Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Radiocarbon dating

• 25-01-2013 11:44am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭

Hi I'm a student and I need to get some sediment cores radiocarbon dated , the college I am in does not have this tools for this. Anyone know where I could get these cores dated?
    Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Well not many places would, there's only one place in all of Ireland in fact, that's the 14CHRONO Centre in Queen's University Belfast which do radiocarbon dating with the AMS, here's there website: http://www.chrono.qub.ac.uk/.

Beta Analytic in Florida, here's there website: http://www.radiocarbon.com/

If I were you, I'd discuss it with my supervisor first. The type of material you want dated, the number of samples etc... As it does cost a lot of money (even at reduced student prices), but Queen's would be very good (since they're the ones who've come up with the most recent calibration curve and have produced numerous statistical packages for modelling data (i.e. age-depth models such as CLAM and BACON).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭Leopold.

El Siglo wrote: »