension from the Northern Bank robbery in Belfast. That has left them effectively out of work since The Troubles ended, with no pension from the RA.
    Tiger kidnappings are their speciality. A Property Developer is the ideal soft target, low security with links to people with large sums of ransom cash.
    No money in 2012? Don't you believe it. Just look at Sean Quinn's daughter withdrawing 340,000 Euro from an ATM in Blanchardstown at 1000 per day! Plenty of Property Developers have money stashed from the boom years to tide them over. And that's what makes them a target for the ex-Provo's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

i think its a little early to jump to conclusions like kidnapping, ransoms and terrorists

Russian mafia ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

According to The Star he had other business interests apart from property

The Star understands that as well as fronting KMM International Properties, Mr McGeever is also the registered owner of KMM Oilplus and KMM Aviation Worldwide....And in April 2012 he created KMM Aviation Worldwide, which, according to its website, specialises in the sale of new and used Airbus and Boeing passenger planes.

The website offers aircraft priced between US$45m and US$95m.

The Leitrim Observer has the following details

....had a serious injury to his forehead......

Mr McGeever was wearing socks and had a plastic bag covering his clothes. He had no money on him but had a mobile phone and a torch in his possession.

Was the plastic bag covering his clothes to stop forensic evidence from transferring?:pac:

Very strange case indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,868 ✭✭✭jd

I'm not sure how to input this into my "duck test" analyser,

Tommorows independent has the story that he had an insult carved in his forehead and was abducted at gunpoint 8 months ago by 3 armed, masked men from the garden of his home. They were looking for a ransom but he didn't know whether it had been paid or not. The gang gave him the mobile phone when they released him and told him to keep it on him at all times.

i think its a little early to jump to conclusions like kidnapping, ransoms and terrorists

Russian mafia ???

You win the daily Mail Award :)
    Headline in the Irish Daily Mail

RUSSIAN MAFIA KIDNAPPED AND TORTURED ME :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

As far as I know things aren't that bad in Dubai but frankly Leitrim is a bit of a hell hole. No wonder he's in trouble. Frankly any developer worth his salt will have hidden money in Russia or whatever. Where did he go wrong.

Must have forgotten his Russian bank pin number. That has to be bad. Luckily those dim witted Quinn kids rememberered theirs even if they don't know how they spent it. Typical rich kids, stuffed it up their nose probably or spent it in Brown Thomas.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭2rkehij30qtza5

Boombastic wrote: »
    Tommorows independent has the story that he had an insult carved in his forehead

The word 'thief' was carved into his forehead.

Yep and owed money to the IRA aswell as the Russians. He was kept in a container for the past few months.

The sun has the following vital additional information:D

“He said at the garda station he hadn’t eaten for God knows how long. I offered to pop out for chips and he said he’d only eat them with curry.”..........................................................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Is it wrong that I found this funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

Definitely sounds like he has some kind of mental illness, and it does sound like he may have had a mental breakdown. Also, Ireland's not Oz, our wilderness isn't real wilderness in that if you were walking around in the mountains or anywhere remote for 8 months you would definitely come across a town or somewhere that's populated at some point. Someone would see you. It's all very strange.

Mental Illness:confused:

Do you reckon he carved the word 'Thief' in to his own forehead?

he couldn't have done, he had no mirror on him:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭thomasm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

probably a scam! oh no I lost weight, I could make myself look like **** in two week if needed