Strange retail Requests

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Worked in the bar trade when in collage. This old lad came in and ordered a pint of guinness. When he was about 3/4 way through it he called me over and asked had we any fresh eggs and if so could he have one. I went to the kitchen, got an egg and gave it to him. He then cracked it into the pint, swallowed the last 1/4, including the egg, left the pub, got up on a bicycle and cycled away. Very Strange!!

Was it Rocky Balboa? I saw Rocky Balboa do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

I worked in an electrical retailers when I was in college and some of the questions I got asked were pretty priceless.

A guy came back in very annoyed that his washing machine wasn't working. We tried to figure out why. Turned out he hadn't connected it to the water or the drain. He assumed it would 'make its own water' when you plugged it in!!!!

Several people came in to complain that their TVs wouldn't work. They all hadn't plugged in any antenna, satellite or cable box or tuned it. They'd switched it on and assumed it would just work and have all the channels set up like their old one.

One German lady came in and asked me for the thermal transfer values of the insulation of a fridge, the type of coolant and the wattage of the motor. After much research on 4 brands, she decided she didn't want any of them and walked out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭justaskin likeyakno

Working in a chemist, I've been asked for..

A toilet brush, wire net, potatos, computer parts, a weighing scales to measure grams and the little plastic bags we put the prescription in..dude:D, and he keeps forgetting this and asks every few weeks.

Washing up liquid, coffee, cigarettes:rolleyes:, and for some reason lots of things you can get in hardware shops.

The latest trend is carbolic soap. I think it was used in the dark ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Tippex wrote: »
    no it was from reading his column in the herald nothing more...:rolleyes:
    Hate that rolleyes Tippex but Pighead can understand your frustration. Starting a thread in After Hours should come with a health warning.

The tiniest mistakes are pounced on by the baying mob as they laugh, ridicule and point at the thread starter. You need a skin as thick as two double ditches to fend off the many attacks.

Pighead has been left an emotional blubbering mess with the words "It's 'your' not 'you're' you Dundalk dummy" ringing in his ears.

Supposedly Shakespeare was inspired to write the following words for his hit play Hamlet after the reaction he received when starting a thread in After Hours.

'To be, or not to be: that is the question Whether 'tis nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune, or to take arms against a sea of troubles, and by opposing end them?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,683 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Pighead wrote: »
    Pighead refuses to answer this question until you tell him what a bph is. Google says it means 'Enlarge prostate'. Explain yourself. Please.

Have i been missing for a while or have i not seen Pighead around for some time referring to himself in the third person.

Classic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭Calibos

We have a small newsagents. A few groceries, magazines, sweets, cigarettes etc. A fella came in walked around the shop once which takes all of 5 seconds, comes back to the counter and asks whether we sell Ladies Leather Handbags.. I told him ,"I'm afraid we don't have a ladies leather goods department". He shrugged his shoulders and left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I bought a car in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I got asked for chewing tobacco once in an electronics shop.

delivering pizza.. customer asked me to pick up a pack of smokes, rollies, lighter and chocolate milk on the way.

did it... they paid me for it and got a very generous tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Not strange but...

I worked in a Smyths Toystore that was next door to an Elverys. I worked at the back of the store, upstairs. Basically the part of the store that took the most effort to get to, you walk past pretty much everything to get to the counter.

A woman asked me where the weights were. I just asked "Do you think you are in Elverys?" ...she looked around and hurried away all red faced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Worked in Spar in my youth and was once asked if we sold Hash Brownies, and no I didn't mishear hash browns as the customer then led me to cake section to help her look. She was off her rocker.

Another man who once asked did we have Brandy-Prawn Sauce. I dunno if that's a bizarre thing to ask for but what was bizarre was that when I said no, he asked me to make him some.

Slightly off topic but we also had a man in regularly who'd walk into the shop with a ferret on a lead. It smelt atrocious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭tomboylady

I worked in an ice rink for a while and I lost count of the number of people who complained of the cold and asked us to turn the heating on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

It wasn't retail, but I was still dealing with members of the public. Worked as a Garda a few years ago, one day these two feckin' eejits came into the station. One of them started trying to order curry, steak and chips and a can of coke. I told him he was in a police station but then he just asked for satay chicken instead! And don't even get me started on the two mad bints they were coming in to bail out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I work in an off licence.

A couple of months ago, a lady enquired if we sold laminators.

I just stared at her in disbelief for about five seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

On the other foot as it were

Once asked for a hot whiskey in a bar

The Bar staff member looking puzzled - disappeared for a couple of minutes came back and said...

No im afraid we don't have that brand if whiskey...

I got my coat and left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I worked in a fairly trendy mainstream female clothes shop in Dublin and we would regularly get men coming in and they would walk around looking through the rails for a few minutes, looking up, looking back at the clothes.
    I could usually spot them a mile off(they looked nervous and unsure), they were men interested in wearing women's clothes.
    I never had an issue with it and found these guy's to be very nice and in the end when one of the guy's came in they would ask was I working that day if they couldn't see me and I would advise them on their outfits:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Leg of fish :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

I was once asked............................ would pighead ever fcuk off posting in the third party, except It wasnt in work, and I was the one to ask it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I asked for an esb roll and she asked what I would like on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Sakinah

Working in a high street retail clothes shop I once was asked to cut someone out of a top she had squished herself into- don't ask me how she had gotten it over her shoulders - she was far larger than the top she put on, i tried to get it off her before i actually agreed to cut it off. I felt so sorry for her as she was mortified, I just said it happens all the time. :D

Another time a guy came in looking for a gift for his g/f and wanting to buy underwear set. What size is she says I. I don't know says he. Then he stares at my chest and says well she's bigger than u but smaller than her - pointing to another sales assistant. I actually wound him up a bit then and asked him to show me, so he was there cupping his hands on his chest trying to show me a boob size lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

Tippex wrote: »
    My bph (Better Prettier Half) works for a large toy retailer and always has stories about customers asking if they sell other items (last year it was Xmas trees and fairy lights) but the one she got asked on Wednesday takes the biscuit I think.

A customer walked up to her and asked her if they sell bales of hay (no she didn't mishear she repeated it to the customer and he said yeah bales of hay).

What is the strangest thing you have been asked for when working in retail?
    amazing...she not even try pets at home or another similar pet store?
    pets at home sell it in different bag sizes.
    if she had been fairly clued up,she coud have googled her area with 'hay for sale' and found it far cheaper daft woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Scruffles wrote: »
    amazing...she not even try pets at home or another similar pet store?
    pets at home sell it in different bag sizes.
    if she had been fairly clued up,she coud have googled her area with 'hay for sale' and found it far cheaper daft woman.
    Or even just find the nearest farm!