Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loungers who Lunch; Cake, Bovril and Penguins...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

bluewolf wrote: »
    Yeah, tesco, spar etc
    it's beside the normal milk and avonmore do their brand with it as well

The one I've seen comes in a cow patterned carton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Booked a night away next weekend. For our night away, plus dinner each, we will have to pay the grand total of €10 thanks to the voucher we got before Christmas.

I'm ridiculously excited and plan on spending the next week beautifying myself.

Have you lactose intolerant ladies tried hazelnut milk? I heard it's lovely. I'm dying to try it.

Stheno wrote: »
    The one I've seen comes in a cow patterned carton

Yeah that'll be the lactofree lads
    http://popsop.ru/wp-content/uploads/arla_life.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

I've heard almond milk is lovely too

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

bluewolf wrote: »
    Yeah that'll be the lactofree lads
    http://popsop.ru/wp-content/uploads/arla_life.jpg

Brilliant packaging :)

Ah_Yeah wrote: »

But marzipan is made of almonds.

206-eww.jpg

Whispered wrote: »
    But marzipan is made of almonds.

Almond butter is also delicious :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Cerulean Chicken

Dear God you know it's time to eat when you've got the shakes. Have just eaten breakfast/lunch, had to make it with shaking hands, eat it with shaking hands -and nearly ate the whole wrap in one go I was so hungry at this stage- and am waiting for my hands to stop shaking now. Oopsies :o Apparently my "must lose weight!" mindset is in overdrive today.

Stheno wrote: »
    Almond butter is also delicious :)

Does that taste like marzipan?

No it's like smooth peanut butter, but not as overpowering in taste, it's slightly sweet. I used have it on oatcakes for breakfast.

I has a hot water bottle in work :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I'm on a quick break so I said I'd go on a quick rant.

The topic: My new housemate.

Now, as you may no I am a Dub residing in Galway. I have been here a few years now and I like it. The only thing I miss about Dublin are the shops.

So this new housemate of mine is a Dub. You'd think we'd get along? No. He is what I like to call a 'on holidays Dub'. He is very a loud. He likes to call the other people in the house 'culchies' and 'muck savages' and nudges me when he does it. I do not nudge back nor do I partake in calling anyone these names.

He arrives and one of the first things he says is 'Do youiis get up early in the morning? 'cos like I get up REEEEEEEALL early.' I get up at 6. Told him this and his reply was 'Ahhh heyor like, I get up at 8'. 8 o'clock early? Would ya get away out of that!

'Can I get yisser numba's incase I come home locked and can't get the key in the door. I've got two phones ya know, dunno which numba to give yis'. I reluctantly give him my number.

He then proceeds to tell us all about the 'pure deadly' job he's banked himself in Galway. 'Like I'm de manager of all of dem. I can fire people. I'm planning on given out a warning to this waster next week and if he starts crying I'm gonna just walk out of the room and laugh so hard that he can hear me.' - You sir are charming and defiantly management material.

He's got two phones ya know.

'I have a REEEEAAAL healthy diet so I do. Like I have an Actimel first thing in the morning then when I get to work I have 0% yogurt, maybe 2. Then I have a few sandwiches for lunch, couple of biscuits. Chops and veg for dinner'. Now as some of you might know I'm very much into my 'healthy eating' and this ladies and gentlemen is not 'Healthy Eating'. I explained to him that it wasn't actually that healthy at all and that the 0% yogurts have quite a lot of sugar in them. 'NOOOO WAY! Jesus that's mad isn't it. I'll cut them out and just have another sandwich.' The guy eats, wait for it, 5 sandwiches a day. Actually sandwich is a bit of an exaggeration. He has bread with butter on it. His 'few biscuits' is actually a half packet of biscuits.

Last night he has a GENIUS idea. 'Here lads, lets all do a come dine with me night, be deadly it would be.' I exchanged a look of pure confusion to my other housemate who gave me the same one back. The other housemate never cooks, ever. He gets dinner in work and if he doesn't he gets some sort of take away. I on the other hand love to cook but I am in my hole cooking for them.

BTW, did i mention that he's got two phones?

So that's all for now. He actually sounds quite harmless but try living with him. I might update with more stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Dear God you know it's time to eat when you've got the shakes. Have just eaten breakfast/lunch, had to make it with shaking hands, eat it with shaking hands -and nearly ate the whole wrap in one go I was so hungry at this stage- and am waiting for my hands to stop shaking now. Oopsies :o Apparently my "must lose weight!" mindset is in overdrive today.

Down a big glass of milk first, then start making. That should ease the shaking hands thing for long enough...

[edit] Oh, and, Pregnant?...

;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Himself ordered Reese's peanut butter for me from the States :) It's the filling from the peanut butter cups in a jar, NYOM. I should have made PB cups with it but most of it seems to have myseriously disappeared...

I'm on a quick break so I said I'd go on a quick rant.

The topic: My new housemate.

Now, as you may no I am a Dub residing in Galway. I have been here a few years now and I like it. The only thing I miss about Dublin are the shops.

So this new housemate of mine is a Dub. You'd think we'd get along? No. He is what I like to call a 'on holidays Dub'. He is very a loud. He likes to call the other people in the house 'culchies' and 'muck savages' and nudges me when he does it. I do not nudge back nor do I partake in calling anyone these names.

He arrives and one of the first things he says is 'Do youiis get up early in the morning? 'cos like I get up REEEEEEEALL early.' I get up at 6. Told him this and his reply was 'Ahhh heyor like, I get up at 8'. 8 o'clock early? Would ya get away out of that!

'Can I get yisser numba's incase I come home locked and can't get the key in the door. I've got two phones ya know, dunno which numba to give yis'. I reluctantly give him my number.

He then proceeds to tell us all about the 'pure deadly' job he's banked himself in Galway. 'Like I'm de manager of all of dem. I can fire people. I'm planning on given out a warning to this waster next week and if he starts crying I'm gonna just walk out of the room and laugh so hard that he can hear me.' - You sir are charming and defiantly management material.

He's got two phones ya know.

'I have a REEEEAAAL healthy diet so I do. Like I have an Actimel first thing in the morning then when I get to work I have 0% yogurt, maybe 2. Then I have a few sandwiches for lunch, couple of biscuits. Chops and veg for dinner'. Now as some of you might know I'm very much into my 'healthy eating' and this ladies and gentlemen is not 'Healthy Eating'. I explained to him that it wasn't actually that healthy at all and that the 0% yogurts have quite a lot of sugar in them. 'NOOOO WAY! Jesus that's mad isn't it. I'll cut them out and just have another sandwich.' The guy eats, wait for it, 5 sandwiches a day. Actually sandwich is a bit of an exaggeration. He has bread with butter on it. His 'few biscuits' is actually a half packet of biscuits.

Last night he has a GENIUS idea. 'Here lads, lets all do a come dine with me night, be deadly it would be.' I exchanged a look of pure confusion to my other housemate who gave me the same one back. The other housemate never cooks, ever. He gets dinner in work and if he doesn't he gets some sort of take away. I on the other hand love to cook but I am in my hole cooking for them.

BTW, did i mention that he's got two phones?

So that's all for now. He actually sounds quite harmless but try living with him. I might update with more stories.

You should start a blog :p

On the subject of blogs, I have decided to blog, but a personal one instead of a professional one.

I'm torn between blogging only about horses (I could talk about them all day), or doing a mixture.

Do blogs that are themed generally get a better response?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Ah_Yeah wrote: »
    Have you lactose intolerant ladies tried hazelnut milk? I heard it's lovely. I'm dying to try it.

I love both :)

I mostly use them or coconut milk for making porridge, one of those, some cinnamon and a little bit of dried fruit too. Yummy filling breakfast :)

Just rang my credit union - I have €1,000 less left on my loan than I thought I did.

\o/

I think a mixed blog might appeal to more people, but a horsey blog might get more loyal readers if you know what I mean.

CC I think you'd be a great blogger. You've a great way of getting our point across.

I couldn't blog, nobody would be interested in my dogs lives :o

I do however have a facebook page for them, and a doggy facebook group which I very recently set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

Met up with my friend for lunch and it was great to talk. I feel good now. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

I just found an x and o cheque from November i thought i had lost. Yay!! Means more savings for me! :)

Is it weird that i prefer wearing work clothes to normal clothes, execpt slacks, i hate slacks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

such a disappointing day, one of my work colleagues who i really get on with launched into a racist rant about couple of really decent guys who had just dropped in some CV's.

At first I thought she was joking but no, it was sad to hear, this was someone i would have classed as a genuinely interesting funny intelligent person, it astound's me that she could possess such bigoted views.

Anyhow's I made my feelings known , in the end i just gave up as it was becoming a totally irrational conversation.

Starokan wrote: »
    such a disappointing day, one of my work colleagues who i really get on with launched into a racist rant about couple of really decent guys who had just dropped in some CV's.

At first I thought she was joking but no, it was sad to hear, this was someone i would have classed as a genuinely interesting funny intelligent person, it astound's me that she could possess such bigoted views.

Anyhow's I made my feelings known , in the end i just gave up as it was becoming a totally irrational conversation.

I don't know if they were East European but I'm often astonished at how ignorant and open some people are about their views on Polish/Lithuanian people. Just because they are Caucasian doesn't make your views any less bigoted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

All this talk of protein shakes intrigues me. What are they like? Are they nice? Filling? I've been looking for something to replace my current pre dinner snacks of half a block of cheddar and whatever else I can eat out of the fridge, this could be the ticket!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

I don't know if they were East European but I'm often astonished at how ignorant and open some people are about their views on Polish/Lithuanian people. Just because they are Caucasian doesn't make your views any less bigoted!

I know its unreal really , these were two Tunisian chaps, they could not have been more polite to her either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Cerulean Chicken

pampootie wrote: »
    All this talk of protein shakes intrigues me. What are they like? Are they nice? Filling? I've been looking for something to replace my current pre dinner snacks of half a block of cheddar and whatever else I can eat out of the fridge, this could be the ticket!

:eek: That's a lot of cheese!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I have a ridiculous vertigo thing going on today.

It's a bit like going to Funderland for free.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I have a ridiculous vertigo thing going on today.

It's a bit like going to Funderland for free.

Scream if you want to go faster!

Check out the Epley Manoeuvre. Helped me loads and loads.

pampootie wrote: »

Full of tasty goodness! And yes, filling!
    Strawberry ones and chocolate ones from myprotein are gorgeous
    they have a ferrero taste one as well but it's a bit sweet for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

:eek: That's a lot of cheese!

Ah, i'm exaggerating. But I am in the awful habit of cutting a slice to nibble on while I cook. Then another. Then another. Then a bit of chorizo. Then a bit more. Then I'm not really that hungry for my dinner, but eat it anyway since I've just cooked it. Need to break the habit of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

Chickpea, butterbean and chorizo stew simmering away on the cooker and will be ready to eat in about 15 minutes yet I'm having a mental battle with myself about whether I should have some mini eggs or a nibble of blue cheese to tide me over.