(SIX!) Gardai sent to arrest mother of unpaid fine at 3.30AM

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

so how many Gardai do you think were assigned to work on the Anglo Irish Bank investigation?.... wait for it..... 11,

one of the biggest banking scandals in recent European history and the government send in 11 Gardai.

You could not make this stuff up
    Id say they need more accountants than garda in that case . Really bad post by someone with an axe to grind .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Ghandee wrote: »
    How have posters decided there were no men on thre premises?
    I'm genuinely curious here.
    The article uses the words: mother, mum, woman, sister, mam, baby. I'm sure if there was a man in the house the article would've mentioned this very important fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

A bit off topic but ....

I think the guards love this mobile phone fining lark. It is a great way to fill up their little book to show to the Sergeant every week.

My mother was stopped in a long row of traffic at Newland's Cross last year and sent a quick text while holding the phone beneath the steering wheel. And wouldn't ya know the garda way down the line had 20x20 vision and fined her 100 on the spot.

I think she may have even gotten penalty points too. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

It good to know that our property tax will be put to good use on "services" like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

It good to know that our property tax will be put to good use on "services" like this.

Don't they also have to pay property tax? most of them have houses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

seamus wrote: »
    What discrimination? Executing a valid arrest warrant on a traveller is discrimination now?
    That isn't discrimination.

This discrimination
    BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Travellers don't pay fines, insurance on cars, road tax, nothing like that. Fair play to the police, they get away with murder (probably literally) in Ireland.

and the way people justify 6 gardaí going in to arrest someone for a minor offense by saying it was travelers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Celticfire

MaxSteele wrote: »
    A bit off topic but ....

I think the guards love this mobile phone fining lark. It is a great way to fill up their little book to show to the Sergeant every week.

My mother was stopped in a long row of traffic at Newland's Cross last year and sent a quick text while holding the phone beneath the steering wheel. And wouldn't ya know the garda way down the line had 20x20 vision and fined her 100 on the spot.

Next time you're driving around have a look at the faces of fellow drivers and see how many you can spot looking down at their phones and not at the road ahead. It's not that difficult to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Just from reading the thread title, imo the OP is a clown!
    And too right i'd send 6 to a halting site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Celticfire wrote: »
    Out acquiring Christmas prezzies ???

That would be extraordinarily Irish really. Wait until the men have gone out robbing before serving a driving summons to the woman. It's harsh justice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭lanomist

Dodge wrote: »
    I'd imagine the 2.30 am time is related to that too. It seems the women were awake, but there were no men in the house.
    Wonder where were the men at that hour of the morning ? We all know what they were at, its not rocket science.

Hippies! wrote: »
    Gardai exercise their duty, problem? Also what a silly thread title, almost implies there's something wrong with arresting a 'mother' :confused:

I'm surprised he didn't put "READ ALL ABOUT IT!!!!11" in the title too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

Id say they need more accountants than garda in that case . Really bad post by someone with an axe to grind .

Im not having a go or anything... I am only comparing the magnitude of the two cases.

6 Gardai sent in to arrest woman over €250 unpaid fine vs 11 Gardai sent to investigate the Anglo scandal which will cost the state €65,000,000,000

And you tell me I have an axe to grind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

That's not very nice. I don't think I've ever insulted you before fighting Irish?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

This discrimination

and the way people justify 6 gardaí going in to arrest someone for a minor offense by saying it was travelers
    It doesnt matter the offence . An arrest warrant was served . They need to secure the area and make arrest . They needed 6 people .
    Should they send in 1 and get battered ?
    Whether its a traveller or not if they think there is a risk they send enough in to deal with it .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

In fairness, it's not the OP. It's the Indo's headline.
    Six gardai sent to arrest mum for unpaid fine at 3am
    By Barry Duggan

That's not very nice. I don't think I've ever insulted you before fighting Irish?

I don't care what you've done before, the news of the world wouldn't even come up with a thread title like that!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

A bit off topic but ....

Good riddance in my opinion.

It doesnt matter the offence . An arrest warrant was served . They need to secure the area and make arrest . They needed 6 people .
    Should they send in 1 and get battered ?
    Whether its a traveller or not if they think there is a risk they send enough in to deal with it .

why would they get battered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Can those with a hatred of Travellers keep it to themselves. Bans will be handed out if these generalisations continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Banned.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

why would they get battered?

There's many areas in the country Gardai wouldn't go on their own, not just halting sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

She is a traveler living in a halting site, would you go on your lonesome?

Thought not.
    Limerick is more than just a halting site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Limerick is more than just a halting site

Don't post in this thread again.

Pm me for clarification.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

a bit of discrimination id say
    its because shes a traveler they sent so many
    Probably. For their safety. Even the most level-headed person would agree halting sites can be (not always) hostile environments to outsiders.

The time they visited is weird though - this isn't fecking El Salvador! People would have been asleep, including young kids - seems bit of an infringement, although there was probably a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

A bit off topic but ....

Delighted! Too right! You think because she "disguised" her use of the phone, the copper should of turned a blind eye?! I really hate people using their phone while driving. There's never an excuse for it. I'd love to be a Garda. I'd hand out fines and points for mobile phone use like there was no tomorrow.

OT, I'd like to hear the undisclosed "specific" reasoning for executing the warrant at 0330, though I imagine it would be for everything to go off without a hitch. I get that 0330, with men out of the ho.. caravan, it may of been a safer time. But still. 0330.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Cleeo wrote: »
    Delighted! Too right! You think because she "disguised" her use of the phone, the copper should of turned a blind eye?! I really hate people using their phone while driving. There's never an excuse for it. I'd love to be a Garda. I'd hand out fines and points for mobile phone use like there was no tomorrow.

OT, I'd like to hear the undisclosed "specific" reasoning for executing the warrant at 0330, though I imagine it would be for everything to go off without a hitch. I get that 0330, with men out of the ho.. caravan, it may of been a safer time. But still. 0330.
    Maybe they were certain she would be there at that time. Maybe they had trouble tracking her down during the day. Lots of reasons for the timing.

Madam_X wrote: »
    Probably. For their safety. Even the most level-headed person would agree halting sites can be (not always) hostile environments to outsiders.

hostile not necessarily dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

Boombastic wrote: »
    Maybe they were certain she would be there at that time. Maybe they had trouble tracking her down during the day. Lots of reasons for the timing.

Yeah but I'm just really nosy. The article said
    Insp John Deasy .... told the court there may have been specific reasons as to why it was done at that time but did not identify what they were.

I wanna know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Mr Jinx

The dead of night would be safer than daylight hours?

Ever watch the news? early morning raid, pre dawn raid....., you get them while they are in bed and half asleep. less chance of trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

If they had wind that the Gardaì were coming for her she would be gone already and they would've have a hard time locating her.

On top of that, a Garda going in on his lonesome or with another wouldn't have been enough if the scene got ugly. Would be the same if they went to an area where they suspected confrontation from a crowd over an arrest.