Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread Round 3***

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4364810

is that a septic looking yoke? can you imagine how **** it would be to own?

my eyes would water handing over 10k for that steaming pile of dung.

fog blanks, hub caps, hard plastic as far as the eye can see.

spec list including "child locks, rear wiper, am/ fm radio" and... control your orgasms... an immobiliser :eek:

what must people be thinking?

10k for a 2011 car

Small engine, small tax

Might appeal to a lot of people.

@ pred, you might remember a few weeks ago I was trying to figure out how to fix the display lists on the central console of the C5 for the radio/clock display, having a go at that tomorrow too to get the bulbs out, and see if I can get replacements :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Stheno wrote: »
    10k for a 2011 car

Small engine, small tax

Might appeal to a lot of people.

ah i know its a nice piece of white goods for someone, but god its awful :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

ah i know its a nice piece of white goods for someone, but god its awful :pac:

It is horrid enough alright.

That's you and me though!

If I'd ten grand, it would probably be going on a pre 2008 Alfa like a Brera, an awful lot of people would say that's awful :)

I saw someone driving a Ka today, they were so tiny they were barely above the steering wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,851 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I got given the saloon version of that as a rental in Malta a few years back.

Words cannot adequately describe how bad a car it was. Gutless engine, no handling, ugly interior. No redeeming features whatsoever.

Wrote it off in a collision with a Punto on a wet road (oh yeah, it didn't have ABS either) the day before I was due to fly home. No loss to motoring, and I was insured to the last so just had to sign the paperwork...:D

I got given the saloon version of that as a rental in Malta a few years back.

Words cannot adequately describe how bad a car it was. Gutless engine, no handling, ugly interior. No redeeming features whatsoever.

Wrote it off in a collision with a Punto on a wet road (oh yeah, it didn't have ABS either) the day before I was due to fly home. No loss to motoring, and I was insured to the last so just had to sign the paperwork...:D

Given the state of driving in Malta I'm not surprised!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Curses to insomnia! :(

Bah, better keep myself busy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭Dartz

Lawnmowing at 3am. ****ing Briggs and Stratton Thunder-Bollox.

I have no idea why.

Dartz wrote: »
    Lawnmowing at 3am. ****ing Briggs and Stratton Thunder-Bollox.

I have no idea why.

I have a neighbour that mows lawns at all hours of the day. All the ditches on the road. Started a competition with other neighbours for mowing lawns.

Must spend an absolute fortune on petrol. Either way, very overdone and annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Fiona

As an aside, has anyone here driven both the 330 and 325i and comment on the difference in performance? Or a 330d. Thanks

Have driven both E46 325 and 330 clubsport and yes i found there to a big enough difference.

Have also driven E46 m3 and well i doubt i will ever be able to afford one but if i could afford a 330 then life wouldn't be so bad. Poor woman's m3!!

Ohs car passed the NCT :D

Haven't seen a single new car yet! Been down the country so lots of miles covered and not 1 to be seen on the roads :confused:

@ Andy, I can top that abomination you posted. Earlier I saw a silver 08 Kia Picanto with black bumpers. Absolute misery!!!

Feck off rain :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I've seen 4 new 520d's, 6 320d's, 3 Hyundai i40's and a Kia Sportage all with 131 on them and it looks weird.

Not 1 spotted, from the bottom of Kildare to the top of Louth. Normally I'd see one in the first 2 or 3 days.

Now I'm off to bed, goodnight all :)

dgt wrote: »
    Haven't seen a single new car yet! Been down the country so lots of miles covered and not 1 to be seen on the roads :confused:

@ Andy, I can top that abomination you posted. Earlier I saw a silver 08 Kia Picanto with black bumpers. Absolute misery!!!

Feck off rain :mad:

I saw some yoke that was pink and had SANUK painted on the bonnet in orange!

Saw a 131 Merc yesterday

I installed the radio :D after belatedly realising I also needed an antenna converter thing

Need a new facia now for the fecking car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Department of Foreign affairs got a nice pressie.

734218_494852363900431_1604306207_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Nice sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Nice sight.

On loan for 6 months apparently from Audi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Is this part of the initiation as little germany?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭Dartz

It's so the EU delegates on the DublinBikes won't get run over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

If so, I for one welcome our German overlords

I haz another stupid question.

So I installed the lidl radio and it works fine, cd/radio/bluetooth etc.

However the microphone lead is miles long, and he who owns the car is now pondering why I can't run it behind the dash and have it magically appear beside the sun visor :rolleyes: Answer, I've no idea how to do this.

Anyone here give me an idiots guide to doing it? The microphone cable is plugged into the back of the stereo so ideally I need to figure out how to get that cable from the central console across the steering wheel and then up.

It's a C5 for anyone who doesn't know.

Pred?

Down behind the A-Pillar trim?

Idiot speak :D

It's getting from the central console to the a pillar that is confusing me :)

I might just do a cop out of running the cable out of the facia with enough length to fix it on the dash to the left of the steering wheel :)

To hide it well, you'll have to go from the back of the stereo, under the carpet, beside the glovebox, between the dash and the a-pillar, up the a-pillar, behind the roof liner then have it pop out at the visor.

Thank you :)

Now for my last dozy question, how do I get it from the back of the stereo to the carpet?

These aren't stupid questions Stheno, I only know because I did it before ;)

If you get into the footwell and try and look at the back of the stereo unit, it's around there that you will see where you have to go with it. Mind you, it's a fairly tedious job and one that I don't in the least envy you for. If I had to do it again, I'd pay someone else to do it.

Stheno wrote: »
    Thank you :)

Now for my last dozy question, how do I get it from the back of the stereo to the carpet?

Last time I did something similar, I fed wire to the centre console where it meets the dash. Usually in that general area is a gap in the carpet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

If you get into the footwell and try and look at the back of the stereo unit, it's around there that you will see where you have to go with it. Mind you, it's a fairly tedious job and one that I don't in the least envy you for. If I had to do it again, I'd pay someone else to do it.

I think we've all done one of those awful jobs which we would save our sanity by paying someone else to do it :D

Last time I did something similar, I fed wire to the centre console where it meets the dash. Usually in that general area is a gap in the carpet :)

Thanks guys, really appreciate the patience :)

I know it's nothing compared to the work you guys do on your cars, but I really enjoyed learning how to do it :) And given I didn't blow myself up or murder the car, I'll be having a go now at replacing the lights in the clock display on the car :)

There is not much complete info on the web about changing a factory fitted radio to an aftermarket unit that talks about how you need the iso converter, possibly an antenna converter, a new facia etc. A how to change your car radio thread might be useful for beginners like me :) It was fun figuring out (with the help of boards and google) what I needed and really cool to get it installed and working.

I've got the time at the minute so I'll have a good look tomorrow, and if needs be I can take out the unit and feed the microphone cable into the centre console rather than fitting it into the back of the radio and then going wtf do I do now :) If I get fed up with it, I'll get someone to do it for me :)

Again really appreciate the patience you guys have shown :) Kinda nice (with a lot of help) to fix something that has really bugged the Oh for a while :)

And it topped off his Xmas present :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

I installed a radio a few days ago and just put the microphone between the steering wheel and instrument panel. I think the Lidl one includes an answer button too though so I guess that isn't an option!

The car came with an old Nokia car kit that had the microphone routed up to the rearview mirror coming out near the overhead light. I didn't even bother with the pain of removing that so just stuffed it in the hole! It was routed down through the A pillar then in behind the dash.