If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Not Quite Four Laps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭Ceepo

I'm back up to Dublin today but next time I'm down I'll drop you a PM and we could get a run in around the area. Are you a member of Thurles AC? I noticed a lot of runners from the club were high up the field in the DCM. I'd say there's a good competitive atmosphere at the club.

People have been sent to the Gallow's for less than saying that, lol
    No not a member of TC, but often meet up with some of the Lad's for a run with them, Sound lad's in there,
    A few of them done DCM and had good runs, think there were a few very close together under the 3hr mark,
    I run for a very small club a few miles outside Thurles called Ballynonty AC, you probably never heard of it, most people didnt,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Sunday

15 miles @ 6m58s/mile

Royal Canal/Round Phoenix Park/Royal Canal route again. The wind kind of sucked the enjoyment out of the first 6 miles but it was a nice run after that. Happy to have gotten some decent mileage in when I have the time off.

Monday

10 miles @ 7m11s/mile

Round Bull Island to bring the year's running to a close.

Tuesday to now

Nothing

Took a small bit of a tumble on New Year's and injured my shoulder. Nothing very serious but taking a few days off to let it sort itself out. Should be good to start the plan for London sometime during the week. I'll have to decide what I'm going to do first of all, of course.

Monday

8 miles @ 8m19s/mile

Just an easy run to get myself back in to it. Haven't run at this kind of pace in a long time but that's what an easy effort was this evening. Slept very badly the night before and back to the early starts with work so was fairly exhausted.

Tuesday

1.25 mile w/u, 6 miles @ 6m13s/mile, 1.25 mile w/d

After last night's run, I didn't fancy an interval session down the club so I left my gear at home. I was a bit pissed when I was feeling good after work but had left myself with no option. In future I'll just bring my gear in regardless and if I don't fancy it, so be it. Got in a decent session down by the Clontarf seafront so it all worked out in the end. Hundreds of people down there training and out running. Couldn't believe it. The pace was tough but I could have kept going for a few more miles I think without too much distress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

After last night's run, I didn't fancy an interval session down the club so I left my gear at home. I was a bit pissed when I was feeling good after work but had left myself with no option. In future I'll just bring my gear in regardless and if I don't fancy it, so be it. Got in a decent session down by the Clontarf seafront so it all worked out in the end. Hundreds of people down there training and out running. Couldn't believe it. The pace was tough but I could have kept going for a few more miles I think without too much distress.

Always carry a set of gear in the boot just in case!:D

I was running through Northwood Estate in Santry and it was like running down Grafton St. Over the course of the 1km road I must have met about 50 people.:eek: Granted a lot of them were with Clonliffe Harriers but definitely lots out for NY resolutions too.

How is your shoulder now?

Yea, there was two or three GAA/Soccer training sessions, a couple of running groups and a good smattering of everyday runners like myself. I've never seen it near that busy, even in the height of summer. My shoulder is okay, thanks for asking but I had to come to an abrupt stop when some fighting dogs ran across my path and I could feel it for about half a mile after that. It's been sore for a long while to be honest but I aggravated it last week. It's never given me an inch of trouble while running, not even during the marathon (today excepted). My darts career, on the other hand is frigged before it even started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

My darts career, on the other hand is frigged before it even started.
    So all that drinking you no doubt did over christmas has gone to waste?:p

belcarra wrote: »
    So all that drinking you no doubt did over christmas has gone to waste?:p
    Don't talk to me about it, it's all that bloody drink that got me in to this trouble in the first place.
    Anyway, I don't think I could ever develop the kind of beer belly neccessary to compete at the top, top level. There were some impressive specimens on show in the Ally Pally over the festive period. And they still probably won't make it an Olympic Sport. Shame on them.

Wednesday

10 miles @ 7m31s/mile

Took about 5 miles to get anyway warm. Freezing out there. Nice to see my easy pace getting back to something normal.

Thursday

2 mile w/u, 4 X 1.2 miles, 2 mile w/d (1 min recovery)

Pace/mile: 6.02, 5.51, 5.52, 5.45

Had intended on doing 5 X 1 mile repeats but I ended up doing the wrong loop so I just did 4 of this one. I mapped out a route that was 1.03 miles going mainly down Griffith Avenue and Home Farm Road plus the two adjoining roads in between. I went down the wrong adjoining road at one side so was a little off. I felt the first one was as quick as the other three but I guess the watch doesn't lie. Happy enough with this session.

Friday

8 miles @ 7m24s/mile

Just an easy evening time route around Clontarf and Raheny.

Saturday

18 miles @ 7m/mile

Had a 16 mile route mapped out down the canal, round Phoenix Park and back. I had added two little detours in Phoenix Park to make up the extra mile from my normal route. In the first detour around Farmleigh, the exit I had intended on leaving through was closed so I had to return through the gate I came making a significant addition to the run. I missed a turn on my second detour too adding another little bit on to run. I was pretty tired at this stage and was looking forward to getting on the canal so I'd be on the home stretch. Then after passing Ashtown Station, I saw blue police tape across the path further down. I stubbornly ran on but the Garda coming towards me started signalling for me to go back. I cursed to myself, stopped the stopwatch and just accepted I was going to have to the long way round to get back on to the Canal.
    No further mishaps from there on in but I had unintentionally added over 2 miles to my run, which wasn't ideal for a long run. I'm going to reign the mileage in a small bit next week because I don't want to be over zealous at this stage. Also, I'll have to scan the papers to see if there was anything serious going on down by the Royal Canal. It's not the most pleasant stretch down by Broombridge so nothing would surprise me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Great pace on the long runs KU. You're going mighty guns at the minute. Any other races coming up in the lead-up to London?

Cheers RFR, I'm happy enough to have kept ticking over since the DCM and I feel in good shape to tackle a plan for London. I'm down for the Raheny 5 at the end of the month and I'll have to plan out a few races after that. I haven't been down to the club this year so I'm going to consult with the trainers and see if they have any ideas. Are you still fairly bogged down with college work or are you back to a bit more regular running?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

November/December was a bit of damage limitation, just got out on Sundays, but got in a few races. I'm back to training five days a week, but no major race plans really as March-May will be very busy again. I'll hopefully get a decent 10k and half marathon in March/April, provisionally thinkin about the Bohermeen half. London's a fantastic course, very fast. Have you a Good for Age entry?

Aye, myself and the brother entered via the Good For Age after the Edinburgh Marathon and he sorted the whole thing out because he lives over in Scotland. He's booked an apartment and everything so it's been plain sailing for me. All I had to do was book the flights. I'm provisionally thinking of the Meath Half myself. There's not much else on around that time period only a charity half being run in Balbriggan. Sounds like a good race anyway from what I read.

Sunday

6 miles @ 6m23s/mile

This was intended to be a recovery run after the long run yesterday but it was freezing and I had to run fast just to get a bit of warmth. Surprisingly, not much after effects from the effort yesterday so I didn't feel too bad pushing the pace a bit. Another easy day tomorrow anyway so I'll have plenty of recovery time before the club interval session on Tuesday.

Monday

8 miles @ 6m57s/mile

Ran this as a sort of progressive run. Took it easy for the first four miles and cranked up the pace to an eventual sprint at the very end

Tuesday

3 mile w/u, 5 X ~800m, 0 mile w/d

2.40, 2.43, 2.45, 2.46, 2.50

Wasn't feel it on this one tonight. The track was frozen so it was out to the park. Conditions underfoot were pretty bad and it was tough keeping up the pace with little or no grip underfoot. Perhaps went out too quick at the start when one lad tore away and I tried to reign him in. He fell back a bit on the subsequent repeats but I started to really suffer myself on the fourth repeat and was completely frigged for the fifth one. We were down to do six but I just called it a day then. Hopefully I'll start hitting these sessions over the next few weeks. Just starting back in to seven day running so I might need a bit of time to adapt.

Wednesday

6 miles @ 7m30s/mile

Went anti-clockwise on my usual Drumcondra route to mix things up. It was actually a bit of help because I've been doing this 6 mile route and my 8 mile route to death recently.

Thursday & Friday

No running

Got absolutely drenched going to the train station in Bray after work. I was shivering with the cold on the train so I thought it best not to go to the club session. It would have been another 40 minute walk home in wet clothes after so it would have been a recipe for disaster. Once I got into dry clothes and in front of the fire at home, I wasn't heading back out in to the maelstrom. Similar story Friday with cancelled DARTs and awful weather leaving me in no mood for running come the evening.

Saturday

15 miles @ 7m02s/mile

Had a small bit of a cold over the last few days so I wasn't expecting much from this run. Just wanted to get a bit of mileage in to make up for the last few days. Started off easy but really picked up the pace for the last four miles to maybe 6m20s pace or so and felt good. Took a bit of a tumble on one of the tighter corners towards the end of the run and split my lip open. Was worried that I'd lost a tooth for a moment but thankfully I hadn't. Got away with it fairly lightly considering how hard I went down. Going to have to be a bit more careful in the wet conditions from now on.

Sunday

8.3 miles @ 6m26s

This was a bit of a character building run this morning. I ran a straight out and back route along the Clontarf seafront. It was definitely cold when I headed out but it only really sunk in how cold when I turned into the wind on the seafront trail. It was immediately hard work and I thought about cutting the run short to six miles. The ground was saturated and I was working hard to keep the pace up after only a mile in.
    Passing the three mile mark, I decided that if I was out here suffering, I was at least going to get a proper suffer in to make it worthwhile. At four miles when I eventually turned downwind, it was a bit of a relief but my legs were very tired from the effort so far and probably had some residual tiredness from the 15 miles yesterday too. It was just as much of a struggle for the second four miles but I was homeward bound so it was psychologically a little easier to take.
    Back home, I decided to treat myself to a pair of XC spikes online. €30 for a pair of Asics Hyper XC. So it's the Raheny 5 next week and then a few of the BHAA XC races after that. I've been looking forward to running a few cross country races for a while now so it's about time I took the plunge and invested in a pair. The conditions underfoot today and my slip yesterday (on concrete though it may have been) convincing me to their worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Solid training at the moment KU, have you a target in mind for Raheny? Hope to do it myself, have been putting off entering but will probably put it in this week, great race.

Monday

4.8 miles @ ~7m/mile Lunchtime
    6 miles @ 7m06s Evening

Lunchtime run down to Shanganagh Park and back. The park was fairly saturated in parts so it was a nice break from work to go frollicking in the mud for half an hour. Bog standard 6 mile run in the evening. Had mentally prepared myself for some cold, cold weather this week so the decent conditions were a welcome surprise.
    pconn062 wrote: »
    Solid training at the moment KU, have you a target in mind for Raheny? Hope to do it myself, have been putting off entering but will probably put it in this week, great race.

It's got a reputation as a decent race definitely. I run part of the course two or three times a week so I'm looking forward to racing it this time round. I guess I'm hoping to finish it in some time around 28 minutes. Should have a better idea after the club track session tomorrow night, I think. Get your name in anyway pconn. It should be a good one.

Tuesday

1 mile w/u, 4 X 1 mile (2 min rec), 1 mile w/d

5.43, 5.40, 5.40, 5.41

Icy track meant out to the fields again, which was a little disappointing. Everyone was doing different things so I went with two lads who were doing mile repeats around some GAA pitches. The ground was a little boggy in patches but the pace felt comfortably hard as a whole. Finished feeling I could have done one or two more. Happy with this session and I think I might be back to near 100% after a few below par sessions since Christmas.

Wednesday

7.2 Miles @ 7m08s/mile

A nice evening run out by Clontarf. Played a game of football straight after and I was fairly wrecked by the end of it. Might have to knock the 5-a-side on the head till after London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

Tuesday

1 mile w/u, 4 X 1 mile (2 min rec), 1 mile w/d

5.43, 5.40, 5.40, 5.41

Icy track meant out to the fields again, which was a little disappointing. Everyone was doing different things so I went with two lads who were doing mile repeats around some GAA pitches. The ground was a little boggy in patches but the pace felt comfortably hard as a whole. Finished feeling I could have done one or two more. Happy with this session and I think I might be back to near 100% after a few below par sessions since Christmas.

Thankfully it looks like the icy conditions will be gone by next tuesday so the track should be up and running again. I might stick to the park though myself, save the track work til April. My body will thank me for it!

smmoore79 wrote: »
    Thankfully it looks like the icy conditions will be gone by next tuesday so the track should be up and running again. I might stick to the park though myself, save the track work til April. My body will thank me for it!

Yea the track looked grand there on Thursday night. Should be good for the 3k time trial on Tuesday. I'll probably give it a miss this month though with the race on Sunday. All ye fast lads down the club seem to love running in the muck so there must be something to it.

Thursday

1.5 mile w/u, 6 X ~0.5 mile, 1.5 mile w/d

2.50, 2.50, 2.52, 2.50, 2.51, 2.49

Went down the club but took it relatively easy. Having said that, these felt a lot harder than they probably should have because my stomach was feeling a bit dodgy.

Friday

Lunch: 5 miles easy

Evening: 8 miles @ 7m21s/mile

Pretty rubbish conditions for the lunchtime run. Rain and strong winds. The rain was a lot heavier for the evening run but the wind had died down big time so it was grand. Checking out the Raheny 5 thread, it looks like some gale force winds predicted for the weekend. Hopefully it won't affect the race too badly. Running out that way quite regularly, we should be running with the wind on the most exposed parts so it might not be so bad. That's if the prevailing wind prevails on the day.

Saturday

6 miles @ 7m52s/mile

Just a very easy one around Drumcondra to keep the mileage up for the week. Was a little tired on this one but hopefully I'll be in fine fettle for the race come tomorrow.

While I'm sitting here taking it easy ahead of the race tomorrow, I thought I might post up my plan for London. It's not set in stone and I generally alter it a bit at the start of each week. The main thing for me is to stick to the medium length marathon paced runs and the long runs.
    londonplan.png
    ....and my weekly mileage
    weeklymileage.png

Sunday

3.5 mile w/u, Raheny 5, 3.5 mile w/d

I ran out to this one at a very leisurely pace as it's not too far from me. I was really feeling the urge to up the pace so I took this as a good sign. After collecting my number and dropping off my stuff, I put in a few strides by the start area and lined up a couple of rows back. I thought I had put myself in a good position. I expected to finish in about 50th place and lined up accordingly. When we got going, I was actually a bit further back so it was a relatively slow first quarter of a mile. I like to take it out easy for the very start of a race so I took this as a blessing in disguise.

Once things had settled down, we were running in to a fairly strong wind along the Howth Road. A runner from the Harriers went to go past me, I upped the pace a bit and went with him. We made a small bit of progress through the field and then I pushed on a bit myself. The next part of the course by St Anne's Park and the Coast Road were the quickest part of the course. I tried to push the pace as much as I could on this section. Any time I tired, I just tried to relax my whole body and generally found that I recovered pretty quickly.

Once we left the Coast Road, it was on to an uphill by the other side of St Anne's Park. I knew this was coming and was a bit daunted but I didn't struggle near as badly as I thought I might have. We swung a left at the top of the hill and we were in to the full brunt of the wind with still a bit of an incline to deal with. We were close to home now so I just dug in and fought all effort to slow down. The finish line came in to view and I emptied the tank. Made a few places and wasn't overtaken so I was massively happy.

Finished in a time of 28.13. This was about the time I was expecting, so to have achieved it in some really rough conditions was a huge boost. Chatted to a few lads from the club after, who put in some really quality performances, smmoore to the forefront among them. A three and a half mile run home to finish things off, carrying a fairly laden goodie bag that I hadn't contended with beforehand. Really well organised race and the goodie bag was top notch. The commemorative trophy I thought was an especially nice touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

I can guarantee ya that sub 28 is on the cards for you. RTE 5 miler might be the place to get it. I must do that 'relax the body' thing during a race, with all that wind I hadnt time to think about relaxing the body! Class goody bag, but unfortunately I left it in the boot of Murphs car!!!

smmoore79 wrote: »
    I can guarantee ya that sub 28 is on the cards for you. RTE 5 miler might be the place to get it. I must do that 'relax the body' thing during a race, with all that wind I hadnt time to think about relaxing the body! Class goody bag, but unfortunately I left it in the boot of Murphs car!!!

I read it somehwere once that if you start to tense up, just relax your hands and it feeds back through to the rest of your body. I find it works a treat. I don't always do it but I had it in my head before the start of the race this time. By the way, if Murph says that there was no giant Mint Aero and Rolo bar in the bag when he got it, then he's trying to pull a fast one;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

+1 on the relaxing the upperbody basically was drilled into me as a kid by my coach but as the years went on found I tended to forget but really made difference last year in faster paced sessions (didnt get to apply it on track)

Definitely a sub 27.30 in you before long man keep it up the progression has been phenomenal