What was the most valuable currency in your playground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Aerials off teachers cars, eventually Gardai were called and an aerial off their car was collected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭PinkFly

those brightly coloured bracelets

anything that came free in the cereal boxes

pencil toppers

good lunch items ( chocolate spread sandwich or digestive biccie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Videos of wrestling pay per views recorded on Sky Sports. A buddy of mine used to tape the repeats as well and sell them for 10 pound. He went on to record some dodgy German satellite softcore porn in 6th class, brought it in to show the lads when we had a video one Friday afternoon and ended up getting caught by a nun who was 'visibly shaken' according to the teacher (his parents were called and told us the full story at his 21st). Now they'd just call it sex education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

Back in the early seventies there was an ice cream in the school shop, might have been Dale Farm. Vanilla Ice Cream on a plastic stick, on top of the stick was a moulded chess piece, you didn't know what piece you were getting until you got through the ice cream. Pawns were as common as Twink but if you got a Queen or a King your day was made. God I'm old :(:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Bullet casings (got at army shop / firing ranges?)
    Car logos from cars ( only scumbag kids mostly)
    Porno mags (before the internetz!!)
    Caps / bangers
    A tennis ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Inventive User Name

Pokemon cards, closely followed by World Cup 2002 stickers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Panini Football Stickers, and Pogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

oh! I forgot to mention, metal caps from the air tubes of car tyres :pac:
    They seemed hugely popular at one stage, and we'd rob every single one we'd find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

The caps off of the air input on.tyres.

Dust caps, I think theyre called??

Anyway, the ones off BMWs, Mercs., etc. were the most valuable.

If you could get one off of a squad car or the special branch cars, you were the shiit.

When we werent trading them, we would screw them on to our bikes' rims.

Blue ones were blingin!

All the bitches loved it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭Linguo

Fancy Paper!

Take That trading cards

Stickers

Pogs (especially the metal ones)

Marbles

Loved it, thought having pages of fancy different paper was the business at the time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Marbles when from about 1st - 3rd class
    Then pogs were introduced for about 2 years and then it was back to marbles after we realised they were just ****ty pieces of cardboard.
    Interspersed with these fads was the yearly football sticker book things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Eden3

Adam Ant albums (vinyl)! Still have them .......:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Elastics were pretty hot property in my playground. (the kind you did a form of skipping with)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭flanno_7hi

Cool_CM wrote: »
    I seem to remember that the premier league crest or "number 1" was the big one!

Premierleague cards were the thing. Never even saw one of these lasercuts from the end of the album.
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Robbie-Fowler-LIVERPOOL-Merlin-1995-Laser-Cut-Insert-Card-5-5-/160923577020?_trksid=p2047675.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D11%26meid%3D4113064881810952324%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D1005%26rk%3D1%26sd%3D400332782169%26

Ya used to get a packet free in shell when you spent a tenner and I remember my da came in one day after doing a night shift in the cab and handed me 17 packs. Ended up finishing the album except for those feckin specials at the end.

Remember swapping about 20 cards to get Cantona.

Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Started the whole collecting/swapsies/game thing in the schoolyard with the puppies/kittens in my pocket and marbles :) then stickers, when I was about 8 i think, then the whole Pogs and Slammers thing which i would love to have now just out of memories tbh i had a huge box of them but no idea where there are now after moving houses a lot :(, then tamagotchis, then Goosebumps books and Point Horror, then lastly just as I was in 1st year in secondary school came the Pokemon!

I sort of collected them, but being 13 I was more into the plush toys of them and the TV show :D

Just saw someone said about the judy blume books and Forever :);), I read the Judy Blume stuff since I was about 11 i think, but never actually discovered and read Forever till I was 16, me and my friend from school then still remember that day we bought that, one of those curious in your teens type of books methinks :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Conchir wrote: »
    Marbles.
    Steelies

Especially ball bearings from locomotives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭xshayx

Star Wars cards, who ever threw the card closest to the window won the other card, if you got your card on the lower/upper ledge you won some money as well as the card.

A-Team cards only for swapping as too small/light to throw :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,188 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Steelies

That moment when you remember something and you have a big grin :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

kowloon wrote: »
    That moment when you remember something and you have a big grin :D.

Wow....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

How has nobody mentioned WWF Wrestling stickers?! Or was it just my school? Would have been around 1993 or 94 I think. They came wrapped around a 2p bubblegum which always went in the bin, there were 50 to collect and everyone carried their bundle around with elastic bands around them.

Have, have, need, have, need, need, have

Good times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Fluorescence

I went to a highly catholic primary school. An old nun used to come around every week to collect used stamps from us (for some charity or something) and she would sell these holy knick-knacks. Pictures of saints for 5p, miraculous medals for 10p etc. If you were AWESOME enough to have 25p you could get glow-in-the-dark rosary beads and be the envy of your class for the rest of the day. You wouldn't swap em or anything, you'd use them solely for bragging rights.

Looking back I realise my primary school experience was quite unique :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Pogs and pokemon cards for my school :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

There was always one kid that made the mistake with the Premier League sticker saying "I need that to fill Team X or to fill the book", cue some ridiculous bartering attempts.

2 small stickers were worth one big (half a team) one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Chocolate Crumb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,599 ✭✭✭Duff

Don't know if it's been mentioned, but without doubt it had to have been the holographic Charizard Pokémon card. Before that, I think it was one of the ''gold'' slammers from Pogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Anyone remember the World Cup '94 team coin collectables you got from Centra? I still have the complete set somewhere! The ever elusive Terry Phelan was worth his weight in gold in my school yard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Marbles or, in Cork, Glassy Allies(?)
    Marble season was a moving feast - no-one knew when it started, it just did. Some of the big boys had steelers (ball bearings) whose value was calculated in "times" using a secret formula, e.g. a 1/2" steeler might be a 20 timer, meaning that you had to beat him 20 + 1 times in a row to win his steeler. And you thought NAMA was complicated!
    Anto's dad worked in CIE and had access to "real" steelers - 100 timers and more like cannon balls. Unbeatable but Anto had a strange walk when his steeler was in his pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Vudgie

I would say anything from America...a mystical land that one or maybe two kids would report from after the summer holidays.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Kelloggs Cornflakes Reflectors for the spokes of your bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,188 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

You get nothing in cereal boxes now. What's the point of buying breakfast cereal if there's only bits of glorified grain in the box?