Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Embarrassing dad stories

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 hootnanny

My Dad is just one of those people who has no shame at all, which has led to quite a few embarrassing moments for me!

One I can remember was probably back when I had just started secondary school, few weeks into 1st year.
    Come into school one morning to see lots of my class standing by the window looking out over the school pitch.
    All of them asking whose the mad fella jogging around the pitch in tiny running shorts at 9 in the morning...nearly died when I realised it was my Dad.
    Worst thing was he stopped and started waving when he saw me at the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Barry Barry

Where To wrote: »
    A couple of years ago my dad ran up a €400 internet bill watching ploughing competitions on youtube.

you spelled porn wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I did finally tell my father of the abuse, he dealt with it in a swift manner.
    Sweet Christ, hope she was made to see the error of her ways - I'm actually reeling after reading what she did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Madam_X wrote: »
    Sweet Christ, hope she was made to see the error of her ways - I'm actually reeling after reading what she did.

She was very young when I was born only 21. Her elder sister died of a brain hemorrhage aged 25 the year after and her father died of a heart attack a month and 2 days after they buried my Auntie. I don't think she ever recovered from that and took her anger out on me. People didn't go to therapy in those days, emotional trauma like that was just something you were supposed to get over.

Even though I know all this now I'm still frightened of her, I love her as my mother but we aren't close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

This is the best thread I've read since I joined Boards. I laughed out loud at almost all of the posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Scruffles wrote: »
    well at least it wasnt a lada or old skoda,now those were the derren browns of cars-they had a knack for making kids in them magicaly disappear in public,not only that they were pretty good at making half the parts on the car disappear to [eg, doors] if were to believe the old childrens taunts.:pac:

perhaps they are a rapper ? theyre all called dog something or other.

Try six boys in the back seat of the Ford Cortina back in the 80's. The mother used go into Quinnsworth for the shopping (to this day she STILL does a thing where she'll drive over a kerb and into a parking space rather than reverse back into it properly like normal people!) and the six of us in the height of the Summer heat, left in the car, would be shouting out the window "Ma! Ma! Will you get us a chilly willy!" :pac:

They swapped the Cortina then for a Toyota Hiace and of course my father dropping us off at school had to pull up literally outside the school gates where the principal would be standing and we'd all pile out the back of the van. It became a running joke between the principal and my father that every morning without fail almost, the principal as we were piling out of the van would go "Oh here comes the A-Team!", and the pair of them would crease themselves laughing while we would be walking into the school with big beetroot faces on us.

We were all delighted when he said he was getting rid of the van, only what did he do? Went and bought a Toyota Liteace! :mad:

Still though now I think of it, the bit more room in the back of the Liteace meant I didn't have my brothers àrse in my face when we were all standing in the back of the van huddled over because of the low roof height! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,237 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

My dad wouldn't say boo to a goose normally. But put him on the touch line, watching the local GAA team and he turned into this mad thing.

Screaming abuse at the referee, the opposition and their supporters, everyone thought it was hilarious. I'd go sit in the car after five minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Was at fairyhouse with my father during movember last year and was introducing him to one of my mates who had that whole mustache thing going when he says to him that he looks heavenly with the mustache. My friend who never met him was taken back and goes "really?" With an extremely am i going to get prison raped worried look. My father retorts " yeah, you look like nothing on earth".

He became a legend after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭misterdeeds

I remember when we had our very first family holiday , we went to Tranmore in Waterford and we went to get our shopping and some holiday stuff and Dad decided it would be nice to get some pick 'n' mix to munch on as he used to say, anyway we half filled a carry bag and took it to the lady to weigh low and behold it cost 25 pound (yes pound ) funny now looking back and lovely memory we all have but I swear the poor lady taught we had worms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

We used to drive around europe on holidays when I was a kid. Everytime you had to deal with officialdom at the german border he would be muttering into us in the back "Don't mention the war!".
    it was'nt at all funny when he used to príck around going over the border up the north though. we got the car searched twice because of his muttering and messing going through the checkpoints

Very apt username!

My Dad once walked straight into a glass door in a shopping centre in Cork, he hit it so hard with his face we thought he'd go though it. We ad o go back there a few hours later as that's where we parked the car, there was still an imprint of his nose on th glass. They put up a velvet rope in front of it that's still there today. I almost died laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I was the embarrassing Dad who once walked into The Wezz and marched my daughter out. The funny thing was that the guy on the door tried to make me pay for admission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I heard once that during an under fifteen Gaelic football match between my village and our neighbouring village, one kid's dad went into the opposition team's dressing room at half time to confront someone on their team who had been a particularly rough tackler. It quickly turned physically violent and the younger lad ended up kicking the shit into the older fella.

I'd be very embarrassed if that happened to my dad, even if it had ended with him giving out to the kid, never mind him being beaten up by a fourteen year old.

Na Breathnaigh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭morton

My dad used to drive a banger of a car (it had leatherette seats that burnt the arse off you when sat on them on a hot summers day, and had no seatbelts). You would hear the car before you saw it and I hated it .

The car was so bad stopping and stalling, spluttering as we drove around, that for years he openly blamed the cars performance on 'kangaroo petrol'. He was just one of the unlucky ones that got a bad fill of petrol at the petrol station...all the time.

I believed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,639 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

We had to bring our parents to our debs in sixth year. My Dad turned up in a joke bow tie, which he forgot to take off for the evening. He's there in all the pics with a lurid green satin tie on while I stood there mortified, but not wanting to embarrass him by asking him what the hell he was wearing. Everyone else's Dad was dressed perfectly of course.

Oh well..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

My dad was always the first to start playing not only air guitar at weddings but air drums, air piano and air singing too.
    He was a one man air band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭morton

My dad was always the first to start playing not only air guitar at weddings but air drums, air piano and air singing too.
    He was a one man air band.

hope there wasn't 'hot air' - burp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Remember bringing the girlfriend home to meet the parents.

Everything going well and we're just watching a bit of tele when the oul lad lets rip with a silent but unbelievably deadly fart......fcuking thing was rancid...mother looks at him and says you dirty sh*te!!

He's laughing away to himself....i'm opening a window.

We broke up shortly after that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

My dad is seriously socially inept when it comes to relating to younger generations bless him. Bringing fellas home used to mortify the sh1t out of me - one poor young fella asked if he could use our phone: my dad, meaning "Is there anything I could help you out with?" didn't have the polite vocabulary and just blurted out "What's your problem?" I just walked out with your man. All our friends and neighbours and exes and cousins thought my dad was odd as feck. He's actually great underneath it though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Try six boys in the back seat of the Ford Cortina back in the 80's. The mother used go into Quinnsworth for the shopping (to this day she STILL does a thing where she'll drive over a kerb and into a parking space rather than reverse back into it properly like normal people!) and the six of us in the height of the Summer heat, left in the car, would be shouting out the window "Ma! Ma! Will you get us a chilly willy!" :pac:

They swapped the Cortina then for a Toyota Hiace and of course my father dropping us off at school had to pull up literally outside the school gates where the principal would be standing and we'd all pile out the back of the van. It became a running joke between the principal and my father that every morning without fail almost, the principal as we were piling out of the van would go "Oh here comes the A-Team!", and the pair of them would crease themselves laughing while we would be walking into the school with big beetroot faces on us.

We were all delighted when he said he was getting rid of the van, only what did he do? Went and bought a Toyota Liteace! :mad:

Still though now I think of it, the bit more room in the back of the Liteace meant I didn't have my brothers àrse in my face when we were all standing in the back of the van huddled over because of the low roof height! :D

That has me in stitches, it's just the way all families were when you think about it. I bet ye still sit around at get togethers and laugh about this.
    I often think what embarrassed us then gives us such a giggle now. Happy families can't beat them.

My own father used to drop us to the bus for secondary school and every morning without fail he would be late, same routine following the bus flashings the lights like a mad man, bus would stop and all four of us would walk heads down onto the bus to the usual shouting and laughing.

This often lead to my brothers fighting once we got of the bus. I often thought why the bus did not wait but of course it would just mean my da would be be even later.
    Bless him wherever he is, he gave us plenty of happy times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Just remembered this gem from my mum.

My parents picked me and a friend up one day and were dropping us back at my place, my dad is a bit of an angry driver and beeps at everyone he feels isnt driving up to his standards. He must have beeped 4 times in the space for 15 minutes.

So my mum said 'Jesus I wish you were this horny when we're in bed'

My friend thought ti was the funniest thing she's ever heard, I just sat there wanting to jump out of the moving car. They are in there 60s.

My dad turned 69 in April, and everyone was making jokes about having to have a 69 with my mum for his birthday. He hadnt a clue what we were all on about, the next day my brother said to him 'so did you get your 69 last night?' My dad replied 'No sure, I spent 30 years looking at it why would I want to look at it now'

He worked in HB for 30 years and thought we were all talking about ice cream...99s. :o

Strange ass family we have!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Just remembered this gem from my mum.

My parents picked me and a friend up one day and were dropping us back at my place, my dad is a bit of an angry driver and beeps at everyone he feels isnt driving up to his standards. He must have beeped 4 times in the space for 15 minutes.

So my mum said 'Jesus I wish you were this horny when we're in bed'

My friend thought it was the funniest thing she's ever heard, I just sat there wanting to jump out of the moving car. They are in their 60s.

My dad turned 69 in April, and everyone was making jokes about having to have a 69 with my mum for his birthday. He hadnt a clue what we were all on about, the next day my brother said to him 'so did you get your 69 last night?' My dad replied 'No sure, I spent 30 years looking at it why would I want to look at it now'

He worked in HB for 30 years and thought we were all talking about ice cream...99s. :o

Strange ass family we have!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

bluecode wrote: »
    Thought of another one but not so much embarrassing as typical. My sis discovered that you could cover the 'clothes horse' with a blanket and make a tent. She decided to sleep out in the garden under the 'tent' overnight. I was dragged in as big brother to protect her, much to my disgust. After a few very uncomfortable minutes something hit the tent. Then another and another. Delighted I suggest we beat a retreat to the house. But my sister wasn't fooled and said 'It's only Daddy'.

And it was. He was trying to scare her into the house but it was a waste of time as she was just like him. But he really had a soft spot for her.

He was lurking in the back lane lobbing stones at us. At some point a woman walking a dog came around the back lane and loudly said 'What's going on here' much to our amusement. Here was a man acting suspiciously in the middle of the night in a back lane in Dublin. Typical Dad it ended up with a long conversation covering a range of topics.

In the end they parted the best of friends. Eventually he came into the garden and said 'Come on, time for bed'. Was I ever relieved. Never was a bed so comfortable. My sis protested but years later she told me she was relieved.

It's a fond memory.

I love the way you wrote this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Twas my 11th or 12th birthday and my dad brought myself and a few of my mates to the cinema to see Groundhog Day. My dad regularly gets names of things and people confused sooff he went up to the ticket office and asked for 5 tickets to "Hedgehog Dog". Scarlet so I wuz back then but now it makes me smile and warms the cockles of my heart. Where did he pull that one out of!

Now I kow your age +/- 1 year :D