Christmas Jumpers

• Site Banned Posts: 154 ✭✭beaner88

Never experienced laptops as a kid either but still have one of them.

Are laptops used ironically?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Zebra3 wrote: »
    "A bit of craic".

The ultimate defence of anyone behaving/dressing like a dickhead.

Also used by mongs who dress up as leprechauns for Ireland matches.*

*Away games only in a desperate attempt to get attention of locals who think you're "hilarious". :rolleyes:

And so what... Does it harm anyone?

In terms of behaviour that you'll see over the Christmas period, wearing a Christmas jumper is probably up there among the least offensive things you'll see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

beaner88 wrote: »

Are christmas jumpers? I happened to like mine and will probably wear it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Lemonperv

Are christmas jumpers? I happened to like mine and will probably wear it again.

In fairness, people do wear them ironically. They're so naff that they're cool.

Sort of like wearing glasses when you have perfect eyesight - that's more 'it's so nerdy that it's cool'.

Edit: I don't do either of those things.

Did all this come back into fashion because of your one in The Killing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I never realised how much power the Xmas jumper held over the moribund hermit-folk.

I shall buy one today and wear it with pride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,008 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The people wearing them now never even experienced christmas jumpers as a kid.

You know how absolutely ridiculous that sounds?
    Did you ever experience online fora as a kid yet you use one now?? (insert anything relatively new for "online fora")

Where the fcuk is everyone getting the "ironically" from?
    What is "ironic" in wearing a christmas themed piece of clothing?

Lemonperv wrote: »
    In fairness, people do wear them ironically. They're so naff that they're cool.

Sort of like wearing glasses when you have perfect eyesight - that's more 'it's so nerdy that it's cool'.

Edit: I don't do either of those things.

Did all this come back into fashion because of your one in The Killing?
    I hate to tell ya, that is not a definition of Irony.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I lost almost 2 stone over the last few months, so bought a Christmas jumper because I didn't have the confidence to wear one before....

It fit, except for my boobs. Gutted I couldn't wear it, but secretly delighted that it was my boobs That stopped me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

kippy wrote: »
    Where the fcuk is everyone getting the "ironically" from?
    What is "ironic" in wearing a christmas themed piece of clothing?

Is it ironic to put up a Christmas tree as well?

If I pick a tree up in my car am I driving ironically?

Does my car become ironic?

Is it ironic to wear shorts in the summer or use an umbrella when it rains?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 seanie_m

I wasn't too sure what 'wear ironically' actually meant so googled it. This is a quote from one of the top hits, on AskMen:

"Ironic clothing is essentially about wearing something unfashionable, while seeming to attempt to be fashionable. However, in order to use irony successfully, both you and your audience need to be in on the joke.........
    ........ Nor is it ironic to wear a ridiculous Christmas sweater if you think it looks nice. That’s just wrong."

This piece comes from an article called 'How to be ironic'. I'm glad to see I wasn't the only one thinking it:
    "First impression after reading this article:
    - Sad 19%
    - Furious 10%
    - Laugh 19%
    - A better man 6%"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Never experienced laptops as a kid either but still have one of them.
    You know how absolutely ridiculous that sounds?
    Did you ever experience online fora as a kid yet you use one now?? (insert anything relatively new for "online fora")

You seem to be missing the point by confusing never experienced because they were too young, with never experienced because it didn't exist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

I love them. I worked in a pub on Barrack St. in Cork, a street famous for the 12 pubs of Christmas, and they were, and still are I believe, the best way to know who to refuse. Not one sheep in a xmas jumper would get as far as the bar, and therfore, we avoided all the messy little bogger student from West Kerry who seem incapable of holding onto a pint after 4 pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

How are people even allowed into late bars/clubs wearing that crap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Sariah

I think they are great. I bought some for my 4 year old and my 3 year old. I won't be wearing one myself but I think it brightens up the places like all the lit up houses do. anything that brings a bit of cheer at this time of year is a good thing in my book. Its a cheap easy way to get into the Christmas Spirit. Fair play to all of you who wear them and baa humbug to the rest of you

dub_skav wrote: »
    You seem to be missing the point by confusing never experienced because they were too young, with never experienced because it didn't exist

That makes even less sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I never realised how much power the Xmas jumper held over the moribund hermit-folk.

I shall buy one today and wear it with pride.
    Exactly. I'm getting one too. If they annoy or piss off anyone perfect, they're the exact type of person I like pissing off.
    "christmas jumpers are loik soooo ubiquitous and clichéd".
    Christmas doesn't need christmas jumper hipsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

That makes even less sense.

The way I took the original point was that this new craze for Christmas jumpers was based on a nod to the olden days when you got a crap and embarrassing jumper for Christmas - often knitted by your granny - which you were then forced to don while being dragged around Aunts and Uncles houses.

The poster was then stating that the people now enthusiastically embracing this novelty jumper trend were too young to have ever endured the dreaded christmas jumper in its original form.

You and another poster then seemed to think it was more about these jumpers not having been invented years ago.

Not sure that makes any more sense, but it made me feel better so I'll leave it there.

*Wipes brow of sweat raised by bulky, itchy, woolly jumper with a poor attempt at a reindeer pattern (pattern bought in Hickeys)*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I don't care for them myself but they don't annoy me really.

What does annoy me is having a quiet pint with a friend when suddenly two separate '12 Pubs' crowds converge on the pub and raise the volume by shouting, dancing and generally being too loud for the small, quiet old man pub we're in.

Hush children! Grown ups are trying to drink here! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

I lost almost 2 stone over the last few months, so bought a Christmas jumper because I didn't have the confidence to wear one before....

Congrats on the weight loss :cool:
    It fit, except for my boobs. Gutted I couldn't wear it, but secretly delighted that it was my boobs That stopped me :o

Thinly veiled brag about big boobs ;).
    If you need help getting the jumper on over those obstacles just shout :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I don't care for them myself but they don't annoy me really.

What does annoy me is having a quiet pint with a friend when suddenly two separate '12 Pubs' crowds converge on the pub and raise the volume by shouting, dancing and generally being too loud for the small, quiet old man pub we're in.

Hush children! Grown ups are trying to drink here! :mad:

I agree with that. If you're going to be doing the 12 pubs don't be a bunch plonkers in the pubs you go to. Especially if you're in a normally quiet place. A year or two ago I was in a friend's pub, a quiet old person's pub, not even an old man pub it was generally older and elderly couples in there. A 12 pubs crowd came in and started causing mayhem. The barman had never had to deal with such a thing in his life and hadn't a clue what to do, so me and the friend ended up having to threaten to kick people out and get people to stop messing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I agree with that. If you're going to be doing the 12 pubs don't be a bunch plonkers in the pubs you go to. Especially if you're in a normally quiet place. A year or two ago I was in a friend's pub, a quiet old person's pub, not even an old man pub it was generally older and elderly couples in there. A 12 pubs crowd came in and started causing mayhem. The barman had never had to deal with such a thing in his life and hadn't a clue what to do, so me and the friend ended up having to threaten to kick people out and get people to stop messing.

Damn straight, nothing worse than a crowd of people being loud and enjoying themselves.
    I prefer a nice discussion about weather and politics myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Sariah wrote: »
    I think they are great. I bought some for my 4 year old and my 3 year old.

The age demographic they are intended for :D

dub_skav wrote: »
    The way I took the original point was that this new craze for Christmas jumpers was based on a nod to the olden days when you got a crap and embarrassing jumper for Christmas - often knitted by your granny - which you were then forced to don while being dragged around Aunts and Uncles houses.

The poster was then stating that the people now enthusiastically embracing this novelty jumper trend were too young to have ever endured the dreaded christmas jumper in its original form.

You and another poster then seemed to think it was more about these jumpers not having been invented years ago.

Not sure that makes any more sense, but it made me feel better so I'll leave it there.

*Wipes brow of sweat raised by bulky, itchy, woolly jumper with a poor attempt at a reindeer pattern (pattern bought in Hickeys)*

Fair enough, even then it's a pretty poor point however.
    The "old" Christmas jumpers knitted by Granny, bear absolutely no resemblance to those worn these days.
    It's just another "fun" angle to Christmas being honest, and I get more enjoyment out of making and wearing one than eating turkey for instance.
    Now that I have a young kid (a bit too young yet to help making these) I look forward to spending the next few years making tacky Halloween and Christmas themed clothes with him.

CHealy wrote: »
    I love them. I worked in a pub on Barrack St. in Cork, a street famous for the 12 pubs of Christmas, and they were, and still are I believe, the best way to know who to refuse. Not one sheep in a xmas jumper would get as far as the bar, and therfore, we avoided all the messy little bogger student from West Kerry who seem incapable of holding onto a pint after 4 pints.

I envy anyone who can take that hill with a few pints in them....

Congrats on the weight loss :cool:

Thinly veiled brag about big boobs ;).
    If you need help getting the jumper on over those obstacles just shout :pac:

It's getting it off that's the trouble. Believe me, its a lot more unattractive than it sounds! ANd thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Ya been wearing the Christmas jumper now every Christmas for 4 years. It really has taken off this year with everyone wearing them. I prefer the not so obvious Christmas jumpers just tacky awful looking jumper that belongs in a 80's christmas music video, the mass sales of extremely similar jumpers and the ones with lights just aren't the same craic but still good craic nonetheless. One of the lads got his missus to sow a candy cane into one of his normal jumpers and it looked great.

Was away for the weekend there in Scandinavia and took one of my Christmas jumpers with me and while security and other travellers at Dublin airport complimented me on it once I got to Denmark I just got weird looks, so definitely an Irish craze at the mo and a ridiculously humourour one too. Nothing wrong with a bit of colour and decoration on a night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Was away for the weekend there in Scandinavia and took one of my Christmas jumpers with me and while security and other travellers at Dublin airport complimented me on it once I got to Denmark I just got weird looks, so definitely an Irish craze at the mo

It's big in the US too and probably where it came from originally rather than being an Irish one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I bought a couple of jumpers from eBay 4-5 years ago. I am afraid it is I who made them cool.
    Mine are fancy knitted ones though. Those cheap wooly prints are crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Every time I see one I'm instantly reminded of a robotic Pat Kenny trying to interact with children on the toy show.