Coolest features of a Bar

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Make sure you have a Facebook 'Like' page for the bar and then make sure it is kept updated at least twice a week even if there's nothing happining.

An out of date page looks shoddy and reflects badly on a business.

Customers are more likely to be attracted if they see an effort being made.

Best of luck. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Having hot barmaids goes without saying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭savvyav

There's a bar in Paris called the Latin Corner with bras hanging from the ceiling. I think the rule is if you donate your bra you get a free drink...you can also get a 'sexy show' which involves sucking a foamy white drink out of the waiter's lap. Also at 9pm, the waiters hop up on the tables, the lights go dim, and they strip down to their jocks/boxers, before getting back to work :D. I've seen them serving the tables outside in mid-winter wearing only boxers, shoes and a smile!

Weirdly most of the customers are women....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

No fcuking dance music.

Just a decent jukebox with a good selection of quality rock music.

No TV.

A pool table. With enough space around it to actually play pool.

Those dyson dryers in the jacks. In the clean jacks. We can always dream.

I also hate stupid gimmick glasses. Just gimme a bastard pint glass not some conical monstrosity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

--Kaiser-- wrote: »

Only if they really know what they are doing and are very good at it. Hot barmaids only get business from punters once if they are useless.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

No fcuking dance music.

No TV.

I also hate stupid gimmick glasses. Just gimme a bastard pint glass not some conical monstrosity.

Some people listen to other types of music!
    Pool tables take up too much room so the Guvnors usually aren't fans of them. Also they always seem to lead to fights for some reason.
    Getting a fancy beer you pay over the odds for in its own glass is nice I think.
    You should just stay at home!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    And they can fook off to every other bar.
    Pool tables take up too much room so the Guvnors usually aren't fans of them. Also they always seem to lead to fights for some reason.
    This is a bar in Galway. Not prison.
    Game of pool and a pint is a good way of passing time in a bar.

Getting a fancy beer you pay over the odds for in its own glass is nice I think.

I have nearly 30,000 posts on here. I'm at home plenty.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I remember a bar in Temple Bar that had old Dublin Bus seats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Cheap pints, I don't care if it has a stage with big German men constantly riding each other to really loud techno music, I just want cheap pints.

I'm sick of a night out costing the equivalent of a weeks rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    As much as I want to agree, I'd prefer an good Irish barman. One that can remember 10 orders at a time, can get a vodka, ice, lemon and a diet coke while your pint is being poured, has a good idea of who's next in line at the bar and doesn't just serve the pleb that shouts the loudest and can hear your order from 10 feet away in a noisy pub.
    Nothing better than a good barman in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

How about an interactive smartphone app that controls your video jukebox in the bar? Some local examples to checkout on your phone: DTwo - Bakers Corner - Duffys of Malahide

Disclaimer: This is what I do. See www.realtimeireland.com

While I'm at it, we also do really cool tablet-based self-pour beer systems - see www.ellicksonusa.com or www.pourmybeer.com for examples of how it looks in the flesh. It's an Irish built product that's really taken off in the US, particularly in craft beer bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Anyone else noticing a trend about the jacks?

Take note, op, its the one common topic among all different groups of demands.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

robbie1876 wrote: »
    How about an interactive smartphone app that controls your video jukebox in the bar? Some local examples to checkout on your phone: DTwo - Bakers Corner - Duffys of Malahide

Disclaimer: This is what I do. See www.realtimeireland.com

While I'm at it, we also do really cool tablet-based self-pour beer systems - see www.ellicksonusa.com or www.pourmybeer.com for examples of how it looks in the flesh. It's an Irish built product that's really taken off in the US, particularly in craft beer bars.

These gimmicks don't fly with me really, I don't see the point. I go to the pub to get drunk usually, not to mess around with smart phones. I have an old Nokia anyway!

We had Mexican wrestling in our local a year or two back. Didn't really catch on but it was different!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

No halogen lights, they'd peel the eyes off you.

Check out what the other pubs locally have done, and don't do that.

Old world charm is nice. But only when it's genuinely old and not retrofitted. Rather than ripping out stuff, sand it back and paint it. (unless the last fit out was ghastly)

In these times (and even during the boom) a lot of punters don't appreciate pubs getting expensive makeovers AND having high prices.

Old and clean with a decent price pint.

If you are changing decor more often than your customers change cars then you are sending the wrong message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Nice crappy barfood like spicy wings, nachos, burgers etc...

Breathalyser built into each table, for the laugh like.

Music that's not too loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Instead of snugs, have 'living rooms' with sofa, telly, fridge full of beer, etc, so you can have a party with your mates without wrecking your own gaff.

Cheap pints, I don't care if it has a stage with big German men constantly riding each other to really loud techno music, I just want cheap pints.

I'm sick of a night out costing the equivalent of a weeks rent.

I'm not surprised it's costing you the earth, with that scenario going on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

These gimmicks don't fly with me really, I don't see the point. I go to the pub to get drunk usually, not to mess around with smart phones. I have an old Nokia anyway!

There are times I wish I had stuck with an old Nokia! I hear you on the gimmicks, one of the gimmicks that bars use the apps for is giving away free pints of sponsored beer from breweries, therefore helping to achieve your noble goal. At the end of the day, there's no better way to get punters into a bar than free beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭meglome

Pour your own beer is fun, saves the fight at the bar.

http://www.ellicksonusa.com/

Irish company but their US site.

Edit: Oh and cheaper prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

empacher wrote: »
    What I'm looking for is any Unusual, Cool, Wacky furnishings for a Bar.

Wacky? No, Just, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

Lighting - not too dark not too bright

Acoustics - Keep the music at level where people can talk to each other and not just stand around and dribble

Drinks - A couple of different beers other than the usual **** - even if they are bottles.

Entertainment - A pinball machine, a couple of arcade machines, a electric dart board. Not them all of course but at least one of this sort of variety

Decor - If it is aimed at 6 -12 time slot, have plenty of chairs tables that people can use but that are easy to move if the space is needed. Have a couple of permanent table/chair fixtures

Toilets - Just clean and WELL stocked with jax roll. A couple of decent dryers, not those crappy ones that feel like a light breath on your hands

Staff - Efficient and friendly - helps if the chicks are hotish.;)

Prices - Just reasonable, maybe some weekly promos on some of the sh1t drinks, ie bavaria.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Group of lads come in and take turns to score 5, 10, 15, 20, 25... points and you server them free drink all night?

Those are quite low scores man. They'd be able to have a set of high scores setup initially in the 100Ks region or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

If you replicate Leeds' North Bar (especially the barmaids), I will apply for a transfer in work, move to Galway and sign over my salary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I was at a bar were the chairs were the back end of bikes going in under the table.

As cheap drink is all people care about don't bother getting staff just get some big vending machines. Rather than having pool tables just have loads of TVs showing Dave or Sky news. It'll be just like home for many people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

A complete and total ban on phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

I saw this in a clothes shop that we did flooring/partition walls etc in.
    It could easily transfer to a pub.

Old cars cut in half with the back seat still intact. use a few of them as seats, you could even do the boot to use as seats facing the other way. Might take up a fair bit of space but looks class.

Someone else posted on reclylables, I'd second that, especially if you can doctor the materials to your own style/taste/needs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

No fcuking dance music.

No TV.

Methinks you're of a "certain vintage"!

Where did all of these good bars from my youth as described above go to??

(apart from the Dyson dryers which weren't invented of course...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Keep the music at a decent level and you'll be fine. Nothing worse than having to strain to hear the person who is sitting right beside you.

A pool table has been mentioned already. Make sure that there is plenty of room around it though. Trying to play with one of those small cues is a big no-no.

A table quiz is a pretty clichéd thing to host in a pub, but if marketed correctly then can really boost the numbers in the pub.

I know some people have said no television, and I'd agree to a certain extent, but you could really pull in the crowds on a weekday night over the next few months. The Champions League is starting back up and almost every Tuesday and Wednesday will have a good match on. You'd need to be getting enough people in to make a profit, but if you had a pretty decent Facebook page with regular updates then you could spread the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I love pubs where someone has a motionless dog lying on the floor beside them.