Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loungers who Lunch; Cake, Bovril and Penguins...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Sigh...

You know equal rights have a long way to come when stuff like this routinely happens, and in Canada of all places: Transsexual and transgender women denied access to shelters as temperatures drop in Montréal
    25 January, 2013 - As temperatures drop to extreme lows, transsexual and transgender women in Montréal continue to be turned away from many homeless women’s shelters. Over the past week of bitter cold, ASTT(e)Q, a local trans health project of CACTUS Montréal, has witnessed several of our members be denied shelter on the grounds of being trans. While such refusals are frequently justified by administrative regulations, members of ASTT(e)Q believe that these exclusive practices are rooted in discriminatory attitudes towards trans people.

A majority of women’s shelters throughout Québec require trans people to have undergone sex reassignment surgery, and/or to have changed their legal sex. “Such requirements are unattainable for most homeless trans people, due to prohibitive costs, and extensive administrative requirements,” says Mirha-Soleil Ross, staff of ASTT(e)Q. “Trans women are left with no alternatives, as men’s shelters are clearly not an option. With no place to turn, homeless trans women find themselves on the streets, which in -30 below temperatures is nothing short of deadly.”

It just makes me want to scream :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

I don't mean to be to be rude or insensitive but why would male shelters not be an option in the freezing cold? I think a male shelter sounds better than a cardboard box on 2ft of snow. :confused:

I was going to join the library today until I realised it's closed on Mondays. I probably won't want to join tomorrow, always the way.

Hope you had a lovely birthday Ivy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

xLexie wrote: »
    I don't mean to be to be rude or insensitive but why would male shelters not be an option in the freezing cold? I think a male shelter sounds better than a cardboard box on 2ft of snow. :confused:

I was going to join the library today until I realised it's closed on Mondays. I probably won't want to join tomorrow, always the way.

Hope you had a lovely birthday Ivy.
    There is a lot of violence in mens shelters. In most cities, there are quite a few homeless men who will not go to shelters because of the violence and drugs.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

There is a lot of violence in mens shelters. In most cities, there are quite a few homeless men who will not go to shelters because of the violence and drugs.

And then imagine you're a trans woman.

You're statistically more likely to be homeless if you're trans too, afaik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

xLexie wrote: »

Then again, maybe taking your chances in the freezing cold is preferable to risking being murdered in a shelter, horrific as that is.

Links that is horrendous, my heart broke reading that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

I guess. I suppose it's a lot easier to say "I would do XYZ if I were in that position" when you never had to, just any sort of shelter would surely be better than being out in minus temperatures. Would you really be any safer on the streets from violence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Happy Birthday Ivy.
    Bubblefett wrote: »
    Ah yes but a kitten isn't the size of your kitchen! Hehe I'd love to be able to keep "Dexter" but the house is simply too small, not to mention the cat's feelings on the subject. Fingers crossed he has a chip when I get him checked tomorrow :)

Your cat will get used to it, or else occupy himself plotting the dogs demise, either way he'll be grand. And if you buy a saddle for dexter you can just ride him around the house, see, no more stepping over him.

Seriously though, our sitting room is tiny and there is nothing cosier than squashing onto the couch with my husband, 2 dogs and the cat. We fight over space, I've been shoved off accidentally (on purpose) and have occasionally gotten an arse in the side of my head when one of the dogs tries to adjust his snoozing position. But it's cosy.

Go on. Adopt him for the whole lounge!! Can we keep him?

Pleeeeeeeaseeeeeeee
    Stheno wrote: »
    I lost the remote control for the fire last week.

Oh I'd love a remotey fire. We have a real fire which I love but now it's all grey and ashy and waiting to be cleaned out before I can light it again. :mad:

Ah_Yeah should be eating about now.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRlW1oSmlKtEyr9GwbQ5z4-6R80vZioSkTkbchRQ_j6ls7CSGoY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Links that is horrible! I'd assume what the others have said about male shelters is true.

I just sent an e-mail to a lad called Finn Ryder. How cool is that name??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

Links that is disgraceful! So sad :( Let's hope that people's views continue to shift and hopefully things will look better in the next few years.

But, on a lighter note - I can haz muffin?!

I HAS BLUEBERRY MUFFIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

Work is very annoying right now. At the part of the project that is my least favorite, most annoying and most nitpicky. I have to get stuff done by end of day today and just can not get in gear :(

Not to be sarky, but when someone would rather brave the cold than get shelter, there's obviously gonna be a damn good reason for it. If you're a transgender woman, you're already gonna face extremely high rates of violence and sexual assaults, not to mention the phenomena of 'rape-as-punishment' or 'corrective-rape' for people who transgress gender norms (eg; "you wanna be a woman? we'll we're gonna treat you like one!")... or just simply not a good idea for a woman being in a situation where she would not be able to defend herself from an aggressor or multiple aggressors? and really, a transgender woman's best defense is blending in and not being noticed, being placed in a men's shelter would be like having a neon sign over her head saying she's transgender so anyone with any kind of prejudice against trans people would have no ambiguity about who she is. it would be painting a target on her back.

and as Das Kitty said, trans people are statistically more likely to be homeless, so really this is just punishing those who are most vulnerable

and also, this kind of policy has already resulted in people's deaths, Jennifer Gale for example had been repeatedly refused shelter:
    Jennifer Gale was found in an unresponsive state near the rear entrance of the First English Lutheran Church on Whitis Ave in Austin Texas by a staff member shortly after 7:00 am on December 17, 2008. According to an eye witness who was doing maintenance at the church, she did not respond to attempts to wake her up from where she had slept that night on a concrete ramp with little more than a sheet and some news papers. 911 was immediately called and first responders arrived in less than a minute from Fire Station #3 across 30th street from the church. After extended Attempts to resuscitate Gale, she was pronounced dead at the scene at 8:26 AM. An autopsy later revealed that she had died from heart disease probably exacerbated by sleeping outside in near-freezing temperatures

Links, what is their reasoning behind placing transgender women in mens shelters? Bar the idiotic reason of "they used to be a man". Sorry if I missed that bit.

Tangled-Flynn-Rider.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Bet you his real name is Eugene Fitzherbert...

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Bet you his real name is Eugene Fitzherbert...

Too late - YOU LOSE

:P

Ah_Yeah wrote: »
    Links, what is their reasoning behind placing transgender women in mens shelters? Bar the idiotic reason of "they used to be a man". Sorry if I missed that bit.

sadly it just seems to be institutionalized transphobia :( a lot of people out there don't like transgender people, and what makes things worse is that a some homeless shelters are ran by religious organizations and would refuse shelter based on their "morals"

hell, I can even be refused medical treatment in this country on religious grounds :( and I know people it's happened to.

What a manic morning! On way home now to study etc. Got loads done in work. *awards self medal*
    happy birthday ivy! I was considering making a cake today or muffins, I'll make one in your honour :p

Links234 wrote: »
    sadly it just seems to be institutionalized transphobia :( a lot of people out there don't like transgender people, and what makes things worse is that a some homeless shelters are ran by religious organizations and would refuse shelter based on their "morals"

hell, I can even be refused medical treatment in this country on religious grounds :( and I know people it's happened to.

That is a joke. Makes me really angry!

There's a guy in a solicitor's office in the UK, that I used to deal with, called Sullivan Fountain :eek:

Links234 wrote: »
    Not to be sarky, but when someone would rather brave the cold than get shelter, there's obviously gonna be a damn good reason for it. If you're a transgender woman, you're already gonna face extremely high rates of violence and sexual assaults, not to mention the phenomena of 'rape-as-punishment' or 'corrective-rape' for people who transgress gender norms (eg; "you wanna be a woman? we'll we're gonna treat you like one!")... or just simply not a good idea for a woman being in a situation where she would not be able to defend herself from an aggressor or multiple aggressors? and really, a transgender woman's best defense is blending in and not being noticed, being placed in a men's shelter would be like having a neon sign over her head saying she's transgender so anyone with any kind of prejudice against trans people would have no ambiguity about who she is. it would be painting a target on her back.

When I read it, that's what I figured the reasoning would be. Such a sad state of affairs.

We used to have a customer in a previous job called Richard Stain. The first time he rang I thought it was a prank call. :( I think that says a bit more about me TBH

• Administrators Posts: 55,066 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Whispered wrote: »
    We used to have a customer in a previous job called Richard Stain. The first time he rang I thought it was a prank call. :( I think that says a bit more about me TBH

That you were suspicious of a guy really being called Dick Stain?! LOL!

I met a girl once and her name was (edited in case she vanity searches herself)

G~e~t~h~a~n D~i~c~k

If you can read that! I dunno if her parents just weren't thinking what it sounded like or what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭WinterSong

I made the nicest beef stir fry ever. NYOM. Feeling ever so slightly better today, here's hoping it continues.

Also, I'd really appreciate opinions on this because I'm going to be complaining about it today and I'm worried I'm overreacting and might back down too easily.

I do 6 classes here; one is 10 credits and the others are 4 each. The ten credit module involves a lecture and a seminar. The lecture is assessed by an end of year exam, a group project, an essay and class participation. There are two seminar groups, and the seminar makes up 30% of the module as a whole. However, in my group we have to do a fifty page essay (I kid you not) and a 45 minute presentation, as well as participate in class, whereas in the other group only have to do a 20 minute group presentation and participate in the class. I'm going to tell the lecturer later that I think this is grossly unfair, and that as we're all in the same lecture we should be subject to the same means of assessment. Am I being unreasonable and just looking for something to complain about, though? :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

Das Kitty wrote: »
    The one with the sausages?

Yus, and he liked it and asked if I'd be writing anything else :D

We stayed in bed until like half twelve, just listening to the wind and rain. I can deal with having every Monday off :D
    Posy wrote: »
    My beautiful cat died just over a week ago. He was the most important (and usually only) man in my life since I was 14. I adored my boy and cried for several days. I'm still devastated.
    This January has been miserable. :(

Sorry to hear about your cat Posy, hugs xx
    Ella wrote: »
    Have a BIG meeting today and am bricking it :(

Good luck with the meeting, you'll fly it :)
    It was my birthday yesterday, I ate ALL THE CAKE! :) Had a galette des rois (a lovely tradition over here in January). om nom nom nom.

Happy Birthday Ivy :)
    But, on a lighter note - I can haz muffin?!

I HAS BLUEBERRY MUFFIN

I hope the bloods are all okay! You enjoy that muffin, ya hear?! :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Chill and rice for lunch... is that a healthy option? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

Sorry about your cat Posy. Just noticed your post when Ilyana quoted it.

The muffin was THE BEST.

She tested for pretty much everything, which meant that at least 8 or 9 separate vials were collected (I wasn't looking)

33978391.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

The muffin was THE BEST.

She tested for pretty much everything, which meant that at least 8 or 9 separate vials were collected (I wasn't looking)

I can't look either when I'm having bloods taken, it's horrible. The doctor's lining up the vials and you're there thinking 'Leave me with some blood!'

Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »
    I can't look either when I'm having bloods taken, it's horrible. The doctor's lining up the vials and you're there thinking 'Leave me with some blood!'

Well I have an irrational but extreme fear of wrists and veins, so I can't cope with the idea of the underside of my wrist facing upwards and all my veins being exposed.

Don't even ask, it's a weird phobia,...

Well I have an irrational but extreme fear of wrists and veins, so I can't cope with the idea of the underside of my wrist facing upwards and all my veins being exposed.

Don't even ask, it's a weird phobia,...

:eek: My husband is the same. He'd genuinely prefer a broken nose to a blood test. If he's annoying me I just have to grab his wrist and shout "VEEEIIIN" and he squeals like a little girl :D

You have my sympathy.