Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Replaced the gas struts on my boot lid this evening and made a short video for the american bimmerforums, if you want to be bored to death. :pac:

Ya mad whore @ 2.19 the paint THE PAINT ! MM will have a feckin stroke :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭arleitiss

th_SG1S1786_zps0560f4d7.jpg

th_SG1S1787_zpsbd3906f5.jpg

Installed this sub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Wow, thats not too bad, last time I looked (several years ago admittedly) all the parts were close to €1000 if you could find them.

Mines stuck on with the supplied 3M tape, never budged a millimetre.

Any pics/specs?

99 with very few options (soon to change) , used to belong to one of the lads here , crappy pic attached

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

99 with very few options (soon to change) , used to belong to one of the lads here , crappy pic attached

Good grip on them tyres there, what brand are they ? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Brilliant... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Ahhhhhh, it all makes sense now. Best of luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Good grip on them tyres there, what brand are they ? :pac:

ןɐʇuǝuıʇuoɔ

damn iphone always does this to photos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Sorted out the annoying rough idle using vag-com. Didn't have to lift a spanner. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

Today I finally got around to sorting out a few minor jobs that have been overdue. Not least because I have my NCT in January! NCT aside, I reset the rear number plate. It had been attached with super goo and was sitting too low, just looked wrong! So, I removed it, without damaging or bending it (its an aluminium plate) by drawing a piece of thin wire, like a cheese cutter, behind it, along its length. Drilled and pop riveted it back on, properly centered, much better.

Then I removed and cleaned both rear wheel speed sensors, to remove an intermittent ABS warning light. The amount of crud that builds up on them is unreal. The rear sensors are usually the culprits as the front ones tend to get washed regularly when driving in the wet. The rears are more concealed.
    Then I sorted a loose connection on a rear light cluster, which had caused an also intermittent "bulb out" warning. It was just a case of cleaning the connecting tangs on the cluster and putting a slight bend on them, to ensure a tighter connection.
    Finally, replaced a front spot lamp bulb.

No rocket science but a feelgood factor to have finally gotten them sorted. Which begs the question. If it wasn't for the NCT, what jobs would you ignore, or at least put on the long finger? When it HAS to be done, then it has to be done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

Sorted out the annoying rough idle using vag-com. Didn't have to lift a spanner. :D

could you explain how to do it ? or send a link with some explanation ?

today did .. not on my car, but somebody wanted buy audi a4 , non runner for 100 quid, i've been asked do just diagnostics .... well... apart 24 unknown error codes what VAG-KOM spit out , there was anther over 10 known faults, ... most of sensors in engine bay, crash sensor, airbags, immobilizer etc. . ... friend said to seller.. sorry mate, i wouldnt take even for free :D .... i got champagne(ehh.. sparkling vine ) from friend, because he didnt bought that car :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Coilovers installed today, front looks great, back still to be adusted....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

gollywog wrote: »
    Coilovers installed today, front looks great, back still to be adusted....

Brought them on the rough stuff, passed grand, very very surprised :) there 30 way adjustable damping so have them set near softest. I'll put a pic of front up soon

Heres a couple of shots now :)

IMAG0613.jpg

IMAG0617.jpg

IMAG0616.jpg

What do you guys think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Got her duuuurty :D

233758.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

gollywog wrote: »
    What do you guys think?

She's still pink, lad......;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Power steering pipe wrong type! Bodgefied a hose clip onto the offending joint, I hope that cures it temporarily.
    Ball joint heat shield in situ again.
    And smashed the tail light in a fit of rage! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

The interior was in serious need of cleaning

DSC_0241.JPG

DSC_0243.JPG

DSC_0246.JPG

I needed to fix the broken handle too.

DSC_0248.JPG

DSC_0252.JPG

DSC_0253.JPG

Back to some cleaning.

DSC_0254.JPG

DSC_0255.JPG

DSC_0257.JPG

Ok all done

DSC_0266.JPG

DSC_0267.JPG

DSC_0268.JPG

DSC_0274.JPG

And the wheels cap with new one. Only problem is that these are chinese reps, and this is the last time ever I try to save money by buying chinese. They don't fit and are already broken.

DSC_0277.JPG

DSC_0278.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

Today I fitted my Christmas present to myself. An Xcarlink iPod adapter with Bluetooth. While I had the radio out I found a genuine VW iPod adapter but with the lead that goes to the iPod had been snipped. Has anyone seen that before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

Dr.Rieux wrote: »
    Today I fitted my Christmas present to myself. An Xcarlink iPod adapter with Bluetooth. While I had the radio out I found a genuine VW iPod adapter but with the lead that goes to the iPod had been snipped. Has anyone seen that before?

I have seen a lot of things left over behind radios...gps trackers removed etc.
    You got sorted with a brand new kit anyway and the old one is cut off.
    Throw it away and open that well deserved bier for a job well done ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

bmstuff wrote: »
    I have seen a lot of things left over behind radios...gps trackers removed etc.
    You got sorted with a brand new kit anyway and the old one is cut off.
    Throw it away and open that well deserved bier for a job well done ;)

I'm well into my job well done beers :) Damn near shredded my hands trying to get the cables to run the way I wanted them to but got there in the end.

ordered tactrix , hope itll work with toyota techstream . people in forums keep saying itll do the work. hope it does ... fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Not really my car, but the rental car over here in Portugal ended up with a flat tire just outside the hotel, thankfully, after a long drive back from Spain.

Camber was waaaaaaaay out and not even the "good" negative camber... this was positive camber!!! :eek: :pac:

Few pics of old tire (none of new):
    8309619297_16e26e2dbc_c.jpg
    8310666702_01f7e801b9_c.jpg
    8309626313_e29c93f7db_c.jpg

We got a used (almost new tire!) that was a slightly different size but it was close enough and had it fitted.... for only €10! :D

Hopefully we can claim something back from the price of the rental car! :)

First post in this thread andI know it's only a few pictures of a flat, worn tire, but as soon as I get a car back home (probably a 1.3 Corolla G6 if I can get one) I'll have a lot more posts here! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Not today, but got around to replacing rear pads on Saturday. Handbrake cables seem to be seized causing excess wear so loosened off the cable as much as I could, and haven't used the handbrake since. Must get around to ordering the cables tomorrow....

While I was at it, car got clayed, SRP and some HD Wax. Result.......

20121224_131706.jpg

Car is nearly there now. Have already replaced clutch cable, thermostat, thermostat housing, timing belt, water pump, Aux belt, exhaust centre section.

All thats left to do now is to sort out the Airbag light, the dodgy knocking shock (With coilovers please) and maybe, maybe an upgraded exhaust.

All this on a car I bought as a runaround....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

replaced the two front shocks in the starlet.nuts rang on one side, torture !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Getting somewhere with the rear hubs, at last!

Need one calliper, handbrake shoes, discs and pads :)

With the other calliper...
    Image2453_zps44c2d7e0.jpg

Better :)
    Image2454_zpsdd6cb704.jpg

Replacing another tyre with another tyre :pac:
    Image2455_zps274f973e.jpg

On another note, dad decided to change the dizzy, rotor arm and plug leads on his Merc. The result speaks for itself...

I'm still as high as a kite :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

Changed the old air filter and micro filter. Cleaned egr valve in my brothers van. Will do fuel filter and oil service tomorrow if weather allows..
    Nothing like the feeling of satisfaction doing these jobs oneself..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I changed both the dipped light on my astra to osram night breakers. I have to say there is some difference in brightness. Of course there is no room under the Bonnet. So it was a hole in the wheel arch job. Bit of a pain but worth it to change them. Also changed the dipped on my dads with him his octavia was handy enough to do. Osram night breakers too serious difference on his the old lights were terrible. Pic below night breaker left side old righthand side you can't really see the difference as we changed them in the garage but there is a huge difference in the dark.
    image-1_zpsdc03a7b4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Killinator

Turned this:
    cam_zps5b691709.jpg

into this:
    cam1_zpsa426fe48.jpg
    cam2_zpsd85b4890.jpg

Killinator wrote: »
    Turned this:

into this:

what did you do with your old one ? in my wifes car has http://www.volkswagen.co.uk/technology/entertainment-systems/rcd-310

thought you could sell your oul one for affordable money ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Killinator

I still have it,
    Haven't even considered what to do with it....

Is that one in the link single or double DIN, my old one is double.