Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battlefield 3: Aftermath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Joeface

jesus ****ing crist, how big the whole thing is then?! i downloaded this morning an 3.8gb thing and now another 3.8gb?!?! i barely got any space left on ssd!

same as you , just home now and started up ....HOW CAN IT BE THAT SIZE AGAIN. BF3 is the only game installed on my ssd and Feckin game is now almost 30gb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Aye, looks like sorted. I copied all bf3 ( stil only have patch downloaded ) in to second ssd. Then deleted bf3 and completely deleted origin.
    Then reinstalled origin on second ssd and started download for bf3. After 1% canceled, then dropped bf3 copy I had saved inside where it was downloading new game. Turned on origin again and it went from 1% to 99%. Sorted whole install and resumed downloading expansion where i canceled it.

Looks like it is all sorted and finished patching, but I did not started it yet as had to go to bed. I can't see why it should not work.

Now I got 30gb on my os ssd free and nothing to put on it... I might put Diablo 3, eve online there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

wow what a beast of a download, 7gig, far cry for the evening then....

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Heading towards 100% on the main update, then I see the above posts thinking, dang, another 4gb download. Thankfully though, it turns out aftermath is 93% in the background, which explains why the main D/L was happening at half my bandwidth. Only 20 mins to go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭tcjpmcd

When does the DLC release for Premium members on X360? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

danniemcq wrote: »
    got to play a game of scavenger there now,

was very confused by loadout, no guns bar handguns
    It's like gungame, except you have to pick up the weapons. Although there are ammo boxes, it's best to just keep running about until you find another gun to pickup. They are shown by blue "arrows" that come up when you are near the item. Once you figure this out, it's great fun. The crossbow sucks in this game mode, but it's very hectic.

The maps are f**king great! Lots of alleyways, and stuff, and they fit the scavenger game mode nicely.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,786 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

delly wrote: »
    Heading towards 100% on the main update, then I see the above posts thinking, dang, another 4gb download. Thankfully though, it turns out aftermath is 93% in the background, which explains why the main D/L was happening at half my bandwidth. Only 20 mins to go :D

Im dloading now but @ only half my bandwidth which is 330kbps max on my 3 meg,im getting 140kbps dload in origin :(
    Your saying once the main one completes there is another downloading in the background? any way if seeing the progress of this?

Dont suppose theres any changes to supression? I hate it.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Dcully wrote: »
    Im dloading now but @ only half my bandwidth which is 330kbps max on my 3 meg,im getting 140kbps dload in origin :(
    Your saying once the main one completes there is another downloading in the background? any way if seeing the progress of this?

Dont suppose theres any changes to supression? I hate it.

It was only when the main window finished and I tried to start playing, it brought up a different window, showing the previous DLC at 100% and then the new aftermath. If you go into the Origin window, you may get it that way.

the_syco wrote: »
    It's like gungame, except you have to pick up the weapons. Although there are ammo boxes, it's best to just keep running about until you find another gun to pickup. They are shown by blue "arrows" that come up when you are near the item. Once you figure this out, it's great fun. The crossbow sucks in this game mode, but it's very hectic.

The maps are f**king great! Lots of alleyways, and stuff, and they fit the scavenger game mode nicely.

I played one game of scavenger on Craggy last night and it was great craic. You had people running out into the open in a way that you'd never see during regular play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

delly wrote: »
    I played one game of scavenger on Craggy last night and it was great craic. You had people running out into the open in a way that you'd never see during regular play.

yeah craggy was fun last night,

what with 5uspect constantly hacking (not really) and Gaelic giving out kill assists to everyone despite him being still alive.....

Jesus, yeah. Your man kept on calling 5uspect a hacker, non stop like. As he said himself, it must be a good sign that he's a good player.

That tag taking you saved me from was great, the animation started and then just cut out as you downed your man, epic save!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Pretty sure it was me trying to knife you too, so much for my hax0r skillz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,478 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I like these new maps..a lot more open and as I was saying onTS last night , multiple exits out of areas makes it far more interesting and you can be as sneaky as hell :)

as long as some bollix doesn't spawn on you with a laser sight :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 26,148 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

I'm surprisingly pleased with Scavenger mode, since I have no regard for the other gimmicky modes such as gun master. It's nicely chaotic and random. You can't have someone abuse a particular weapon or spend a match camping, since they simply don't have that option.

Delly wrote:
    Jesus, yeah. Your man kept on calling 5uspect a hacker, non stop like. As he said himself, it must be a good sign that he's a good player.

That tag taking you saved me from was great, the animation started and then just cut out as you downed your man, epic save!!

I was even thinking hmmm could get a knife kill here myself but thought no, don't be that player. That ticket coulda meant the difference in winning and losing! (it didn't)
    5uspect wrote: »
    Pretty sure it was me trying to knife you too, so much for my hax0r skillz.

i think you let me kill you, don't want your stats to good or you'd have given it away
    Blazer wrote: »
    as long as some bollix doesn't spawn on you with a laser sight :D

*whistles and averts gaze*

I have since removed the bastard of a thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

tcjpmcd wrote: »
    When does the DLC release for Premium members on X360? :)

The DLC was available yesterday on the Xbox for premium

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

well, had a go today and i have to say its the best dlc since karghad.

love map, love scavanger mode, love everything. after such pants 2 last dlcs this is just perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

danniemcq wrote: »
    what with 5uspect constantly hacking and Gaelic giving out kill assists to everyone despite him being still alive.....
    Yeah. I find I'm doing the martyrbastardnade trick a lot, and getting a few kills when I'm dead :P

What time does Craggy heat up at? Plan to pop on later.

the_syco wrote: »
    Yeah. I find I'm doing the martyrbastardnade trick a lot, and getting a few kills when I'm dead :P

What time does Craggy heat up at? Plan to pop on later.

I'd say anytime after 7

Initial impressions i dont think much of scavanger,maps are ok i suppose.

one more and we go live on Craggy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭moonboy52

I am loving the maps.

Dice did an amazing job with their design.

One or two of the maps have a BF2 Special Forces feel to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Excellent DLC tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

Arghhhhhh , typical ,the first good DLC and I won't have Internet access in the new house for 2 more weeks

Still dont like scavanger but the new maps are great,as said above they are similar to BF2 special forces expansion maps which is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭moonboy52

Dcully wrote: »
    Still dont like scavanger

Scavenger is something to throw into the rotation every 5 to 7 games to mix it up a bit.

I am not a fan of it either to be honest. Good in small doses.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Scavenger is basically a typical Quake style team death match.

5uspect wrote: »
    Scavenger is basically a typical (earth)Quake style team death match.

sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭iColdFusion

Only played a few games but as a conquest fan I'm liking it quite alot, scavenger is a nice addition but the xbow is pretty useless compared to the kit you swap it for.

It's actually kind of sad how much I love doing the new assignments and getting some funky new tags though :D

By far the best DLC yet for BF3, i also think they have toned down the suppression a tad which im delighted about.
    This expansion has reignited my interest in BF3 allover again.