Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

From twitter more joking than accurate, highlighting he is no flop

obviously not, since he's indicating he's got his missus pregnant/she popped :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Am still of the opinion that Walcott is holding out for a better deal and he keeps delivering more reasons for AFC to show him the money. He was absolutely immense today.

Giroud was absolutely reckless with that diving header tonight, could have killed himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Oh, just checked there. 4 Goals 4 assists in 3 games he's played upfront. Not a bad return at all!

2 of those goals and 2 of the assists came from the right wing.

• Moderators Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭x PyRo

i4gUH9hkjZedK.gif

Can't. stop. watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

x PyRo wrote: »
    i4gUH9hkjZedK.gif

Can't. stop. watching.

Great great goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

So we've had tennis and now rugby scores from Arsenal, wonder what sport's next :P

pithater1 wrote: »
    So we've had tennis and now rugby scores from Arsenal, wonder what sport's next :P

We'll knock a few over the bar in a game of gaelic. Might even handle one or two if Henry comes back :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,780 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Cricket score when we play Southampton :D

Walcott looks like a man about to leave tbh:

1356808942370.gif

Nice to see Nasri get sent off today :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

Walcott is not the full deal yet. he has a lot to learn if he wants to become world class.

if he goes now, he will end up like saun wright philips. an average player with huge potential.

Wenger is second to none in developing a players career and ability and if walcott had teh brain, he would take the 70-80k hand in hand now. continue his development and i guarantee u, if he does he can become a world class player and then u will see arsenal offering him 150k+ easily for his next contract.

no way does he deserve 100k now. wilshere is not even that and he is a better player. Walcott needs to be patient.

He needs to ask himself this.

does he want money or does he want to become a world beater?

You cant have both. What other manager could turn walcott into a world beater? fergie? manchini? rafa? And what team would give him good amount of play time in the middle where he wants to play?

in city he will barely make it in the bench

at united, chico , rvp and rooney are ahead of walcott at present and at chelsea, RA would not wanna drop Torres for walcott.

In barca or RM he has no chance even at the bench so he can forget about that pipe dream move of his there.

Maybe he can go to Italy? play for AC, inter or Juv?

Or germany? woudl Dortmound take him? Fact is, not many if any top clubs would take him at present and help him develop his career.

At Arsenal he can flourish. he will get game time because our squad is not full of world class players and u have a great mentor Wenger who is great and creating gems.

Its up to him really.

Money or career.

edit: can u realy blame arsenal for saying no to his demands when Adebayor was in teh same situation, got his nice phat payrise and then plays like rubbish and demands a move.

Adebayor plays great for one season and wants world class player salary and walcott plays good for half a season and demanding the same

I think it's very unfair to compare Theo to Adebayor. Very different characters. Adebayor is a C**T. And Theo is looking for 100k, not 150, or 200. In this day and age, I think he's worth that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

edit: can u realy blame arsenal for saying no to his demands when Adebayor was in teh same situation, got his nice phat payrise and then plays like rubbish and demands a move.

Adebayor plays great for one season and wants world class player salary and walcott plays good for half a season and demanding the same

Fair point but thankfully Walcott is no Adebayor. The Togo player doesn't know the meaning of the word integrity. Not only that but he starts like a house on fire wherever he goes then just fades away. Walcott is getting better and better year after year.

He does deserve 100k as well. Yes Wilshere is probably more skilful but Walcott has been with the first team a lot longer - also his pace and finishing abilities are precious, invaluable qualities that we need to hold onto. He has proved this season that he is absolutely worth his 100k

I think it's very unfair to compare Theo to Adebayor. Very different characters. Adebayor is a C**T. And Theo is looking for 100k, not 150, or 200. In this day and age, I think he's worth that.

if u offer him 100k then it will affect the whole team. we have better players on less and then they will demand and ask for more or leave ie we may keep walcott now but wilshere and co will leave instead.

we are still the 3rd highest wage in the PL, not far off from united that is because our wage structure is completely messed up ie u have denilson on 60k sitting in a beach in sao polo laughing at arsenal.

Here is a thought. what if wenegr gets rid of ashavin to lose up teh wage bill and then use that to offset walcott's 100k demand if all it is is to do with money spent on wages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

if u offer him 100k then it will affect the whole team. we have better players on less and then they will demand and ask for more or leave ie we may keep walcott now but wilshere and co will leave instead.

we are still the 3rd highest wage in the PL, not far off from united that is because our wage structure is completely messed up ie u have denilson on 60k sitting in a beach in sao polo laughing at arsenal.

So our wage bill is higher than one of City of Chelsea - surely not ?

greendom wrote: »
    So our wage bill is higher than one of City of Chelsea - surely not ?

na 4th then :) but fact is, we are not far off from united(where rooney and rvp are earning over 200k and our highst payed player is probably wilshere on 80k :rolleyes: )

There's money due in from new sponsorships/tv money + Squillaci/Arshavin/Chamakh/Denilson to be off the wage bill in the summer at the latest . No excuses really

na 4th then :) but fact is, we are not far off from united(where rooney and rvp are earning over 200k and our highst payed player is probably wilshere on 80k :rolleyes: )

You're making this stuff up. No chance we've the third highest wage bill and I'd be surprised if we are 4th too. Wilshere isn't our highest paid player either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

We are about 4th i think, it's due to players like Chamakh, Squillaci, Djourou, Arshavin all on 50K plus a week and don't play squat.
    We have a lot of players on the 30 - 60 k a week range and it all adds up.
    Arsenal pay players based on their potential and that is why a lot of the young lads are on such good wages which they prob don't deserve as of yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

AdamD wrote: »
    There's money due in from new sponsorships/tv money + Squillaci/Arshavin/Chamakh/Denilson to be off the wage bill in the summer at the latest . No excuses really

this.

those 4 are costing the club 10mil in wages a year.

no excuse not to give the extra to Walcott. Don't forget he's the poster boy for the club in Asia too and his image is impeccable.

If we lose him for financial reasons i'll puke my turkey sambos up.

dvemail wrote: »
    We are about 4th i think, it's due to players like Chamakh, Squillaci, Djourou, Arshavin all on 50K plus a week and don't play squat.
    We have a lot of players on the 30 - 60 k a week range and it all adds up.
    Arsenal pay players based on their potential and that is why a lot of the young lads are on such good wages which they prob don't deserve as of yet.

this^

we are 4th and teh reason why is because 9/10 of our players are on 50k+ easily and it all adds up..

most of our youngsters are on 30-40k as well. that is why we are able to poach many 15 year olds because no one wants to give them 30k for a teenager. we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭darego

if podolski is on nearly 110k a week then surely walcott we can give walcott the 100..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭darego

bad2dabone wrote: »

doesn't show the new contracts for wilshere, gibbs, oxe, ramsey and jenkinson

bad2dabone wrote: »

Its not true and quite frankly anyone who describes Wojciech Szczesny as 'horrendous cash wastage' is a complete moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭symbolic

darego wrote: »
    if podolski is on nearly 110k a week then surely walcott we can give walcott the 100..?

I'd be hoping Wenger could get someone more consistent and with a more "intelligent footballing brain" (if that makes sense) than Walcott.

Although maybe Wenger can work his magic, but I doubt it as I think Walcott lacks the natural ability needed. In saying that Wenger knows best ha...I just don't see Walcott becoming one of the greats. Think Giroud has been very good, and looks like he could be one of the greats. Talented and intelligent player.

Interesting times anyway. Arsenal have some great talent in the squad at the moment and I hope it all comes together.

AdamD wrote: »
    Its not true and quite frankly anyone who describes Wojciech Szczesny as 'horrendous cash wastage' is a complete moron.

i must admit i didn't read any of the blurb - just the figures. whoops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Nani lads? Would yous ever fcuk off!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

11 goals and 9 assists for Giroud in half a season. I love flops like him.

Chamakh had 11 & 8 in his first season and when van Persie was fit he barely got a look in. Giroud looks far better though, I think he'll be great for us. On Walcott, he's pretty much matched his best season for us (goals and assists) and we're only halfway through! If we could keep him for the rest of his career I reckon he'd smash Henry's record!