Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BDO Lakeside World Championship 2013 Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭DartBhoy1888

Fair play to Jason Cullen,superb result..delighted for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

The real Darts is back. Looking through the BDO rankings its sad to see so many guys have jumped ship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,447 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Bizarre that the reigning champ isnt one of the 16 seeds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

KevIRL wrote: »
    Bizarre that the reigning champ isnt one of the 16 seeds

On about Kist?

He's showing why he's not seeded imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭DartBhoy1888

Sad,maybe but totally understandable in my view..the PDC have taken over and have the best players simply because they do what the BDO don't do...and that is everything the right and proper way!! Unfortunately, The BDO have turned themselves into a feeder organisation through no-ones fault but their own..

On about Kist?

He's showing why he's not seeded imo.

Aye but you would expect that reigning world champion would be one of the seeds considering 50% of players are seeded.

Better second set from Kist here mind

Sad,maybe but totally understandable in my view..the PDC have taken over and have the best players simply because they do what the BDO don't do...and that is everything the right and proper way!! Unfortunately, The BDO have turned themselves into a feeder organisation through no-ones fault but their own..

Sky is the difference, no more no less. The money will improve the standard but like the Premier League and the F1 IMO Sky Sports kinda ruin the game

I guess people these days love that brash in your face culture

lol, what a way to get that 16 on the 56 outshot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Kist...world champion and not seeded :confused:

No wonder many casual fans cant be arsed with BDO. Bobby George on before the game saying because he has not played in many tournaments this year(although he did beat Barney in GSOD)....yet BDO goldenboy(lol) Adams who according to Bobby George also has not played in many tournaments is no.2 seed

Devastator wrote: »
    Kist...world champion and not seeded :confused:

Doesn't matter, he wasn't champion standard in that match.

Green is fairly good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,265 ✭✭✭✭briany

And a Lakeside tradition continues....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

doomed wrote: »
    Whatever about the standard, having two events within 4 weeks each calling itself the world championships is ridiculous.

Whoever wins the BDO, Phil Taylor will be widely regarded as the world champion.

Agree with you Taylor is THE CHAMP no doubt.To be fair to the BDO they have had their tournament for years at that time of year and as the newcomer the PDC should have picked a different time of year.Lakeside is the BDO sponsor and they do not want to upset the people who book in to their hotel every year and spend a lot of money, by moving to another time which might not suit them.I reckon its an expensive trip paying for accommodation,tickets and a week of constant drinking!

repsol wrote: »
    Agree with you Taylor is THE CHAMP no doubt.To be fair to the BDO they have had their tournament for years at that time of year and as the newcomer the PDC should have picked a different time of year.Lakeside is the BDO sponsor and they do not want to upset the people who book in to their hotel every year and spend a lot of money, by moving to another time which might not suit them.I reckon its an expensive trip paying for accommodation,tickets and a week of constant drinking!

Typical puck move IMO. I enjoy both tournaments but the reek of sky can be off putting

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,384 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I have no problem with both tournaments being on around the same time. In fact I would be very annoyed if they moved the timing of either tournaments.

Delighted Jason Cullen won and tbh I'm not surprised that Kist lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

T-K-O wrote: »
    Typical puck move IMO. I enjoy both tournaments but the reek of sky can be off putting

I enjoy the standard of the PDC but you are right,SKY ruins it.The BDC has a nice atmosphere.I like the interviews in the practice room/bar area.You have a player being interviewed and in the background Martin Adams or someone having a pint and a bag of crisps!:) Sky is too polished/corporate

It's not Sky that ruins the PDC - Sky didn't ruin Football - it's the absolute cretins who attend the PDC events who ruin it.

Disagree. Sky is like the dailymail website. I leave that there

Not sure if you're a fan but f1 on sky...Urrgg I prefer to walk on a bed of nails

repsol wrote: »
    I enjoy the standard of the PDC but you are right,SKY ruins it.The BDC has a nice atmosphere.I like the interviews in the practice room/bar area.You have a player being interviewed and in the background Martin Adams or someone having a pint and a bag of crisps!:) Sky is too polished/corporate

Totally agree. :)

It's a shame they could not hold onto more players. A few years ago the BDO was actually better tournament IMO.

Sure the PDC had Taylor but not a lot after that

Sad,maybe but totally understandable in my view..the PDC have taken over and have the best players simply because they do what the BDO don't do...and that is everything the right and proper way!!

What do they do right and proper about the grassroots of the game?

Sure, it's a great organisation, if you are fortunate to be in an elite group of players.

This thread may be in danger of sliding back into the old PDC is better/this is crap stuff.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,384 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Lads this is the last time I am going to say it, this thread is not for discussing the merits of the BDO vs PDC. I will be forced to hand out bans if it continues.

Start a new thread if you want to discuss the two organisations.

Bit farcical this craic with the scoreboard

Devastator wrote: »
    So you prefer the amateur look? WTF is goign on during this game....nobodys got a clue about the scores....ya can be 100% certain there would never be a delay in a major sly sports tournament like this over scores

I'm not sure the mod could be much clearer.

Finally seeimg some of Cullens win earlier.

Jesus. Atkins hair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,600 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Just watching the 4th set on BBC of the Cullen vs Atkins match.... they are both having a nightmare getting doubles. Cullen is scoring very well besides his poor finishing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

When is Jimi Hendrix playing? Gotta tune in for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Just watching the 4th set on BBC of the Cullen vs Atkins match.... they are both having a nightmare getting doubles. Cullen is scoring very well besides his poor finishing though.

You'd expect Cullen to miss doubles as its his first appearance at Lakeside so nerves will play a huge part in that, but no excuse for Atkins he is pretty poor on his finishing always has been on the big stage.

Bobby George's son up next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Hendix, tune.............I see what you've done there

I hope he's not fret...ting.

As long as he sticks to the bassics...

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

The angle Prins' darts go into the board make a maximum nigh on impossible...