If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Oldskool Appreciation Party - O.A.P's thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Those 3 Hawtin tracks posted earlier are fcukin deadly. As is this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

Billy Mays wrote: »
    Those 3 Hawtin tracks posted earlier are fcukin deadly. As is this

Love all his Plastikman stuff, have the archives there, some pure quality among them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Ant C

I don't suppose anybody ever had a listen to james lavelle cream live 2. A fine example of turntablism right there.

es-cee wrote: »
    Love all his Plastikman stuff, have the archives there, some pure quality among them!!

Fully agree. Stuff he churns out now doesn't come close to the old Plastikman stuff.
    Have you seen this documentary about him? Well worth a watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Ant C wrote: »
    I don't suppose anybody ever had a listen to james lavelle cream live 2. A fine example of turntablism right there.

No haven't Anto but will do at some stage providing its on y/t
    Fully agree. Stuff he churns out now doesn't come close to the old Plastikman stuff.

Interesting bang that in the bookmarks to watch at a later date

aceberg wrote: »
    No haven't Anto but will do at some stage providing its on y/t

Interesting bang that in the bookmarks to watch at a later date

First 45 minutes is excellent. Trails off a bit when he goes down the minimal route which I wouldn't be mad about.

Good stuff, looks very interesting. Gonna watch it next couple of nights. Cheers Man.

Well boys,

anybody have a listen and if so whatcha think?

Just watched this, very good, interesting watch.

Well boys,

anybody have a listen and if so whatcha think?

Got a start on it today Anto was out and about walking for a bit.Only got to the fourth track tho House stomping is It r maybe the 1 after that.Yeah interesting stlye so far like the way u cut in with with hold that sucker down after Blast.I think the next bit of mixing is similar enough aswellIll give it a full listen tomorrow as I'll more than likly b waiting around for a bit 2morrow.

If you have any hard trance throw a mix together might tempt the lads a bit more to have a listen:cool:

Got a start on it today Anto was out and about walking for a bit.Only got to the fourth track tho House stomping is It r maybe the 1 after that.Yeah interesting stlye so far like the way u cut in with with hold that sucker down after Blast.I think the next bit of mixing is similar enough aswellIll give it a full listen tomorrow as I'll more than likly b waiting around for a bit 2morrow.

If you have any hard trance throw a mix together might tempt the lads a bit more to have a listen:cool:

Cheers man. Of all the styles to mix so far oldskool is proving to be the most challenging as the song intros do not generally start with a 8/16 bar intro like Prog house so the mixing style is more urgent as opposed to general beat matching.

Most of the choons in the mix are beat matched but some of the tricker ones are cut which is an art in itself believe me. The only good thing is they mixing in key with oldskool classics can really sound great when it works.

The mix between house stomping and beautiful morning worked out well for me so I'm happy enough with that.

I'd be more than happy to do a hard trance mix if the boys give me the names if their fave choons.

I do have some trance mixes up on my page so have a listen and see if that is the style that you'd are inta boys or do I need to go harder again. Listening to some of the choons posted up today I reckon that my trance mixes may be a bit light!!

Check out spicy sessions mix 10 in particular which is one of my own personal favs and have a goa flavour to it.

Cheers man. Of all the styles to mix so far oldskool is proving to be the most challenging as the song intros do not generally start with a 8/16 bar intro like Prog house so the mixing style is more urgent as opposed to general beat matching.

Most of the choons in the mix are beat matched but some of the tricker ones are cut which is an art in itself believe me. The only good thing is they mixing in key with oldskool classics can really sound great when it works.

The mix between house stomping and beautiful morning worked out well for me so I'm happy enough with that.

I'd be more than happy to do a hard trance mix if the boys give me the names if their fave choons.

I do have some trance mixes up on my page so have a listen and see if that is the style that you'd are inta boys or do I need to go harder again. Listening to some of the choons posted up:D today I reckon that my trance mixes may be a bit light!!

Check out spicy sessions mix 10 in particular which is one of my own personal favs and have a goa flavour to it.

Sorry Anto I should have clariffied oldskool hardtrance

Yeah if its a newer style trance id probably find it hard to listen to.I usually get to about 3 r 4 tracks then its back to oldskool....lol.Sure look I'll check some more of the mixes out 2morrow.

Yeah the oldskool tracks seem to b more difficult to mix from what I hear probably why I didn't last too lon g at the mixing as I've only tried oldskool

Now on another note do u still play chess r do ya have d time

Sorry Anto I should have clariffied oldskool hardtrance

Yeah if its a newer style trance id probably find it hard to listen to.I usually get to about 3 r 4 tracks then its back to oldskool....lol.Sure look I'll check some more of the mixes out 2morrow.

Yeah the oldskool tracks seem to b more difficult to mix from what I hear probably why I didn't last too lon g at the mixing as I've only tried oldskool

Now on another note do u still play chess r do ya have d time

Still play now and again but I retired as the grandmaster a while back😜

I'm gonna some oldskool mixes which are a tribute to the legends Ed Case/warren K/Pressure etc and maybe even Mick Walsh.

What choons would you like to see in a mix? I'm gonna focus on Ed Case first so bring on the list of your favourite choons lads.

Still play now and again but I retired as the grandmaster a while back😜

Lol :D

Well here if your into it i play on-line.Reg on this site and giz a shout and i'll give u a game.You can set-it up so ya have either 2 day's per move r up to 14 so is ya don't play that often set it for 14 until you get bitten by the bug and start to play reg again...
    I'm gonna some oldskool mixes which are a tribute to the legends Ed Case/warren K/Pressure etc and maybe even Mick Walsh.

What choons would you like to see in a mix? I'm gonna focus on Ed Case first so bring on the list of your favourite choons lads.

Are you still using vinyl r gone all digital or both.

Lol :D

Well here if your into it i play on-line.Reg on this site and giz a shout and i'll give u a game.You can set-it up so ya have either 2 day's per move r up to 14 so is ya don't play that often set it for 14 until you get bitten by the bug and start to play reg again...

Yeah I'll get back into it. I'll set it up tomorrow and give ya a game.

Are you still using vinyl r gone all digital or both.

Went digital about 3 years ago when I ran outta space for my trusty 1210's and the wife was givin me grief!! Saddest day of my life lettin them go after playin then nearly every day for over 10 years. Like losin my arms!!! Still have all of my vinyl in my mates gaff though, couldn't bring myself to part with them. Must have close to 300 Records or there abouts.

Had to learn using digital but once u learn initially to mix on decks it all falls into place quite quickly so I still get to do my music without the grief about taking up soo much room with the decks & Amp etc. happy days😄

List 5-10 Ed Case choons from over years and Ill get them into a mix.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

For any Hardhouse fans here, here's a classsics mix I did earlier. Enjoy if you listen :D

http://www12.zippyshare.com/v/10513373/file.html

trackie

1.Bleep & Booster - Don't Stop [NU Recordings) 1998

2.Fruitloop - Notice Me [Tripoli Trax] 1997

3.Twink - Twink Goes Disco [Nukleuz] 1996

4.Brainbashers - Biggest & Baddest [Shock Records] 1996

5.Conor G - Warp (Banana Boys vs Mr. Spring Mix) [White Label} 2001

6.Michelle Gayle - Do You Know (Tony De Vit Mix) [Master Room 1996
    7.Lemon 8 - Bells Of Revolution (Steve Thomas Mix) [Tripoli Trax] 2000

8.Ken Tobin & DJ Stylus - Sub_Sonic [White Label] 2002

9.Mr. Controller - Mr. Control (Original Mix)
    10.Mark Kavanagh - Bad Boy 2000 [Tripoli Trax] 2000

11.Eternal Rhythm - Eternal 97 (Mondo Mix) [Nukleuz] 1997.

Went digital about 3 years ago when I ran outta space for my trusty 1210's and the wife was givin me grief!! Saddest day of my life lettin them go after playin then nearly every day for over 10 years. Like losin my arms!!! Still have all of my vinyl in my mates gaff though, couldn't bring myself to part with them. Must have close to 300 Records or there abouts.

Had to learn using digital but once u learn initially to mix on decks it all falls into place quite quickly so I still get to do my music without the grief about taking up soo much room with the decks & Amp etc. happy days😄

List 5-10 Ed Case choons from over years and Ill get them into a mix.

here i forgot to add the link last nite

http://gameknot.com

Yeah happy days least ya still get to play.,did you have to sell your vinyl as well.

Ok what Ed Case tracks do ya have from the tracklists i sent ya.:D

here i forgot to add the link last nite

http://gameknot.com

Yeah happy days least ya still get to play.,did you have to sell your vinyl as well.

Ok what Ed Case tracks do ya have from the tracklists i sent ya.:D

I held onto my vinyl - not parting with that!!

I can get any of the Ed case tracks myself from utube and convert them so bring on your list of favs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

dipped into this a bit for a while, cd mixs, this tune is on Shocker the Total Inferno, also liked Thunderdome megamix, Thunderdome V and my favorite mix A nightmare in Rotterdam part I (only a bit here)

I held onto my vinyl - not parting with that!!

Ha ha :D.Thought as much

I can get any of the Ed case tracks myself from utube and convert them so bring on your list of favs.

Some of the quality on y/t not great.Unless your using some x c lent software that even when converted sounds cd quality???????

So what about the missings id's on the tracklists i sent yaDo ya know any of them you might bang them i a mix and surprise us :D
    Oldtree wrote: »
    dipped into this a bit for a while, cd mixs, this tune is on Shocker the Total Inferno, also liked Thunderdome megamix, Thunderdome V and my favorite mix A nightmare in Rotterdam part I (only a bit here)

I see would you be into any of the Bass x,Technosis,Short Circuit os Scareface stuff

or this stuff

And this love this 1 meself

This a catchy little number aswell

I'll show u my gun my UZI weighs a ton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

:eek: I try to give an ear to anything musically but that gabba/gabber/gack whatever the fook its called ....... migraine inducing shyte!

Sorry :o lil rant over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭5wreck

I've heard most of these tracks alot latley i'm starting to think i do actually know the names of them.lol

If i do happen to stumble accross any of the names u be the first to know.I'm going to bookmark this page.

Listening to this now, nice1 for upping a tracklist as well mate ;)
    tdv123 wrote: »
    For any Hardhouse fans here, here's a classsics mix I did earlier. Enjoy if you listen :D

http://www12.zippyshare.com/v/10513373/file.html

trackie

1.Bleep & Booster - Don't Stop [NU Recordings) 1998

2.Fruitloop - Notice Me [Tripoli Trax] 1997

3.Twink - Twink Goes Disco [Nukleuz] 1996

4.Brainbashers - Biggest & Baddest [Shock Records] 1996

5.Conor G - Warp (Banana Boys vs Mr. Spring Mix) [White Label} 2001

6.Michelle Gayle - Do You Know (Tony De Vit Mix) [Master Room 1996
    7.Lemon 8 - Bells Of Revolution (Steve Thomas Mix) [Tripoli Trax] 2000

8.Ken Tobin & DJ Stylus - Sub_Sonic [White Label] 2002

9.Mr. Controller - Mr. Control (Original Mix)
    10.Mark Kavanagh - Bad Boy 2000 [Tripoli Trax] 2000

11.Eternal Rhythm - Eternal 97 (Mondo Mix) [Nukleuz] 1997.

EarlERizer wrote: »
    I try to give an ear to anything musically but that gabba/gabber/gack whatever the fook its called ....... migraine inducing shyte!

05d.jpg
    gabber4life.jpg