Garda bitten by HIV man.....Assault causing harm....Attempted murder more like

• 15-01-2013 10:07AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭

Seriously....its getting worse and worse...

Garda bitten by HIV man in family row

A GARDA had to wait six months to find out if he had contracted HIV after he was bitten during a domestic disturbance, a court has heard.

Noel Winterlich (34) of Edgeworth Court, Enfield , Co Meath, pleaded guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to assault causing harm on November 9, 2008 on Cork Street, Dublin.

Judge Carmel Stewart remanded him on continuing bail until sentencing in March.

Sergeant Michael Nagle told the court Winterlich broke the garda's skin and drew blood.

Winterlich suffers from hepatitis and HIV but the garda was given the all- clear six months after the incident.

Sgt Nagle said the victim had to take antiretroviral medication which had an adverse affect on his health. He was under severe stress while awaiting the results and suffered embarrassment because he had to get multiple tests in a clinic based in an area where he policed.

The incident occurred while Winterlich's young son was staying with him. The child's mother was concerned for her son's safety but when she went to pick him up Winterlich and the child were not there.

She called the gardai who arrived shortly before Winterlich returned with the boy. When he tried to go into the bedroom to confront her, gardai restrained him because they were concerned for the child's safety.

The court was told the defendant was a long-term drug addict.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-bitten-by-hiv-man-in-family-row-3353763.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

Imagine the stress and worry for those six months of waiting to know the results. Nightmare story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Shocking thing to do at the best of times, I mean biting someone FFS!
    Not sure how it would be attemped murder but it certainly is animalistic behaviour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭2rkehij30qtza5

Glad the Garda got the all-clear. Poor man havin to endure that 'not-knowing' for so many months. Scary thing to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

It's an utterly horrendous thing to do.You can't fecking bite someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

I misread the title as 'HMV' man. I need a break from AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I thought it took 3 months for it to be detectable, not 6?

That's what they say in the STI clinics anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Shocking thing to do at the best of times, I mean biting someone FFS!
    Not sure how it would be attemped murder but it certainly is animalistic behaviour!

Well if he knowingly gave him HIV, which can lead to aids...maybe its doesn't meet the legal burden for murder..but surely a LOT more serious than assault...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

It's not just the biting, it's the biting knowing full well the risk he was posing doing it. Lowest of the low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

kraggy wrote: »

It's six months in my local STI place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭kirving

Maybe it's just me, buy I think we have a special breed of absolute scum in this country. I've never been in another country where I felt somewhere was as dodgy as some parts of Dublin at night.

That's horrible.. Two lads were caught in Hanoi last year for putting hiv infected syringes in random seats with a note saying "welcome to the club".

Anyone who tries to spread it like this lad biting the guard should be done for attempted murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Anyone know the odds of catching HIV from being bitten by someone who has it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Jesus, what an animal. Can't imagine what that Garda went through waiting to find out the results.

Also, why do the tests take so long to come back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

That's horrible.. Two lads were caught in Hanoi last year for putting hiv infected syringes in random seats with a note saying "welcome to the club".

That's an urban legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

UCDVet wrote: »

Negligible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Jesus, what an animal. Can't imagine what that Garda went through waiting to find out the results.

Also, why do the tests take so long to come back?

I think it's because it lays low in the cells. It may be detectable after 3 but 6 is the deffo all-clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Quite low unless the person biting has bleeding gums, cut in the mouth etc. Saliva does not carry the HIV virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

kraggy wrote: »

It's 3 months to be detectable, but probably could show up after 6 months, better safe than sorry.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Fortunately the chances of catching HIV from a bite is very slim. Saliva isn't a favourable environment for the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

very remote chance of HIV transmission a bigger concern would be HEP C transmission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Honestly, its time to start outsourcing this scum to the Far East or Northern Russia. Can you imagine the stress and grief that poor Garda had to endure.

Or as Chris Rock says put him in with the Tossed Salad Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I thought there was an injection you could take within a certain time from getting HIV the killed it before it does whatever it is that it does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I thought there was an injection you could take within a certain time from getting HIV the killed it before it does whatever it is that it does

There are various options available, however, there is nothing available that will mean you have nothing to worry about. You still need to access treatment immediately, but it still means you have a long few months to see the final outcome.

I think with a bite you under go a programme of treatment and tests not necessarily just looking at HIV/AIDs but also TB,maybe tetanus and a few others
    so its not just a matter of an injection.
    There is no cure or vaccine for HIV only medication for treatment of it.

Odysseus wrote: »
    There are various options available, however, there is nothing available that will mean you have nothing to worry about. You still need to access treatment immediately, but it still means you have a long few months to see the final outcome.

Awwwww , you're always around when I'm trying to be intelligent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Extremely slim - region of 1 in 10,000 as far as i'm aware.
    There was a story in the papers a while back where some judge requested the exact numbers due to all the claims going in from cops (not sure if it was in ireland or england, i'll try find a link)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭libnation

Calm down people. First of all that's a bit unfair of the article to say the Garda was embarrassed to go to the clinic. That's some awful attitude of the article's author to have towards a place that aims to help people!?

Second of all Dublin is not the dodgiest place in the world

Third of all the broken man in this story (the criminal) is already a liability. He hardly sounds like a stand up guy so he's not likely going to be thinking 'oh when I assault this Garda I better refrain from biting!'

Fourth of all HIV is not a death sentence. Granted it would be costly to the Garda and make his life very difficult (made even more difficult by people's attitudes in this thread).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

mattjack wrote: »
    very remote chance of HIV transmission a bigger concern would be HEP C transmission.

A justified concern in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

mattjack wrote: »
    Awwwww , you're always around when I'm trying to be intelligent.

From what I seen your posts where spot on. I'm not that up on this area. I have not done any pre/post test work in over a year. Even then I focus on the psych side and leave the other stuff to the nurses and docs.

I generally aviod all that stuff about viral load etc.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

libnation wrote: »
    Calm down people. First of all that's a bit unfair of the article to say the Garda was embarrassed to go to the clinic. That's some awful attitude of the article's author to have towards a place that aims to help people!?

Second of all Dublin is not the dodgiest place in the world

Third of all the broken man in this story (the criminal) is already a liability. He hardly sounds like a stand up guy so he's not likely going to be thinking 'oh when I assault this Garda I better refrain from biting!'

Fourth of all HIV is not a death sentence. Granted it would be costly to the Garda and make his life very difficult (made even more difficult by people's attitudes in this thread).

I think what the garda's superior meant in testimony about him being embarrassed was in reference to being seen by fellow patients, not the staff.