Gallagher to sue RTÉ

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I genuinely don't see what he's trying to gain by this latest course of action.
    Is it money? Publicity for himself?
    Dunno!

Its his right to challenge something he feels is wrong - but right now, I really don't see what else he might be gaining from rehashing this matter all over again.

He might be further opening his own 'Pandora box' and it might come back to haunt him.
    Still, its his right to try hold someone accountable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,649 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Happyman42 wrote: »
    RTE and Kenny in cahoots with Sinn Fein? that's quite a stretch. The only mistake here was not verifying the tweet, if Kenny believed it to be true and accurate (and I think he did) he was right to use it. I, for one, want to see an interrogative and investigative media in this country, we wouldn't be in the mess we are in if the media remembered that that is their primary function.

no rte frontline were wrong not to check it, it wasn't merely a genuine mistake, it was journalistic f up of the highest order not to double check it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Biggins wrote: »
    Is it money? Publicity for himself?

He's short of one and has too much of the other?. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

Whatever else he did this is a new one on me!

apologies, I meant smuggler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭sure joe

Fcuk him.

That election involved an elderly gentleman who was a political veteran with firm grasp of Irish culture and history, and six chancers. The six chancers lost, and rightly so.
    does anybody know if said elderly gentleman has passed away. Its just that he hasnt been seen since that telly debate where nobody asked him any difficult questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

no rte frontline were wrong not to check it, it wasn't merely a genuine mistake, it was journalistic f up of the highest order not to double check it

Nobody denies that. Gallagher damaged himself in his response to it. McGuinness could claim that his campaign was damaged too as there was a backlash of criticism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭nokia69

why is Gallagher doing this now

he can't need the money, a great "an-tra-pun-our" like him must have billions by now

Hi Biggins,
    Don't see any mention of fuel laundering there, as Morgans are the biggest fuel card company in Ireland I would reckon they would be far from happy to be associated with fuel laundering, which wreck cars!
    That said I wasn't voting for Gallagher anyway!

Newry businessman Morgan pleaded guilty to fuel smuggling and tax evasion at Belfast Crown Court in June 1998. He received a suspended 18-month jail sentence. He paid £500,000 in excise duties and VAT and was ordered to pay £25,000 prosecution costs.

2007 morgan fuels delivering fuel to border depot with no license to trade oil rte primetime http://www.rte.ie/news/av/2007/1217/primetimeinvestigates.html#page=3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I agree.
    Passing himself off an a supposedly independent - when in fact he was wrapped up in the cloak of Fianna Fail all along.
    exactly.
    Sean gallagher didnt lose the election because of the tv debate or RTE. He lost the election because he was running as an independent and was exposed as a Fianna Fail bagman.
    That said, RTE are a disgrace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

And yet we probably won't be as lucky to see RTE go to the wall and we'll still be forced into supporting the farce that is rte with the outdated tv licensing laws soon to be broadcasting charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,226 ✭✭✭gifted

Just wondering if he wins his case against RTE, would the No Campaigners in the childrens referendum have a good chance against the Government if they decide to bring them to court over the result over the use of public funds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Gallagher is a cretin. The Irish public are worse.

Sure it's the fela off the dragon den there isn't he a great lad, nothing to do with fianna fail no, no, sure it'd be up on the poster if he was, lovely fela.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Kess73 wrote: »
    Maybe if he had been able to disprove the claim against him then his campaign would not have been so damaged.

The dirty trick on Frontline handed him a shovel alright, but he was the one that dug the hole with his responses that night and in the days that followed.

RTE or to be more precise Pat Kenny dug the hole, he just fell into it. Our National Broadcaster really let themselve down on this one and it's going to cost us all dearly.

Gallagher is a cretin. The Irish public are worse.

Don't be so hard on yourself. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Theres an arrogance within RTE that has led to this, they think they are the ones who shape the country and that we owe them big time and that they know best, they clearly thought the public were going to elect Gallagher and that they knew better, they set out to scupper him and they did, that attitude and action is contrary to democracy and for a national broadcaster to engage in such actions is in my opinion criminal/treason and not just a disgrace. The station should be disbanded and top brass sacked. Gallagher should be compensated for the loss of revenue for wages and pension lost through their action and damages. I was one of the people who changed my vote following the broadcast and I was misled, RTE's credibility is zero and the wages paid to their presenters and insult to citizens of theis country!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Don't be so hard on yourself. ;)

Crap. :o

I meant people who would vote for a fianna fail bagman not long after they sent the country into ruination for a generation.

Me, I only vote for candidates that are of the highest moral standing. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭jjf1974

If something like this happened in the uk there would be fellas getting thee p45,s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

sure it'd be up on the poster if he was, lovely fela.

No fan of the guy, but fair play to him for not using posters during the election. It was a nice touch and one i hope will be repeated in other elections.

...Me, I only vote for candidates that are of the highest moral standing. :)
    Shane Ross? Stephen Donnelly types? :)

I only select the above 'cos I can't see any in the other mainstream elected parties.
    (But I'm sure they are in there somewhere)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,428 ✭✭✭cml387

It was the tweet that done it.

If PK had let the SF do all the dirty work and stand aloof it would have been ok.

Reading out the (bogus) tweet about Gallagher was crass stupidity and will probably cost us the licence fee payers a few bob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

You have to laugh at the fools who think RTE would conspire with Sinn Féin against a Fianna Fáiler. What are you people on?

It was great that the bagman didn't worm his way in and was revealed as what he is, a no good FF scumbag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Shane Ross? Stephen Donnelly types? :)

I only select the above 'cos I can't see any in the other mainstream elected parties.
    (But I'm sure they are in there somewhere)
    You gotta be laughing, Shane Ross?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

jjf1974 wrote: »
    If something like this happened in the uk there would be fellas getting thee p45,s

I don't see anyone getting P45's for covering up the Jimmy Saville Paedophilia case which is a hell of alot more serious than this.

RTE were right to read the tweet which Gallagher himself admitted, his lies blew up in his face live on TV and he was exposed as Fianna Fail cronie. I'm glad he lost and Michael D. is a supreme gentleman and a credit to this country. For Michael D. to lose to this cretin would have been a national disgrace and shame on the deluded eejits who actually supported and voted for Gallagher.

Michael D. has been a credible president and forced the Government to hold the Fiscal compact treaty referendum and let the people decide. The previous Fianna Fail traitor Mary McAleese signed bill after bill for her FF paymasters and had the power to veto the 2010 bailout which bankrupted the country which would have forced a general election before the budget and let FG in who would have opposed the bailout and corrected finances quicker.

The presidency maybe largely ceremonial but it has important powers too and Michael D. has shown he maybe from Labour but is not biased to the Government when he scuppered Gov attempts to get the fiscal compact through without a referendum. The people voted for it afterwards but that was fair democracy.

Gallagher by contrast is a Fianna Fail slimeball and who could trust anybody from that background with all the cronyism, corruption and criminality attached to that party of national traitors?

I hope he loses the case and ends up with millions in legal fees!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Stinicker wrote: »

I hope he loses the case and ends up with millions in legal fees!

I'd wager that there's very little chance of him losing. RTE, as an impartial body, and Pat Kenny as moderator of the debate should have ensured that the tweet was legitimate. They obviously failed to do so. All Gallagher needs to show is that his character was tarnished because of that, regardless of anything else that happened on the night.

I don't see anyone getting P45's for covering up the Jimmy Saville Paedophilia case which is a hell of alot more serious than this.

RTE were right to read the tweet

no they weren't they should have double checked it and then got a official sinn fein comment on the issue

GRMA wrote: »
    You gotta be laughing, Shane Ross?

It was just an alternative name from the usual shower I wouldn't trust with me plants, never mind my vote. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Yes they were right to read and they did the country a great favour, Gallagher was a lier and RTE exposed this.

no they weren't they should have double checked it and then got a official sinn fein comment on the issue

To be fair, I'm sure the show got loads of tweets alone that night.
    Would they have time/staff to check all or even some of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Yes they were right to read and they did the country a great favour, Gallagher was a lier and RTE exposed this.

You really dont get why it was wrong do you?

What happens when it happens to the guy that you want to win and the allegations are untrue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭sure joe

gallagher was way ahead in the polls and took a nose dive after this show. the least he is entitled to is loss of earning for seven years on his arus. the only good thing about his non election is that some oul codger who spent his entire life wasting taxpayers money visiting every country in the world has now retired and not left the house since