Dublin Bus Wan*ers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

You could have just left the "Dublin" part out of the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

It's a disgrace, Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I was expecting this thread to be a story about people masturbating on Dublin Bus.

Would've been better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭TheBikeGuy

Could you not have walked then?

Again damaged knee ligaments, and 2 minute drive = 10 minute walk. Not pleasurable

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Israel_Dagg

Thought you used a bike?

Have you made a complain to Dublin bus OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

STAND CLEAR....LUGGAGE DOORS OPERATIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Did he buy anything nice?

TheVoodoo wrote: »
    It's a disgrace, Joe.

Wow sarcasm, your so witty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

TheBikeGuy wrote: »
    The final stop is two minutes away he could of went toilet there, also 10 minutes to go toilet? Just from my personal experience it takes a lot less than that

Are there public toilets at the final stop? Maybe when he did stop he had already held it in for a long time.I notice you never answered the question about shopping so I presume you saw none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Again damaged knee ligaments, and 2 minute drive = 10 minute walk. Not pleasurable

Look I sympathise with your damaged knee ligaments, but you are coming across as slightly Michael Douglas in Falling Down, that is all.

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Have you made a complain to Dublin bus OP?

Not yet will do tomorrow, and for every other time those amateurs perform like idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

I once walked out of my local spar to see a number 11 bus parked outside (this is a small row of local shops) with two passengers standing in the bus doorway looking confused. I decided to hang around to see what was going on and next thing the driver comes out with a cup of tea, a sambo and a bag of shopping. It was hilarious seeing the bus take up more or less the entire car park of a row of tiny shops.

did he get you a cornetto op?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Have you ever needed to go toilet so bad op that you nearly peed your pants...

Maybe he did not notice you were still on ?
    Maybe he needed a drink of water?
    maybe he is diabetic and needed sugar/food?
    Maybe he had enough of passengers like you giving out all the time?
    Maybe he did have to do a big sh1t?
    Maybe he had to do a big pee and couldn't hold it?
    Maybe he saw a ghost?
    Maybe he is superman and had to save the day?:pac::pac::pac::pac:

Jarrod wrote: »
    I once walked out of my local spar to see a number 11 bus parked outside (this is a small row of local shops) with two passengers standing in the bus doorway looking confused. I decided to hang around to see what was going on and next thing the driver comes out with a cup of tea, a sambo and a bag of shopping. It was hilarious seeing the bus take up more or less the entire car park of a row of tiny shops.

The operate in a world of there own, try punish a union protected worker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Why are you guys assuming he rides a bike? Maybe he IS the bike :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

orestes wrote: »
    Bullsh*t. Like a bus driver is just going to leave his bus with some random dude in it. "Here, keep an eye on this thing for me would ya, I just need to grab some milk".

The same thing has happened to me, except there were other people on the bus. And he was buying a breakfast roll...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Did you knw guys that the OP has damaged knee ligaments!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Rafa1977

Hi

Just had another blood boiling day with Dublin bus. Got the bus home from town and was nearing the end (im the final stop) when at the second last stop (near a supervalu) the bus driver turns off the engine after letting a few people off. He then comes upstairs and says he'l be back in a minute as he has to 'go in there'. HE then returns TEN minutes later (I timed (previous experience with DB))

He then finally completes the journey after hes good and ready.

Am I the only one who finds this pathetically amateurish? A well paid driver stopping to most likely do his personal shopping while transporting commuters?? Could any of you see this happening in another European country? Pathetic

Incredibly frustrating after a very long day. What planet are they living on??

This isnt my only bad experience with drivers, in fact its not even my first time with this experience as another driver pulled this exact stunt previously.

I calculate I'm paying 700euro a year on buses, ( a huge amount of money for me, 40% of my weekly cash (im a student)) and they act like this??

Especially while theres 400,000 unemployed who im sure would be very happy to be a bus driver.

Its time the government took a hard line with CIE as there drivers simply aren't up to the job at this stage, another case of strong unions protecting incapable workers

I'd love to hear your opinions

This wouldn't happen in any other country in the world, only Ireland. Recall something similar with Bus Eireann from Dublin to Navan last year where driver stopped at a shop to go and few bits, about 10 mins, initally thought problem with Bus, but driver came back with plastic bag with feckin bread, drink and paper!!. Because things like this have no symapthy for the likes of Bus Eireann and Dublin Bus where they are being asked to take pay cuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

I find it amusing when people say they should give the jobs to someone else as they would happily be a bus driver. Very funny as only 5-7 years ago nobody would take that as a job.

I agree there are bad ones but there are good ones too and this is in any type of job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,408 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The driver has nothing to do with when they decide to as you say.

It is in the bill for the bus route times this is the company doing not the driver so cop on with yourself

Cop on with myself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Get over it OP. Nobody died FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

Get over it OP. Nobody died FFS.

No, but he has damaged knee ligaments.

Not yet will do tomorrow, and for every other time those amateurs perform like idiots

Success! that's the way to do it.

/thread

maybe he was getting some deep heat for your knees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭slim223

Hi

I calculate I'm paying 700euro a year on buses, ( a huge amount of money for me, 40% of my weekly cash (im a student)) and they act like this??

I'd love to hear your opinions

if €700 is 40% of your weekly cash, don't expect pity on after hours

maybe he was getting some deep heat for your knees

and when he came back he saw what a strop he was in, and said 'well if that's the way you're going to be about it, i'm not giving you it now!!'..?

You can see from the other comments that this isnt a isolated incident. And all you sarcastic posters are problaby lucky enough not to have to deal with this behaviour when your simple trying to go about your daily business. I doubt yous are paying 40% of your weekly income to commute and excuse me if i sound a little like Michael Douglas from falling down but its incredible annoying. Maybe I should just follow the typical Irish attitude of keeping my mouth shut and keep putting up with with whatever pathetic level of customer service I am lucky enough to receive. Grow up people, If no one ever holds poor performers to account they will never improve. No wonder this countries in a mess with people like you abusing someone for daring to questioning atrocious levels of customer service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

There's two types of Dublin Bus driver, think Mr Barraclough and Mr McKay in Porridge, there's a lady who drives the 140 who's very nice and an absolute MILF to boot.