The Gathering 2013

They didn`t need to create another quango for it, the former Fine Gael Secretary is making huge money off of this craic.
    It will also be an insult to emigrants to celebrate idiots like the 1916 leader Padraig Pearse who called emigrants "traitors and fools" when the 100 year anniversary comes around. How about you celebrate the first dail or the 1918 elections....you know democracy not violent bullies whose backward thinking was passed down for generations and is still around today. Don`t allow emigrants to vote either, make sure you lock the door once they are gone huh.

It is all very hypocritical and few can see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

It's a good plan if done correctly.

1 - Lure loads of Irish descendants back to our shores with "The Gathering"
    2 - Hold said descendants hostage, produce ransoms to their families/employers aboard
    3 - €€€€€€€€€€€€

corkonion wrote: »
    To me it makes perfect sense, why wouldn't our tourist marketeers try to promote Ireland as a destination? Any theme or event that can be used to draw people to our shores is a good idea. As for people being "embarressed" by it.... Grow up

Major problem with it is they created more jobs for the boys with the gathering crap. Failte Ireland and Tourism Ireland already duplicate the whole tourism thing not to mention a long list of quangos under the Department of tourism, culture & sport.

Oh and it is condescending and insulting to be blatantly targeted as a cash cow to be squeezed. We are Irish afterall we know your tricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Well according to CNN travel yesterday, they had a piece on top 10 destinations for 2013, and Ireland was number 3.
    So maybe it's getting the word out.
    My problem is that except for Aer Lingus and some greedy hoteliers, nobody will see much in the way of money into the economy out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭corkonion

So what should failte Ireland and tourist boards do to attract people here?.... Nothing?... Or maybe we should just leave the scots and welsh to it, and sit back and wallow in our misery, sure isint grand to be chatting about how "another hotel is closing" and keep sinking away lads.... We love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Dosen't every village and town in Ireland not have its own festival annually.
    I know mine does and its the best one for miles.
    A couple of lads from another town said ours wasn't a patch on theirs and we ran them out.:mad:
    I don't know the Yanks would be impressed by the amount we drink at the festival or the local C&W band playing on the 40 foot trailer.:mad:

Best of luck to them but to me its horses***it.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

Its Ireland with the handout.. Where were all the gatherings during the celtic tiger days. Nobody gave a flying f**k about our ex pats then! They were too busy gathering up all the €€€€€€ and pissing them against the wall. Sure ill invite my irish friends and family back but its because i miss them not cuz i want/need their cash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,191 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Major problem with it is they created more jobs for the boys with the gathering crap. Failte Ireland and Tourism Ireland already duplicate the whole tourism thing not to mention a long list of quangos under the Department of tourism, culture & sport.

Oh and it is condescending and insulting to be blatantly targeted as a cash cow to be squeezed. We are Irish afterall we know your tricks.
    You clearly have no understanding of the set up of the tourism industry in this country, nice rant though :rolleyes:. Tourism Ireland promote the entire island of Ireland overseas and dont operate within Ireland as such, Failte Ireland promote tourism within Ireland, 50% of tourism in this country is made up of the domestic market. The Govt dept with a responsibility for tourism is called the Dept of Transport,Tourism and Sport by the way. What jobs for the boys have been created can i ask? As im aware the only working on it are employees of the organisations already involved in tourism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I dont mind it.

If it generates revenue and some tourism PR good job on the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

TheUsual wrote: »
    My problem is that except for Aer Lingus and some greedy hoteliers, nobody will see much in the way of money into the economy out of this.
    How do you end up at that conclusion? The tourists will travel around the country going to pubs, eating out buying anything even remotely considered Irish. There may be plenty of part time work in the service industry if it really picks up.

ScumLord wrote: »
    How do you end up at that conclusion? The tourists will travel around the country going to pubs, eating out buying anything even remotely considered Irish. There may be plenty of part time work in the service industry if it really picks up.
    Well said, given the amount of local Gatherings already announced on the official website then it looks like there is great potential in it. More money being spent, more jobs possibly created, keep young people in the country, promote our culture, history, attractions etc etc. How people can see this as negative is nothing but sheer negative bandwagonism by a bunch of ill informed keyboard warriors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

COME TO IRELAND FOR THE GATHERING?

why?

Dont say "for your money", dont say "for your money" Ummmm......to celebrate ireland.

o.......K. Cheaper flights? No.

massive open air free concerts like during Galway Volvo ocean race? No......

Cool things that I can at least sell to my relations abroad and tell them to come home for? No.....

Look, just shut up and tell people to come home. And bring their money. it'll be class.

COME TO IRELAND FOR THE GATHERING?

why?

Dont say "for your money", dont say "for your money" Ummmm......to celebrate ireland.

o.......K. Cheaper flights? No.

massive open air free concerts like during Galway Volvo ocean race? No......

Cool things that I can at least sell to my relations abroad and tell them to come home for? No.....

Look, just shut up and tell people to come home. And bring their money. it'll be class.
    More ill informed ramblings, have you even looked at the website to see the list of events already announced? Do you think that staff from Failte Ireland stand at arrivals in Dublin and take the money and send people back home, i bet they do.:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭gallag

More ill informed ramblings, have you even looked at the website to see the list of events already announced? Do you think that staff from Failte Ireland stand at arrivals in Dublin and take the money and send people back home, i bet they do.:rolleyes:
    So do you actually believe this is not a money grab?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

gallag wrote: »

Are there many large tourism drives that aren't 'money grabs'?

gallag wrote: »
    Of course its about money, if you read my posts i mention how it will benefit the economy, i.e with the use of money. But to simply sneer and scorn at it as nothing but a sham is horsesh1te. All these posters with their ill informed ideas and random allegations, why cant people just be positive about something that will help the economy and actually be enjoyable if you get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Get Real

Im not quite sure about the whole scam thing. I mean its no secret or anything that its about making money. Every country in the world has tourism to solely make money for its economy. For example, is seeing an ad for the spanish sun and beaches a scam somehow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The restaurants and pubs have been fleecing tourists for years. Many non-Irish who came and experienced the greed of these "businessmen" won't ever come back. I met two friends who were here from England on a Golfing holiday. They were fleeced with over-priced green fees and in one cafe they ordered two rasher sandwiches and a pot of tea for two and were charged 14 euro. Rip-off Republic.

If any of my relations come back here it will be to genuinely see friends and relations and not to pour money into the same coffers of the people who ruined the country. Our best qualified nurses, teachers etc had to leave to find work and our overpaid Govt want them back to fleece them now. It's a scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Here's the theme song for The Gathering

I bet that will make the haters change their minds :pac:

The restaurants and pubs have been fleecing tourists for years. Many non-Irish who came and experienced the greed of these "businessmen" won't ever come back. I met two friends who were here from England on a Golfing holiday. They were fleeced with over-priced green fees and in one cafe they ordered two rasher sandwiches and a pot of tea for two and were charged 14 euro. Rip-off Republic.
    Golf is over priced. That's a known fact all around the planet. You should see what they charge for stuff at St. Andrews. Golfers like the idea of everything being expensive and that's universal.

As with all tourism if you stick to the tourist spots you will be fleeced. Everyone must be fully aware of that fact by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Golf is over priced.

Golfers like the idea of everything being expensive and that's universal.

Why is that? Or are they just knobheads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

A poster made me believe that it would attract hot viking women...good enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Golf is over priced. That's a known fact all around the planet. You should see what they charge for stuff at St. Andrews. Golfers like the idea of everything being expensive and that's universal.

As with all tourism if you stick to the tourist spots you will be fleeced. Everyone must be fully aware of that fact by now.

"Golfers like the idea of everything being expensive"

What a load of rubbish. Golf is played by people who have regular jobs in both sectors and who are not millionaires. I play with a mechanic, a plumber and a gardener. None of them like being ripped off. Golf is not touristy anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Golf is not touristy anymore.

You are very much wrong there. While plenty of Irish people play golf, from all strands of society, the tourist market for golf here is very, very lucrative. We're not talking about lads playing Corbalis either

Dodge wrote: »
    You are very much wrong there. While plenty of Irish people play golf, from all strands of society, the tourist market for golf here is very, very lucrative. We're not talking about lads playing Corbalis either

And i was not talking about people being ripper-off in a Tourist area. I was talking about Kells, Co. Meath, which is not too touristy.

"Golfers like the idea of everything being expensive"

What a load of rubbish. Golf is played by people who have regular jobs in both sectors and who are not millionaires. I play with a mechanic, a plumber and a gardener. None of them like being ripped off. Golf is not touristy anymore.
    And I bet they spend a considerable sum on their hobby. I know someone who trades in golf gear, he spends allot of time in the UK where it is possible to get discount golf gear but for the most part if it has anything to do with golf, especially club gear it's always expensive.

It's not just the golf clubs either, there's prestige in owning expensive golf balls and then there's all the ridiculous clothing completely redundant as it doesn't help you golf better and you wouldn't wear it in public.

Golf is a hobby and people spend on it, while it's possible to golf on a budget most golfers want the whole lifestyle surrounding it as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Here's the theme song for The Gathering

I bet that will make the haters change their minds :pac:

So bad it could have been written by John Waters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Kettleson

Nodin wrote: »
    So bad it could have been written by John Waters.

The biggest load of cliches ever gathered together in probably one of the worst songs of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Difference Engine

Of course it's designed to seperate the diaspora from their money. That's what tourism is. We come up with concepts to sell ireland to foreigners, "come see our beautiful Emerald Isle, kiss the Blarney Stone" etc. They come, spend money, job done.

That approach doesn't work on emigrants. They have seen all this, we need to convince them to come back. The tourist bodies needed a new angle for that and this is what they came up with. It's not too bad either.

All advertising is nonsense. Women aren't going to flock to you if you buy Lynx. They are just selling an idea and that's all the Gathering is. No different from any other tourism campaign ever. It's what we pay bord failte to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

I bet the haters will change their minds.
    The horizontal bar - graph is remaining obstinately negative . I see no pivotal momentous change here?
    I watched the video. I did not rate it thumbs up or down, I've a youtube channel myself we're all entitled to our tastes.