Scummy thing to do.

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

In future, for any other taxi drivers here. The appropriate action is to pull in to the nearest garda station or if a customer's house, call the guards and let them deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭horsemaster

lazygal wrote: »
    I got a taxi yesterday and the driver told me about his previous fare. Four students going from UCD into town and they did a runner without paying. The driver was genuinely upset about this, not in a 'poor me' way but that a group of lads would do that. Does anyone actually think this is funny or an acceptable thing to do? Really made me angry thinking of those lads not paying their way and costing this guy time and money.

I know there might be an AH thing of taxi drivers whinging and moaning and that I've fallen for a sob story and this guy needs to get over it. But it seems like a really scummy thing to do.

I feel for the cabby. I have quite a few friends who drive taxis and they say it happens a lot. Maybe it is time they put in a camera in the cabs to deter crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

kraggy wrote: »
    I'm with Gallag on this one. If every taxi driver just shrugged at non-payers then there would be thousands arriving at their destination claiming to be broke.
    And there would be thousands of taxi drivers who would become much more adept at avoiding putting themselves in a position to incur a loss.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭gallag

Both of you were in the wrong actually. She could have claimed you were a loan shark. Or worse, just gave your registration and say the guy who burgled her got into your car and have CCTV showing you loading a tv into the car.
    How was I wrong, she volunteered an asset instead of me phoning the police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

lazygal wrote: »
    I got a taxi yesterday and the driver told me about his previous fare. Four students going from UCD into town and they did a runner without paying. The driver was genuinely upset about this, not in a 'poor me' way but that a group of lads would do that. Does anyone actually think this is funny or an acceptable thing to do? Really made me angry thinking of those lads not paying their way and costing this guy time and money.

I know there might be an AH thing of taxi drivers whinging and moaning and that I've fallen for a sob story and this guy needs to get over it. But it seems like a really scummy thing to do.
    Probably some of these will be the future bankers of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,291 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

gallag wrote: »

Bit of a difference in tone between that and the original post
    One time a woman had me run her about while promising the cash at the final stop, then with an actual smile told me she was broke lol, I took her tv as security and she payed a few days later.

But she volunteered, so Iassume it was all amicable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭rgmmg

mccarthy37 wrote: »
    Probably some of these will be the future bankers of this country.

Yeah, probably alright. Damn bankers. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Quick one Where To but can taxi drivers not ask that their passengers belt up before they start the car?

And just while I think of it- are they not allowed use child locks on the doors and release them once the passenger pays their fare?

Of course it's a scumbag thing to evade paying for a service when you use it! I don't often carry ready cash with me but if I have to get a cab when my regular driver is off duty, any cab driver I've ever travelled with has never had a problem stopping off at an ATM for me to withdraw cash for the fare.

I noticed that any time I'm up in Belfast to visit the missus' family the taxi drivers child lock the doors. Anyone from Belfast confirm if this is the done thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Both of you were in the wrong actually. She could have claimed you were a loan shark. ...

Did you get your Law license off the Jeremy Kyle show?

Did she offer to give her TV or did you take it because she refused to pay?

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Did you get your Law license off the Jeremy Kyle show?

Its nothing to do with the law... he put himself in a dangerous position and open to accusations.