Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

aramush wrote: »
    What players? Apart from Johnson, Skrtel, Suarez and Lucas at a push, who'd get into the Tottenham, Chelsea, Arsenal, Man United or Man City teams?

The squad is mid-table/top 8 at best, its as simple as that.

We're barely clinging on to a top 10 league place. What other teams clinging onto a top 10 place can claim to have international players of the calibre of the ones you mention? The teams either side of us are Stoke, Swansea, Norwich and West Ham. Do you think that is the level of the players you mention? **** off with this squad ****. The first Eleven have hardly been asked to play a game beyond the league games. We're not even close to top 4 and the only reason Rodgers hasn't been made to look like a complete fool is because the league as a whole has been so bad.

Listen to him talk. Honestly please go back and listen to that long interview he gave recently. Anyone who has any clue about football will raise an eyebrow. If it was any other team he was managing I would've burst my hole laughing when he started talking about game management to a completely unrelated question. Lloyd called this at the very start -- completely out of his depth.

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

I refuse to judge Rodgers until I see him put his own stamp on this side in terms of signings. Performances after that will be the acid test.

One point to note, many of these players need to be questioned. We as fans seem to vastly overrate alot of our players, to the point we can't believe they cannot make us a top 5 side, and comfortably at that.

Reina, Agger, Skrtel, Lucas and Gerrard are touted as being world class players.

One has to question their hunger and desire (Lucas is getting his fitness back granted). We have had players in the past who are genuine winners who never accepted second best like this lot did. Players like Alonso, Mascherano and Torres saw the rot and got out to further their careers.

One has to question the hunger and desire of the likes of Agger, Reina and Skrtel for instance. Picking up huge paychecks for being part (for the best part of 3-4 years) of a dismal side.

Now these players get an easy ride, and one could feel sorry for them if they had played out of their skin week in week out but they simply have not. Reina has been abject for the best part of 18 months. Skrtel is an error prone defender who has had a season playing above his ability which resulted in a whopper contract being handed out. It will not get any better for him really.

Agger is a nice footballer but too often is he at the heart of poor defensive performances without getting any criticism.

Lucas is an honest player who has captured the imagination of the supporters with his never say die attitude and his positive response to negative reception

These key players lack character in my opinion.

Players that seem to be up for the battle every second game, but they are content in their comfortable surroundings of earning good money and not getting criticism for mid table mediocrity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

aramush wrote: »
    Surely there has to be some Belgians out there to save Liverpool Football Club!

Enough with this British 'talent'.

Sturridge likes Belgian waffles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

The swings from optimism to utter pessimism on a game to game basis itt is fairly funny to read. Must be the most knee jerk group of posters on the interwebs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

Someone needs to pointedly ask Rodgers at one of these pressers why he is persisting with Shelvey its like he thinks he's gonna turn it around lucas style if he persists with him and **** the consequences for the team in the here and now (not that I'm saying todays result is on shelvey) .

You're not his agent Brendan your meant to be progressing the club not the player at the expense of it.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

darced wrote: »

Breathtaking ignorance. He's been injured for about a year.
    Lucas is an honest player who has captured the imagination of the supporters with his never say die attitude and his positive response to negative reception

These key players lack character in my opinion.

You're genuinely suggesting that Lucas lacks character? Really? After the **** he had to put up with and forcing his way through it?

Agger wants to stay and fight for a club he loves instead of taking the easy way out and that means he lacks character?

You might want to double check what the meaning of the word is.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    The decision to loan Andy Carroll out actually eclipses the stupidity of the one to pay so much for him in the retardation stakes. At least the later decision was one of ambition.

No. It really doesn't. Nothing eclipses the stupidity of spending 35m for Andy Carrol.

If he doesn't fancy Sahin as a player which looks likely, a playmaker needs to be bought in Jan, along with the other obvious positions we need filled.

Stick a playmaker in beside Lucas and push Gerrard into an advanced role. Surely this is as obvious as night and day :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,803 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

rarnes1 wrote: »
    A team with Reina, Agger, Skrtel, Johnson, Lucas, Gerrard and Suarez should be in a better position than we are. Simple as that.

We are conceding more and scoring less than last season.
    The football isn't better either.
    9 points worse off than at this stage last season

These are the same players, except for Suarez, that have been there there for the last 3 years.

Perhaps they are over-rated here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

opr wrote: »
    We're barely clinging on to a top 10 league place. What other teams clinging onto a top 10 place can claim to have international players of the calibre of the ones you mention? The teams either side of us are Stoke, Swansea, Norwich and West Ham. Do you think that is the level of the players you mention? **** off with this squad ****. The first Eleven have hardly been asked to play a game beyond the league games. We're not even close to top 4 and the only reason Rodgers hasn't been made to look like a complete fool is because the league as a whole has been so bad.

Listen to him talk. Honestly please go back and listen to that long interview he gave recently. Anyone who has any clue about football will raise an eyebrow. If it was any other team he was managing I would've burst my hole laughing when he started talking about game management to a completely unrelated question. Lloyd called this at the very start -- completely out of his depth.

Opr

I can understand your point of view but I will reserve judgement on Rodgers until this time next season.

Then again, bar Villa and Arsenal at home and Stoke away (which to be fair, is a difficult place to go) we have played well this season.

Tottenham away as a prime example, played them off the park.. Surely that comes down to the players not being able to put the ball in the net? Rodgers cant do that for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭mormank

We became that type of club a few years ago.

Re: Guardiola/Mourinho, no one thinks we could have gotten them, but we should have been aiming a hell of a lot higher than Rodgers.

No we didn't. I believe a few is defined as 3 or more. 3 years ago we had rafa in charge. He had 6 years at the helm. how do you figure we became that type of club a few years ago? After rafa, a man named Roy Hodgson was appointed our manager. A man that never should have been the job I think we can all agree. During his reign we had one of the most tumultuous periods in our clubs existance where we almost ceased to exist as a club depending on which reports you believe. We got new owners and they brought in an interim manager to steady the ship whose results and relationship with the anfield crowd meant that the owners judgement imo was clouded and they offered him the job full time. They have now appointed their own man for the first time since they have been at the club. If we sack rodger's after only 6 months or less than a year and the owners get a new manager then, and only then are we in danger of becoming that kind of club, sir.

But you just carry on with your sensationilism and ignore what actualy happened and just continue saying stuff that suits you now, don't let me stop you.

murpho999 wrote: »
    These are the same players, except for Suarez, that have been there there for the last 3 years.

Perhaps they are over-rated here.

Yeah, but that current manager is getting less out of them. I think that's the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭luis suarez

I think most of you guys need to calm down a bit.Stoke are unbeaten at home in the league this season and liverpool won't be the last team to lose to them.We all know Rodgers has made mistakes but come on give him a chance.It's embarrassing at this stage the way most of yous are going on at this stage.

I can't believe the way people laugh at chelsea for sacking managers.The league position is disappointing but atleast give him a chance to sign his own players.Borrini got injured shortly after joining and will be back in action soon and who knows he might turn out to be a good signing yet.There is no easy fix to the problem at the moment it's going to take time and i think you need to realise that.

Stevie Gerrard will have to be replaced sooner rather than later.Sturridge looks to be signing and while it might not be the most exciting signing ever atleast give him a chance before writing him off.I just hope the boards don't start to panic as quick as some of the fans because the last thing we need to do now is sack the manager and have to start all over again.It's going to be a long hard road to get back to where we want to be but we can't just keep sacking managers eventually we have to give one of them a real chance to turn it around not just a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

we need to start looking at how good some of these players are.

Players that have endured the exit of 3-4 managers now, and yet have remained safe from the criticism. Not only that, but they have developed a reputation for being world class.

Skrtel and Reina are two interesting ones. Both are key players for us, but I reckon both are actually vastly over hyped.

Reina needs replacing asap, he is done. Skrtel is a player who vastly overachieved last season, and most fans will admit a slump was likely this season.

The lack of analysis in mainstream media about defensive frailties is ridiculous, the general consensus is that a striker will change our fortunes. The problems go alot deeper.

But as a previous poster said, I simply refuse to give my judgement on Rodgers until he builds a side with his own stamp on it. Too many players in the team that Rodgers quite conceivably believes to have no future at the club.

Its not a case of having a underperforming world class side. Some of these "stars" have performed abjectly under numerous managers.

A team with Reina, Agger, Skrtel, Johnson, Lucas, Gerrard and Suarez should be in a better position than we are. Simple as that.

We are conceding more and scoring less than last season.
    The football isn't better either.
    9 points worse off than at this stage last season

I love it when people say stuff like 'simple as that'. Like that just makes whatever they have said true. If you wanna go down that road then an argument can only be made that we should be two places better off than we are, maybe 3 at a push. Also including Lucas in such a statement at this moment is time is disingenuous to say the least. The lad hasnt been fit for us since Rodger's has been here.

Yeah, but that current manager is getting less out of them. I think that's the point.

About the same as Dalglish and Rafa though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

@BBCSport: Liverpool have never had fewer points after 19 games since the three points for a win rule was brought in.

Wow :o

Opr

You saying Allen should be playing DM instead of Lucas?

It isn't even his position :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Well most know what i think so i wont go over it again ye will be delighted to read.

Bringing on Allen and Sterling v Fulham was pretty awesome, i had no idea it would be outdone when i saw Shelvey stay on that pitch for 90 mins tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,260 ✭✭✭ebbsy

The game is up for Rodgers. He has brought in Borini and Sahin and they are very poor.

We have also sold Maxi, Carroll, Kuyt, and Bellamy. No other club would do that.

If I were you lads I would'nt beat yourselves up over it, the top half is a possibility.

murpho999 wrote: »
    About the same as Dalglish and Rafa though.

Not sure how you make that out.

We have less points, less goals, more conceded.

Nothing else needs to be said.

And those that scoffed at the likes of Llyod for essentially predicting this should be man enough to hold their hands up, apologise & say they were totally wrong.

Are you a journalist by profession by any chance?

Good enough to what?

Look at the squads & first 11's outperforming us this season. Our squad is a hell of a lot better than Rodgers has gotten out of it.

No it's not. It is probably slightly better than what he has gotten out of it but that's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Its ok lads, fairly simple solution to the problem, Danny S is on the way and drop Shelvey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,041 ✭✭✭kingshankly

It's a long time since I seen so many players play so bad
    Reina has lost all confidence and is now terrible with the ball at his feet
    Johnson worst game of the season
    Agger / skirtel both terrible
    Enrique defended brilliantly at times and terrible at other
    Gerard wasn't the worst but was poor
    Lucas non existent offered little
    Suso showed some nice touches but why was he picked to play against stoke
    Downing thought he did a few decent things in fairness but faded in the 2 half
    Suarez was the only decent performer we had tried hard and couldn't fault his effort or desire
    Shelvey now this was probably one of the worst performances I have seen a professional footballer ever put in. Terrible touch and kept giving the ball away
    Henderson terrible when he came on
    Sterling terrible first touch at times offered little.

We were totally leaderless today no drive no desire to win the ball back .
    Players have let down the manager big time and the manager has let down the fans

Not sure how you make that out.

We have less points, less goals, more conceded.

League position, anything outside top 4 should be sh1te enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

Stoke are a hard team to beat, and can beat any team on their day. They played well today and deserved their 3 pts.

The reason myself and a few fans are getting pissed off is the lack of fight in the team, to down right laziness from some players and the fact Rogers seems to be doing nothing about it. This is not just a one off match this is the Liverpool all year long with some exceptions like the Fulham game last week. The fact that it looks like Sturridge is about to join does nothing to instill confidence in the rest of the season.