Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

bad2dabone wrote: »
    now there's a player i'd be interested in. isn't he an everton fan though? i'd hope that would make us more attractive to him than the pool :D

Doubt it. He has said on German tv that he wants to move to Liverpool (the city) and that he would play for Red or Blue there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,449 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

I'm reading 'Arsenal- The Making of a Modern Superclub' at the moment and there's a good quote in it from Merson that describes George Graham's approach to contract negotiations: 'It was pointless having an agent, he used to come in and say, 'Right, this is what you're getting, here's your new contract. If you don't like it, see you later.' Think it perfectly illustrates the shift towards player power. Can you imagine Wenger saying that to Walcott.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

Very good book that one. Graham managed Arsenal pre bosman, so the players pretty much had no choice but to accept what he offered them. Doesn't matter what Wenger says to Walcott, his intention all along has been to leave next summer on a bosman free transfer.

Poor old Jean-Marc Bosman, last I heard of him he was a bankrupt alcoholic living on social welfare, kind of sad considering how ridiculously rich he has made footballers since he won his court case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Kess73 wrote: »
    Doubt it. He has said on German tv that he wants to move to Liverpool (the city) and that he would play for Red or Blue there.

bugger. ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

I'm reading 'Arsenal- The Making of a Modern Superclub' at the moment and there's a good quote in it from Merson that describes George Graham's approach to contract negotiations: 'It was pointless having an agent, he used to come in and say, 'Right, this is what you're getting, here's your new contract. If you don't like it, see you later.' Think it perfectly illustrates the shift towards player power. Can you imagine Wenger saying that to Walcott.

you here that group of players talking at times about them not getting bonuses/better contracts from the club and sending Adams - as captain - to speak to Graham/the club on their behalf. Then he's the one who ended up getting a new contract from it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,155 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

Didn't want to let this one go by, though I'm not an Arsenal fan:

The supposedly 2013/2014 Arsenal kits.

bc88a64ecdb087ecf66e9b3b9cf2cf0f.jpg

ba207f5a514d7e6a59b545b47ed4f188.jpg

1d3e95a5e8f10d3b0f42bc6ccd278913.jpg

Stunning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

I like the blue one. White isn't a colour Arsenal should ever wear, and the blue stripe across the chest on the home strip is horrendous. There's probably no chance any of them will see the light of day though anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Is it not 14/15 the new kit deals from?

& it's not even announced that it's Addidas, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

lads will Walcott feature from the start tomorrow?

And if so, will it be up front?

lads will Walcott feature from the start tomorrow?

And if so, will it be up front?
    Will definitely start, chances are it'll be up front given he has in our last 2 games and we've won. Although Giroud is back from injury which might push him out to the right. I'd guess up front though.

greendom wrote: »
    Deserves it.
    Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Didn't want to let this one go by, though I'm not an Arsenal fan:

The supposedly 2013/2014 Arsenal kits.

bc88a64ecdb087ecf66e9b3b9cf2cf0f.jpg

ba207f5a514d7e6a59b545b47ed4f188.jpg

1d3e95a5e8f10d3b0f42bc6ccd278913.jpg

Stunning.
    They all look like **** except the blue jersey and it doesn't go with the red shorts.

Anyway, I'll do charity bets after the match tomorrow if anyone wants. We win and I'm saying 80% chance we get top 4, we lose and I'm saying 80% chance we don't get top 4.

The white one has a real German feel to it - pointer in the direction we are heading with future transfers ?

So Arsenal are using the leverage of the Van Persie sale to acquire Nani. I can't see that having much of an effect. That would need to have been used when the transfer was being negotiated, not 5 months later. i suppose AW didn't realise how poor Gervinho was going to be back then though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

The current shirt will be used untol the end of next season. Seems a bit early for adidas to be making designs.

Don't fancy our chances of 3 points later. Never like the 5.30 kick offs and newcastle will be angry after the united game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,133 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I really hope we don't sign Nani. I've disliked some arsenal players but he'd be the first one I properly hate if we sign him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

The blue and red don't go together in the third. Also not crazy about the stripe across the chest but otherwise I like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

Reina and Nani rumoured, il start crying

Wenger isn't stupid enough to sign Reina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

If we never really went for Given or the like when we needed a keeper, we won't be going for Reina when we don't need one. Mannone has proven himself as a back up so a keeper is way down our list of priorities.

wonga77 wrote: »
    Reina and Nani rumoured, il start crying

Nani always seems to play well at the Emirates - could be a match made in heaven. Goalkeepers are supposed to improve as they mature. This is not the case with Reina and I really hope we don't go for him. Landreau might be a good option as he's now a free agent and will be a decent no 2 for Szez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭kellso81

Don't fancy our chances of 3 points later.

Yeah, kinda feel the same, after three good results (if not performances), i've a bad feeling we'll get beat today. hope I'm wrong

Stupid half five kickoffs giving me no reason to try and weasel out of house work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭DenMan

I hope we get Nani. He is a selfish player with an eye for goal. Plus he's talented too. Exactly what we need. Ruthless selfishness! He'll help bring more goals in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,757 ✭✭✭Corvo

I wouldn't be too happy to see Nani to Arsenal, simply because he is a very talented players and would actually really improve your attack. O his day he is unstoppable, and just needs to get some consistency.

Around the time Rooney was acting the maggot and trying to engineer a move to Man City, it was Nani who kept us afloat.

You could do a lot worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

I wouldn't be too happy to see Nani to Arsenal, simply because he is a very talented players and would actually really improve your attack. O his day he is unstoppable, and just needs to get some consistency.

Around the time Rooney was acting the maggot and trying to engineer a move to Man City, it was Nani who kept us afloat.

You could do a lot worse!

have to agree, if he played like he can for us then he'd soon be welcomed with open arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Agree with those above posts. Think Nani is a much better player than he gets credit for. He'd be a great addition to Arsenal. A proper winger with a bit of selfishness. Something we lack

Jack - Arteta
    Nani - Santi - Podolski?
    Walcott/Giroud

Could work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

I think we need to be careful saying I wouldnt like x or y at Arsenal just because he plays for Man U or whoever or because he appears a bit of a prat at times.

Nani is an excellent player, scores goals and assists for fun. He is reletively young and has EPL experience which counts for a lot. If we are looking for someone off the shelf then he fits the bill.

If the alternative is someone a bit younger who might be good in a few years, then I'll have Nani thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,757 ✭✭✭Corvo

Plus, if Ferguson actually really wants shot of him, he should go at a lower fee than he is worth