Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,256 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

They are always handy to blame any trouble on. Remember when Manchester got sacked during the UEFA Cup final, they were Chelsea fans that done it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

dd972 wrote: »

The sort of people who'd come over here and get the DART to Shankill looking for an Orange march.
    that made me laugh haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Who cares if some Chelsea fans like Rangers ?

I happen to know some of them and they're not the type that latch onto the Protestant, Loyalist image that Rangers has.

They have just been made welcome when they came to Ibrox and have made friends in Glasgow, shocking isn't it ?

edit: As for Chelsea traditionally being a right wing, BNP type club, are you serious ?
    Or are you just basing this of a Jason Marriner documentary you've seen ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

happy new year lads... new year new club and all that ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Who cares if some Chelsea fans like Rangers ?

I happen to know some of them and they're not the type that latch onto the Protestant, Loyalist image that Rangers has.

They have just been made welcome when they came to Ibrox and have made friends in Glasgow, shocking isn't it ?

edit: As for Chelsea traditionally being a right wing, BNP type club, are you serious ?

So you're genuinely saying that Rangers and Chelsea don't traditionally have a right wing following???

Absolutely.

Sure, there may be elements in both clubs' fanbase but that doesn't reflect on their entire support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Sorry to go off topic, but why are opinions on ally McCoist interms of the job he's doing? Much like Lennon, winning the league alone can hardly constitute a great season given the standard of players available to him relative to the opposition. Is he the man to takes you's up to the spl?

Obviously I'm ignoring any league restructuring etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

They were my local club for most of my childhood. Try again.

LiamoSail wrote: »
    Sorry to go off topic, but why are opinions on ally McCoist interms of the job he's doing? Much like Lennon, winning the league alone can hardly constitute a great season given the standard of players available to him relative to the opposition. Is he the man to takes you's up to the spl?

Obviously I'm ignoring any league restructuring etc

He's doing what's expected of him, wouldn't you think ?

I still think that McCoist, unless he learns tremendously over the next few seasons doesn't have what it takes to take the next big step (challenging for the SPL title again, or playing in Europe) but I guess we can't really fault him for the job he's doing now.

The squad is playing with a lot of determination and the youngsters in there are doing extremely well.
    They were my local club for most of my childhood. Try again.

Yeah, that's not exactly a great argument.

Witness many running battles with immigrants around Stamford Bridge ?
    Watched the Chelsea fans walk around with Swastika-flags ?

Some examples would be grand, because so far I doubt you know much about either club's fanbase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

He's doing what's expected of him, wouldn't you think ?

I still think that McCoist, unless he learns tremendously over the next few seasons doesn't have what it takes to take the next big step (challenging for the SPL title again, or playing in Europe) but I guess we can't really fault him for the job he's doing now.

The squad is playing with a lot of determination and the youngsters in there are doing extremely well.

Pretty much as I would see it. I would think as the quality of opposition improves, and the level of tactical acumen does likewise, McCoist will be found wanting.

I'm yet to see any evidence to suggest he has the makings of a decent manager, though admittedly I don't watch rangers every week. If he were to achieve successive promotions though, and then struggle, is he sackable? I can't see the fans reacting well to him being sacked in a season following promotion

LiamoSail wrote: »
    If he were to achieve successive promotions though, and then struggle, is he sackable?
    That would essentially be him failing at the first proper challenge he's had, so I would assume so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Black lucky to be on the pitch there imo.

Obviously, Templeton meant that... ;)

Lol...that one was a fluke though!
    1-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Well a 3-1 win but not a lot of great football that is twice we have played on that park and twice we did not look at ease. We seem to be trying to do just enough and that is not good enough. I will say we were missing a few players today and there are a few inexperienced young players in the squad.

My mid term score would be 7/10 yes I know we are well in front but it is not just about this season we have to keep in mind we will be going up a level and our expectations will be higher. Again I know we can only beat whats put in front of us but I would like to see us doing it with a bit more style

RANGERS make three changes to the side that beat Annan in midweek as a trio of key players return to face Elgin City at Ibrox this afternoon.

Captain Lee McCulloch, a scorer of 22 goals so far this season, has overcome an ankle problem to take his place in the side and lead the attack.
    Lewis Macleod, an ever-present until he missed the last two outings with a virus, also starts as one of three players supporting the skipper in a 4-2-3-1 shape.
    The young midfielder plays directly behind McCulloch, with Andy Little on the right and David Templeton on the left.
    Emilson Cribari is the final player coming back into the first XI after he sat out the trip to Galabank three days ago.
    He replaces injured full-back Darren Cole in the defence and plays at centre-half next to Ross Perry with Chris Hegarty moving to the right and Lee Wallace on the left.
    Neil Alexander is in goals with both Kyle Hutton and Ian Black operating in deeper roles behind the four attack-minded players.
    Also dropping out of the team which beat Athletic 3-1 with Cole are Fran Sandaza who takes a place on the bench and scorer Robbie Crawford, who is omitted from the pool.
    On the sidelines next to Sandaza are Barrie McKay, Dean Shiels and Sebastien Faure, with Blair Currie once more acting as the replacement keeper.
    Gers are looking to record their 12th successive win in the Third Division having extended their lead at the top of the table from three points to 17 in a 15-day period recently.
    This is their fourth meeting of the season with Elgin, who they have beaten 5-1 and 3-0 at Ibrox and 6-2 at Borough Briggs just before Christmas.
    Just before kick-off, there will be a minute's silence to mark the 42nd anniversary of the 1971 Ibrox Disaster on Wednesday which everyone attending is asked to observe.
    RANGERS: Alexander; Hegarty, Perry, Cribari, Wallace; Black, Hutton; Little, Macleod, Templeton; McCulloch.
    SUBS: Currie, McKay, Sandaza, Shiels, Faure.

Rangers 1 Elgin 0 half time McLeod with a well worked goal again Rangers having most of the pressure but not finishing teams off. About 10 minutes before half time Elgin were reduced to 10 men when Harkins(sp) put a cynical tackle in on Black and received a straight red.

Rangers need to improve on there finishing in the second half

1-1 full time two points thrown away. The players need to stop treating these games as training exercises. Four minutes to go and Alexander contrives to throw the ball into the back of his own net

Silly result - we seem to be taking these games far too lightly, especially at home.

Ye can't beat the SFL3 points record set by Gretna now lads :( always next year!

We won't be in the third division next year. But thanks very much for showing your concern ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

We won't be in the third division next year. But thanks very much for showing your concern ;)

When Gretna set the record, neither were they! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,362 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Rangers are 5/6 to be the 1st team to win their league in the UK this season, good good value.

Dempsey wrote: »
    When Gretna set the record, neither were they! :P

Your right but we won't be in the same position as them either onwards and upwards :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,341 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Rangers are 5/6 to be the 1st team to win their league in the UK this season, good good value.
    Queen of South could beat them to it

Really it doesn't matter to any bear I speak to as long as we win it ;)

Wasn't that bad of a performance today, if it wasn't for Alexander's brain fart we should have won this.

And Black can **** off, useless player.

Wasn't that bad of a performance today, if it wasn't for Alexander's brain fart we should have won this.

And Black can **** off, useless player.

Terrible final ball in general, and poor finishing when we did connect let us down.

Bit harsh on Black i feel - although i really don't think him and Hutton play well together, having two holding midfielders like that is a ridiculous situation when playing against ten men, almost asking for trouble.
    You could see the difference in the team when McLeod went off.

Ally needs to settle on his best 11 soon, as it;s beginning to do my head in, almost like there are still players who he doesn't understand in terms of strengths and weakneses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,946 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

we are the top team in the country

Mr Alastair Mc Coist at the press conference.:eek:

Deluded doesnt even begin to describe it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

McCoist doesnt like Charlie Green hogging the spotlight!