Christmas Jumpers

• 18-12-2012 04:51PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭

Tacky / kitchy Christmas jumpers on young adults have become so annoying and ubiquitous. Most people that wear then think they're being ironic, but they're just being a big cliche.

For those that say "Oh, I like them, they're Christmassy": would you have worn them seriously 5/6 years ago before the Christmas jumper crazed kicked off (a la Colin Firth's character in Brigid Jones)? Oh no, it's ok now as other fun and wacky people are wearing them, so I can too :rolleyes:

*Awaits the "you're a miserable bollox" comments* :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Ah sure what's not to like

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

No, you're right.

Only witless goons wear them now.

Was vaguely amusing. Now it's just passe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

*runs home to change jumper*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Where To wrote: »
    *runs home to change jumper*

Ah no, if you're an aul' fella you're alright :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Tacky / kitchy Christmas jumpers on young adults have become so annoying and ubiquitous. Most people that wear then think they're being ironic, but they're just being a big cliche.

For those that say "Oh, I like them, they're Christmassy": would you have worn them seriously 5/6 years ago before the Christmas jumper crazed kicked off (a la Colin Firth's character in Brigid Jones)? Oh no, it's ok now as other fun and wacky people are wearing them, so I can too :rolleyes:

Who says it's about being ironic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Mainly worn by knobs who do the "12 pubs of Christmas".

Getting plastered drunk using Christmas as an excuse is one thing, but don't add to your knobbishness by wearing a stupid jumper.

A wooly jumper with a cartoon rudolph only looks good on a buxom swedish girl called Helga, not a spotty long haired knob called Stephen*

*Shut up Stephen, you know who you are!!!!

/Christmas Rant

♫ We wish you a Merry Christmas....... ♫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,320 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

I think someone is in need of a big knitted red and green Christmas jumper that says I love Christmas jumpers on the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I think it's a bit of harmless fun tbh. Although I do believe in the home made ones more than the pre-bought ones.
    I've got the bits and pieces ready to make mine this evening with my kid and looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,320 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

kippy wrote: »
    I think it's a bit of harmless fun tbh. Although I do believe in the home made ones more than the pre-bought ones.
    I've got the bits and pieces ready to make mine this evening with my kid and looking forward to it.

You should take a photo of it when you have it finished and post it on here. The op might not like it though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭kippy

You should take a photo of it when you have it finished and post it on here. The op might not like it though :)

I've done one every second year for the past 10 years or so. Only wear it once or twice over the few weeks and get great craic with it.
    I may do that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

A crap shirt and crap tie is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I only bought one this year cause I was going on a trip and the rule was that you had to wear a Christmas jumper. It's only a laugh though. Try to not take everything so seriously.

hardCopy wrote: »
    Who says it's about being ironic?

Yes, agree, for some wearers it's not.

I misread the opening on preview as

"Tacky / kitchy Christmas jumpers on young adults have become so annoying and ubiquitous. Most people that wear then think they're being ironic, but they're just being a big culchie"

And Came into the thread to discuss that, dont really have anything to say now i know you think its a bit cliche :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

I got a rugby jersey version yesterday and will wear the sh!t out of it, Ironically of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

If you're bitching about this you need to get more of a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Wow, would you not have to have some shoulder chip to get annoyed by people wearing tacky jumpers. How does it hurt you, why would it possibly annoy you?

I for one will wear my Christmas santa jumper and womens miniature santa hat with festive cheer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Mine has 40 lights stitched into it and it sings. homemade by a friend of mine.

You're some miserable shower of fcuks to find a moan in people wearing xmas jumpers.

df1985 wrote: »
    Mine has 40 lights stitched into it and it sings. homemade by a friend of mine.

You're some miserable shower of fcuks to find a moan in people wearing xmas jumpers.

I didn't start the thread, nor would I feel the need to express my distaste as much.
    But I agree with the OP.

Now I'd be a bit different in that I didn't mind people wearing them for the 12 pubs, that's how I first heard of them.
    But I have noticed lads going around in them since near enough the first or the second of December which is a change from a night out to casual wear. I think they look like prats personally... not much I can do to change how I feel when seeing a fella wearing one in early December as a fashion accessory.

It's going the same way as the massive geeky glasses and DJ headphone went.
    Internet culture.

I can see your point in relation to why should anyone take a disliking.... but I'm sure you have things that you dislike for whatever reason(i.e cruisers... 'sure they're only doing handbrakes around an empty car park', young girls dressing like adults etc...)

We all have pet hates...its nothing personal. And IMO wearing these for a particular night is grand, it's the ones wearing them for 3/4 weeks of the year now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Complaining about Christmas jumpers, well fcuk me how festive of you. Tis only a bit of craic.

You're no better than them miserable pricks who can't wait until the turkey is ate so they can take great delight in saying "Well that's Christmas over for another year!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

They're a quite useful cunt-ometer, to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Now this is the way to go

if only they had a pic of him from the Scrouge film :)

http://www.thechivery.com/products/murray-christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

"A bit of craic".

The ultimate defence of anyone behaving/dressing like a dickhead.

Also used by mongs who dress up as leprechauns for Ireland matches.*

*Away games only in a desperate attempt to get attention of locals who think you're "hilarious". :rolleyes:

shrewdness wrote: »
    Complaining about Christmas jumpers, well fcuk me how festive of you. Tis only a bit of craic.

You're no better than them miserable pricks who can't wait until the turkey is ate so they can take great delight in saying "Well that's Christmas over for another year!"

What makes you think I dislike Christmas just because I find the certain wearing of Christmas jumpers tacky? Which, by their hilarious nature, are kind of meant to be tacky. That's kind of the joke, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭youreadthat

People wearing jumpers in winter. Ban this sick filth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Shryke wrote: »
    If you're bitching about this you need to get more of a life.
    Says he as he bitches about the bitcher :rolleyes:

• Site Banned Posts: 154 ✭✭beaner88

The people wearing them now never even experienced christmas jumpers as a kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Well Bah Humbug to you too. Yes they are cliché, however they are a bit of fun as well. I don't know anyone who wears one "ironically", they are nice, and if you're out with a bunch of people wearing them, they create a good Christmas vibe, which makes it different from just another night on the town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

beaner88 wrote: »
    The people wearing them now never even experienced christmas jumpers as a kid.

Never experienced laptops as a kid either but still have one of them.