People who are constantly called inspirational, when in reality were anything but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Rezident wrote: »
    Richard Dawkins - telling people what to believe and what not to believe about spirituality, a subject he appears to know little about, is just arrogant.
    I'll take the arrogance of Dawkins over the delusion of others any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

eviltwin wrote: »
    Jesus
    Nobody f**ks with the Jesus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭2rkehij30qtza5

The men who first "landed on the moon".
    I am a firm believer that man has YET to land on the moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

After the doping controversy I now no longer believe Lance Armstrong landed on the moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

De Valera. And Bono.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Soldiers.

Trained to kill, in possession of the latest state of the art weaponry, follow orders blindly and somehow become heroes because the locals (with their antique guns) have the temerity to fight back.

Getting shot at ≠ inspirational

This.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭dttq

Ayn Rand. Self-obsessed, sociopathic and the Gordon Gekko of the literary world with her "greed is good" philosophy. Yet talk to any far right conservative or libertarian, and she not just some narcissistic individual who justified greed and cruelty above genorisity and compassion. No this old witch in the eyes of right wingers around the world, isn't just a book-peddling sociopath, no - she's a "hero" who stood up to "big government".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭dttq

mattjack wrote: »
    After the doping controversy I know no longer believe Lance Armstrong landed on the moon.

Yah it's all an illuminati conspiracy....the US government got Stanley Kubrick to pretend they did....which he later in the Shining, out of guilt, left clues as to the moon landing hoax. Bla bla bla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,145 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

dttq wrote: »
    Yah it's all an illuminati conspiracy....the US government got Stanley Kubrick to pretend they did....which he later in the Shining, out of guilt, left clues as to the moon landing hoax. Bla bla bla.

I think your missing the joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭2rkehij30qtza5

Bono.
    What a pleb

Oh and Ivana Bacic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Ayn Rand. Self-obsessed, sociopathic and the Gordon Gekko of the literary world with her "greed is good" philosophy. Yet talk to any far right conservative or libertarian, and she not just some narcissistic individual who justified greed and cruelty above genorisity and compassion. No this old witch in the eyes of right wingers around the world, isn't just a book-peddling sociopath, no - she's a "hero" who stood up to "big government".

good quote, there's a bit more here about this ****house

http://boingboing.net/2011/01/28/ayn-rand-took-govern.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭COYW

CillianL wrote: »
    Obama.

Totally agree with you on this. I was also like to include a heavy majority of sports people, particularly GAA managers and players. I mean fair play for them for committing to their sport but inspirational, I think not.

Personally, I would consider the likes of Joanne O' Riordan as inspirational.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

Mickey Harte. Boring religious speaker. Like listening to the 1950's.

which mickey harte? the football man?

• Site Banned Posts: 18 magento

The men who first "landed on the moon".
    I am a firm believer that man has YET to land on the moon.
    how do you explain the footprints .vechicles,flag and everything else can still be seen ? talking nonsense,suppose the russians covered it up as well ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭neaideabh

Dubhaltach wrote: »
    Steve Jobs...

Can see where you are coming from but I read his book and I have to say that I gain inspiration from it! Though, how his products are panning out based on his vision will be the nail in the Apple coffin imo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Glassheart

Roy Keane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Dubhaltach wrote: »
    Steve Jobs...

He went down in my estimation after his ghastly private yacht was unveiled

http://mashable.com/2012/10/28/steve-jobs-yacht-revealed/

Doesn't even look like it's seaworthy!

Who exactly is Ayn Rand?
    which mickey harte? the football man?

I thought it was Mickey Jo Harte. Sure, he was pretty inspirational :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

“What the superior man seeks is in himself; what the small man seeks is in others.”

Confucius

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Katie Taylor - Don't understand all the hype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Jimmy Saville.

Nonce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

neaideabh wrote: »
    Can see where you are coming from but I read his book and I have to say that I gain inspiration from it!

The Walter Isaacson book?

He abandoned his infant daughter

Nothing inspirational there

• Site Banned Posts: 18 magento

bob geldof

anyone say bono yet ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

areyawell wrote: »

What????????????????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭neaideabh

mikemac1 wrote: »
    The Walter Isaacson book?

He abandoned his infant daughter

Nothing inspirational there

No denying he was a dick! But apart from that and his clashes with other people, I still read the book in awe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭SniperSight

I'd have to say Timmy that fell down the well. People were saying the kid was a real hero, all he did was get stuck down there!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

phkk wrote: »
    What????????????????????????

An amatuer boxer winning a gold medal and then doesn't have the balls to turn professional. Don't understand the hype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

I agree with this. I mean, she's a lovely girl and she has done well, but every time I turn around, she's there, either in the paper or on TV or wherever.

Can we stop this already? I mean, didn't we get a silver and 2 bronze in the boxing also. How come we never hear about those 3 lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

An amatuer boxer winning a gold medal and then doesn't have the balls to turn professional. Don't understand the hype.

Doesn't have the balls to? Maybe she just doesn't want to... there's no unspoken rule which states than an amateur sports person must turn professional.