First kit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Batch priming does save a heap of hassle. If you can plump for it the second bucket is a worthwhile investment IMO, but not absolutely necessary when starting out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Right. I was just thinking batch priming wouldn't really be all that much easier than bottle priming, but I haven't done it yet so I can't say anything. I suppose it would at least ensure batch consistency.

I have no problem with my beer being cloudy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Fair enough then. You could definitely get by with one.

Mostly the folks on here advocate not using brewing sugar in beer for what it's worth. Warning: I am not a beer brewer. That does look like very good value though. You'd be pretty much breaking even on your first batch versus cheap supermarket beer. That's good going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭sharingan

Sorry if this has been asked a lot, I just need to know.
    I presume this will get me started nicely? http://www.homebrewwest.ie/30-l-budget-beer-starter-kit-with-32-pint-ingredient-kit-843-p.asp

I don't really see much of a need for a second fermentor, or bottlng bucket.

€30 for all that kit + a beer ingredient kit? A steal.

I own that fermenter BTW and I love it.

Buy a kilo of spray malt on top of it, and use the 'brewing sugar' for priming. I would probably seriously think of buying a beer ingredient kit too that is of good quality. '32 Pint Ale Kit' sounds a bit like 'whatever is not shifting around the shop'.

But yeah, that is a great starter kit for the money .. has *everything*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭blueshed

Sorry if this has been asked a lot, I just need to know.
    I presume this will get me started nicely? http://www.homebrewwest.ie/30-l-budget-beer-starter-kit-with-32-pint-ingredient-kit-843-p.asp

I don't really see much of a need for a second fermentor, or bottlng bucket.

i got the Coopers kit for €90+ and your kit is much better value.

i hope to bottle my 2nd brew today and make my 3rd tomorrow.

get some of these http://www.homebrewwest.ie/coopers-carbonation-drops-2584-p.asp

and http://www.homebrewwest.ie/muntons-foil-pack-spraymalt-dark-500grm-154-p.asp

after that bottles and caps.

Thanks lads, I'll be sure to pick up some spraymalt alright. Ordered a load of swingtop bottles as well, and I have a few lying around at home, so I should be grand

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

http://www.homebrewwest.ie/brewferm-syphonless-traditional-starter-kit-with-bottling-bucket-caps-and-capper-best-value-1372-p.asp

This one is almost the same but comes with caps, capper one of those bottling wands and a second bucket, no ingredients kit though. But for €60, it's everything you need. Having the second bucket gives you the option of doing secondary fermentation and dry hopping as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭poitinstill

29.95 great value for all kit and beer. add the 1.5 kg LME to it for under 40. good deal.

Seaneh wrote: »
    http://www.homebrewwest.ie/brewferm-syphonless-traditional-starter-kit-with-bottling-bucket-caps-and-capper-best-value-1372-p.asp

This one is almost the same but comes with caps, capper one of those bottling wands and a second bucket, no ingredients kit though. But for €60, it's everything you need. Having the second bucket gives you the option of doing secondary fermentation and dry hopping as well.

Oh, does that need to be performed as a secondary process?

This explains secondary better than I could.
    http://www.howtobrew.com/section1/chapter8-4.html

And this explains dry hopping.
    http://beersmith.com/blog/2008/05/21/dry-hopping-enhanced-hops-aroma/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭sharingan

Also a second fermenter with a tap can be used as a bottling bucket and for batch priming.

I always keep 2 fermenters on the go. You cant really get a good system going with just one fermenter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭jreanor

Sorry for jumping in.. I am getting a starter kit for my brother for Christmas and I'm finding choosing the right one quite confusing.

How does this kit compare to the BrewFerm above:
    http://www.homebrewwest.ie/brewsmarter-starter-beer-kit-with-caps-and-capper-531-p.asp

Is it better/worse quality? I really dont mind paying a bit more if there is a real advantage.

I would be happy to buy one of the Cooper kits but do they really give much of an advantage?
    It might be worth mentioning I don't want to buy bottles. He said he'll get those himself as it ferments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭jreanor

I am also completely open to suggestions for a suitable kit to get him going. Once it's less than €100 I'll consider it.

jreanor wrote: »
    Sorry for jumping in.. I am getting a starter kit for my brother for Christmas and I'm finding choosing the right one quite confusing.

How does this kit compare to the BrewFerm above:
    http://www.homebrewwest.ie/brewsmarter-starter-beer-kit-with-caps-and-capper-531-p.asp

Is it better/worse quality? I really dont mind paying a bit more if there is a real advantage.

I would be happy to buy one of the Cooper kits but do they really give much of an advantage?
    It might be worth mentioning I don't want to buy bottles. He said he'll get those himself as it ferments.

Pretty much identical but comes with caps and capper.

Good value kit.