"My grandad could beat your grandad"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

My grandad was injured (well, trench foot) in the battle of the Somme. brought back to jolly old England for treatment. absconded, was discovered back in Wexford, and court martialled ,imprisoned and sent back to the Somme, survived and fathered nine kids, one of whom my late lamented dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

My Grandfather was a Machine Gunner and somehow avoided getting killed in the Somme, he then served as a firefighter in Coventry during the Blitz. Survived that too. He was also a glassblower and got four free pints of beer a day. Basically, he was a badass mofo.

My great-grandfather was a sledgehammer swinging badass too. He was a chainmaker - and worked on the anchors and chains for Titanic. He had the good sense not to be on it, nor even supposed to be on it when it sailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,867 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

My Granny's Grandad had twelve kids with the wife until she died. He then married his niece and had thirteen more kids - legend! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

My uncle organised the first civil rights march in the north.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

My Granny's Grandad had twelve kids with the wife until she died. He then married his niece and had thirteen more kids - legend! :)
    Did each of the thirteen kids have thirteen toes?

steddyeddy wrote: »
    My uncle organised the first civil rights march in the north.

Micheal mcloughlin if anyone wants to search for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

I've the same name as my granda :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Stooped wrote: »
    So post interesting things that your relatives and ancestors were/did.

My great grandad was in the Old IRA based in Roscommon where he played a significant role against the Black and Tans during the War of Independence.
    My other great grandad was due to go on the Titanic but unfortunately he didn't have all the vaccinations done so he couldn't go.
    And my mam's cousin was the pianist in The Commitments.

Your mam's cousin is/was (haven't been to mass in years) the keyboardist for the family mass in Queen of Peace church, Bray? :pac:

Inbox wrote: »
    I've the same name as my granda :)

Inbox? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

My Grandad was telling me about the Jew man the other day. They used to lend money off him and when he came looking for it back they'd chase him with bacon. The good old days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

The_Gatsby wrote: »
    My Grandad was telling me about the Jew man the other day. They used to lend money off him and when he came looking for it back they'd chase him with bacon. The good old days...

Did he sing that great old song about "Throw the Jew down the well?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭mirekb

My Grandad was the last king of Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Stooped wrote: »
    My other great grandad was due to go on the Titanic but unfortunately he didn't have all the vaccinations done so he couldn't go.

That's a strange thing to say. The chances are that if he had travelled on it it, he would have died. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Nedser101

My granda is tiger woods!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Stooped

That's a strange thing to say. The chances are that if he had travelled on it it, he would have died. :D

Yeah, I should probably phrase myself better :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

My grandparents had no tea at their wedding in 1944

No tea :eek:

Ireland suffered badly in WWII!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Iko Iko Anay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

1ZRed wrote: »
    My grandad's family were soldiers, as were his brothers, and they were fairly high up in the Irish army as well.

Huh :confused:?

My maternal grandfather was almost seven foot tall;
    He was 40 years older than my grandmother who was about 16 when they got married;
    He never drank a glass of pure water in his entire life because no self respecting nomadic pastoralist at the time did unless of course you were going through hard times and you had no cows or something;
    He was totally fit until he died in his sleep at the age of 101.

Total badass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Conchir

My paternal great-grandfather was in the Irish Guards in WWI, and fought and was injured at Hill 70 in France in 1915. He was shot in the leg, and had a limp the rest of his life from it. I'd like to point out I came across all this information due to the help of the amazing people in the World War I forum here.

My maternal great-grandfather fought in the War of Independence and later the Civil War on the Free State side. A huge contrast between the two men.

My great-uncle on my father's side also fought in World War I, and he was unfortunately killed on the last day before the Armistice with Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

my grandfather beat the **** out of a regional boxing champion once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

One of my granddads smoked himself to death.

The other was never the same after his entire unit got killed in the Congo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

My granduncle fought in World War 2. There's a photo of him in uniform somewhere.

Another of my ancestors was hung for stealing sheep I believe.

One of my cousins did some research on our family tree and those are the only two snippets of information I know about my ancestors. I've seen the photo of my granduncle but so far I haven't seen any evidence of the sheep stealing incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

My mother's father was a member of An Garda Síochána for 38 years, from 1944 (he became a Garda on D-Day, 6th June) until 1982. He rose to the rank of sergeant and was known to be tough but fair man. It has been said to me by Gardaí that I met that he had worked with that he should have been promoted more, but he clashed with his superiors too often while standing up for the Gardaí who were being mistreated by other superior officers. Had he stayed quiet and done nothing, he could have been promoted more. But he spoke out and remained a sergeant for over 30 years.

During the last year or so of "The Emergency" (as World War II was known in Ireland), there was great paranoia around that the Germans or someone would invade Ireland, meaning he got dragged out to investigate potential invasions many times. What exactly a panicked Irish farmer expected my grandfather, with his blue serge uniform and wooden truncheon, to do in the face of the rampaging hordes of the Third Reich is best left to the imagination.

He was stationed in "Bandit Country" (the Border areas) for much of his career; Monaghan, Louth Village and Dundalk. There were many instances of foiling smuggling and so on.

He was a man of nature; he loved fishing, hunting and wood carving, and was quite gifted at all of them. The most infamous incident involved him going missing for over 18 hours while trying to catch a large salmon. He fought it and struggled with it, trying to tire it out. And just as he was about to get it into the boat, "the bastard got free". Unlucky...

While I never knew him when he was in the Gardaí (I was born 6 years after he had retired), I always heard the stories, saw photos of him in uniform, saw the plaque he got when he retired, met his old colleagues after and all. This is partly why I have such an undying admiration for An Garda Síochána and always will. It is also why I someday hope to join the Gardaí, but unless the recruitment freeze ends soon, it may never happen.

Yeah, my Grandfather (whom I affectionately christened 'Foxy'; spelt F-X-Y) was a bit of a boss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭carolmarx

This fella is a family member of mine...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ruair%C3%AD_%C3%93_Br%C3%A1daigh

Have some far more interesting people in the family but don't want to make myself too identifiable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭airmax87

My granda is the rock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

My grandad fixed Eamon de Valera's glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

im my own granda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

My paternal great grandfather had his house burnt to the ground by the Tans, he was a doctor who aided injured IRA men. My father who spoke with him relayed the night well to me. The troops arrived and ordered everybody outside, they then removed every piece of furniture and placed it in the gazebo. The troops then set light to the curtains of the house. The Captain explained the situation and apologised. My father thinks our anglo links were the reason.

During WW2 his son my gran uncle joined the RAF. He survived combat and settled as a dentist in Manchester. He would never speak of the war to any of the family. In 05 my Dad got in touch with High Wycombe and they politely forwarded all his records to us. It's interesting to chronicle a relations path through a significant part of history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

My Granda used to shave with a wicked looking cut throat razor.

He used to sharpen it on a long leather strap which was hung up on the back of the kitchen door.