Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peep Show - Season 8

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I agree that Dobbie is too nice and normal to work as a main character. She only serves to make Mark that bit more unlikeable. You could root for him when things went to **** with Sophie because she was a bit of a cow but Dobbie should have stayed unattainable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Footoo wrote: »
    Well the actress that plays her is related to the royal family as far as I know. She has the title of 'lady' and everything, so I'd say she's just being herself tbh :D

But I agree, Big Suze was great. Her overenthusiasm when they tied up the burglar was one of the funniest non Mark annd Jez monment in Peep Show.

Burn him with cigarettes!

I love when Mark accuses her of destroying the toilet at the party

"Mark, you're drunk and talking nothing but balderdash and poppycock!"

Wha :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

I watched SE4 EP01 last night that i had recorded, The one where Mark and Jez go to Sophie's parents house for the weekend - very funny! "would you like some jam jeremy" ...."em ok" comedy gold that would eposide. Buring Dan's barn too :pac:

I noticed the bird Mark and Dobbie were drinking with the other night in the bar was from the In-Betweeners (when the lads go to simons g/f's sisters place with the "college lads" drinking in the flat, the moany sister that kicked them out)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I haven't really liked this series so far but hopefully it can improve, although I doubt that they'll ever reach the comedy heights of "the bad thing" or eating "Mummy" the dog.

I also agree about Dobby, she is just too normal and down to earth for the show and not so attractive that I miss her character when not on screen. I personally liked the Russian girl Elena from Series 6. I could stare into her big blue eyes (and down her top) all day long :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Raekwon wrote: »
    I personally liked the Russian girl Elena from Series 6. I could stare into her big blue eyes (and down her top) all day long :p

Nice, but not a patch on Nancy. Apart from her the best of the series surely must be Sally, the old school friend Mark (nearly) rides following the school reunion. Milf and a half!

Having said about Elena, one of the best scenes must be Jez covering for himself to her girlfriend by claiming to have drank a half bottle of rum on the short walk back from the offy :D

• Site Banned Posts: 56 ✭✭TheLastLazyGun

Last night I fell asleep on the sofa not long after the Champions League match. Whilst asleep I had some sort of dream. I can't remember the ins and outs of it, but when I woke up I saw that The Peep Show was on TV. I then realised that a lot of the things that the characters were talking about had happened in my dream, so I must have sort of been listening the the show whilst I was asleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Footoo wrote: »
    Well the actress that plays her is related to the royal family as far as I know. She has the title of 'lady' and everything, so I'd say she's just being herself tbh :D

But I agree, Big Suze was great. Her overenthusiasm when they tied up the burglar was one of the funniest non Mark annd Jez monment in Peep Show.

A few years back I bought a Suzuki SV650 motorbike and called it Big Suze (Suzuki, get it?) after her. Thought she was a great character, completely off-the-wall posh and so inappropriate for Jez to be dating, but it all added to the show.

Saw her in Two and a Half Men then and lost a lot of respect, but I still call the bike Big Suze. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,111 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Raekwon wrote: »
    I haven't really liked this series so far but hopefully it can improve, although I doubt that they'll ever reach the comedy heights of "the bad thing" or eating "Mummy" the dog.

I also agree about Dobby, she is just too normal and down to earth for the show and not so attractive that I miss her character when not on screen. I personally liked the Russian girl Elena from Series 6. I could stare into her big blue eyes (and down her top) all day long :p

Surely the whole point of Dobby is that she is the sort of woman who Mark would have a chance of going out with, not those with model type looks like Nancy and Elena, having said all that I never tire of an episode with Big Suze in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Big Suze pops up in Harry and Paul now and again.Probably my favourite Peep Show lady ever.The episode where Mark falls in love with her when she's staying in his room is brilliant.

''I'll touch her hair. Just as much hair touching as I like.''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,058 ✭✭✭✭briany

Surely the whole point of Dobby is that she is the sort of woman who Mark would have a chance of going out with, not those with model type looks like Nancy and Elena, having said all that I never tire of an episode with Big Suze in it.

That and she's also a norm, as Mark would call it, although Mark would not consider her one. She's just quite a nice person all round which is rare on peep show where most characters have some kind of huge personality flaw that they display without reserve or cannot hide as the case may be. The ensuing contrast is makes for a lot of hilarity, my personal favourite being the Christmas Day episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Mark missed his chance when he didn't get the number of the girl in the Coffee Shop who was reading Jenkins on Churchill on his Wedding Day

She was definitely the one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Loads of Super Hans = Amazing Peep Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,111 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Poorest episode so far, but roll on next week, sure to improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Footoo

That was brilliant. Super Hans at his best. "Are you a secret yellow"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Poorest episode so far, but roll on next week, sure to improve.

Best one of the series so far. While being hilarious, had some good stuff about Dobby having doubts about Mark.

"Listen up, Hall and Oates. You're going for a little walk, and you may be some time". :D

Back on form tonight, I thought. Some great lines.

I liked Mark's only knowing two bands which I suspect was a nod to David Mitchell's real life lack of interest in Music
    I bought an album last week. "Big deal!" you're thinking until I tell you it's the first one I've bought for 20 years and only the second in my life. The other was But Seriously by Phil Collins. If you've listened to it you might understand why I didn't go music crazy.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2009/dec/06/album-buying-tribal-choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Kilkenny14

Mark: As Napolean once said (hmm, what's a goodie), laws that are consistent in theory prove chaotic in practise

Super Hans: **** YEAH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Back to form last night,yip loved Super Hans.Script was brill,"Pretty sure Rommel never held hands"!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,058 ✭✭✭✭briany

Classic Peep Show last night. The scenario was just too good to miss with. Mark attempting to hang out with 'fun young people' is always hilarious with his dour cynicism and stuffy middle age ways. 'The fun stops here!'.

Each episode in the series so far has been fantastic IMO. 6 & 7 were good but 8 has been a massive improvement. Honestly don't think it's been this good since series 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Top notch episode. Great to see Peep Show back to its best!

Great episode, best of the series so far in my opinion. Superhans back on the drugs, with weaponry, how could it not be?

"SUPERHANNNNNNNNNNNNNSSSSSSS"

Also loved some of Jeremy's lines: "I've done a lot of bad **** but falling in love with her is the worst, or at least the most recent bad thing I've ever done."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,657 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

One thing troubled me about last night's episode...no eye/face protection whilst playing paintball!!

The Byker Grove nightmares return!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

One thing troubled me about last night's episode...no eye/face protection whilst playing paintball!!

The famous first person camera viewpoint would be a bit obscured through the goggles.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

well yer man did say there were "no men" so presumably no one to enforce health and safety guidelines

free market paintball

well yer man did say there were "no men"

Not even "a man".

The Byker Grove nightmares return!

Ha! "Superhans - I cannae see, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

What is the chance's Jeremy will do the dirt on Mark with Dobby and really make it the most recent worst bad thing he;s ever done!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Bobby42

If he does, he'll do the whole "If I pretend it didn't happen then it didn't really happen".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Jesus that hat game made me squirm. A bit of me is Mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

For a while, when Mark and Super Hans were in the bunker, I thought Super Hans would skin up and convince Mark to have some.

I think it would have been great to see the two of them stoned and just see where the script would have gone. Oh well, Super Hans did speed instead :D