Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Father Ted or Mrs Brown's Boys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I watched MBB for the first time the other night, I laughed once or twice, wasn't as bad as I imagined.

I also watched an episode of Fr Ted this week-despite having seen it 5 or 6 times before, I still cackled like a mad hoor throughout.

No contest.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I assume OP is trolling.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

There's nothing wrong with Mrs Brown. Clearly it's aimed at an older generation and it's pure slapstick ****e, but it hasn't won that many awards for being ****e.

I've watched a few episodes, and I think that when they break the fourth wall, it's great stuff. You can see that the actors can't keep a straight face, and there are moments when Brendan O'Carroll is trying to make them laugh. That's something that you rarely see.

Having said all that, comparing this to Father Ted is the one of the most rediculous things I have seen on AH. Father Ted is nothing short of genius.

I'm here laughting at the factual synopsis of Father Ted on Wikipedia and it's only describing their relationship with Bishop Brennan ffs!

The show follows the misadventures of three Roman Catholic priests who live in a parish on the fictional Craggy Island, located off the west coast of Ireland. Father Ted Crilly, Father Dougal McGuire and Father Jack Hackett live chaotically together in Craggy Island's parochial house, along with their housekeeper Mrs Doyle, who always wants to serve them tea. The three priests answer to Bishop Len Brennan, who has banished them to Craggy Island as punishment for different incidents in their past: Ted for alleged financial impropriety (apparently involving some money 'resting' in his account and a child being deprived a visit to Lourdes so that Ted could go to Las Vegas), Dougal for something only referred to as the "Blackrock Incident" (resulting in many "lives irreparably damaged"), and Jack for his alcoholism and womanising. The show revolves around the priests' lives on Craggy Island, sometimes dealing with matters of the church but more often dealing with Father Ted's schemes to either resolve a situation with the parish or other Craggy Island residents, or to win games of one-upmanship against his arch-nemesis, Father Dick of the nearby Rugged Island parish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

MMB and BOC are getting serious stick on this thread. And while I'm no fan of the show myself, it has to be said, it's doing the business ratings wise and now it's racking up the awards. In terms of viewership, and I'm open to correction on this, I'd imagine it draws a far bigger audience than Fr. Ted ever did.

BOC is making an absolute fortune from it! Good luck to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

The reason Father Ted seems repetitive is because most people have seen every episode so many times. If you give it a break for a few years and come back to it it's still hilarious. The episode with the raffle was on last week and I was laughing the whole way through it. The part when the dj priest sticks The Specials on for the 5th or whatever time and the camera pans to the audience dancing awkwardly is one of my favourite scenes from anything ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

griffdaddy wrote: »
    The reason Father Ted seems repetitive is because most people have seen every episode so many times. If you give it a break for a few years and come back to it it's still hilarious. The episode with the raffle was on last week and I was laughing the whole way through it. The part when the dj priest sticks The Specials on for the 5th or whatever time and the camera pans to the audience dancing awkwardly is one of my favourite scenes from anything ever.

Its also meant any boards thread about the national anthem will have that song posted within 5 replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

How many times have you observed something silly in this country in the last 15 years (the recent Kerry drink driving permit nonsense for example) and said to yourself "Thats like something out of Father Ted"

Thats why it was so brilliant, great satire of this country.

I could only imagine a Boards poll being more one sided if Mozart went up against Ronan Keating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Guarantee if you added "Last of the summer wine" to the poll, people would still think it's funnier than Mrs. Brown's boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Those claiming Mrs Brown's Boys is the worst thing RTE has ever made are sensationalising or don't have very long memories.

It's actually watchable in comparison to Wagon's Den.

And nowhere near as bad as 'The Cassidys'. A serious contender for
    worst show ever

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭fangee

MMB and BOC are getting serious stick on this thread. And while I'm no fan of the show myself, it has to be said, it's doing the business ratings wise and now it's racking up the awards. In terms of viewership, and I'm open to correction on this, I'd imagine it draws a far bigger audience than Fr. Ted ever did.

So does ratings equate to popularity or quality ?

I fear it's the former.

The dumb masses and all that. You're talking about the same people that vote in Governments based on what they say rather than what they will do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

You want to try that one again? Look at the poll maybe?

fangee wrote: »

I fear it's the former.

The dumb masses and all that. You're talking about the same people that vote in Governments based on what they say rather than what they will do.

Of course it's popularity rather than quality. My point being, BOC has found something that works. And is making a mint off it. I wouldn't criticise him for that.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

syklops wrote: »

To be fair, there's no way the poll is fair to MBB.

Only people who are capable of using a computer can vote on boards...

Where does the poll show viewership figures? That's just a poll on boards. Two very different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

I fear it's the former.

Naturally its popularity, and in the opinions of those that watch it, which is a sizable audience it is quality.

How does one define quality? Each persons taste will dictate whats good and whats tripe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Is that you Ma?

No seriously, that was our(my family's and me experience on Brendan O'Carroll. Charming and eloquent on the Late late so my mother bought my father the DVD for Xmas. It would have made Roddy Doyle blush. "Ride me sideways said the cross dressing dwarf to the goat with the big arse".

Ride me sideways was another one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭The Gride

I prefer Mrs Browns Boys, No, Fr Ted, No, Mrs Browns Boys, No Fr Ted "Oasis or Blur"

Of course it's popularity rather than quality. My point being, BOC has found something that works. And is making a mint off it. I wouldn't criticise him for that.

Then that effectively makes him a whore with no comedic integrity.

I can only presume this is why the show is so poor.

If I had a choice of attending a dental appointment or watching an episode of that soulless muck then I would have to go for the dentist every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Hidalgo wrote: »
    worst show ever

How about "Upwardly Mobile", pure tripe. Though it did give us Henry "I made the BBC" Sellars.

At his stage of life, I'm sure he's happy doing what he's doing rather than be a broke comedian with "integrity".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

What's better:
    1. Getting a blowjob from Scarlett Johansson
    2. Hammering a nail through your testicle.
    or
    1. Eating a fillet steak
    2. Having someone do a runny shíte into your mouth.
    or
    1. Getting an oil massage from a swedish blonde
    2. Having your fingernails pulled out by an ex-KGB officer
    You get the picture OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

This isn't exactly a Sophie's Choice kind of situation.

At his stage of life, I'm sure he's happy doing what he's doing rather than be a broke comedian with "integrity".

Why have you gone with "integrity" when integrity is fine ?

When I'm sucking my last breath I'd rather have integrity than money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

When I'm sucking my last breath I'd rather have integrity than money.

Without money that moment is likely to be a little sooner though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Cienciano wrote: »
    What's better:
    1. Getting a blowjob from Scarlett Johansson
    2. Hammering a nail through your testicle.
    or
    1. Eating a fillet steak
    2. Having someone do a runny shíte into your mouth.
    or
    1. Getting an oil massage from a swedish blonde
    2. Having your fingernails pulled out by an ex-KGB officer
    You get the picture OP

Well if it was Scarlet Johansen doing the shi|e...

Yeah anyway,
    hidalgo wrote:
    Those claiming Mrs Brown's Boys is the worst thing RTE has ever made are sensationalising or don't have very long memories.

It's actually watchable in comparison to Wagon's Den.

worst show ever

Interesting, but the topic is Fr Ted vs MBB. Wagons den is not in the contest. You need to read the rules.
    Where does the poll show viewership figures? That's just a poll on boards. Two very different things.

How does one gather viewer-ship figures on a fifteen year old programme at anything similar to a current programme. You can't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Ted is great in fairness, but the repeated viewings have reached the point that you can recite the lines before the characters say them
    (the RTE mentality, this worked well before...lets show it again 1,000 times over a la ancient episodes of the Simpsons)

Mrs Brown's Boys is basically a foul mouthed Panto. God knows how it won an award of any sort.
    The poll speaks for itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

at the end of the day..mbb is definitely not for me and certainly could never hope to win this, i watched the linked clips here and just got bored...the any key bit...seriously......

However BOC is doing very well from it and he seems to have found a formula that a lot of people like, so fair play to him and if that was him replying earlier, Good luck too yeh!

But as for it being better, well i will put it as Fr Fintan Stack said "If you say that to me again, I'll put your head through the wall"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,658 ✭✭✭✭Basq

C'mon now.. the 15 people who voted "Mr's Browns Boys", reveal yourself, so you can be stoned with lumps of your own shite..

D1stant wrote: »
    Without money that moment is likely to be a little sooner though

That moment comes no matter what. Don't care if it's tomorrow or in 40 years.

In many cases I'm sure there are elders among us who wished they didn't have the money to prolong it.

Back to the quality issue I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

paths to freedom is the funniest thing every shown on rte, the humour isnt as obvious as fr ted