People who are constantly called inspirational, when in reality were anything but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Mohammad Ali

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Lance Armstrong

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Geri Male

Stephen Hawking.

A truly grotesque man.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Geri Male wrote: »
    Stephen Hawking.

A truly grotesque man.
    ??????????????????????????

• Site Banned Posts: 18 magento

de velera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Ditto. All he ever did was leech off other people's creativity and hard work so he could sell over-priced slave-labour produced tat to clueless magpies.

Ironic that Jobs was quoted acknowledging that they stole ideas from Microsoft to succeed yet take other companies to court over slight infractions on 'their' technology.

Technology that has also been proven in court to be copied from someone else who invented yet several years prior.

eg. pinch to zoom dates back to 1983, another is that apple tried suing a mexican phone company (iFone) for using their name despite iFone being registered in 2003, while iPhone registered in 2007.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Geri Male

??????????????????????????

His bullsh*t about God and heaven - reversing his beliefs purely to sell books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

David Attenborough. A TV presenter who has led a charmed life (and has said as much himself).

I don't look upwards for inspiration. I look to people like Brummytom's uncle for inspiration. I look to people like my now 80 year old Aunt who's been raising a young family since my cousin (her daughter obv) was killed in a car crash about 10 years ago. I look to young people who care for desperately disabled/ill parents and vice versa. I look to people who've survived awful life-circumstances and have went on to lead fulfilled lives.

It's these ordinary, every day heroes, that inspire me despite my head being filled with shite as a child that only saviours and supermen with supernatural powers can save us from life's travails and from ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭BidillyBo

Slightly off topic because some of them are quite inspirational but why athletes in the Olympics are constantly called heroes is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

The hard-working single mums of the contestants on X Factor. 'My mum's an inspiration...its her dream to see me perform on the stage'.

Will ye fook right off! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Fr D Maugire

Lance Armstrong seconded.

A guy who got a second chance in life but instead of taking the moral route, decided to pump himself full of drugs in an effort to inflate his ego and bank account whilst covering his tracks by feeding of the suffering of others.

A truly despicable human being. TOTAL FRAUD. Just sad it took so many people so long to figure out the reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Soldiers.

Trained to kill, in possession of the latest state of the art weaponry, follow orders blindly and somehow become heroes because the locals (with their antique guns) have the temerity to fight back.

Getting shot at ≠ inspirational

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭doubleyoubee

Brendan O'Carroll - inspirational in the worlds of Joe Duffy and Derek Mooney.

He inspires me to switch off the telly and read a book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Jimmy Saville

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

I don't think I've ever, in real life or online, heard anyone say Justin Beiber was an inspiration to them

Well he would be considered to be inspiration to some, just not to people you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

David Attenborough. A TV presenter who has led a charmed life (and has said as much himself).

I don't look upwards for inspiration. I look to people like Brummytom's uncle for inspiration. I look to people like my now 80 year old Aunt who's been raising a young family since my cousin (her daughter obv) was killed in a car crash about 10 years ago. I look to young people who care for desperately disabled/ill parents and vice versa. I look to people who've survived awful life-circumstances and have went on to lead fulfilled lives.

It's these ordinary, every day heroes, that inspire me despite my head being filled with shite as a child that only saviours and supermen with supernatural powers can save us from life's travails and from ourselves.

That's so true. Getting inspiration from some pampered celebrity is pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭CillianL

Obama.

A recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize even though he's responsible for more Drone attacks than the Bush Administration. over 1,500 people killed in his first term of office, and has violated the airspace of Pakistan, Yemen and Somalia, even though the US is not at war with these countries.

Has done nothing to break the military industrial complex.

He went into Libya because France and Britain knew they could make a quick return when new oil contracts were drawn up with a newly corrupted government after Gaddaffi was taken care of.

Meanwhile in Syria...too much hassle with the Russians and Chinese. Good luck with that. The death toll could reach 100,000, but no one cares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Mary Cockful or whatever her name is.

So fcukin what if you overdid it on the sauce and then copped the fcuk on.

Inspirational me ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

probably gonna get dog's abuse over this, but Mary Robinson.

• Site Banned Posts: 18 magento

probably gonna get dog's abuse over this, but Mary Robinson.
    she opened the door to every chancer and scam artist to land on our shores and then she pissed off to america

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

retalivity wrote: »
    when was bono ever called inspirational?
    It was "insipid", the paper got a bit wet and the ink ran, people got confused. No-ones fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Absolutezero

Mickey Harte. Boring religious speaker. Like listening to the 1950's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭bp1989

I second the post about soldiers. It sickens me when I hear of Americans who approach complete strangers who happen to be soldiers and thank them for their service, despite the fact that America is attacking a country, not defending one. Shooting a gun does not a hero make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,365 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Anyone say Marilyn Monroe yet?

Girls have her quotes all over Facebook. The woman was a damn junkie yo'!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Soldiers

Complicated. Soldiers don't really choose to be portrayed as inspirational - they're kinda used for propaganda and to manufacture consent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

callaway92 wrote: »
    Anyone say Marilyn Monroe yet?

Girls have her quotes all over Facebook. The woman was a damn junkie yo'!!
    Nonsence, she also inspired thousands of teenage boys to develop their wrist muscles. Truly inspirational.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

MaxSteele wrote: »
    Thank you. "Look at me pretending to give a fcuk about minefields in Cambodia".

What makes you think that her involvement in the Campaign to Ban Landmines was based on pretense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Complicated. Soldiers don't really choose to be portrayed as inspirational - they're kinda used for propaganda and to manufacture consent.
    Yes I agree, that is true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

RE - Stephen Hawking
    Geri Male wrote: »
    His bullsh*t about God and heaven - reversing his beliefs purely to sell books.

^^^ Biggest load of pretentious attention seeking bullshít comment I've seen on Boards for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Rezident

Richard Dawkins - telling people what to believe and what not to believe about spirituality, a subject he appears to know little about, is just arrogant.