Garda shot dead during robbery at Louth Credit Union(Mod warning, 1st post.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

GRMA wrote: »
    I dont think anything works as a deterrent for stuff like this.

Exacly, so things like 3 strikes and capital punishment work a treat. They might not stop the initial offence, but they do a good line in cutting reoffending rates to 0.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Bambi wrote: »
    Did you unlock this thread , stick a dig in at the provies and then lock it again :confused:

K9 as a Mod on After Hours, does not have to unlock a thread in order to post.
    The thread was locked last night while previous posts where also looked over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

This is tragic. My prayers are with his family and friends. I can't imagine what they are going through :-( RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Bambi wrote: »
    Did you unlock this thread , stick a dig in at the provies and then lock it again :confused:
    looks that way. You can be sure people will use this as another chance to get digs into SF. Expect Shatter and co to bring it up again and again in response to criticism from SF about Garda cutbacks, closures etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Exacly, so things like 3 strikes and capital punishment work a treat. They might not stop the initial offence, but they do a good line in cutting reoffending rates to 0.

No they dont.

The three strikes rule is shameful - you end up with people jailed for life for very small things that dont warrant it at all. You also get innocent people executed.

The best way to cope with crime is to rehabilitate offenders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭KamiKazeKitten

Incredibly sad news, my heart goes out to his family.

RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

GRMA wrote: »
    No they dont.

The three strikes rule is shameful - you end up with people jailed for life for very small things that dont warrant it at all. You also get innocent people executed.

The best way to cope with crime is to rehabilitate offenders.

I don't want to drag this completely off-topic but rehabilitation of offenders really shouldn't be the responsibility of the prison system, or even of the justice system.

Even if it did work (and I don't believe it does), after you've "reformed" the offender, (very Clockwork Orange), you throw him back into the environment we're all so often told created him? It's a perverse cruelty, promoted by do-gooders who have no real wish to understand that the vast majority of people who end up in prison work very hard to get there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

catallus wrote: »
    I don't want to drag this completely off-topic but rehabilitation of offenders really shouldn't be the responsibility of the prison system, or even of the justice system.

Even if it did work (and I don't believe it does), after you've "reformed" the offender, (very Clockwork Orange), you throw him back into the environment we're all so often told created him? It's a perverse cruelty, promoted by do-gooders who have no real wish to understand that the vast majority of people who end up in prison work very hard to get there.

I strongly disagree, however, I don't want to derail the thread either. I just want to point out that a lot of "do gooders" [god if you knew me that is the last thing you would call me] are trying to understand why people do what they do, personally I spent a lot of time alone with people who are called scumbags regularily enough in this forum. The last thing I engage in any type of clockwork orange philosophy.

However, I'm going off my point. I only want to ask one question really and I won't be responding as to do so may take the thread off track. Anyway, who do you think should be doing the rehab if it is not the task of those above? Maybe we can discuss it in another thread, another time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭The Road Runner

R.I.P and condolences to his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Epicness

YOLO

<banned>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭KamiKazeKitten

Epicness wrote: »
    YOLO

Cop on.

That's a man who won't be going home to his family again, and you think that post is hilarious I bet. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

YOLO

Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Will arming the guards lead to more deaths or less?

Or do we just bring it in as a kneejerk reaction and see what happens?

Do we force guards who joined an unarmed uniformed police force to carry weapons?

YOLO

I have removed my previous post, about wondering what the above also meant.
    I had to genuinely Google that to see what it also meant in other terms.
    Have done so and I shall say no more, except the response from the Mods is enough said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Zebra3 wrote: »

Do we force guards who joined an unarmed uniformed police force to carry weapons?

If Gardai weren't armed as a rule during the years of sustained violent activity from provos, they're not going to be armed as a result of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭The Road Runner

I think thats a good point on the whole debate of arming the guards an one i've never considered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Dunno what the point in keeping this open is. Nothing really to discuss except give condolences.

MaxSteele wrote: »
    Dunno what the point in keeping this open is. Nothing really to discuss except give condolences.

I feel general matters can be discussed without the usual personal agendas of others (I include myself in that. Now is not appropriate the time or thread) in political rhetoric etc.
    So far the majority of AH has been exceptionally well behaved and respectful in this thread, while talking in broader terms, which is always good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

The guard who tragically died WAS armed. How in the world is this situation causing people to debate whether we should arm the gardai? By the way, I think we should, but I don't see how this scenario has people considering the possibility.

I don't know as to the accuracy of events yet but its been mentioned in places that the detective didn’t even have time to even reach or unclip his gun.
    He got out and bravely approached the situation with both hands out trying to establish what was happening and they just shot him.

That to me is simply cold murder/manslaughter.
    Totally without question, despicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

A wife without her Husband, two kids without their father, two siblings without their brother and colleague to name just a few.

May his family, friends and fellow Gardai find the strength to cope.

Terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

If Gardai weren't armed as a rule during the years of sustained violent activity from provos, they're not going to be armed as a result of this.

They were often accompanied by army on border operations, and they also had a far higher % of plain clothes armed gardai than we have now! Just because they were not armed (uniform) then does not mean that they should not have been. Move with the times when necessary, I was always anti arming uniform gardai but with dwindling resources a firearm is rapidly becoming a necessity in modern Ireland and I would now support arming uniform Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The ERU should have a chopper on standby to search for this sort of scum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Hopefully this means they will go to war now with these bastards.

No mercy.

RIP to the garda in question. Just doing his job.

the gardai backed up with the army should now declare all and out war on crime gangs....

.wipe them out.........100% clean up.

RIP to the poor guy and his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

the_syco wrote: »

Christ! Patrol cars aren't being replaced and stations being shut down, numbers are dropping, morale at an all time low, due you really think A chopper for the eru is a runner!

the_syco wrote: »

With how quiet it all seems to be I can only guess they know what they're at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

The death penalty should be available for crimes of this nature and failing that, life + hard labour with NO remission. However, in this politically correct country with our useless hand wringing politicians is there any point in even looking for the scum responsible? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jamie72

With how quiet it all seems to be I can only guess they know what they're at.

There was a 'chopper' over Dundalk within about an hour of it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

They were often accompanied by army on border operations, and they also had a far higher % of plain clothes armed gardai than we have now! Just because they were not armed (uniform) then does not mean that they should not have been. Move with the times when necessary, I was always anti arming uniform gardai but with dwindling resources a firearm is rapidly becoming a necessity in modern Ireland and I would now support arming uniform Gardai.

I'd neither be in favor of or opposed to the idea personally. People are going on about how this is the first time since 1996 that a member of AGS was shot and killed while on duty, but in fact the last time it happed was in 2001, when a Garda Sgt. was hit by the stray bullet from another officers gun.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/abbeyleix-inquiry-garda-killed-by-ricochet-33828.html

Has it been confirmed if any arrests have been made yet? The Irish Times reported earlier that 2 people from Dublin had been arrested but I haven't seen it mentioned anywhere else...

http://m.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2013/0126/1224329307077.html?via=frontpage

...Has it been confirmed if any arrests have been made yet? The Irish Times reported earlier that 2 people from Dublin had been arrested but I haven't seen it mentioned anywhere else...

I think the Gardi are (rightly) saying as little as possible for the moment in case anything might have a detrimental effect on the effectiveness of capturing all the culprits involved and which might effect a court case later.