Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Type 17 wrote: »
    A lot of commuters feel justified in always using their cars because they've paid loads of VRT and motor-tax just to own them - In Ireland, owning a car and using public transport is basically paying twice for the same thing.

If it was cheaper to own a car, (and public transport wasn't so poor,) a lot of people would consider other modes of transport for commuting and other repetitive journeys.

Sure thing. But that's exactly where we're going in circles.

[RANT]
    The problem is just, that the bleedin' muppets that are supposed to get it right don't have a clue, don't do their homework nor try to do some research. Instead of they're listening to their mates who only have their own interests to protect and make their uneducated decisions based on that. Even when objective studies do exist.
    [/RANT]

I used to bunk in with a mate of mine in Shankill, when I was freelancing in Dub City-center and take the Dart in to work. So car from Galway to Shankill, stay there for 3 days, Dart in and out every day, 2 minutes walk from the Dart station to and from work, 5 minutes walk from my mates place to the Dart station. No issues.

And when I lived around Dublin, the only useful mode of transport was a motorbike. And that's like 9 years ago. It's not gotten better since then.

Galway city is even worse.

Also the above calculation is nonsense, because a Dart-ticket or a Luas ticket is cheaper than the fuel, that is burned while sitting in traffic around the place. Wear and tear on the car, payment for parking etc. come on top. And parking in the city isn't easy by any means.

Take the case, that most families have 2 or 3 cars, it doesn't make any sense at all. Would public transport be used, a lot could do with 1 car, if cost is an issue, and use that for the occasional shopping or weekend trip. So only 1/3 of tax and VRT paid compared to having 3 cars.

It's a luxury problem. Not a cost problem.

Also, since we're in the classic section, we're talking 200 quid import and 50-60 odd quid annual tax, if the car is over 30 year old :D

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭68deville

1957 chevy 2 door post owned by nicolas cage at some stage!013_zpsf5d1ee9f.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

nicolas-cage-you-dont-say.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭DaveCol

Mercedes 600

Mercedes600_zps34ebcf48.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Know that !!

But WHERE ?

Raglan / Wellington Road ? ;)

Only place in the country that has MONEY ! Mick O'Leary has a gaff near there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭w124man

Capri wrote: »
    Know that !!

But WHERE ?

Raglan / Wellington Road ? ;)

Only place in the country that has MONEY ! Mick O'Leary has a gaff near there .

Godsake ... can I go nowhere without being followed! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,910 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Would that be the 600 that was in Terry Jackson's having a load of (expensive) work done about 11 or 12 years ago? Think it's the same colour anyway.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Would that be the 600 that was in Terry Jackson's having a load of (expensive) work done about 11 or 12 years ago? Think it's the same colour anyway.

....IF I won de Lotto, ......AND had a gaff in a sunny country, .......AND had a few other yokes to drive..........AND........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭DaveCol

It was Wellington Road. ZV reg and left hand drive

Not Your Ornery Onager

There was a brown, Dublin reg RHD 600 in the Evening Press for £800 in 1978. I hadn't bought my first car by then, but I did think about buying that.

My first car was a W115.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

There was a brown, Dublin reg RHD 600 in the Evening Press for £800 in 1978. I hadn't bought my first car by then, but I did think about buying that.

My first car was a W115.

This was most probably PZ0200, formerly owned by Paddy Gallagher, Thunder Road Cafe.

There was only four of them sold here new.
    The first was sold from the Ever Ready Garage in Donnybrook to Tommy McLoughlin, an Accountant as far as I know.
    The second belonged to Stephen O'Flaherty, the third GZU150 was sold to Tom Roche, of CRH fame and the fourth 7379ZC to Stephen O'Flaherty.

This was most probably PZ0200, formerly owned by Paddy Gallagher, Thunder Road Cafe.

The first was sold from the Ever Ready Garage in Donnybrook to Tommy McLoughlin, an Accountant as far as I know.
    The second belonged to Stephen O'Flaherty, the third GZU150 was sold to Tom Roche, of CRH fame and the fourth 7379ZC to Stephen O'Flaherty.

PZO 200 was the one that was on Car Zone recently and went to the UK

Don't think you'll ever find Johnny Rohan's Maybach in the same league :D

600 was a CLASS motor, still is ;). Maybach - failure from day 1 :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

There's one of the O'Flahertys ones in Cork as far as I know. in very poor condition apparently but is or was for sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

I worked on PZO 200 over the last few years for its long term owned and then the new owner who unfortunately sold it to the UK.
    I then worked on, and still do, GZU150 which had been unfrozen for 15 years having being punted around the trade. It's being restored slowly and is in largely original rust free condition having had only one repaint over the years.
    The ZC one is still in Motor Distributors and as mentioned the other Irish one is unrest orange and in Cork
    There have been several imports over the years, some have come and gone, but I know of at least another four in the Country including that LHD one belonging to a Merc club member, a rolling resto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

IIRC paddy gallagher's was the Pullman limo version. i don't think it had six doors (Laudelet version) but it was definitely longer than the standard version. Monster of a car.

Yer man Crowley has two 600 which are complete basket cases .....

w124man wrote: »
    Yer man Crowley has two 600 which are complete basket cases .....

any idea of provenance?

Provenance ?? Not a word you could apply to these two !! They were both RHD though but I have no idea where they came from. Worth more broken up!

ah ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I hate making a comment on this page without putting a pic up, but yesterday morning I saw the 55 KK reg 300 SL Gullwing near the port. Fair play to the owner for getting it out in all weathers. Still a very special car.

Mac 3 wrote: »

scan0008-2.jpg
    scan0009-1.jpg

Gordon Kelletts have this car in for servicing at the moment. Looks in good shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

porsche959 wrote: »
    IIRC paddy gallagher's was the Pullman limo version. i don't think it had six doors (Laudelet version) but it was definitely longer than the standard version. Monster of a car.

It was a SWB.

Not Your Ornery Onager

My first car was a W115.

Can't be certain, but I'm pretty sure the one I mentioned was xZU (unsure of first letter, possibly SZU?).

Edit: Possibly SZU 600 ???

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

There was a crowd around this when I saw it today in Sligo. Pretty beat up but still...

photo4_zps33a143a9.jpg

It was a SWB.

That wasn't my recollection having seen the car on numerous occasions parked outside an office I used to work in late 90s - but given your obvious knowledge well defer to ya just this once. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

sorry for the poor pic .. couldent get closer ( herself was in a hurry ) :rolleyes:

this merc lives in baltinglass and its after getting a complete restoration ,by the looks of it ..spotless condition inside and out !

057_zps037d21f2.jpg

porsche959 wrote: »
    That wasn't my recollection having seen the car on numerous occasions parked outside an office I used to work in late 90s - but given your obvious knowledge well defer to ya just this once. ;)

Regular 600 - http://bringatrailer.com/2011/12/01/1967-mercedes-benz-600-project/

http://www.caranddriver.com/features/ancient-grease-keeping-the-mercedes-benz-600-parade-ready-feature

LWB 600 - http://privilegedclub.com/tag/abramovich-eclipse/

Coupe 600 :eek: - http://bringatrailer.com/2009/06/20/bringatrailer-whatzit-38/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

And convertible and hearse 600's too..............:)