Did Georgie Burgess rape Sharon Curley?

• 18-12-2012 11:27PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭

Serious question. Watching The Snapper and that scene has never sit right with me - especially the way it's just glossed over. Was she too drunk to give consent in the scene on the car bonnet? I know times change and what's considered acceptable by society changes over time and it may not have been controversial at the time but judging by societal attitudes today, it's very dodgy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

IIRC he offered a tenner retrospectively.

Prozzie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Me_Grapes

Hey Furry, you know what I'd like to do with this thread? Snip Snip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Is that you squeakin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

He did and he went on to create a load of hairy babies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭marketty

He put his massive tool in her box

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

She said "a man" - they ****ed and he said "A-1 Sharron" while she replied. "Who the **** was that?"

She was a slut.

He was a ****head.

Roddy Doyle never had an original idea in his life.

QED

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Taken advantage of, perhaps. She was walking around saying she was looking for a man, lay down on the car bonnet, seems to have some awareness that she had sex when she said "who was that?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Interesting.

Good to see people looking at it in that light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

he did indeed. and sharons' locked while preggers. Mad, Ted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I've never seen The Snapper. Is there a version dubbed into English?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭kingtiger

Good girl Sharon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

ARE YOU ALRIGHT SHARON?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Georgie bleedin Burgess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I suppose a ride's out of the question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

SNIP SNIP BURGESS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Is that a baby or a turkey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Lucas Castroman

The more pressing question is should she be allowed to abort Georgie Burgess's baby if it is indeed the product of rape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Did ye not see me there, over by the vegetables......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Ah no, I don't think so. She literally threw herself at him, he perhaps wasn't to know how drunk she was.

Feckin' egit should've used protection though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

IIRC he offered a tenner retrospectively.

Prozzie!

for sweetsand he was going to she her knickers to to de lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Me_Grapes

Si Senior Burgess has vamoosed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

urgggggggggggh!

when I read the title I thought "ah this'll be a laugh :) " - but as soon as you said serious question ... :rolleyes:

good god. did you watch the movie? ... as LivelineDipso said:
    She said "a man" - they ****ed and he said "A-1 Sharron" while she replied. "Who the **** was that?"

Not once is it ever implied it was "rape" - but what next? Kyle Reese raped sarah conner in Terminator? as she was in shock of nearly being killed and reese "took advantage" ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Seven pounds twelve ounces is my reference point for all baby weights.

Did ye not see me there, over by the vegetables......

i dont know why but that is without a doubt, the funniest line in the whole film

dessie squeezing the tea bag and roaring SHITE then throwing it at the wall is hilarious too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

The more pressing question is should she be allowed to abort Georgie Burgess's baby if it is indeed the product of rape?
    No, not really. The most pressing question was being so drunk how did she know the father was "Spanish? Or a sailor? He could've been a Pakistani postman!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Pales into insignificance when considered against the towering racist edifice that is The Commitments.

Ah no, I don't think so. She literally threw herself at him, he perhaps wasn't to know how drunk she was.

Feckin' egit should've used protection though.

the film was made in 1993 when french letters were illegal here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Seven pounds twelve ounces is my reference point for all baby weights.

And miserable looking turkeys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭CommanderC

Love this final scene :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

End tune is class