Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭The High Crusade

This is a story that my mam told me a few months ago when we were having a random deep chat at night one time.

As a kid she was very depressed due to the fact that her twin brother was popular and she only had one or two friends, her family were very holy church goers so the local priests and such were well known. One priest in particular kept on asking my mam if she was alright, and not wanting to peep up about her depression (she was only 12-13 at the time but it was still very bad) she kept her mouth shut. One day she was in Dun Laoghaire with her friend and they were walking by a house and there was the priest from her parish in Artane, the priest asked her to come inside and my mam reluctantly did, her friend waited at the open door. He brought her into a sitting room where a woman she didn't know was sitting there, the priest sat with the woman and my mam sat in front of them. They started to question her asking if she is a devil worshipper and then they started saying that she was possessed by the devil and the demon needed to leave her, and by now it was getting quite heated as the priests voice grew angrier. The priest stood up and said he'll be back in a minute, and once he left the room my mam got up and ran out of the house yelling for her friend and they both ran to a bus stop far away from the house and got home.

After that when my mam told her parents they were obviously shocked and after that incident the priest never returned to the parish and he wasn't seen or heard of again, needless to say it's definitely unnerving to think about especially considering how young my mam was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭RossPaws

I have one, but it didn't happen to me, it happened to my mam.

One morning after dropping me to school, my mam came back to the house like she always would to have breakfast before heading to work. Myself and my brother and sister were all in school, so the house was empty every day when she went back for breakfast.

Out of habit, she locked the front door behind her when she came home, then went into the kitchen. Her handbag, which she'd left on the sofa, was turned upside down. At first, she didn't think this too odd - I was six at the time, and was going through a phase of rooting through bags and presses. She put all her stuff back into the bag, left it on the couch and went back down the hall and upstairs.

At the time, myself and my older sister shared a bedroom. I was really messy, but my sister was (and still is, in fact) a neat freak. So mam went into our room, saw the wardrobe was open and clothes/toys all over the floor, and resolved to give out to me later on for messing up the bedroom.

She spent a good ten minutes in our room putting everything back into the wardrobe, then came back out and headed for her bedroom. Now our landing was quite long, with the banisters to the left and mam's bedroom the first door on the right, myself and my sister's bedroom the second on the right, and my brother's bedroom the last door facing you as you walked down the landing.

Mam went back the way she'd come, into her own bedroom, where she noticed all her wardrobes were open and everything was strewn all over the place too. At this stage she was getting worried - I was a bit of a messy brat alright, but I'd never done anything THAT bad. She didn't put anything back, instead deciding to check to see if my brother's room was in a similar state.

She was just outside his bedroom, debating whether or not it was worth it to go in (his room was always a tip, she wouldn't be able to tell if it was disturbed anyway) when the door swung open, and some fella burst out and shoved her into the wall.

This guy was at least six foot, shoulder length hair and skinny as a whippet. He tried to run past her and down the stairs, but my mam was furious. She legged it downstairs after him, and found him trying to get out the front door; the front door that she had locked behind her when she'd come into the house.

Panicking now, he turned and ran at her. My mam is about 5"5, not very tall but she was having none of his ****. She grabbed his hands when he tried to shove her again and for a while they sort of stood in this weird wrestle, until he overpowered her and slammed her away from him again. This time she hit the hall table and stumbled a bit, giving him the chance to dart down the hall and into the kitchen.

Above the kitchen sink we had this long window, about four by two foot, and it was only now that mam realized it was only shoved closed. Obviously that was the way he'd come in. He hopped over the sink, kicked the window out and ran into our garden. The problem was that the walls around our garden were way too tall to jump.

At this stage, reality is kicking in so mam starts searching for her keys to get out the front door. The guy, obviously realizing now that he can't get over the back walls, is trying to squeeze back in the kitchen window. She finds her keys on the kitchen table just as he falls back in through the window, and runs down the hall.

According to her, this is where the horror movie rules start coming in. She could not get the key in the door. Her hands were shaking and she dropped them, and instinctively she turns to look over her shoulder only to see him coming at her with a BBQ fork that he obviously picked up in the garden.

Our hallway was really long in that house, and I suppose time felt like it was moving differently in those few seconds. She somehow managed to scoop the keys, get them in the lock, and get out the front door literally moments before he reached her.

The house was opposite DCU, which if you know the area, is in front of a main road. She ran out into the middle of it waving her arms until a truck pulled over to find out what was wrong. She told the guy what happened, the police were called, and the fella who broke in was caught literally a few minutes down the road.

When the police were going through the house, they found a swiss army knife in the garden, just underneath the kitchen window as if he had dropped it when he was squeezing through.

So that's my story (or, my mother's story!) Not a ghost one but pretty scary in it's own way.

We moved out of the house about a year later, weird things happened in it quite a lot and we all hated it. It was broken into three more times, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

That story had me sweating!! Was like a horror movie. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭listenup

About 10 years ago i was going to bed one night and was goin reading a hotpress magazine i bought that day i went down the hall opened my bedroom door BUT didnt turn on the light cause i was goin to go to the jax i could see my bed with the light from the hall ANYWAY..i threw my magazine onto the bed from the door and as i saw it land on the bed it completely dissapeared in front of me i thought i was seeing things i turned on the light looked at the bed NO MAGAZINE looked down the side of the bed NO MAGAZINE thought it slid under the pillow looked ..NO MAGAZINE it freaked me the **** out and still does i reckon my mag is in some alternate universe thats my freaky story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭anBoMor

Being a sweet tooth, I'm forever offering kids sweets and checking their parents reactions just in case :o Like I'm a wee girl who looks about 16 and I still feel guilty offering children chocolate on dublin buses or whatever.

To the point though!

Back when I actually was 16, about 3 years ago, I'd been at a friends going away party on the other side of town. He spent most of the night with one group of people, so three of us decided to drink everything in the house (which wasn't much, seeing as they were 1. moving very soon and 2. there were three of us). However, being lightweights it got to us.
    Now everyone else at the party lived on the southside so I had to catch the last bus northside alone. Living in an awkward part of town public transport wise, I ended up catching the bus to Parnell Square and deciding to walk the 20 minutes home. At this point, it's after midnight, it's dark and barely any cars are out. As far as I remember it was a Tuesday, so there weren't any people going to clubs etc either. Now I'm stumbling slightly up the street when I notice two guys coming towards me. I chose to pay attention to the sidewalk and keep walking, not being in the safest area anyway. Once we go to pass each other, one of them grabs me by the waist and says "I love girls with glasses!" and proceeds to gob me. In shock, I didn't react at all and just sort of froze up. Once he was finished he said "My friend is dj-ing at a party, come come" and proceeds to try to drag me up the street. By now I've got my wits back and I'm refusing to go, trying to pull away but he's not taking no for an answer. Just as his friend moved forward to get involved, I got my arms free and power walked as quickly as I could in the opposite direction.

I hadn't though about this in years but it's scary to think that if I'd had a bit more to drink or they'd gone after me or I hadn't gotten free, who knows what could have happened. Also that some easily 30 year old sicko was gobbing teenage girls on the street. Like I'm 19 now and look 16, I easily passed for 13 back then :/ It makes me shudder still. Nowhere near as bad as people trying to pick up kids, but I can still taste his mouth..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Me and a group of co-workers went to see Keith Barry in the Olympia back in 2011. Anyway one of the lads gets called up on stage for one of the opening tricks. He is asked to give Keith his watch, who puts it in a velvet bag and then hammers it with a hammer into little pieces. Keith tells him not too worry as its not very valuable but the friend says it's actually his deceased grandfathers watch, later we all agreed we saw a flicker of guilt on Keiths face.

Anyway Keith pulls out the watch undamaged and yer man returns to his seat. While the show goes on, the friend is constantly looking at his watch and eventually realises under the dim lights its a replica. Not wanting to cause a scene he waits until the end of the show to approach the backstage entrance but is blocked by security. His claims over is watch are laughed upon, enraged and upset he leaves with one of the lads who stayed on with him and rather than joins us in the pub, goes home in a fowl mood.

A few days later he meets his girlfriend for a coffee in the IFSC near work, while his girlfriend is ordering some doughnuts at the till, he see Keith Barry leaving with a coffee. Almost spilling his own coffee, he gets up and heads out after him. When he gets outside he looks for Keith but he has dissappeared. Distraught again he returns to his girlfriends table. Unable to talk he goes to take a bite out of his doughnut.....

And what was in the Doughtnut??
    ........... Jam <

I just got a bit upset reading this :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

My first story isn't creepy really. When I was younger a friend and I always said that when one of us dies, that we'd let the other know if there was an afterlife.

Shortly after he died I had a dream that we were on a flat roof and there was a party, but everything was in slow motion, except us. There were things like small comets or fireworks falling all around us. It was lovely. He had his head down and said he was sorry for the pain he caused(he killed himself) and he gave me a rose. When I woke up a velvet rose he had given me a long time before was on the end of the bed. I was moving at the time and everything was packed in boxes! I was spooked and very emotional at the same time.

My second story happened a few years ago, when I had a "proper" job part of which involved interior surveys of buildings.

I went with a co-worker to survey an old property in Dublin, I don't remember exactly where, but around Stephens green/ Merrion area. An old terraced house with 3 floors and a basement if I remember correctly. We decided to split the floors, I was to do the first floor and second floor, B was to do the ground and basement. So I began my work on the first floor and could hear B on the floor below me, walking around, having a muffled conversation (on his mobile I assumed). Thinking nothing of it I continued, finished my survey of both floors and went downstairs to begin my drawings.

When I went down, I found B on the ground floor where I thought he had started, having heard him directly below me for the entire time I was on the first floor. When I asked if he had come across a problem or something that was holding him up, and did he need help with the basement, he told me that the basement was already done, he had done it first, but wanted to know why I spent so long wandering around the ground floor when I was supposed to be doing the upper floors. So while I was on the first floor, and he was in the basement, we were both listening to someone banging and talking from the ground floor in a closed building with only 2 of us in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 YESHUCKSTER

Late 80's when I was 11 years old I had a dream about being in a large venue with tiered seating and lots of bingo equipment (number boards etc.) it was a very vivid dream and it was strange as I had never been to a bingo event in my life nor did I recognise the venue.

A few months later I qualified to attend the Irish amateur boxing championships which were being held in the National Stadium on the South Circular road in Dublin and when we first arrived I instantly knew this was the venue from my dream - I had never been there nor seen any photo's off it before - and the creepiest thing was that the bingo equipment was all there exactly like the dream - stored away off to one side.

Explain that one science :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Late 80's when I was 11 years old I had a dream about being in a large venue with tiered seating and lots of bingo equipment (number boards etc.) it was a very vivid dream and it was strange as I had never been to a bingo event in my life nor did I recognise the venue.

A few months later I qualified to attend the Irish amateur boxing championships which were being held in the National Stadium on the South Circular road in Dublin and when we first arrived I instantly knew this was the venue from my dream - I had never been there nor seen any photo's off it before - and the creepiest thing was that the bingo equipment was all there exactly like the dream - stored away off to one side.

Explain that one science :-)

Did you win? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 YESHUCKSTER

Did you win? ;)

Yes - was the first and only though - retired soon afterwards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

RossPaws wrote: »
    I have one, but it didn't happen to me, it happened to my mam.

One morning after dropping me to school, my mam came back to the house like she always would to have breakfast before heading to work. Myself and my brother and sister were all in school, so the house was empty every day when she went back for breakfast.

Out of habit, she locked the front door behind her when she came home, then went into the kitchen. Her handbag, which she'd left on the sofa, was turned upside down. At first, she didn't think this too odd - I was six at the time, and was going through a phase of rooting through bags and presses. She put all her stuff back into the bag, left it on the couch and went back down the hall and upstairs.

At the time, myself and my older sister shared a bedroom. I was really messy, but my sister was (and still is, in fact) a neat freak. So mam went into our room, saw the wardrobe was open and clothes/toys all over the floor, and resolved to give out to me later on for messing up the bedroom.

She spent a good ten minutes in our room putting everything back into the wardrobe, then came back out and headed for her bedroom. Now our landing was quite long, with the banisters to the left and mam's bedroom the first door on the right, myself and my sister's bedroom the second on the right, and my brother's bedroom the last door facing you as you walked down the landing.

Mam went back the way she'd come, into her own bedroom, where she noticed all her wardrobes were open and everything was strewn all over the place too. At this stage she was getting worried - I was a bit of a messy brat alright, but I'd never done anything THAT bad. She didn't put anything back, instead deciding to check to see if my brother's room was in a similar state.

She was just outside his bedroom, debating whether or not it was worth it to go in (his room was always a tip, she wouldn't be able to tell if it was disturbed anyway) when the door swung open, and some fella burst out and shoved her into the wall.

This guy was at least six foot, shoulder length hair and skinny as a whippet. He tried to run past her and down the stairs, but my mam was furious. She legged it downstairs after him, and found him trying to get out the front door; the front door that she had locked behind her when she'd come into the house.

Panicking now, he turned and ran at her. My mam is about 5"5, not very tall but she was having none of his ****. She grabbed his hands when he tried to shove her again and for a while they sort of stood in this weird wrestle, until he overpowered her and slammed her away from him again. This time she hit the hall table and stumbled a bit, giving him the chance to dart down the hall and into the kitchen.

Above the kitchen sink we had this long window, about four by two foot, and it was only now that mam realized it was only shoved closed. Obviously that was the way he'd come in. He hopped over the sink, kicked the window out and ran into our garden. The problem was that the walls around our garden were way too tall to jump.

At this stage, reality is kicking in so mam starts searching for her keys to get out the front door. The guy, obviously realizing now that he can't get over the back walls, is trying to squeeze back in the kitchen window. She finds her keys on the kitchen table just as he falls back in through the window, and runs down the hall.

According to her, this is where the horror movie rules start coming in. She could not get the key in the door. Her hands were shaking and she dropped them, and instinctively she turns to look over her shoulder only to see him coming at her with a BBQ fork that he obviously picked up in the garden.

Our hallway was really long in that house, and I suppose time felt like it was moving differently in those few seconds. She somehow managed to scoop the keys, get them in the lock, and get out the front door literally moments before he reached her.

The house was opposite DCU, which if you know the area, is in front of a main road. She ran out into the middle of it waving her arms until a truck pulled over to find out what was wrong. She told the guy what happened, the police were called, and the fella who broke in was caught literally a few minutes down the road.

When the police were going through the house, they found a swiss army knife in the garden, just underneath the kitchen window as if he had dropped it when he was squeezing through.

So that's my story (or, my mother's story!) Not a ghost one but pretty scary in it's own way.

We moved out of the house about a year later, weird things happened in it quite a lot and we all hated it. It was broken into three more times, too.
    Oh Jebus that would have scared the hell out of me.

My mum had a similar (but less dramatic) experience back in the early nineties, I think it was. She always had problems with her back, and this time she was off work for a week, in bed as she couldn't move easily. At that time, only my dad had a car, and he was at work, so the house looked empty with no cars parked in front. At about 10 in the morning, she heard someone walking around the house, and then trying to open the back door. Apparently they tried pretty forcefully to open it! She was very panicked knowing she wouldn't be able to get up quickly or anything. Luckily he went away.

Now the thing that freaked me out afterwards about the story, was that at that time there was a French guy living rough in our area, he was very odd. He stalked a few people round the town etc etc. And a couple of years later, when he was back in France, he was put in prison for an absolutely horrendous murder of a single mum and her two kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Funny story:

When I was 14 my Grandfather was very sick, not far off death. My parents and aunties and uncles started to take turns staying in his house over night to look after him. The first night my parents were gone I was left in charge of my younger brother and sister.

That night I went to sleep in my parents room as the bed was huge and extremely comfortable. At some stage during the night my younger sister came into the room (thinking I was my father) and asked if she could sleep in the bed cause all the noise was keeping her awake, to save an arguement I said yes, thinking she was dreaming.

A while later I woke with a fright, there was a terrible noise outside, the room was flashing various colours. I was fresking out, first night at home alone, in charge and there was something terrible happening. A terible crash outside, the gable end, something was after breaking the gate at the gable end! I lay in the bed motionless, terrified stiff. Then there was knocking at the front door, it started normally and raised to a pounding after a few minutes, then all the banging stopped, just the eerie lights remained.

I lay there terrified, couldn't move a limb. Only consolation was knowing that at least the little sister was fine, my brother was on his own. I'm not sure how long I lay there for, felt like an eternity but probably not, but I eventually forced myself to sleep, if whatever it was is going away, or going to kill/abduct me then I don't want to be awake for it.

Then, still dark outside with lights flashing, my father came in to the room and woke me with a "ARE YOU FÚCKIN DEAF??"

The school next door was burning to the ground, firemen were out fighting the fire all night. They went around to all the neighbours houses to get people out in case the fire spread. They couldn't rouse anyone in our house, they even broke down the side gate to get to the back door to try. One of the firefighters knew about my grandfather and went to get my Da.

To this day my parents still think that I slept through the whole thing. I was way too embarrassed at the time to tell them that I heard it all but instead of getting up and jumping into action I lay in bed a quivering wreck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭pitythefool

Guill wrote: »
    Funny story:

When I was 14 my Grandfather was very sick, not far off death. My parents and aunties and uncles started to take turns staying in his house over night to look after him. The first night my parents were gone I was left in charge of my younger brother and sister.

That night I went to sleep in my parents room as the bed was huge and extremely comfortable. At some stage during the night my younger sister came into the room (thinking I was my father) and asked if she could sleep in the bed cause all the noise was keeping her awake, to save an arguement I said yes, thinking she was dreaming.

A while later I woke with a fright, there was a terrible noise outside, the room was flashing various colours. I was fresking out, first night at home alone, in charge and there was something terrible happening. A terible crash outside, the gable end, something was after breaking the gate at the gable end! I lay in the bed motionless, terrified stiff. Then there was knocking at the front door, it started normally and raised to a pounding after a few minutes, then all the banging stopped, just the eerie lights remained.

I lay there terrified, couldn't move a limb. Only consolation was knowing that at least the little sister was fine, my brother was on his own. I'm not sure how long I lay there for, felt like an eternity but probably not, but I eventually forced myself to sleep, if whatever it was is going away, or going to kill/abduct me then I don't want to be awake for it.

Then, still dark outside with lights flashing, my father came in to the room and woke me with a "ARE YOU FÚCKIN DEAF??"

The school next door was burning to the ground, firemen were out fighting the fire all night. They went around to all the neighbours houses to get people out in case the fire spread. They couldn't rouse anyone in our house, they even broke down the side gate to get to the back door to try. One of the firefighters knew about my grandfather and went to get my Da.

To this day my parents still think that I slept through the whole thing. I was way too embarrassed at the time to tell them that I heard it all but instead of getting up and jumping into action I lay in bed a quivering wreck.

I know now son, your in big trouble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

Around 3 years ago i picked some girl up in a pub. We were seeing each other on and off then . One night i was back at her place for the 1st time and with her in her room. It was around 2am and then the door opened . I asked her who it was and she replied 'My Boyfriend' . Unnerving to say the least :-(

TheNap wrote: »
    Around 3 years ago i picked some girl up in a pub. We were seeing each other on and off then . One night i was back at her place for the 1st time and with her in her room. It was around 2am and then the door opened . I asked her who it was and she replied 'My Boyfriend' . Unnerving to say the least :-(
    and then what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom Girl

This isn't really creepy but it did unnerve me for a bit after it happened.

I was in my bedroom on my laptop one night when the alarm clock in the spare room across the hallway started going off. I went into the room to turn it off and discovered that someone had left the iron switched on, resting iron side down on the ironing board. This was at about nine o'clock at night so the iron had been on for a few hours at least, and it wasn't one of those irons that switch themselves off after a period of time. What's strange is that no one had stayed in that room recently and the alarm clock hadn't gone off any other night before this, so it wasn't a set alarm. I should also point out that it was a simple 12 hour clock with no date function.

I dread to think what could have happened if the alarm never randomly went off and the iron was left on all night. Lucky escape I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

I was doing a handgliding course at Mt. leinster a bout 6 years ago. There was a guy who was claiming to be argentinian but he must have been here a long time, he looked irish and sounded irish but called himself gomez.
    Not sure if that was his real name.

One day we were up with our handgliders and I was bricking it, wasn't used to it and I'm terrified of falling from a great height. Gomez was trying to say something to me and I couldn't hear him, but he seemed angry.
    When we got down he just pretended he didn't say anything.

The next time we're dashing for the edge so we can take off and he says: I'm going to smash your face in with a hammer. It was too late for me to slow down so whosh, off I go with this threat looming over me all of a sudden.
    I look over at him, half terrified but increasingly angry, he's got his pants down and is pissing. Hundred feet in the air, just pissing away in the wind.

I got down from that glide and never went back. Last I heard he's hitting people with cars down over in england. Mad yoke, think I dodged a bullet there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,445 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Karona wrote: »
    I lost my Claddagh ring a few days ago as many of you know, well today my mother found it sitting on my brothers bed.

I text my brother and asked him did he find it and put it there and he told me he didn't. I searched the house for it the other night and the next day and it most definitely wasn't there. I even pulled that bed out of the room looking for it and it wasn't to be seen.

Looks like it came from thin air. :) Delighted I got my ring back though. :cool:

Sorry, I missed that.

I better subscribe to your posts from now on :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

MANUTD99 wrote: »
    I posted this in another thread trying to get some information on Linden Hall.

Hi All,

wondering if anyone has some insight to this place. Linden Hall Blackrock. I think apartments are there now. my father used to work for a security company in the 90's and the got the keys to Linden Hall to do regular security checks.

Is the building in this photo the same one as you are posting about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 mortarhate

Have to add my bit, its not supernatural but scared the fck out of me. Was driving around the states about two years ago (Toronto, Niagara Falls, Vegas, LA, Utah, Colorado and Arizona) with my missus. Anyways, we were driving through some really dodgy looking remote Hicksville part, I think it was the drive between Arizona and L.A., and the other half says to get petrol. She was completely paranoid of the car running out of petrol in the middle of nowhere as she thought we were going to get murdered by a serial killer or something (very active imagination).. By this time its dark and I see a petrol station at the side of this really empty road. I stop the car and head in with my credit card to pay for the petrol. When I get in, there are these two ropey-looking heads, missing teeth, well rough, at the counter saying something about credit cards, with one of them smacking a ball-bearing off the counter. “Fckn great” I think as I hand your man behind the counter my card. Anyway, I pay for the petrol and leave, jump in the car and drive off, telling the other one about the two lads. I’m driving for an hour or so in the pitch-dark on the empty road, no street lights obviously, with the odd car passing on the other side of the road. I did however notice that the cars on the other side were flashing and just realise that my lights were on full beam. I couldn’t work out how to dip them, so I hand the other one the car manual and ask her to find out how to do this. She couldn’t find it so I pulled over to the side of this road, stuck on the hazard lights, and try to read it myself. A few seconds later, a set of headlights goes on behind the car. I look out and its one of the blokes from the petrol station in a breakdown truck. He was driving right behind our car in the pitch-dark for over an hour off with his lights off!! He comes up the side of the car, leans on the edge of the door and asks what’s wrong. I stutter the problem and he tells me how to dip them. I say thanks, great stuff, and he stays leaning, saying nothing, just looking. I say thanks again, have to go, and he just continues to stare saying nothing. I actually had to accelerate the car before he slowly stands back. Fcking took off like a bullet, but could see him all the while in the rear-view mirror just standing in front of the truck, not moving. I didn’t slow down until we reached civilisation again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I keep getting deja vu from dreams that I've had. Once, twice, even three times I can pass off, but not as often as it's been happening. It varies from just walking into my grandmother's house with both of us wearing a particular outfit, to seeing my grandad in hospital (He was fit as a horse, and hadn't been in hospital for 25 years before last November) and nana sitting beside him in the same clothes she was actually wearing.

I'm not sure if I'm actually seeing the future or if I'm just imagining it, but it's getting weird. I had a dream about a lecture that I would have, down to the room and what the lecturer was wearing. That exact thing happened my first week of college (I'd moved across the country, and had only been in my college once).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭_sparkie_

Wurly wrote: »
    Another night in Dublin, I got a taxi home. I was absolutely locked and my eyes were half closed. The taxi driver kept sh1teing on about Elvis and did I like him? And wasn't he the best thing ever? I was like, err yeah whatever. At this point, he got REALLY aggressive and started shouting at me. He turned the light on in the car and literally floor to ceiling were pictures of elvis sellotaped all over the camp. On the seats and everything but I never noticed. He was like 'I AM ELVIS', whilst shaking his fist. I was like - right, this is my house. I threw him some money, got out and legged it.

Something similar happened to a friend and me one night coming home from town. This was within the last couple of years and one of the batman movies must have just been released because the driver was going on and on about batman the whole way home. Then he started to get a bit more intense and started telling us what he would do to thugs if he was a vigilante. He kept going on and on and we thought it was pretty funny so we kinda egged him on by asking leading question which he responded to then he copped that we were taking the piss and stopped the car in the middle of the road (still very far away from our homes) and turned to us. This was on a pretty dark road at like 4am with no one else around, 'I am batman, you believe mw dont you?' my friend and I are just looking at each other and the driver hits the locks. It was all pretty funny until then, he seemed like a nice guy but within a second became a fecking creep. We just had to agree with him that he was batman and then he drove us a bit more down the road until we convinced him this is where we lived (not a chance we were actually letting him know our address) paid him and got out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,302 ✭✭✭✭K-9

CTYIgirl wrote: »
    I keep getting deja vu from dreams that I've had. Once, twice, even three times I can pass off, but not as often as it's been happening. It varies from just walking into my grandmother's house with both of us wearing a particular outfit, to seeing my grandad in hospital (He was fit as a horse, and hadn't been in hospital for 25 years before last November) and nana sitting beside him in the same clothes she was actually wearing.

I'm not sure if I'm actually seeing the future or if I'm just imagining it, but it's getting weird. I had a dream about a lecture that I would have, down to the room and what the lecturer was wearing. That exact thing happened my first week of college (I'd moved across the country, and had only been in my college once).

I've had deja vue a couple of times, dreamt something and it happened a while later.

ReaL life, I travelled back from Leterkekenny to Donegal town, hundreds of times. My Mam is from Creeslough, my Uncle from Falcarragh. we passed the Letterkenny to Donegal road hundreds of times, (the Dry Arch existed) a small road to Convoy always stuck in my mind, never drove on that road, always saw the sign.

20 Years later I travelled that road nearly every day, I remember the sign vividly.

Thing is, the road changed, the junction is completely different.

I completely believe in dreaming stuff that happens to you.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭panevthe3rd

I have a few creepy ones alright.

I'll never forget my dad telling us about one time he took a shortcut home through a couple of fields after a few drinks. He was walking along keeping an eye on the light from our house to make sure he didn't get lost in the pitch black. All of a sudden he felt like he got punched in the stomach. He started shouting for whoever it was to try it again. Nobody appeared. A bit freaked out he decided he'd make a run for it. Same thing happened again. Fairly freaked out he made a run for it. Only on the third time it happened did he realise he was walking into a live electric fence.

But one story that was actually creepy instead of funny I was there for myself. I was about ten and me, my dad and an aunt of mine were driving back from visiting another aunt in Tipperary. We were on a fairly rural road when the 3 of us heard what we thought was a cat in the car. I was in the back seat and couldn't see any cat so we thought it must be under the driver or passenger seat. My aunt we had visited had a farm with plenty of cats around the place so we thought one must have gotten into the car before we left. We stopped the car and started looking under the seats and all but couldn't find anything anywhere. As we were stopped a jeep came around the corner ahead of us on the wrong side of the road. Had we not stopped for the imaginary cat we would have without a doubt had a serious accident. I put my seatbelt on after that. Afterwards I remember my dad and aunt talking about how their mother used to keep a cat. That was 18 years ago now but I'll never forget it.

I have a few creepy ones alright.

I'll never forget my dad telling us about one time he took a shortcut home through a couple of fields after a few drinks. He was walking along keeping an eye on the light from our house to make sure he didn't get lost in the pitch black. All of a sudden he felt like he got punched in the stomach. He started shouting for whoever it was to try it again. Nobody appeared. A bit freaked out he decided he'd make a run for it. Same thing happened again. Fairly freaked out he made a run for it. Only on the third time it happened did he realise he was walking into a live electric fence.

But one story that was actually creepy instead of funny I was there for myself. I was about ten and me, my dad and an aunt of mine were driving back from visiting another aunt in Tipperary. We were on a fairly rural road when the 3 of us heard what we thought was a cat in the car. I was in the back seat and couldn't see any cat so we thought it must be under the driver or passenger seat. My aunt we had visited had a farm with plenty of cats around the place so we thought one must have gotten into the car before we left. We stopped the car and started looking under the seats and all but couldn't find anything anywhere. As we were stopped a jeep came around the corner ahead of us on the wrong side of the road. Had we not stopped for the imaginary cat we would have without a doubt had a serious accident. I put my seatbelt on after that. Afterwards I remember my dad and aunt talking about how their mother used to keep a cat. That was 18 years ago now but I'll never forget it.

I bet you are 28

How creepy is it that i know that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

I bet you are 28

How creepy is it that i know that

Check out the mathematician....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

falan wrote: »
    Check out the mathematician....:pac:

I just looking into my crystal ball and it's telling me you are male...

Don't be to freaked out....

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

Heres a creepy one for you.

My girlfriends brother was in the Polish special forces when he was younger. A few years ago his best friend, who was also in the Polish special forces deliberately drove his car into a wall and commmitted suicide.
    The night of his suicide my girlfriend was asleep and had a dream. In the dream her brother's best friend was willing her to commit suicide, saying that what comes after was amazing. My girlfriend asked him in the dream how she was supposed to kill herself and he told her to go to her brothers room, pull out the third shelf of the drawer beside her brother's bed and then open the small metal container. She was told that she would find her brother's knife from his time in the Polish Special forces and that she should slit her throat with it.

She had never seen the knife before or even knew it existed but when she woke up the next morning she went to look. Sure enough the knife was there in the exact place that she was told in the dream and was exactly as described. She went and sat down for breakfast afterwards and was about to tell her mother when the brother came in with the news that his best friend had died in a car crash at 3am the night before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

Higher wrote: »
    Heres a creepy one for you.

My girlfriends brother was in the Polish special forces when he was younger. A few years ago his best friend, who was also in the Polish special forces deliberately drove his car into a wall and commmitted suicide.
    The night of his suicide my girlfriend was asleep and had a dream. In the dream her brother's best friend was willing her to commit suicide, saying that what comes after was amazing. My girlfriend asked him in the dream how she was supposed to kill herself and he told her to go to her brothers room, pull out the third shelf of the drawer beside her brother's bed and then open the small metal container. She was told that she would find her brother's knife from his time in the Polish Special forces and that she should slit her throat with it.

She had never seen the knife before or even knew it existed but when she woke up the next morning she went to look. Sure enough the knife was there in the exact place that she was told in the dream and was exactly as described. She went and sat down for breakfast afterwards and was about to tell her mother when the brother came in with the news that his best friend had died in a car crash at 3am the night before.
    God that is creepy!!

I just looking into my crystal ball and it's telling me you are male...

Don't be to freaked out....

i sense someone with bad grammar is posting on boards