Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

o1s1n wrote: »
    You're a WOW head? Ah man, I thought you had taste! :pac:

Speaking of online games, anyone here playing World of Tanks? I started it over the weekend, it's really a lot of fun. Reminds me of Tokyo Wars :)
    Not any more , did my time though. from launch up to about a year ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭balkieb2002

Burkey0 wrote: »
    You ****ing dancer! That's exactly it. Maybe 'looks homebrew' was harsh but it still looks plenty depressing. Even the name is generic

Will still probably acquire it and play for hours
    That's because it is homebrew ;) Net Yaroze were playstation dev kits for people to try and makes games at home.

I've been after this space racing/shooter that orginally came on a PS1 demo disc. All I could remember before was that it was a demo disc from an issue number in the 40's. Thanks to ye bringing up Net Yaroze, I decided to search for it properly. After quite a few google searches (and lots of YTube videos) I came across some PS1 demo disc covers and it suddenly clicked that MSG1 was the same demo disc (Issue 42).
    From there I found out that the Net Yaroze hall of fame was included on that disc and I finally found it's name: Gravitation.

The video below shows it in all its glory. I lost many hours in that 2 player duel. Looks an easy game but having to avoid enemy fire, firing back all the while managing your thrusters to get around around the level (plus other maps had astroid fields or gravitational pulls to deal with).

At least I know now which disc number to look for (always had 48 in my head for some reason!).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

You're a WOW head? Ah man, I thought you had taste! :pac:

Yeah, just what sort of Dr are you Dr Bob?
    Amateur proctology in your spare time does not a doctor make!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    I see, quite a dilemma. Ah your right in your feelings for the need of a bit of structure, otherwise you could end up with the same game on a few platforms

Well not just that, I could end up continuing to neglect consoles I have that are crying out for more good games. For example, I have three, yes only three Gameboy carts. Thats not right, so hyperbole aside, I do need some structure in how I collect in future.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Final Fantasy is 25 years old today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

EnterNow wrote: »

I'm still on the Levin part...I thought he had a BMW :confused:

I should probably explain! I have a levin as well. Admittedly it's been sitting up for over a year mainly due to the fact I can't get insured on it. I was driving it for a while (insured of course with a 3rd party extension) but its been out of nct since 2005 and would be too expensive and hard to source parts to get it nct worthy. So due to said "gowl" complaining and some deliberation it's off to be broken and scrapped. It's a shame though because its been in the family for near enough 10 years and I'm a bit emotionally attached to it. Still, onwards and upwards! And that bitch can go suck a **** because there's a golf GTI going in that parking space hopefully very soon!

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,622 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Well not just that, I could end up continuing to neglect consoles I have that are crying out for more good games. For example, I have three, yes only three Gameboy carts. Thats not right, so hyperbole aside, I do need some structure in how I collect in future.

That's shocking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I didn't know AVGN was currently doing vids. I thought he was just concentrating on the movie (which, for the record, looks awful). Enjoyed this video though, and watched a few more that I'd missed.
    Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Final Fantasy is 25 years old today.

Whole lot of 25th anniversaries going on lately. Is there anything mad happening for FF's one?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

deathrider wrote: »
    Whole lot of 25th anniversaries going on lately. Is there anything mad happening for FF's one?

1987 was a big year in gaming. It's when real quality games started to get released for the Famicom so a lot of series started then.

Also in 2 days time it will be Phantasy Stars 25th birthday :) a much better game than the original FF.

As for special events they have been doing special 25th anniversary distant world concerts around the world, I was at the one in London recently.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

I didn't know AVGN was currently doing vids. I thought he was just concentrating on the movie (which, for the record, looks awful). Enjoyed this video though, and watched a few more that I'd missed.

Agreed. Someone posted up a trailer for it a while back and it looked crap. Not sure his AVGN skills translate well to a full length film.

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    That's shocking!

1850 715 815

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭MrVestek

1850 715 815

I had to Google that as I didn't recognise the number.

Well played EnterNow... well played...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,435 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Agreed. Someone posted up a trailer for it a while back and it looked crap. Not sure his AVGN skills translate well to a full length film.

Indeed. I really think it was a bad move. Haven't seen the film yet obviously so I'll reserve judgement, but the trailer had me cringing.

I think Rolfe is a film/cinema buff at heart, & I get the impression he's a bit disappointed at being tied to the AVGN character so much. This film unfortunately for him, is the only way to expose his desire to make films & have them exposed to such a huge audience.

He has loads of other films under his belt at this stage, but this is the first properly funded one {fan funded albeit}, & without it having an AVGN tag, it wouldn't be noticed by anyone.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Damn, think I've killed my Ipod Classic.....
    I had it mounted on my dash with a cheap magnet....
    According to people who know what they are talking about the magnet should not be strong enough to do damage and yet.... it's toasted :(
    Trying a restore right now to see if it can be reset, perhaps it's a bad sector or something that's tripping the device up.
    Otherwise it'll give me the excuse to pick up a new ipod in the new year!
    The new Nano looks nice!

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    According to people who know what they are talking about the magnet should not be strong enough to do damage

Hmm, delicate electronics & magnets tend not to be advisable to mix...are these advisers the retailers of the magnets? :p

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Oddly enough
    I've never seen an AVGN vid , same with whassis name aussie hat guy ..er..zero punctuation. ZP mainly as I'd be afraid of ripping him off subconsciously doing me own vids, and AVGN as he looks like a dick.(He may be lovely/sound/intelligent in real life but any of the pictures of him doing vids I've seen make him look like a shouty American twat)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

I should probably explain! I have a levin as well. Admittedly it's been sitting up for over a year mainly due to the fact I can't get insured on it. I was driving it for a while (insured of course with a 3rd party extension) but its been out of nct since 2005 and would be too expensive and hard to source parts to get it nct worthy. So due to said "gowl" complaining and some deliberation it's off to be broken and scrapped. It's a shame though because its been in the family for near enough 10 years and I'm a bit emotionally attached to it. Still, onwards and upwards! And that bitch can go suck a **** because there's a golf GTI going in that parking space hopefully very soon!

/rant

Not true, you should be able to get parts from nearly any motor factors. The Lein is basically a Corolla with fanccy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

/rant

Not true, you should be able to get parts from nearly any motor factors. The Levin is basically a Corolla with fancy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

I was a bigger fan of the Zero Punctuation shtick 'til it dawned on me why I liked it so much, he's Charlie Brooker-lite. Not always, but more than enough that it occasionally gets grating. This isn't helped by the fact that Brooker comes from a gaming background, and still dabbles in it from time-to-time, so Yahtzee/ZP sometimes strikes me like he's some sort of little brother aping. Granted, I still like his vids, and find them funny and whatnot, but a lot of the stuff he throws on top, such as the breathlessness gimmick and the stills, seem like window dressing to embellish a heavy influence.

Hooray for Christmas cartoon marathons on kids tv!
    Phineas and Ferb is on, happy days! Pretty good, love the fact that Riff Raff is their Dad!

Dr Bob wrote: »
    Oddly enough
    I've never seen an AVGN vid , same with whassis name aussie hat guy ..er..zero punctuation. ZP mainly as I'd be afraid of ripping him off subconsciously doing me own vids, and AVGN as he looks like a dick.(He may be lovely/sound/intelligent in real life but any of the pictures of him doing vids I've seen make him look like a shouty American twat)

Its definitely all character based. Have a look at this non game video by him {James Rolfe/AVGN} for another side to him. No shouting at all, very impressive for an American!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

pdbhp wrote: »

Not true, you should be able to get parts from nearly any motor factors. The Levin is basically a Corolla with fancy stuff.

Yeah but it needs a new exhaust which would have to be made, new headlights, new tail lights, a few engine bits, new tyres and some other cosmetic bits too. It's an ae101 model so they're less common over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,435 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Had to escalate my Mega CD1 & Megadrive 1 bundle to a claim as it's a month later and I still haven't received them yet :mad: so annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,622 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Had to escalate my Mega CD1 & Megadrive 1 bundle to a claim as it's a month later and I still haven't received them yet :mad: so annoying!

Ah that's bollix. Shame as it was a great price.

The bigger issue is the a&r get spreadsheet is skewed now!

The ipod is toast, no restore possible :(
    Missus went and bought me a WiiU, allegedly, pity, if I had known that my tunes were going to go bang I'd have got her to buy me a previous gen Ipod Nano, the last good one, the one with the decent screen and the camera, before the made the one like a watch...

Anyone here have one of that gen lying around?
    Perhaps trade for it?

I think Rolfe is a film/cinema buff at heart, & I get the impression he's a bit disappointed at being tied to the AVGN character so much. This film unfortunately for him, is the only way to expose his desire to make films & have them exposed to such a huge audience.

He has loads of other films under his belt at this stage, but this is the first properly funded one {fan funded albeit}, & without it having an AVGN tag, it wouldn't be noticed by anyone.

This is true. He said at one stage that AVGN was just a bit of craic that he made because he loved making videos. He never expected the character to blow up the way he did. I guess he somewhat made a monster. I love the AVGN videos. Although the jokes are really immature, and sometimes even cringeworthy, I still find the show really entertaining. I've learned of a fair amount of games through his show (and Happy Video Game Nerd's show too) that I otherwise may never have heard of.

Agreed, I find them quite enjoyable, once you understand the concept that he's in character & the whole point is him being angry at ridiculously bad games :D

It's also exposed me to some other great stuff like Pat The NES Punk, 16bit Gems, Happy Video Game Nerd, Classic Game Room, etc etc.

The AVGN film might well be AVGN's swansong, who knows. But Rolfe does some other cool stuff, some of the Board James stuff is pretty good, although the last one was absolutely dreadful!

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Missus went and bought me a WiiU, allegedly, pity, if I had known that my tunes were going to go bang I'd have got her to buy me a previous gen Ipod Nano

Suuuure you would. I believe ya, millions wouldn't :D You were over the moon when she bought you a magazine, lord knows how you feel about this! :D

Agreed, I find them quite enjoyable, once you understand the concept that he's in character & the whole point is him being angry at ridiculously bad games :D

It's also exposed me to some other great stuff like Pat The NES Punk, 16bit Gems, Happy Video Game Nerd, Classic Game Room, etc etc.

The AVGN film might well be AVGN's swansong, who knows. But Rolfe does some other cool stuff, some of the Board James stuff is pretty good, although the last one was absolutely dreadful!

I've been meaning to check out that NES Punk. I saw him appearing on AVGN's NES World Championships episode and told myself I'd check more Punk stuff. I've never gotten around to it though.