Do you blackout often from drinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Cienciano wrote: »
    That phrase really shouldn't be used anymore
    Id argue the other meaning should be stamped out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Merkin wrote: »
    You may be young but you mightn't necessarily be grand and that's why there is such a problem with drink in Ireland. I was a full-on and dedicated party animal back in the day and still like a glass of wine or five (and I'm in my 30s so not some relic of bygone times) but there DOES come a time when you have to modify your drinking and cop the fcuk on.

There's something very sad about heavy and uncontrolled drinking when you get to a certain age (and not that old either) and the fact that you don't think you have a problem and yet you're getting out of bed late at night to drink is denial in the extreme. So if you are in a position to modify your drinking now then do it and do it sharpish, I know too many young people who have died while pissed and it's just a desperate waste.
    I never get up to drink. You're piecing things together that aren't there.
    I only occasionally drink when I'm already up and can't sleep.

And that's besides the point, it's not frequent and my drinking habits have levelled out to normal and what any other person my age would drink on average.

Like I said, I believe things to be grand for me, though it was high there for a while.
    Merkin wrote: »
    Just like Teddy's endless threads and posts on his drinking problem are attempts to justify to himself that getting gee-bagged every weekend to the point of losing control is somehow fun and if other people on the thread blackout all the time and confirm it's ok then he doesn't have a problem when he clearly does :confused:
    On what authority are you telling people they've drinking problems?

I'd regard someone having a drinking problem if they couldn't control it and things started to negatively effect other aspects of their lives like work and relationships.
    Since you only know what's been said on this thread you don't have the full details to tell someone confidently they've a problem, you can only assume at most.

Until someone makes that realisation, if it even exists to that degree, and tells you, then you can say so.

1ZRed wrote: »
    I'd regard someone having a drinking problem if they couldn't control it and things started to negatively effect other aspects of their lives like work and relationships. .

So being a functional alcoholic is ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Very rarely unless I've had a mighty amount, though it did happen the other day, woke up and someone put a please be quiet sign on my hotel door, only thing is i was on my own, no tv, so what the duck did i get up too:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    24-25.

The age when the hangovers get worse, drinking becomes more of a problem than a laugh and you start to imagine life without alcohol.

I dont drink as much as i used to. I have really come to hate waking up with a dry mouth that feels horrible, i have to brush my teeth at least 3 times.

This!
    I'm 25 and have finally realised this, the hangovers aren't worth it and it's a waste of money. Have I blacked out from drinking- yes- it's awful waking up after a night out and not knowing how I got home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

If I drink spirits I'm pretty much guaranteed to black out, sometimes it doesn't even take a huge amount! It's strange though, often the effects take an hour or two to kick in, once or twice before I've lushed a shoulder, been ok for an hour or two and then completely black out. Needless to say, I don't drink spirits very often!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

DRINK

DRINK

DAAA-RINK

*Repeatedly bangs fists on bar counter*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

anhedonia wrote: »
    This is not a given by any means.

Well, I think I know myself. I'm in college, going to parties a lot, etc. Basically plenty of occasions where drink is involved. My drinking habits are related to my social life. Eventually my social life is going to start getting quieter and less eventful, and then there will be less reason to go out drinking as often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I blacked out once in my life, in Tenerife.

It was interesting the next morning trying to put the pieces together, how i got from A to B etc.

In a sick way I wish I had blacked out a few more times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

I'm in college and I'm already fed up of drinking. Hangovers just make it not worth it and all the stupidity that accompanies binge drinking.

I love having maybe a glass of wine or two or a few cans in a pub with good company. I always feel weird that I feel this way at twenty though :/ I wish I could enjoy nightclubs and staying in bed like a slob the whole next day nursing an avoidable sickness, but it all seems so pointless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Love getting black out, great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭markc1184

Only ever happened once and I truly believe someone spiked my drink. Only thing I can remember to this day is waking up on my driveway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Never really blacked out, did have tremendous trouble just getting into my apt once, with someone I can't remember, who was gone in the morning and robbed my jacket. Also, have tended to wake up in someone's place who I knew I was with but have no recollection of coming from the nightclub to theirs, and so much attempting to discern where I actually was. Often drawn a blank on minor things such as Facebook posts and talking to people in places... Especially on what I was actually talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Last time I blacked out, I pulled.

Blackouts FTW!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 62 ✭✭Chao

Last time I blacked out, I pulled.

Blackouts FTW!

Yea but then the fear comes along and convinces you, you have aids.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Never blanked out from drinking by itself. Have blanked out from mixing downers & drink doh.

Ok some interesting reading here for me anyway.
    One last thing though, for people who get the body pains from binge drinking, what is it exactly?
    I thought the body was just dehydrated and perhaps working a bit more to process the alcohol. But why do you get pains in different places, what's happening there?
    Also why does it feel like there is so much pressure on your heart the following days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Sometimes my sides ache, even muscles in my legs from walking the few miles home where they wouldn't after a longer recreational stroll. Or injured even.. maybe that's the kidneys but the legs I can't explain. Maybe has to do with not being "at one" with oneself under the influence..

Ted a man was talkin bout young folk being suicidal under the influence there on pat kenny where they would otherwise never entertain the thought. But personally I think it goes without saying.. n I think people more emotionally capable in particular are susceptible to such, it's a soul sacrifice. must take the good with the bad and not actually succumb to such

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Ok some interesting reading here for me anyway.
    One last thing though, for people who get the body pains from binge drinking, what is it exactly?
    I thought the body was just dehydrated and perhaps working a bit more to process the alcohol. But why do you get pains in different places, what's happening there?
    Also why does it feel like there is so much pressure on your heart the following days?

It could be pretty much anything (or more likely everything) since consistant heavy drinking over time damages pretty much every part of your body: your brain, your central nervous system, your organs, your blood, your muscles, everything just starts taking the toll. Nerve damage and muscle fatigue are probably the pains you're talking about though, especially if you're getting the shakes.

Your heart is probably feeling pressure from trying to pump the blood through a body that is freaking the fukk out from the latest shock to the system.

With regards to nerve damage my index to little finger are numb for a week now from walking home in the cold. Usually recover a minute after I come in the door, with no alcohol taken. Other hand is grand now but this is ridiculous

Sounds as if booze is real fixture in our life tedson.. I only really drink in bars after a event lured me out in the first place. Good luck with developing a tolerance for that shìt all my old pals look bloated, weary n at least 10yr older than me from keeping up appearances at their local n I dont envy em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭happypants

I'm currently living in the fear of it right now, staff party on Friday. oh the shame!!! I am mortified and can't shake the mortification at all because I dunno if I said anything I shouldn't have to my boss.

I'll find out this week at our staff meeting. Never again seriously it's actually very, very scarey! Other staff said I was grand just drunk and a nice drunk but I am horrified that I honestly cannot remember the majority of the night :/

happypants wrote: »
    I'm currently living in the fear of it right now, staff party on Friday. oh the shame!!! I am mortified and can't shake the mortification at all because I dunno if I said anything I shouldn't have to my boss.

I'll find out this week at our staff meeting. Never again seriously it's actually very, very scarey! Other staff said I was grand just drunk and a nice drunk but I am horrified that I honestly cannot remember the majority of the night :/
    What's worse is when you start to not give a **** because you convince yourself that no matter what it was, it wasn't you, it was the drink, and you convince yourself that normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

Nearly every day my fb friends feeds is a constant "Beer fear", "never again" "the horrors"... all age groups, both employed and unemployed, .. i also belong to this club. Monday and monday night in cavan (dole day) is like a how a normal saturday used to be in the celtic tiger days, its absolutely mad! every pub up one end of the town banging! this goes on till about thursday, then its the other end of the towns turn when workers get payed and have their few nights and days out. im working but prefer the craic at the dole end of the town, often using my annual leave days for mondays just so i can go on the piss. im 43... i have blackouts loads of times, most peole i know (17-55 ish) the same! its great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I stopped drinking like that years ago, I've probably blacked out from drinking under 5 times.

The last time was nearly 3 years ago, never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

What's worse is when you start to not give a **** because you convince yourself that no matter what it was, it wasn't you, it was the drink, and you convince yourself that normal.

Teddy, would you say your drinking has negative repercussions in your day to day life? I'd be very surprised if it doesn't and I think you may genuinely need help as you're just going to mess up your mental and physical health in the long run.

Last time was when I fell asleep wrapped around a toilet in a cubicle, in the White Horse in High Wycombe. Woke up like that anyhow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

if you really convinced yourself, TeddyTedson, would you be asking people here about their drinking - or did you just hear a tree fall in your forest of booze? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

On a serious note, giving up drinking last year for 6 months was the best thing I ever did. The positive effects in terms of physical and mental health and over all well being cannot be described in words, It's like a different life. Sadly I've been back binge drinking the last while, I'm going to try give it up again. The first few weeks are the hardest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

I only tend to black out when I consume a lot of vodka.

I'll do shots of anything else for Ireland for the night. I'll do pints races fairly well too but add vodka and then I'm going for a sleep!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

irish son wrote: »
    Do you drink your drinks quickly OP? I do and I think this is part of the problem, If you drink your first few drinks quick it's hard to slow down after that.
    Yeh, I generally drink about the same amount every time I go out but there have been three or four times since I started drinking where I've blacked out and done really stupid things (only vomited once thankfully) with no recollection, and I realised that those were the times I was playing catch-up with other people and drinking faaaar too quickly. Doing this whole drinking-at-my-own-pace thing for the past few weeks because I don't want to be in that situation any more, and I enjoy going out more now that I don't wake up the next morning not having any idea what happened for significant periods of time and needing other people to tell me all the embarrassing things I did and said...