Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

MarkR wrote: »
    Need a dgt webcam. Live steam of him working. :)

I'd definitely tune into that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Washed the car and took some photos of the new rear lights which I'm now quite fond of ...

IMG_4640.jpg

IMG_4641.jpg

Hopefully getting the rear arches rolled at the weekend too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Replaced two turbos on the S80. Ugh.
    Blew a rod bearing in the Beetle.
    Shredded the final drive in the V70, which then punched a hole in the autobox.

Joy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Paddy, that has to be one of the nicest 3 series in the country. God damn:D

I put a new gear gaiter on mine today, was a complete pain in the hole removing the gear knob! Got it after far too much tugging(careful now). Old one was tatty enough, looks fresh now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I put a new gear gaiter on mine today, was a complete pain in the hole removing the gear knob! Got it after far too much tugging(careful now). Old one was tatty enough, looks fresh now.

The knob just pulls off!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

dgt wrote: »

Jaysus don't tell me missus that! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Some knobs you have to twist.... very hard.. :pac:

It does...when you pull as hard as you physically can! It was ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    Washed the car and took some photos of the new rear lights which I'm now quite fond of ...

Hopefully getting the rear arches rolled at the weekend too.

Would you consider CF badges? Could look very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Compton wrote: »

Each to their own, but I bloody hate the things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

I remember reading years ago on e46fanatics, some guy managed to knock himself out when removing the gear knob. Straight to his eye, bang...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

I put a new gear gaiter on mine today

Can I ask where you got it from? Was looking at ones on ebay before. Did it come with the surround or did you put it around the existing one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

One heatshield placed on the good balljoint. No pics as was dark and worked quite fast...

New balljoint on Sat, pics then :)

8k and ruined already:(

HJL wrote: »
    Can I ask where you got it from? Was looking at ones on ebay before. Did it come with the surround or did you put it around the existing one?

Ebay, have had them sitting on my desk for months. Didn't come with a surround, had to use the old one. Tbh, that's why it took me so long, I was worried it'd be ****e, and in using the old surround it means you have to take off the old one so there's no going back. But it was grand. Piece of cake really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

Cheers, must make a purchase myself. Mine isnt too tatty, considering its age, and VW and Opel ones really dont age well. But there is two small holes in it that i dont like. Does the new one look blend in ok with the handbrake gaiter? Im guessing you went for leather, im not sure but i think my original is vinyl and only the gearknob and steering wheel is leather.

HJL wrote: »
    Cheers, must make a purchase myself. Mine isnt too tatty, considering its age, and VW and Opel ones really dont age well. But there is two small holes in it that i dont like. Does the new one look blend in ok with the handbrake gaiter? Im guessing you went for leather, im not sure but i think my original is vinyl and only the gearknob and steering wheel is leather.

I actually got one for the handbrake too! Didn't do that one...not too sure why actually:pac:

I'll pop up a picture tomorrow some time to show you.

I finally got her cleaned :)

OhroZh.jpg

Fitted the new 13 SMD LED's at the reg plate with the load-resistors - they need to be soldered on soon to fit perfect but slightly loose it ok for now...

maZalh.jpg

Also fitted my Yatour SD / MP3 Adapter - sweet music! Initially, I used a standard Aux-In from here (with the yellow connector block, 2 x 3 rows) for my music but it sucked because I had no charger for my phone, no change song function or independant volume control so I swapped and it's well worth it.

No real instructions required other than remove the HU, add connector block to CD Changer section (as in picture) and connect the two outgoing GND connections (male and female) into each other or to the chassis / metal casing (into each other is the easy option). If you don't do this, you will get lots of interference. Initially I could only access "CD Changer" from the steering wheel source button but now it works fine from the Aux button (switches between the two). Happy out!

Results:

hUqQa.jpg

Rg3TVh.jpg

Coming soon - current gen red Fiat badges for front and back (just debadging "Punto") and fog lights. Got my LED strips for the footwells and boot too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Compton wrote: »

I have a CF badge on the steering wheel (which goes with the carbon insert) but don't think I'd ever put them on the outside of the car, think they look a little naff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Today I went for a walk and decided to check the text message for my nct to see what time it was tomorrow, turns out it was today, and half an hour ago.

So flew in, 90 mins late, tester was totally sound about it,

imagehtco.jpg

Failed on rear tyres, which I knew needed changing, nothing else. Free retest within 30 days.

Delighted.

Debadged :D Hot water + ice scraper on the boot and rear doors and its done, such an improvement (my reg plate decided to be a sun last night as you can see).

IakxG.jpg

No idea how get my front badge out safely to add the new red one (mmmm chrome) so I will leave it for another day with more light, heat and of course... patience!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Thanks to a bit of sunny weather today got a few bits sorted.

Found the mysterious slow coolant leak I had. The bleed screw for the heater matrix. Sneaky leak. Re-concentrated the coolant as I'd added a litre of water to it in the last month. G13 now. Couldn't get g12 anywhere. I think it been phased out. 30 quid for a new bit of hose off the main dealer so I sealed it up until the next coolant change.

img2104ws.jpg

Fitted a set of osram night breakers. Some difference. I can actually see my lights on the ground driving around the city now.

Adjusted the pump timing again... Hopefully it's 'dead on' now.

Front discs and pads are next on the list. Probably be christmas holidays when I get around to them.

img2093st.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

put wheels with winter tires on wifes car, got lidl screen wash concentrate (5 liters), in pure conditions it wouldn't freeze up to -60 dergrese Celsius , i mixed 50/50 with water, just to be sure it wont freeze up up to - 30 :pac: , other half mixed poured in to mine car ... in case some frosts comes up :) ill be able wash screen if it comes dirty :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Got my tyres and nct cert today

2015 seems so far away

OSI wrote: »
    Finally fitted the steering wheel controls :D

10 minute job in the end, and no coding required. Would have been 5 minutes only I was somewhat wary of the airbag exploding in my face.

344s9i9.jpg
    Nice one man, are they not standard on the Golf or are they an upgrade? Got a before picture too? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

No, for some stupid reason they're not. It makes even less sense on the GTI with DSG, as the controller, slip ring and coding are all there already, all that's missing are the buttons that probably cost VW about $2. I'll grab a better picture this morning if I can.

Similar to the ST and it's features like Heated Windscreen, heated Seats etc... All wiring is there and it doesn't even need activating, it only needs to be connected for it all to work. The funniest one are the footwell lights though, the connectors are there and ready to go, yet Ford decided not to put two 10c bulbs in either of them so you have to do it yourself. :p

No, for some stupid reason they're not. It makes even less sense on the GTI with DSG, as the controller, slip ring and coding are all there already, all that's missing are the buttons that probably cost VW about $2. I'll grab a better picture this morning if I can.
    Man that's very odd - even my Punto has them included and it's a standard model. They look the business and I'm delighted they synced up nicely :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭rocky

dar83 wrote: »
    Similar to the ST and it's features like Heated Windscreen, heated Seats etc... All wiring is there and it doesn't even need activating, it only needs to be connected for it all to work. The funniest one are the footwell lights though, the connectors are there and ready to go, yet Ford decided not to put two 10c bulbs in either of them so you have to do it yourself. :p

All STs have heated seats, only not activated??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

rocky wrote: »
    All STs have heated seats, only not activated??

No, but the wiring is in place for them. :P

Only the leather seats have the heating elements in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭BillJ

Today I changed a bulb behind the centre console, one of them had blown and couldn't see the heater dial at night.

Center out with one bulb working:
    ZiSzf.png?1

Center out with two bulbs working: :pac:
    kk3EW.png?1

All back together (too bright to see it working):
    dCViZ.png?1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Well, while the CMax was out of action with a leaking fuel line that cost me nearly a grand in materials and several mechanics scratching their heads and charging me by the hour, I had to get myself around in this, a 2002 1.4 petrol Polo.
    Jobs done on the Polo to date:

Fixed faulty wiper switch that caused wipers to run constantly, fixed faulty wiring to speakers so it now has Super HiFi Stereo again, fixed loose brake light switch, replaced faulty spark plug leads, did a mini service and rubbed away at the peeling lacquer and polished it.
    It'll never win any beauty contests, but underneath it's a straight car wit no rust, 125k miles and a full VW service history: (when i saw it, I nearly choked! FSH in Ireland! I will copy it and frame it and maybe exhibit it in the local museum)
    231861.jpg

And yes, if you look closely, it currently has no wipers, it will need one new bit of linkage.
    That, and a new clock spring for the airbag should see it ready for the NCT.