Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GW23 Matchday Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Steven81

So a boring nil nil, now for the Walcott show wednesday night. Bring it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,360 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

FT. 9 points there from baines and puncheon sees me up to 53 with hopefully demel, gibbs, walcott (c) and podolski left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

danbrosnan wrote: »
    For heavens sake...

Well that's why 0.2% of people have him: Cos he's played as a defender normally, but won't get clean sheet points! Get rid of him as soon as you can!

Boruc is looking more and more tempting, is he first choice or are there injuries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

WOHOO!! NIL ALL DRAW!!

So sad.

Woop Clyne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

I guess a few people will have defenders from either team, and Puncheon and Fellaini both get 3 points. Could have been a lot worse I guess.

I'll be transferring in Fellaini and Pog tonight. Bye bye Ba

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭BrownBear11

Didn't see the game lads, who's on for the bonus points do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

CSF wrote: »
    Fellaini's position tonight has been seriously frustrating. Get the **** Moyes, you're against Southampton.
    Everton were pretty conservative to begin with but Coleman going off meant Fellaini spent the last 30 minutes as the deepest of the front 6. He still had as much an influence on the game as anyone so could be worth all 3 bonus points.

Lambert only got 1/6 on target versus Fellainis 2/2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,485 ✭✭✭✭CSF

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Everton were pretty conservative to begin with but Coleman going off meant Fellaini spent the last 30 minutes as the deepest of the front 6. He still had as much an influence on the game as anyone so could be worth all 3 bonus points.

Lambert only got 1/6 on target versus Fellainis 2/2.
    He was fairly deep to begin with. I'm confident enough of some bonus points too but he didn't get the chances he would have thrived on to rack up some goals and assists.

Whoever the FFS players have in their team the most I'd say.

65 points so far, happy with that! Walcott (C), Demel and Gibbs still to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Have Clyne on the bench. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,485 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Same. West Ham defender probably wasn't such a good idea in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

same but he comes in for luiz:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Brendan Filone

PPI stats say Jagielka 3, Fellaini 2, Coleman and Boruc 1. Hooiveld, Ramirez and Anichebe all have a chance of 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Will BP's be out tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

bps are up jag 3 fellani 2 ramirez 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,360 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Well Felliani's 2 BPs means I need an Arsenal clean sheet to have any hope of progressing in the FSA cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

I'm motoring up the table

73 points so far this gameweek with walcott(c), Carzorla and Gibbs all to play again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

The 3 last week and the two today have just about made it worth bringing in Fellaini before the Swansea game, but he could do with getting back among the goals.

68 with O'Brien, Gibbs and Walcott to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

anyone else hoping for a 0-0 on Weds?!

Would get me 27 points

thunderdog wrote: »

Would get me 27 points
    Wouldn't be the worst, not captaining Walcott has me in trouble, 75 with him and demel so could do with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

thunderdog wrote: »

Would get me 27 points

With bonii going:

3 - Walcott
    3 - Demel
    1 - Jaaskelainen + 2 save points
    1 - Gibbs

That would net me 37 points, which I'd take. Gladly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

68 so far... unless Walcott and Arsenal plan on running amok and not conceding a nil all draw wouldn't be too bad at all as id get 24 points!

Jussi: 6
    Demel: 6
    Gibbs: 6
    Walcott(c): 6

That would bring me up to a very respectable 92 points before baps which if they went my way could bring me up to a ton for the week! Wishful thinking probably but you never know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭jolim24601

can anyone knowledgeable about moyes' tactics explain why fellaini was playing so deep? I heard from the commentator that it's actually his preferred role to be in front of the back 4 as a dm, does this mean he will no longer be employed somewhere up top, as an attacker?

i'm considering the possibility also that moyes might be forced to bring him up, once he reckons with the fact that he's positively lacking any real goalscoring threats other than disco stu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

jolim24601 wrote: »
    can anyone knowledgeable about moyes' tactics explain why fellaini was playing so deep? I heard from the commentator that it's actually his preferred role to be in front of the back 4 as a dm, does this mean he will no longer be employed somewhere up top, as an attacker?

i'm considering the possibility also that moyes might be forced to bring him up, once he reckons with the fact that he's positively lacking any real goalscoring threats other than disco stu.

I'd be thinking twice about Fellaini after last night. Earlier in the season, Fellaini was often further forward than even Jelavic. Everton's tactics seemed to be to get him in the box, get the ball in there and allow him to make a nuisance of himself.

That wasn't happening near as often last night. As I said during the match, a few times I saw the ball go in and Everton would have three or four players in the box but Fellaini would be outside it.

I know they said earlier in the season he was working on his shooting so unless the plan now is from him to pick up any potential ball that breaks out of the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭jolim24601

Lemlin wrote: »
    I'd be thinking twice about Fellaini after last night. Earlier in the season, Fellaini was often further forward than even Jelavic. Everton's tactics seemed to be to get him in the box, get the ball in there and allow him to make a nuisance of himself.

That wasn't happening near as often last night. As I said during the match, a few times I saw the ball go in and Everton would have three or four players in the box but Fellaini would be outside it.

I know they said earlier in the season he was working on his shooting so unless the plan now is from him to pick up any potential ball that breaks out of the box.

thanks for mentioning that, it's funny because all the best chances came from lambert and fellaini's headed chances in the box. lambert got a lot more chances because he was in there more often; his ability is really scary good and coupled with great crosses from the fullbacks it makes him a very steady fantasy prospect imo.

that being said it looked like everton's best chance would have been to win more corners (since fellaini would be in the box to receive them) by being a little more pacy down the flanks but instead they chose to slow down and cut or pass in. that strategy just totally choked, it led to less corners and i think overall everton's "safety" play just totally ruined any chance at earning free kicks/penalties.

that's kind of why i'm wondering if moyes won't just open his eyes and see that he needs fellaini in a more attacking position, making better use of his hold-up play, excellent dribbling skills, aerial abilities, shooting, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Fellaini did start up top with Jelavic but S'ton dominated them in the 1st half, Moyes was down to plan B & C in the 2nd half. When Everton struggle like they did last night, you'll see Fellaini drop into midfield more but hopefully last night was more of a blip away from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,088 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Dempsey wrote: »
    Fellaini did start up top with Jelavic but S'ton dominated them in the 1st half, Moyes was down to plan B & C in the 2nd half. When Everton struggle like they did last night, you'll see Fellaini drop into midfield more but hopefully last night was more of a blip away from home.

This is always the way with Everton and Fellani. Southampton away is not the gimme some folk assume it is so Fellani dropping back should have been expected.