Man v food ireland

I really the show, some of the food on it looks unreal. Would love to find some of the place next time I'm over in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,217 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Frisbee wrote: »
    Yup Aussie BBQ actually have two.

One is eating two Great Whites and the other is 10 of their spiciest chicken wings (not 100% on the second one).

Yeah but they don't offer the food for free if you beat the top time, you pay for the food as normal and if you beat the times that are there already your name goes up onto the leader board. Haven't tried either myself but watched somebody doing the 2 great whites, he lashed them both his gullet in less than 5 minutes, can't remember exactly but it was nowhere near the leader. He said he swallowed a lot of air trying to get them down so quick which was the real killer. Anyway just like Man vs Food I loved watching it but wouldn't attempt it myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

I usually just east normal dinner and don't try to kill myself doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

that show is obscene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

SunnyDub1 wrote: »
    There is a place in town, not sure of the name of it that does apparently, some of the hottest wings ever..
    so hot you have to sign a disclaimer before eating them..

Seen the guy on man v food eating something similar..

dunno how he does it - the show either makes me feel hungry or really ill.

I'm not sure of the name of it, but it's just up the road from the palace anyway. Ghost chilli wings. Imagine killer joe had access to those

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Could be wrong but I think a cafe in Cavan were/are doing the "worlds biggest breakfast" challenge.

1lb of sausages
    1lb of bacon
    6 fried eggs
    A whole black pudding
    A whole white pudding
    A tin of beans
    A loaf of bread of toast
    Pot of tea

Finish it all and you got it for nowt.
    In 30 minutes!

Stick it in a roll.

Could imagine thats what the show would be like here, the presenter travelling all over Ireland eating breakfast rolls(Served all day ofc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I thought this thread was about auditions for the Irish version of the show.

I want to be the presenter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,587 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Yeah but they don't offer the food for free if you beat the top time, you pay for the food as normal and if you beat the times that are there already your name goes up onto the leader board. Haven't tried either myself but watched somebody doing the 2 great whites, he lashed them both his gullet in less than 5 minutes, can't remember exactly but it was nowhere near the leader. He said he swallowed a lot of air trying to get them down so quick which was the real killer. Anyway just like Man vs Food I loved watching it but wouldn't attempt it myself!

Yeah there's three people up on the board as having completed it and two of them are the same dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

When I was younger I used to order a pizza meal deal for 4 and eat it by myself in one sitting:
    Large pizza with all the trimmings
    Garlic Bread
    Chicekn Wings
    Wedges
    2 litre drink

Recently I made breakfast for mates that were staying at my gaff:
    10 rashers
    8 sausages
    6 eggs (scrambled)
    A litre of orange juice

They didn't wake quick enough so I ate all of it. Was still a bit hungry after it too. I reckon I could make a good stab at this show....except I have next to no tolerance for spicy food

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

that show is obscene.

brilliantly obscene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

Thread making me hungry.

****ers.

Also This.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

johnr1 wrote: »
    Spur in Liffey Valley do a 64 ounce steak, or, rather, 8no 8oz steaks. Eat it in under an hour and its free. About 1 to 2 in every 10 manage it or so the staff told me.

Disgusting use of food IMO, while others starve.

Ever go on the piss? What a waste, imagine all the water that went into that when there's people in drought hit areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    ..except I have next to no tolerance for spicy food
    Ya big girls blouse ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

derfderf wrote: »
    I'm not sure of the name of it, but it's just up the road from the palace anyway. Ghost chilli wings. Imagine killer joe had access to those

Its called Yum or something like that ive been there and i had there ghost chilli burger fella beside me had the wings and had no bother with them either.
    The burger was covered in a bright red pure ghost chilli sauce was impossible to avoid it but it was the taste rather then the heat that bothered me.

The problem with eating anything based around those really spicy chillies is the over bearing fruity taste which i hate. The heat itself i can deal with as i get off on eating that kinda stuff :pac: Id be well up for eating any spicy challenges **** it ive killed meself enough times with currys or chillis i made at home using all kinds..... That bottle of ten minute burn i have in the fridge its more then seven million scoviles lol. The kinda **** that if u licked a tiny amount of it most of yas would probley piss your pants :P

c_man wrote: »
    Ever go on the piss? What a waste, imagine all the water that went into that when there's people in drought hit areas.

Not really the same, in fairness. The issue is more to do with the waste- more often than not, over half the meal is left uneaten and thrown in the bin. I don't really see the entertainment value in something that encourages 1) stuffing yourself until you make yourself sick and 2) throwing away perfectly good food because the portion size was ridiculous but perhaps it's just me.

I dont see the harm in these kinda challenges at end day it would be an option on the menu u agree to taking part in its just a bit of fun.
    I also think it would be good business for a restaurant as this kinda thing is clearly in right now because of shows like Man vs food.

Adam Richman is a well educated fella with a good personality for tv and i can see why his shows are popular. Anytime ive seen or heard or read about him anywhere he comes across as a very down to earth friendly person.

Americans go over board with most things so its hardly a shock that this kinda thing was born over there really.

I just dont see why people get there knickers in a twist over it its harmless just because someone might want to attempt to eat a really big burger or really spicy wings its hardly wrong ? lol.

Not really the same, in fairness. The issue is more to do with the waste- more often than not, over half the meal is left uneaten and thrown in the bin. I don't really see the entertainment value in something that encourages 1) stuffing yourself until you make yourself sick and 2) throwing away perfectly good food because the portion size was ridiculous but perhaps it's just me.

I'm really not seeing the difference. I won't point fingers here, but to continue the comparison you should check out how much booze is thrown away at clean up time in a pub.

If he weren't eating entire baby deers, a body double of himself made out of scrambled eggs, a bale of fries etc etc then it doesn't necessarily correspond that that food would end up on the plates of the hungry.

I watch the odd episode, amn't a diehard fan by any means, but think he gets way too much criticism. Why does he get singled out, yet Daily Show tripe with Daithi and the likes throw out as much every other day ("Here's one I prepared earlier so good bye all the stuff in the cooker").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Mizzonis Pizza do one. If you can finish a Wagon Wheel pizza whole in front of the staff you get it free

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Mizzonis Pizza do one. If you can finish a Wagon Wheel pizza whole in front of the staff you get it free

Homelessness hunger solved.

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Didnt know that? Theres very few of there branchs that sell them though right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Far as I know, all branches now do it. They've a mega wheel now that's even bigger but only a few places do it.

The only way anybody could finish a Wagon Wheel in front of them is if they had consumed copious amounts of cannabis beforehand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Extreme gluttony touted as some sort of an achievement while people starve in other parts of the world.

How the **** have we ended up like this as a species?
    It's all relative. We spend thousands of euro on pointless shíte that could feed an african family living in a shanty town for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

joe stodge wrote: »
    From watching man v food it seems to me that an awful lor of restaurants in America offer some type of food challenge. It may be eating a big ass steak in 60 mins or simply eating a 5 pound burrito all for the glory of a free t-shirt and a picture placed on a wall of fame.

Do any restaurants in ireland offer similar food challenges or has an boardsie tried a food challenge?

Go 5,000 odd miles West and a few hundred miles South and you'll find somewhere.
    kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Could be wrong but I think a cafe in Cavan were/are doing the "worlds biggest breakfast" challenge.

1lb of sausages
    1lb of bacon
    6 fried eggs
    A whole black pudding
    A whole white pudding
    A tin of beans
    A loaf of bread of toast
    Pot of tea

Finish it all and you got it for nowt.

They have changed the menu to 20 silvercrest "beef" burgers.
    I really the show, some of the food on it looks unreal. Would love to find some of the place next time I'm over in the US.

I used to know of "An all you can eat for 10 dollars" place in central Florida.
    Jeeze I never saw as much fat both on the patrons and on the food.
    It was the most discusting sh** I had ever seen served up.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

One thing I noticed about the show is trhat there seem to be a whole lot of eating establishments, even the small ones, in the US that have house specials. Here most places serve the same old stuff with maybe a slightly different pizza topping or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

dont start a challenge on an empty stomach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

jmayo wrote: »
    They have changed the menu to 20 silvercrest "beef" burgers.

The challenge is to 'horse' them down as quick as you can

Sorry :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

One thing I noticed about the show is trhat there seem to be a whole lot of eating establishments, even the small ones, in the US that have house specials. Here most places serve the same old stuff with maybe a slightly different pizza topping or something.

The episode with the choc and dessert pizzas, I'd have eaten them all day long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭cathal_flynn

if you watch man V food backwards its an amazing tale of a man that started out fat and magically makes lovely food appear on plates at an alarming rate and by the end he was an average sized guy. heart warming :,)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭lounakin

joe stodge wrote: »
    From watching man v food it seems to me that an awful lor of restaurants in America offer some type of food challenge. It may be eating a big ass steak in 60 mins or simply eating a 5 pound burrito all for the glory of a free t-shirt and a picture placed on a wall of fame.

Do any restaurants in ireland offer similar food challenges or has an boardsie tried a food challenge?

That show features award winning food items... do you know of anything in Ireland worth eating in buckets proportions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭swiftman

Scotty's Steakhouse galway
    You can try it anytime, the 5x5 challenge is
    5 half-pound burgers,
    5 orders of fries,
    5 onion rings,
    5 scoops of coleslaw,
    5 strips of bacon,
    5 slices cheddar cheese on a toasted bap with mayo, lettuce , and tomato.

30 minutes to eat it all

35 euro for it, free if you finish, discount for a good effort.
    personally love to try it but 35 euro is alot to gamble for dinner