What Are The 5 Most Important Strategic Targets In Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I love how some people immediately "write off" the Defence Forces from providing any type of tangible opposition to an invading force. Fair enough, some are of the opinion that air superiority and strength are against us. However, they are more than capable of putting up a fight, it would not be a walk over for invaders.

1/ Destroy Defence installations
    2/ Destroy Government installations
    3/ Take control of supply routes
    4/ Take control of Communication locations
    5/ Seize all major urban area's.

Points 1 and 2 would need to be targeted by air as there are locations spread across the island.
    Points 3,4,5 would need thousands upon thousands of ground troops just to infiltrate, seize and control them.

I wont go into the "in's and out's" of it all, but it would not be easy, efficient or sustainable for invaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

Can we change thread title to:
    "Step by step guide to attacking Ireland"?

Or maybe:
    "Terrorists: Read this".

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Urban myth possibly but supposedly Cork harbour IS high up the list of targets in any nuclear war as it's one of the largest harbours in the world - you could shelter a whole armada there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

Cork council offices
    Kent station
    Cork opera house
    Cork airport
    Iniscarra dam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Why bother?

You could take this place over without firing a shot, just ask Angela and Nicky Sarko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Urban myth possibly but supposedly Cork harbour IS high up the list of targets in any nuclear war as it's one of the largest harbours in the world - you could shelter a whole armada there.

Its more to do with there being no good reasons NOT to nuke Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

RTE? Sure they'd probably welcome the invaders with open arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

The last armada that was about had no planes to worry about hitting them.
    Times have changed, so Cork back down the list again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

grizzly wrote: »
    I remember reading that in the face of a superior land invasion the Irish Defence Forces wouldn't attempt to meet them head on, but start guerrilla warfare operations.
    Any other strategy would be suicide.

I wouldn't have any confidence in our Defence Forces ability to repel a sustained attack, as with all the greatest respect for our Defence Forces (and the grandson of an Óglaigh na hÉireann Captain) they simply haven't the numbers, the fire-power or the funding.

I would, however, be very confident of their abilities to harass enemy supply lines, organise and train the civilian population in guerilla warfare and via the excellent Ranger wing target their command posts.

Even if you took out the Defence Forces as your first step, we're a nation who are indoctrinated with an admiration for, some might say love of, guerillas from a young age. Sure, we're a bunch of me-feiners and barstool bemoaners most of the time but set foot on our soil with intents of conquests and even the least republican of us (myself included) will join the local flying column.

Our Diaspora (both American and elsewhere) would be a huge source of funding for any resistance movement too.

Simply put, although we'd be easy to occupy, we'd be expensive to hold for little or no gain: we've no natural resources worth a damn and we're hardly of significant military importance for anything other than an assault on the U.K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Blay wrote: »
    Air assets wouldn't even be needed to seize Ireland bar a few transport planes. Ground attack fighters and choppers would be a waste of fuel because we have no armour for them to engage so it would come down to numbers on the ground and who knows the place better. The barracks around Dublin would move to hold the city, gather themselves and then if possible push out into Kildare, Meath, Wicklow if they could. The invaders would need to land thousands on the coast of Dublin and have them push inland to hold the edges of the city and stop an advance by Irish troops. Plus assuming the UK aren't the one's invading us..it would be in their interests to aid us.

The DF aren't just going to fall over like chess pieces..I'm confident that at least some of them would have the balls to do something..if a load of sheep herders can harass US troops in Afghanistan for 12 years I think trained men could put up some sort of fight.

I think people sometimes get confused as to the difference between an occupation and a massacre.

We see the distinction in how we describe these conflicts. It's described as "War" when both sides adhere to rules. It's described as "Genocide" when they don't.

The reason why we were successfull in ousting the british is because they didn't want to kill us, merely control us. The reason why small civilian forces have succeeded in defeating larger armies throughout history is not tactical....it's moral. The americans defeating the british, us defeating the british, you mentioned america's failure to stop Al Qaeda. Guerilla warfare only works when the oppressors refuse to kill the population.

If an enemy force merely wanted to capture the country, then the things you suggest would have some merit. But if they wanted to kill us and just started wiping out civilians....than our tiny and paltry armed forces could do nothing to stop it. That's just the reality of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

1. Ports & Airports
    2. Landing points of undersea internet cables - http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/datablog/interactive/2012/feb/28/undersea-internet-cable-map-interactive
    3. Phoenix Park - Garda and Army HQ
    4. Eirgrid
    5. Dail Eireann

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Carpet bomb the Dail

Can't we do this anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

If the foe captures dublin, we could relocate all services to cork, set up a propaganda ministry and declare cork to be "the real capital"
    *cough cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

crockholm wrote: »
    If the foe captures dublin, we could relocate all services to cork, set up a propaganda ministry and declare cork to be "the real capital"
    *cough cough*
    I, for one, would rather submit to foreign rule! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

The flags, it's all about controlling the flags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

You need to brush up on the War of the Flea my friend.

I have a well thumbed copy of the war of the flea. However given advances in technology and communications the advantages that guerilla armies once possessed no longer holds true. Many of the examples in the book relate to overthrowing domestic regimes rather than fighting a foreign army of occupation.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

For Western/Developed - whatever term you choose - States the probability of an invasion is quite small. War for these nations is systematically carried out through the financial markets.

On the original point: There are three things that any State will collapse without.
    It would be extremely cheap to cripple any nation by disabling two of these, the third will fall after a few days.

You didnt mention what you think the 3 things are!?!?!?!?!

Sleepy wrote: »
    Any other strategy would be suicide.

I wouldn't have any confidence in our Defence Forces ability to repel a sustained attack, as with all the greatest respect for our Defence Forces (and the grandson of an Óglaigh na hÉireann Captain) they simply haven't the numbers, the fire-power or the funding.

I would, however, be very confident of their abilities to harass enemy supply lines, organise and train the civilian population in guerilla warfare and via the excellent Ranger wing target their command posts.

Even if you took out the Defence Forces as your first step, we're a nation who are indoctrinated with an admiration for, some might say love of, guerillas from a young age. Sure, we're a bunch of me-feiners and barstool bemoaners most of the time but set foot on our soil with intents of conquests and even the least republican of us (myself included) will join the local flying column.

I agreed with you up to that. Did you just forget about the third of our country thats still occupied by a foreign power? And did you happen to miss all the hatred directed towards Irishmen who actually bothered their hole to try and free it, by other, free, Irishmen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Yakult wrote: »
    The pub
    The offy
    Dole office
    Da Dail
    Knock airport Shrine

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Larkin00

Sure was Hitler not quoted as having said

"All we must do is take Louth and the whole rotten structure will colapse"

Maybe I'm thinking of something else haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

One RPG into Dundrum shopping center and the country would grind to a halt. Irish army? Please. Sure the noise of an invasion alone would have them running to their GP for a hearing loss assesment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

1. Shannon Airport. It's the only airport we have which is capable of landing large transport Aircraft. Dublin Airport is a lower priority.
    2. Bomb the sh1t out of Baldonnel, taking out all air assets, that way the Air Corps can't lift Artillery Pieces into play.
    3. DFTC - The Curragh. It contains most of our heavy artillery and ammunition for such.
    4. Take control of communications. HEANet Would be the smartest option, It's our backbone to the internet.
    5. Hawlbowline to cripple the Naval Service.

With 150,000 boots on the ground, a few thousand humvee's with 50 cal and Mk 19's, a thousand MBT, and a few hundred air transport and defence assets this country would fall in 2 days, and the main fight would be over in less than a week.

The Irish army would take to the hills because it's the only thing they could do. A charismatic leader could win over most of the population pretty quickly, especially if the men they use to take over the country don't part take in the spoils of war too much.

The rightful Government wouldn't have the support of the people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Four pages in and no one mentions Supermacs.
    Sure, cut off the food supply and we're all fecked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

1. Shannon Airport. It's the only airport we have which is capable of landing large transport Aircraft. Dublin Airport is a lower priority.
    2. Bomb the sh1t out of Baldonnel, taking out all air assets, that way the Air Corps can't lift Artillery Pieces into play.
    3. DFTC - The Curragh. It contains most of our heavy artillery and ammunition for such.
    4. Take control of communications. HEANet Would be the smartest option, It's our backbone to the internet.
    5. Hawlbowline to cripple the Naval Service.

With 150,000 boots on the ground, a few thousand humvee's with 50 cal and Mk 19's, a thousand MBT, and a few hundred air transport and defence assets this country would fall in 2 days, and the main fight would be over in less than a week.

The Irish army would take to the hills because it's the only thing they could do. A charismatic leader could win over most of the population pretty quickly, especially if the men they use to take over the country don't part take in the spoils of war too much.

The rightful Government wouldn't have the support of the people.
    Baldonnel? They have the attack capacity of Ryanair, and about the same amount of air to surace weapons(SIL is a member). And the Curragh is very busy hitting personal fitness targets and has not got time to be lugging aged field guns around. Even if brought to bear, they would be like bringing a musket to an assault rifle fight. We have feck all Warfare capacity, lets be honest, and our best chance is to offer to bring them out for a bit of craic in Temple Bar, get them drunk and hope they forget why they came in the first place. To believe otherwise is delusional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

To take Dublin you'd need to take out/occupy:
    Dublin Airport, Baldonnel Aerodrome, Casement Aerodrome, Gormonstown Army Camp (the main runways)
    The Curragh, Phoenix Park, Cathal Brugha Barricks (main army bases)
    Dublin Port, Dun Laoghaire, Drogheda (the main ports)
    Dublin 2 (the Dáil, most ministries, Dublin Castle)
    The Port Tunnel, the M50 interchanges, the Liffey Bridges (main road transport arteries)
    Houston Station, Connolly Station, Grand Canal Dock Station (main rail transport arteries)
    RTE, Eirgrid, Eircom (the main communications hubs)

Take Dublin and realistically you control Ireland

Cork, Rosslare, Limerick/Shannon, Knock and Athlone would also be good targets

Pottler wrote: »
    Baldonnel? They have the attack capacity of Ryanair, and about the same amount of air to surace weapons(SIL is a member). And the Curragh is very busy hitting personal fitness targets and has not got time to be lugging aged field guns around. Even if brought to bear, they would be like bringing a musket to an assault rifle fight. We have feck all Warfare capacity, lets be honest, and our best chance is to offer to bring them out for a bit of craic in Temple Bar, get them drunk and hope they forget why they came in the first place. To believe otherwise is delusional.

Just because they aren't the most modern equipment doesn't mean they can't do damage. Leaving the old Bofors in play would be folly, they can still take out your helicopters.

Never mind that DFTC has some Javelin missiles, they will do damage if left in the field with the right operator.

I admit Baldonnel doesn't have the most sophisticated of equipment, but it is on the list of the 5 best places to take out, given we have so few places from where the DF can stage a viable defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭doulikeit

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    The Irish military would hardly be able to resist an enemy willing to launch an attack to occupy the country. Speed would be decisive. If you hold Dublin you hold the country, thats where the levers of state are and where a large part of the population reside.
    A counter attack by the Irish army would be futile in the light of overwhelming enemy air superiority. A mobilisation of the Irish army would be annihilated.

So what's the plan boss

doulikeit wrote: »
    So what's the plan boss

Take to the hills, kill who you can and run, plant roadside bombs, assassinate officials from the new government and military leaders if you can. You know, like the good old days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Take to the hills, kill who you can and run, plant roadside bombs, assassinate officials from the new government and military leaders if you can. You know, like the good old days.

What if Bishopstown Hill Walking Society smokes you and the Defense Forces out of your hillside Foxhole?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

Take the major cities and ports. Holding Dublin would be key to holding the country ..very few times has the capital fallen and resistance continued with any ferocity. If the Irish Army could counter attack with sufficient numbers then air power would be decisive. If the army is fighting a rebellious logistically weaker force then numbers and training would be key my money would be on the army. However if we are fighting a more powerful force we would almost certainly lose if Dublin was to fall. Our best bet would be to seek foreign aid and continue with guerilla warfare and low level spoiling attacks.

As for the five targets Dublin, RTE , Limerick Cork Galway ..hold them and you hold Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭doulikeit

oh i like u ur a lil .marine killing people and blowing things up if an invasion force seen all these posts they would be so scared they would run for their lives
    go chairbourne hu ahhh