Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

greendom wrote: »
    He should have got something onto the Michu effort today.

Look at where the shot was taken from and where Szczesny was positioned at that time. It was essentially a penalty, distance wise, so it would have been a great save if he had made it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

greendom wrote: »

He should have got something onto the Michu effort today.
    Saying it ages now hes gonna cost us goals if he doesnt cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Look at where the shot was taken from and where Szczesny was positioned at that time. It was essentially a penalty, distance wise, so it would have been a great save if he had made it.

The ball seemed very close to him as it went passed him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Jaysus lads we need a new keeper badly! Some of the goals Chesney concedes do be very tame indeed!

I cant believe people seriously believe this. He is by far and away the best keeper we have had in a long time. Probably since Seaman. Lehmann was prone to a fair few howlers. Szczesny isnt perfect and does makes mistakes but not as big and nowhere near as often. Plus, he is 22. He isnt even close to his prime yet. He is already really good, imagine how great he will be when he hits it? Sign a new number one and he is gone. He is far too good to sit on the bench.

Goalkeeper is probably the last area we need to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

What about Arteta cowering out for the 2nd goal, he seemed to duck out of the way. After what Wilshere did recently that is hard to take. For the money they're getting they should man-up.

Indeed he should have ran out but it seems he was reluctant to leave his post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Indeed he should have ran out but it seems he was reluctant to leave his post.

He did go out, it's the turning his back to it he's on about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

After watching most of the game again I take back all the bad things I said about sagna during the game

Walcott didn't give him any protection but on top of that anytime he had the ball in the RB position he had no one to give it too cause Walcott wasn't ahead of him on the wing

I'm starting to think leave him off altogether

batistuta9 wrote: »
    He did go out, it's the turning his back to it he's on about

He didn't go out fast/far enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

For the Michu goal Woj should have been off his line a lot quicker and either smothered the shot or made Michu rush it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

I just don't see how any blame can be attached to Woj for the goal. Michu the most in form striker running at him with pace, it's a lottery for the keeper, I watched it and the highlights and both times thought he looked like dinking it its almost worse than a penalty for a keeper.

There was so many things to be critical of today this just isn't one of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

After watching most of the game again I take back all the bad things I said about sagna during the game

Walcott didn't give him any protection but on top of that anytime he had the ball in the RB position he had no one to give it too cause Walcott wasn't ahead of him on the wing

I'm starting to think leave him off altogether

Gordon Strachan here on the highlights show reckons Wally was one of our best players...:eek:

Also reckons it was a great pass from Giroud to Gibbs with the "outside" of the foot...

Knitpicking I know, but what a clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

I thought Arteta was quite poor as well today gave the ball away far too often,think he needs a rest. Surprised we havent seen much of Rosicky since hes been back from injury.

bad2dabone wrote: »
    I have to agree here. I hated him for leaving, but he's totally made the right decision for him. If we still had him i've no doubt we'd have won more games and it would be a different story. But from his point of view it was to leave a club in decline and move to perennial title contenders.

RvP leaving was the real chickens coming home to roost moment for Arsenal's policies over the last 7 seasons.

I still hate seeing him in the Utd jersey though and it makes me sick.

Its like seeing the love of your life dump you for the lad who you absolutely despised back in the school days and used have regular fights with and your still inclined to hate this guy to this day.

gosplan wrote: »
    Thought today was OK.

Look, what people don't seem to cop is that there just isn't the gap between our players and the players of other teams these days.

It's not about effort, or trying ... We're just not that good.

I thought we were doing OK today till Kos made that huge blunder for the first goal. He's got such potential but you can't be a top defender except for the mistakes.

Koc had a decent enough game. Mert on the other hand, is woeful. He is as slow as a funeral and Michu left him on his arse for that goal. Playing a high line with him is Russian Roulette. Once you steal the first yard on him (or even give him a yard) its like depending on Tommy Tortoise attempts to catch a cheetah after that. His legs are so long it takes an eternity to get a message down from the brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Koc had a decent enough game. Mert on the other hand, is woeful. He is as slow as a funeral and Michu left him on his arse for that goal. Playing a high line with him is Russian Roulette. Once you steal the first yard on him (or even give him a yard) its like depending on Tommy Tortoise attempts to catch a cheetah after that. His legs are so long it takes an eternity to get a message down from the brain.

Pace isnt everything. Mertesacker is a great reader of the game so despite his lack of pace, he doesnt get caught out as much as you'd expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

He didn't go out fast/far enough.

Yeah, seen the 2nd half again in the highlights earlier, i though arteta was closer to him than he was
    MaxPower89 wrote: »
    Gordon Strachan here on the highlights show reckons Wally was one of our best players...:eek:

Also reckons it was a great pass from Giroud to Gibbs with the "outside" of the foot...

Knitpicking I know, but what a clown.

:D noticed the Walcott comment myself

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,707 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

DB10 wrote: »
    Shows how far we've fallen when this is considered a good result after conceding a last minute equaliser to Swansea.

Not one person said it was a good result as far as I can see,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭farna_boy

In case you missed it:

gibbsvolley.gif

From Balls.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭TheGunns

That was one great goal, pass and finish. Giroud looks better and better, now if only he had some decent supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,219 ✭✭✭maximoose

Very like Podolski's volley earlier in the season, Giroud is fantastic at those deft little chipped one-twos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

TheGunns wrote: »
    That was one great goal, pass and finish. Giroud looks better and better, now if only he had some decent supply.

Giroud was awful yesterday. Walcott was worse however.

Both of their first touches were consistently awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

Merts needs to realise he isnt playing in the German national team.
    Too often he plays a pass to a midfielder dropping to get the ball , but the midfielder has two opponnents coming at him fast, we just end up turned back to our goal , passing the ball to Woj who hoofs it. He needs to be able to read who and how many are tracking the player he intends to pass it to. The man seems to have the weakest clearance shot in the premiership. He needs to remember hes not passing to Ozil who can get out of those binds.
    Id like to see him be able to lift and pass a ball over an opponents head, to drop to the feet of a player further forward, not a hoof ball but one that doesnt travel 2 inches off the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭farna_boy

meriwether wrote: »
    Giroud was awful yesterday. Walcott was worse however.

Both of their first touches were consistently awful.

In fairness, their supply was awful yesterday. A quick ball up to either of them would be much better than them standing on the 18 yard box waiting for a hopeful cross / pass.

When Rosicky came on the last time, he seemed to make a difference and sped up play considerably, getting the ball to the forwards much more quickly. I don't know why he wasn't brought on yesterday. Arteta disappeared for most of the second half and should have been replaced.

I would have liked if Walcott had been replaced as well. He was far too greedy in the first half and even in the second half took an age to pass the ball to Giroud when he was in a good position and would have had plenty of time instead of the rushed shot he was forced to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

TheGunns wrote: »

Giroud was very wasteful yesterday. He missed several good chances. The pass to set up Gibbs was about the only good thing he did.
    The supply was just fine yesterday. We made plenty of chances. The two goals notwithstanding, our finishing was awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

farna_boy wrote: »

When Rosicky came on the last time, he seemed to make a difference and sped up play considerably, getting the ball to the forwards much more quickly. I don't know why he wasn't brought on yesterday.

Rosicky hasn't played much at all since his return from injury. Any chance he's actually still injured but this won't be revealed until 1st Feb when it's too late to get a replacement?

http://vimeo.com/56899403

Great video from twitter. Love 2:38

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭TheGunns

Galvasean wrote: »
    Giroud was very wasteful yesterday. He missed several good chances. The pass to set up Gibbs was about the only good thing he did.
    The supply was just fine yesterday. We made plenty of chances. The two goals notwithstanding, our finishing was awful.

I wouldn't agree that the supply was good. I remember 3, 2 Vorm saved (1 good save, one easy) and the header he should probably have scored, other than that Giroud got nothing. He's dropping deep because there's nobody there and he's not getting enough. Walcott played too centrally for a winger meaning nobody was on the wing.

The midfield has been offering very little with each of them infrequently having good moments.

Signing need to be made mainly in the middle as there's not enough of them to rotate. Ramsey on the wing shouldn't happen, sign a winger and then we can play him through the middle and rest Cazorla/Wilshere.

The teams playing well but they don't look settled at the back like they did at the start of the season. Still think they need to play 2/3 up top as too often there's not enough on the break.

Not a lot that has to be done to allow more freedom in the middle and more supply but they're holding back too much and a lot of them look exhausted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,295 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Someone emailed this so I had to share :)

whinger.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,449 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Some of the transfer rumours are hilarious. Iker Casillas is the latest name being linked.