Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are the Irish bad drivers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Sammy_Jankis

A-Trak wrote: »
    I drove 3000 odd miles in the US over the summer. On highways, freeways, urban and dirt roads.

I see more bad habits/poor driving in 100 miles here over a week.

Me too. Did over 5000 miles. Americans at least understand on a motorway its called an "overtaking lane". Not "I'm gonna just sit here when the rest of the motorway is empty".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

Well I will give my opinion just based on my experiences. Having lived in the US and Canada for a while I can categorically state that we are safer drivers than either of those.

1. Intoxicated driving - Most Canadians and Americans dont seem to have a problem driving after drinking or getting high. I would say the majority of people I met over there are willing to drink/get high and then drive. Not many Irish people do that anymore.

2. Lane changing - the amount of last minute lane swapping and changing that happens in the states is insane.

3. Mobile phone use - I did a lot of hitch hiking in the US this summer and after waiting a while i noticed a lot of people on their phones. So i decided to count them. 1 in every 2 people were chatting on their phones as they were passing through junctions.

4. Trucks - US and Canadian trucks are not limited. You routinely get passed by trucks carrying 40+ tonnes doing 80-90mph. Crazy stuff.

So Irish people may be appalling at indicating, using the correct lanes and doing other very annoying things but I feel they are considerably safer than Americans. Of course the best drivers are ones who know the rules and dont do stupid things but i would prefer annoying but not dangerous people rather than lunatics who signal correctly.

UK drivers are the best imo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 196 ✭✭shed head

there is an incredible amount of bad drivers out there, half the people who use the m50 haven't got a clue, go to Germany and use the autobahns, thats how you drive properly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

Me too. Did over 5000 miles. Americans at least understand on a motorway its called an "overtaking lane". Not "I'm gonna just sit here when the rest of the motorway is empty".

Are you two serious? I dont know what motorways you were on but in heavy traffic the amount of Americans i have seen who swap lanes rapidly and cut across many lanes at once is crazy. Usually while holding a phone to their head. There are constantly pile ups over there.

A larger percentage of the US population is killed in road accidents every year and considering almost all of their roads are large highways or dead straight roads that are much safer than our boreens and narrow N roads that says a lot about the standard of their driving.

US people are the worst drivers hands down in my experience*. Also there is no "overtaking lane" in many US states. You can pass wherever you want.

*this side of SE Asia, India, Turkey and other basket case countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭JoePie

I will go to my grave screaming about roundabouts. If I'm sitting waiting to get on the roundabout, and you come around in your jeep with no indicators on, or at the very least no indication that you're going to be turning to your right past my exit, and I go to pull out, and you come around and cut me off, I will cause absolute murder if you hit me. So sick of this happening.

And parking. New jobs and taxes idea: Have a lad in EVERY car park in the country, and if some parks taking up two spaces, or doesn't park straight and they're over lines causing adjacent spaces to be unusable, slap a €25 fine on them.

Matter of time before I get into a fist fight on a road some day. I can concentrate on my own driving no problem, but someone else's driving is going to get me into an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,714 ✭✭✭ciaran76

I drive here in Prague and my pet hate here is people swapping lanes at the last minute trying to squeeze into gaps in traffic that don't exist.

I thought it was just me that this annoyed until a German colleague said it to me one day.

Here in Czech the lane use on the motorways are excellent and people only use the overtaking lane for overtaking and rarely have I seen anyone just sit there in the lane driving.

Compared to home I would say its similar except that they drive much faster in the city then at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Hick1sfm

how some people have a full licence is beyond me. A car is a lethal weapon and rules should be far more stringent when getting a full licence. The test should be taken every 10 years and every 3 for over 70's. Foreigners coming over here long term should be made take the Irish test. Otherwise take a taxi. Nearly every time I get into a vehicle I come home in a temper due to incompitent drivers. Men and Women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,325 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

JoePie wrote: »
    I will go to my grave screaming about roundabouts. If I'm sitting waiting to get on the roundabout, and you come around in your jeep with no indicators on, or at the very least no indication that you're going to be turning to your right past my exit, and I go to pull out, and you come around and cut me off, I will cause absolute murder if you hit me. So sick of this happening.
    So a jeep that's not indicating left to pull off the roundabout at your exit keeps driving, and you want to pull out at same time? :confused:

And parking. New jobs and taxes idea: Have a lad in EVERY car park in the country, and if some parks taking up two spaces, or doesn't park straight and they're over lines causing adjacent spaces to be unusable, slap a €25 fine on them.
    Agreed. Unfortunately I've seen people on this forum justify parking in middle of spaces because they have an expensive car and don't want someone dinging their cars by opening doors.
    Matter of time before I get into a fist fight on a road some day. I can concentrate on my own driving no problem, but someone else's driving is going to get me into an accident.
    Chill... :pac:

dulpit wrote: »
    So a jeep that's not indicating left to pull off the roundabout at your exit keeps driving, and you want to pull out at same time? :confused:

If the vehicle is on the roundabout and I can't see a right indicator, more often than not, they intend on going straight, so I'll pull out. But as I'm pulling out, they start turning right. Granted, you could say it's my fault for not giving right of way, but how am I supposed to know I was supposed to.
    dulpit wrote: »
    Chill... :pac:

I'd love to. But people not being able to perform basic actions in their vehicle does my nut in, especially when it could cause me harm. I've only been driving for a year at this stage, but I've had to break/swerve/stop/etc. so many times at this point that I can't believe it any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,234 ✭✭✭✭djimi

If the vehicle is on the roundabout and I can't see a right indicator, more often than not, they intend on going straight, so I'll pull out. But as I'm pulling out, they start turning right. Granted, you could say it's my fault for not giving right of way, but how am I supposed to know I was supposed to.

Thats appalling driving to be fair, and a very dangerous approach to take. You never assume anything when it comes to driving; if you are in any doubt about what a driver is going to do then you wait until you are sure of their intentions. In the case of a roundabout you assume that they are going to proceed past your exit, not turn off before they get to you.

Id sooner be slightly inconvenienced for a few seconds rather than find myself into the middle of a mid-roundabout smash...

No question it's bad driving on my part, but I'm coming from the angle that if an indicator isn't on, you're going straight, which more often than not is the case. Again, I'm assuming, but I don't want to be sitting at a roundabout all day waiting for other cars to exit whenever they feel like it. Anyway, this issue wouldn't arise if indicators were used like they're supposed to be. If I see an indicator, I'll happily sit there and wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭BigEejit

I always thought the irish were bad until I discovered the youtube thread.
    Seriously? You are comparing Irish drivers to Russians? They are in the same league as India and Italy, absolute nutcases.

To be honest I drive a lot in London (in and around the City and over to Canary Wharf) and I see atrocious driving in some areas and really good standards of driving in others. God help you if you are driving along the commercial road or the highway before or after evening prayers. There are 5 or 6 mosques in between those two roads and you would not believe the terrible driving. I heard from a muslim colleague that the council had to put on 4 or 5 traffic wardens every evening, so if they cant double park all over the place they drive round and round looking for spaces.

Where I live people are mostly well behaved drivers, you do get the odd numpty, there are always going to be some of them will be on the road causing mayhem and just sailing along absolutely untroubled by the carnage they leave behind them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

ASVM wrote: »
    What does bug me is how people can move out in front of you very suddenly with no indicator.
    It pains me to say that sometimes you have to be conservative in the use of indicators when driving in the city. There are too many clowns around who will accelerate to close your gap and block you changing lanes. Sometimes it's best to keep them guessing if there is sufficient room.

what abotu the cyclists? Any opinions? I got banned off the cycling forum today for giving out about them haha

No question it's bad driving on my part, but I'm coming from the angle that if an indicator isn't on, you're going straight, which more often than not is the case. Again, I'm assuming, but I don't want to be sitting at a roundabout all day waiting for other cars to exit whenever they feel like it. Anyway, this issue wouldn't arise if indicators were used like they're supposed to be. If I see an indicator, I'll happily sit there and wait.

If you know that its bad driving then why on earth do you do it? Your assumption could potentially lead to you having a crash on a roundabout?

I dont even assume that just because someone is indicating it means that they will turn. A couple of near misses when pulling out of junctions etc when learning with dickheads who leave their indicator on when they are not intending to turn taught me to wait until you see them slow down and its very apparent that they are going to turn before pulling out. Defensive driving might be a pain in the arse, but its nowhere near as annoying as being involved in an accident...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

People not indicating - ever
    See this quite a lot.

People who do not know how to use a roundabout (wrong lanes/wrong indicators/etc)
    I've had people enter the roundabout to my left whilst I'm either in the roundabout, or about to enter. Have had to jam on the breaks as some c**t decided to pull out in front of me on a roundabout.

Not using lights in fog/rain/dark
    It seems some people think because it's before X o'clock, no lights are needed, even if it's overcast.

Using foglights when no fog (?)
    I see more of this when one of their main lights are faulty.

Sitting at lights for ages before moving off when lights go green
    I wait 5 seconds, and then hold the horn down until they move.

Blocking up junctions/yellow boxes
    Again, horn and full beams usualy get them to move.

The main offenders; men, learner drivers, women, boy (and girl) racers in their soupped up sh|tboxes... oh, wait, that's everyone on the road, isn't it? :pac:

In the last few months I've learned to not try and pull out. I'll engage the clutch, but I've never been in a position to be out on the roundabout and in an accident. However, if I get off my brake and start moving at whatever speed, someone behind me is also going to start moving. If I have to jam on my brakes, I'm probably going to get rear-ended. Or hit by the eejit not indicating if I'm far out enough.

Regardless of what I'm doing, the point I'm trying to make is that not indicating is a way more serious issue than what I'm doing. I'm not a perfect driver. But I'm not an idiot.

In the last few months I've learned to not try and pull out. I'll engage the clutch, but I've never been in a position to be out on the roundabout and in an accident. However, if I get off my brake and start moving at whatever speed, someone behind me is also going to start moving. If I have to jam on my brakes, I'm probably going to get rear-ended. Or hit by the eejit not indicating if I'm far out enough.

Regardless of what I'm doing, the point I'm trying to make is that not indicating is a way more serious issue than what I'm doing. I'm not a perfect driver. But I'm not an idiot.

well if you cant drive to a sufficient standard you shouldnt be on the road

The car on the roundabout has right of way regardless of whether they are indicating or not. Its awful driving not to indicate in any situation, but its even worse to not respect right of way on any road, be it a junction or a roundabout. If you were to collide with a car in this situation you would almost certainly be completely at fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭aristotle25

So many drives have tunnel vision and have no idea what is beside or behind them.

Also cant stand drivers who force their way to merge in ahead of you without indicating.

djimi wrote: »
    The car on the roundabout has right of way regardless of whether they are indicating or not. Its awful driving not to indicate in any situation, but its even worse to not respect right of way on any road, be it a junction or a roundabout. If you were to collide with a car in this situation you would almost certainly be completely at fault.

I get that I'm giving the coming off worse in this whole situation, but I can assure you there is nothing wrong with my driving. If I'm in a situation where I end up driving poorly, it's because of someone else's poor driving.

I don't understand how I can respect right of way when I have no indication I should. I guess if in doubt, give right of way, which is a lesson I've learned.

I was thought to slow down coming to a roundabout, MSM, all that lovely stuff, if there's no traffic coming from your right keep going, otherwise stop. I was also instructed to use best judgment at a roundabout. If a vehicle is far enough away on a roundabout that I get onto it safely, I will do so. If they are giving no impressions of any intent to impeding my entrance onto the roundabout, I am well within my rights to attempt to enter. Otherwise, give right of way at the junction until you can proceed safely. Same as you would do with any junction.

I can only make assumptions on whether to progress based on the facts presented in front of me.

That's the best argument I can put forward. Take it or leave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,171 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

samsemtex wrote: »
    UK drivers are the best imo.

On single or dual-carriage ways, better, although not always by a whole lot. Use of indicators, roundabouts and keeping boxes clear is generally better & more considerate. Certainly less likely to do pig-ignorant stupid things, but there is still a fair bit of idiocy to be found, statistically speaking.

But the real difference is on motorways; it's like night & day between the UK & Ireland. The standards of driving & etiquette are far better on the whole. Where you do see either stupidity or aggression, it's really noticeable though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I get that I'm giving the coming off worse in this whole situation, but I can assure you there is nothing wrong with my driving. If I'm in a situation where I end up driving poorly, it's because of someone else's poor driving.

I don't understand how I can respect right of way when I have no indication I should.

Plenty of people here can assure you there is something wrong with your driving.

If there's a car on the roundabout, there's your indication to give way. If you can't figure that out, you shouldn't be driving. Oh, and legally indicators have no bearing, so you can't blame that. So I suggest for your own (and everyone else) sake, you start driving properly.

I conquer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭jimmy the car

Really p*ssing me off now, been noticing it lately, stretch of road I travel to work, between Warrenpoint and Newry, 8 mile dual carriagway a certain driver comes off roundabout onto dual carriagway every morning around my time of travel and sits in the passing lane the whole fecking way up to the 7 mile mark just because there is a fecking turn off and she doesn't want to miss, and no amount of flashing or horn beeping will move her, the murder rate will definitely increase by one some day soon if she keeps it up.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I think the problem is that Irish drivers are (as a whole) lazy and complacent. They adopt "sure it's grand attitude" to things like middle lane hogging, fog lights, no lights, indicators etc.

This complacent attitude comes about because there is no real enforcement. If things were enforced, the Irish would respond (think of drink driving, seat-belts etc).

I did a random sample of 100 cars recently while driving at night - 15 of the cars I passed had fog lights on, 8 had blown bulbs.

Plenty of people here can assure you there is something wrong with your driving.

If there's a car on the roundabout, there's your indication to give way. If you can't figure that out, you shouldn't be driving. Oh, and legally indicators have no bearing, so you can't blame that. So I suggest for your own (and everyone else) sake, you start driving properly.

I must've edited my post after you quoted me.

That's a very general statement though. If you're at a large roundabout and you see a car on it, that's far enough away for you to safely pull out, you're going to pull out. Don't tell me otherwise. The issue I'm getting at is when you're pulling out, and all of a sudden they're swinging around the roundabout with no indication they were ever going to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭rickyjb

Saw a squad car yesterday morning at the ballymun entrance to the m50 sitting in the left hand lane with his right hand indicator on. It's a huge roundabout but he had still come up from the m50 with the intention to pass 2 exits (one for the N2 and one for going back onto the m50 north) all the time in the left hand lane. Traffic coming from Ballymun going onto the m50 north had to give way to let him cross.

If the guards don't even know/follow the rules of the road what hope is there for the general public catching on? Same thing happens every morning, was just more obvious when it was a squad car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,132 ✭✭✭creedp

dudara wrote: »
    I think the problem is that Irish drivers are (as a whole) lazy and complacent. They adopt "sure it's grand attitude" to things like middle lane hogging, fog lights, no lights, indicators etc.

This complacent attitude comes about because there is no real enforcement. If things were enforced, the Irish would respond (think of drink driving, seat-belts etc).

I did a random sample of 100 cars recently while driving at night - 15 of the cars I passed had fog lights on, 8 had blown bulbs.

Bald tyres are also a big problem in this country. I was sitting in traffic one morning and looked across at a Pug 206 that had a completely smooth front tyre and not only was it bald the thread was exposed .. give me fog lights on any day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Some additions to the list:

Driving so far over a white line at a junction you can't see the lights when hy do change.

Not turning right or left on a green light, waiting for the filter on an empty road

Rolling backwards on the slightest of hill starts in heavy traffic

These are things I see every day.

I should say that I don't get riled up by them, I just notice them and chuckle.