Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Bus Wan*ers

• 12-01-2013 12:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭TheBikeGuy

Hi

Just had another blood boiling day with Dublin bus. Got the bus home from town and was nearing the end (im the final stop) when at the second last stop (near a supervalu) the bus driver turns off the engine after letting a few people off. He then comes upstairs and says he'l be back in a minute as he has to 'go in there'. HE then returns TEN minutes later (I timed (previous experience with DB))

He then finally completes the journey after hes good and ready.

Am I the only one who finds this pathetically amateurish? A well paid driver stopping to most likely do his personal shopping while transporting commuters?? Could any of you see this happening in another European country? Pathetic

Incredibly frustrating after a very long day. What planet are they living on??

This isnt my only bad experience with drivers, in fact its not even my first time with this experience as another driver pulled this exact stunt previously.

I calculate I'm paying 700euro a year on buses, ( a huge amount of money for me, 40% of my weekly cash (im a student)) and they act like this??

Especially while theres 400,000 unemployed who im sure would be very happy to be a bus driver.

Its time the government took a hard line with CIE as there drivers simply aren't up to the job at this stage, another case of strong unions protecting incapable workers

I'd love to hear your opinions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

He was probably on an overdue lunch break and decided to cut it short to pop to a shop for a few mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Nitelink? He might have thought you were asleep drunk on the bus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

maybe he was dying for a pony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It does annoy me when they decide to switch drivers and you're left waiting for 10 minutes.

But I also hate the way trains stop at random times. I know sometimes it's for junctions etc, but it seems to happen on a regular basis on some of my journeys. So it'd be nice if they'd factor it into the timetable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭TheBikeGuy

While driving passengers on a commuter bus?? Sorry but thats no excuse, especially with the final stop just two mins away. No this was the 4.30pm bus!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭gotthebug

Could hav had to go to the toilet every1 has the right to that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Perhaps he needed a Jimmy White.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Could it be possible he needed to use the toilet.
    The driver's are human not robot's so do need to go.

They didnt switch drivers, this was one driver leaving the bus (mid journey) to do his shopping!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

TheBikeGuy should really get a bike.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Why you called thebikeguy when you do buses.Shouldnt you be thebusguy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

...and ID badges like they have for Gardai which they should have to wear at work.

I notice that the bus drivers have become more aggressive and likely to pull out in front of you on the road and you can always tell that there will be a line of slowed down cars behind every bus on the roads of our capital city.

On the rural roads the opposite is often the case, Bus Eireanns busses go faster than many country car drivers.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Your name says it all

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Hi

:mad: bloke, did you mention your displeasure to this bus wanker?

Its a 40 minute journey that was two minutes drive before being completed. He could of been adult enough to go toilet beforehand or could hold it the extra TWO minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

No excuse. A medical condition would mean he can't drive a bus.

Grayson wrote: »
    It does annoy me when they decide to switch drivers and you're left waiting for 10 minutes.

But I also hate the way trains stop at random times. I know sometimes it's for junctions etc, but it seems to happen on a regular basis on some of my journeys. So it'd be nice if they'd factor it into the timetable.

The driver has nothing to do with when they decide to as you say.

It is in the bill for the bus route times this is the company doing not the driver so cop on with yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Ironic name op.
    I do agree that it's not on at all. I mean this stuff happens down the country but in the city you wouldn't expect it. but maybe try complaining to dublin bus...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

TheBikeGuy wrote: »
    Hi

Just had another blood boiling day with Dublin bus. Got the bus home from town and was nearing the end (im the final stop) when at the second last stop (near a supervalu) the bus driver turns off the engine after letting a few people off. He then comes upstairs and says he'l be back in a minute as he has to 'go in there'. HE then returns TEN minutes later (I timed (previous experience with DB))

Am I the only one who finds this pathetically amateurish? A well paid driver stopping to most likely do his personal shopping while transporting commuters?? Could any of you see this happening in another European country? Pathetic

This isnt my only bad experience with drivers, in fact its not even my first time with this experience as another driver pulled this exact stunt previously.

I calculate I'm paying 700euro a year on buses, ( a huge amount of money for me, 40% of my weekly cash (im a student)) and they act like this??

Especially while theres 400,000 unemployed who im sure would be very happy to be a bus driver.

Its time the government took a hard line with CIE as there drivers simply aren't up to the job at this stage, another case of strong unions protecting incapable workers

Did he have any shopping? Maybe he was using the toilet.Do you begrudge him that? When you have joined the workforce yourself you can criticize the work ethic of others.If another driver "pulled this exact stunt" I suspect the store has an agreement with drivers to use the facilities.What was the important business you had to attend to that couldn't wait 10 minutes?

I have damaged knee ligaments so excuse me for not cycling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

Did he put his shopping bags in the bays provided?

Its a 40 minute journey that was two minutes drive before being completed. He could of been adult enough to go toilet beforehand or could hold it the extra TWO minutes

Could you not have walked then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

doolox wrote: »
    I notice that the bus drivers have become more aggressive and likely to pull out in front of you on the road and you can always tell that there will be a line of slowed down cars behind every bus on the roads of our capital city

If some motorists were not selfish gits, they wouldn't have to do that. I always let a bus out, its called being nice.

I have damaged knee ligaments so excuse me for not cycling

http://fc09.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2011/320/d/9/****_just_got_real_by_dbzsgtjustin-d4ge0j2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Bullsh*t. Like a bus driver is just going to leave his bus with some random dude in it. "Here, keep an eye on this thing for me would ya, I just need to grab some milk".

repsol wrote: »
    Did he have any shopping? Maybe he was using the toilet.Do you begrudge him that? When you have joined the workforce yourself you can criticize the work ethic of others.If another driver "pulled this exact stunt" I suspect the store has an agreement with drivers to use the facilities.What was the important business you had to attend to that couldn't wait 10 minutes?

He was rushing home to post here obviously

repsol wrote: »

The final stop is two minutes away he could of went toilet there, also 10 minutes to go toilet? Just from my personal experience it takes a lot less than that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

I was expecting this thread to be a story about people masturbating on Dublin Bus.

orestes wrote: »
    Bullsh*t. Like a bus driver is just going to leave his bus with some random dude in it. "Here, keep an eye on this thing for me would ya, I just need to grab some milk".

Wont be the first or last time they do, also there was 4 or 5 other people on board, all equally frustrated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

You could have just left the "Dublin" part out of the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

It's a disgrace, Joe.

I was expecting this thread to be a story about people masturbating on Dublin Bus.

Would've been better.

Could you not have walked then?

Again damaged knee ligaments, and 2 minute drive = 10 minute walk. Not pleasurable

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Israel_Dagg

Thought you used a bike?

Have you made a complain to Dublin bus OP?

STAND CLEAR....LUGGAGE DOORS OPERATIN

Did he buy anything nice?

TheVoodoo wrote: »
    It's a disgrace, Joe.

Wow sarcasm, your so witty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

The final stop is two minutes away he could of went toilet there, also 10 minutes to go toilet? Just from my personal experience it takes a lot less than that

Are there public toilets at the final stop? Maybe when he did stop he had already held it in for a long time.I notice you never answered the question about shopping so I presume you saw none.

Again damaged knee ligaments, and 2 minute drive = 10 minute walk. Not pleasurable

Look I sympathise with your damaged knee ligaments, but you are coming across as slightly Michael Douglas in Falling Down, that is all.

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Have you made a complain to Dublin bus OP?

Not yet will do tomorrow, and for every other time those amateurs perform like idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

I once walked out of my local spar to see a number 11 bus parked outside (this is a small row of local shops) with two passengers standing in the bus doorway looking confused. I decided to hang around to see what was going on and next thing the driver comes out with a cup of tea, a sambo and a bag of shopping. It was hilarious seeing the bus take up more or less the entire car park of a row of tiny shops.

did he get you a cornetto op?

Have you ever needed to go toilet so bad op that you nearly peed your pants...

Maybe he did not notice you were still on ?
    Maybe he needed a drink of water?
    maybe he is diabetic and needed sugar/food?
    Maybe he had enough of passengers like you giving out all the time?
    Maybe he did have to do a big sh1t?
    Maybe he had to do a big pee and couldn't hold it?
    Maybe he saw a ghost?
    Maybe he is superman and had to save the day?:pac::pac::pac::pac:

Jarrod wrote: »
    I once walked out of my local spar to see a number 11 bus parked outside (this is a small row of local shops) with two passengers standing in the bus doorway looking confused. I decided to hang around to see what was going on and next thing the driver comes out with a cup of tea, a sambo and a bag of shopping. It was hilarious seeing the bus take up more or less the entire car park of a row of tiny shops.

The operate in a world of there own, try punish a union protected worker!

Why are you guys assuming he rides a bike? Maybe he IS the bike :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

orestes wrote: »

The same thing has happened to me, except there were other people on the bus. And he was buying a breakfast roll...

Did you knw guys that the OP has damaged knee ligaments!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Rafa1977

Hi

This wouldn't happen in any other country in the world, only Ireland. Recall something similar with Bus Eireann from Dublin to Navan last year where driver stopped at a shop to go and few bits, about 10 mins, initally thought problem with Bus, but driver came back with plastic bag with feckin bread, drink and paper!!. Because things like this have no symapthy for the likes of Bus Eireann and Dublin Bus where they are being asked to take pay cuts.