Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,134 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Chris Hughton ? Very shrewd by all accounts. Getting great reviews at the moment and has his team playing lovely football. What would he do with our money?

Have to say I like Mourinho and Guardiola too.

A former spud managing the Arsenal. Feck Off!!!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Quazzie wrote: »

That would drive the Spuds mad :D
    Remember they're reaction when Sol came :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Laudrup would be my choice.
    Martinez would be good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Wenger denies that Bould had a go at the team last Saturday.
    A very weak team, not even 2nd string, for Olympiacos tomorrow night.
    Maybe he is getting worried and has decided that as we are through anyway that he will keep the senior players at home in preparation for a climb up the league table. Hope so because our position at present makes bad reading but it can be fixed --

Arsenal after 15 games under Arsene Wenger
    2012-13 - 10th
    2011-12 - 4th
    2010-11 - 2nd
    2009-10 - 3rd
    2008-09 - 4th
    2007-08 - 1st
    2006-07 - 3rd
    2005-06 - 6th
    2004-05 - 2nd
    2003-04 - 2nd
    2002-03 - 1st
    2001-02 - 2nd
    2000-01 - 2nd
    1999-00 - 2nd
    1998-99 - 4th
    1997-98 - 3rd
    1996-97 - 1st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Don't see why people are freaking out over Wenger resting players/trying out youngsters and fringe players tomorrow. Montpellier are highly unlikely to cause an upset against Schalke. Literally, Montpellier have nothing to play for. They can't even make the Europa league. Should be a walk over for Schalke.
    Since most of the first team are playing crap anyway this gives the frnge players a chance to impress. Hopefully a couple of them can use this as a platform to break the first team.
    Personally, I think that is a huge problem with our set up. Too many first teamers are getting complacent about their spot in the side and not putting in enough effort as they are unlikely to be dropped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

Chris Hughton ? Very shrewd by all accounts. Getting great reviews at the moment and has his team playing lovely football. What would he do with our money?

Have to say I like Mourinho and Guardiola too.

I honestly won't fancy replacing Wenger with Hughton tbh, Chris has done well this season with Norwich but it is quite different handling a team like Arsenal.

I agree with folks that say we basically have no choice but to let Arsene stay till the end of the season, it will be suicidal for us to sack him mid-season- will only result to one messy implosion. However, I think it is time to start an open discussion about the future of the club beyond Wenger.

I would personally favour a manager that is passionate about the club- the likes of Pep or Mourinho are bound to be monetarily inclined imo.

I would go for an ex-Arsenal player that has played under Arsene and wont take shiite from the Board e.g Berkamp or if we can get Vierra from Man city... They wont be too expensive and will take the job very personal and gain the respect of the players- thats what I think we need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

I think the worrying thing about about the management is that we had these problems last year - only ~15/16 players the manager trusted to use and inevitably using them the whole time wears them out. We need a squad of circa 20 players who are capable of coming in and doing a job. The fact that an already glaring problem a year ago hasn't been sorted in the interim is disturbing. Hence we have the likes of Chamakh and Arshavin who the manager has clearly lost any trust in. I think arseblog made the point that the likes of Michu for £2m is the type of player we'd have gone for in years gone by. Even our youth team Eisfeld and Gnabry apart doesn't bode well.

Quazzie wrote: »

I dont Chris would make such a move. That said i like Chris myself as he seems a real gent. He is probably the only affable one ever came from that lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

I support Arsenal F.C.
    I am not sure if sacking Wenger would be good or bad for the club BUT I would like to see him get the finger out and improve training, spirit, pride and effort.
    After his first 5/6 years at the club he seems to have become more interested in the business side of the game than the football side.

He can do better than he is doing now for sure and needs a reality check. We are the same number of points from the bottom as we are from the top and that's simply not good enough for Arsenal.

Things cannot be allowed to continue as they are or last Saturdays march to the stadium and subsequent booing after yet another s*** performance from overpaid players will not be the last. Making excuses about the team being tired as it was their 3rd game in a week was childish and unprofessional too. Swansea had also played 3 games in a week too and with a smaller panel.

Get the finger out Arsene and do you're job.
    well thats my point really. if he is not doing his job then why keep him?

I'd stop watching football til he left if Mourinho became Arsenal manager.

why? have u see how we play currently? its like watching paint dry. we are the most boring team in the League atm.

Unless u like to see a team pass the ball 100 times backwards and sideways at 5mph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

If only we had a striker who could do this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭TheGunns

Oranage2 wrote: »
    If only we had a striker who could do this!

someone better get him back from there now! I think hes only there cos of work permit issues anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Loads of rumours of wenger to PSG in a directors role

Also big night for Meade tonight he might be te cover we need at lb, like him as a player hopefully he can make the step up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

I don't think he's done much else apart from that goal for Betis so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Squillaci probable starting tonight. Now that's an early Christmas present for Olympiacos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

We might get lucky since Olympiakos have nought to play for they may rest all their good players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

I fancy Montpellier to beat Schalke tonight, unfortunately for us I cant see us getting a win out in Greece and that would be even with our first team out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭farna_boy

It was mentioned a few pages back, but is there any real benefit to Henry coming back for two months? I really don't think so.

To me it screams of Wenger trying to get some fans back on his side and just trying to appease the naysayers. Some people mentioned that it is comparable to Scholes coming back from retirement for United, but that comparison really isn't justified. The big difference and problem with that comparison is that Scholes actually came back for good. If Henry came back for good I would be delighted but like I said it seems to have more to do with appeasing the fans than anything else.

By bringing Henry back, it only seems to paper up the cracks to an extent but more importantly stops people asking the hard questions that need to be asked.

farna_boy wrote: »
    It was mentioned a few pages back, but is there any real benefit to Henry coming back for two months? I really don't think so.

To me it screams of Wenger trying to get some fans back on his side and just trying to appease the naysayers. Some people mentioned that it is comparable to Scholes coming back from retirement for United, but that comparison really isn't justified. The big difference and problem with that comparison is that Scholes actually came back for good. If Henry came back for good I would be delighted but like I said it seems to have more to do with appeasing the fans than anything else.

By bringing Henry back, it only seems to paper up the cracks to an extent but more importantly stops people asking the hard questions that need to be asked.

If Henry and lampard are signed and maybe another cheap player then I reckon wenger is gone in the summer and he is leaving the transfer kitty there for his replacement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Least Henry would encourage the players to not produce the crap they've been giving us on the pitch lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I have to say, there's a lot of over-reaction and lunacy around here this weather.

Whatever people think of Wenger, anyone who harbours a notion of replacing him with Chris Hughton should seriously have a word with themselves.

Having looked at our next 6 fixtures we may all be singing from a different hymn sheet come New Years, that said I'd nearly prefer to be in a bit of a dogfight at that stage as at least 3 1st team quality signings are required for the reasons mentioned above by Galvasean.

Wenger doesn't have faith in existing replacements, and guaranteed spots on the team sheet isn't doing Podolski, Vermaelen, Arteta or even Cazorla any good at all. It breeds complacency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭farna_boy

2ndcoming wrote: »
    I have to say, there's a lot of over-reaction and lunacy around here this weather.

Whatever people think of Wenger, anyone who harbours a notion of replacing him with Chris Hughton should seriously have a word with themselves.

Having looked at our next 6 fixtures we may all be singing from a different hymn sheet come New Years, that said I'd nearly prefer to be in a bit of a dogfight at that stage as at least 3 1st team quality signings are required for the reasons mentioned above by Galvasean.

Wenger doesn't have faith in existing replacements, and guaranteed spots on the team sheet isn't doing Podolski, Vermaelen, Arteta or even Cazorla any good at all. It breeds complacency.

I agree with a lot that you are saying. There probably is a lot of complacency in the squad at the moment and there should be competition for places. As strange as it sounds, I really think we could do with having the likes of Chamakh and Arshavin on the bench so we could change things around if/when things start going against us. But as has been mentioned we don't seem to have a real plan B when things do go against us.

Although I have criticised Wenger in my last few posts, I still believe it would be lunacy to replace him before the end of the season. We are going through a bad patch now but we might well be able to recover and still do well in the league.

Also, if we ACTUALLY have money for transfers next year I would like to see what Wenger could do with it. This has been his baby for a long time now and it would be a shame if he didn't get to reap the rewards.

It would be very easy for the likes of Mourinho / Pep to come in and have millions to spend and take all the credit for a new team that would essentially have been built by Wenger's frugality and good decision making and I would prefer if Wenger could have the benefits himself.

However, if we don't do well, we have to be able to decide what is the breaking point, at what point in this great plan so we give up and try someone a different method to reach our goals.

Maybe what we should start talking about now is what is this breaking point that most of the fans can reach a consensus about?

What is the point where we thank Wenger for all he has done, but start looking for someone to replace him? Not qualifying for Champions League next year? The year after? When we don't qualify for Europe? When?

(I don't think any of these points are immenient, I still have faith he can turn this bad patch around, but would any of these cause a consensus for Wenger to go?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

I thought the same on Friday thinking that the next 7 fistures could be a 21 pointer, Saturdays loss was awful and was a further sign of how bad things are, this season in the Premier league has been a disgrace not results but performance.

Where is this Lampard talk coming from, that has to be a complete non runner?

I just hope that we're all mature enough to realise that if the team lose tonight, it's not the end of the world. It's providing a great experience for our young players and we're already qualified.

There was absolutely no sense in sending out a strong first team for this game, considering how badly we're doing in the league. Send out the fringe players to give the boss a selection headache.

...Then again, this is the internet :pac:

Agree with much of that.
    On the Hughton thing we won't know for awhile.
    Like who heard of Wenger before he came here from Grampus 8 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Phoenix wrote: »
    Any of ye hear the rumour you were goin in for Demba Ba?

Hope it's lies cause surely his knee would explode once he stepped onto our training pitch

I'm not too worried about the result tonight but more the performance, hoping to see a few of the fringe players hopefully put in a performance that gives the manager food for thought

And also keeping an eye in Meade he could really benefit if he puts in a shift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Agree with much of that.
    On the Hughton thing we won't know for awhile.
    Like who heard of Wenger before he came here from Grampus 8 ?

Wenger was successful enough with Monaco - winning the league & a couple of 2nd & 3rd place finishes. won the french cup, runner up also, runners up in the UEFA cup winners cup, semi finals of the CL

If that was today (more internet access, etc.) you'd definitely know him & people probably even knew him back then, it's just that headline gets remembered + foreign managers weren't as big a thing in the PL as now

Mate who is that kid behind shezney in the tunnel just now? cant be part of the squad! literely looks like a 10 year old!