Garda checkpoints for cyclists?

• 02-12-2012 09:11PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭

Not sure of the veracity of this, but the Bike Hub today published the following update on their Facebook page........

" Just so you know....An Garda Siochana will now hold checkpoints for bicycles. They were spotted last week in the Bicycle Lane opposite Fosters Avenue last week checking tyres, helmets, lights and safety equipment. There are so many bikes on the street now it was bound to happen. Make sure you and your bike are safe and well lit up this Winter!"

Interesting if they do it..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

I don't mind, if they do it. I am well equipped, and know from Germany, that lights, helmets and stuff are compulsory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Lars1916 wrote: »
    I don't mind, if they do it. I am well equipped, and know from Germany, that lights, helmets and stuff are compulsory

When in Ireland feel free to forgo the helmets and stuff. They're not compulsory.
    The bolshy one at the checkpoint is me.

When in Ireland feel free to forgo the helmets and stuff. They're not compulsory.
    The bolshy one at the checkpoint is me.

Safety equipment should be compulsory everywhere imo.

For example lights, many (inexperienced or careless) cyclists easily forget, that it's more important to be seen, rather than to see.

Safety equipment should be compulsory everywhere imo.

For example lights, many (inexperienced or careless) cyclists easily forget, that it's more important to be seen, rather than to see.

Lights already are compulsory. What more do you want? You want to tell me how to live? Force me to wear a helmet? A big-bird jacket perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Jawgap wrote: »
    Not sure of the veracity of this, but the Bike Hub today published the following update on their Facebook page........

" Just so you know....An Garda Siochana will now hold checkpoints for bicycles. They were spotted last week in the Bicycle Lane opposite Fosters Avenue last week checking tyres, helmets, lights and safety equipment. There are so many bikes on the street now it was bound to happen. Make sure you and your bike are safe and well lit up this Winter!"

Interesting if they do it..........

Fantastic News!

The amount of cyclists I've seen out there with no lights on their bikes and wearing dark-clothing is something shockin'. The weather is so bad and their just is not that much 'day-light' these days but people are still taking un-necessary risks by not being visible on their bikes.

Well done to An Garda Síochána on this! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭luapenak

Jawgap wrote: »

" Just so you know....An Garda Siochana will now hold checkpoints for bicycles. They were spotted last week in the Bicycle Lane opposite Fosters Avenue last week checking tyres, helmets, lights and safety equipment.

Checking tyres for what, thread depth? As for helmets, didn't think they were compulsory. Are they just stopping cyclists and advising them to wear helmets? Does anybody know what they refer to as safety equipment? Am I likely to get pulled for being brakeless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭ciara1052

If you do get stopped - what would you need to have apart from lights?

EDIT: I was stopped last year on nasseau street but i was just told that I should have a helmet and that I needed to be more visible. I already had lights and a reflective jacket though. This is probably something similar.

kerry4sam wrote: »

Fantastic News!

This is a 'story' posted by a shop that sells exactly the type of equipment being advocated. Save your congrats until it's on garda.ie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭CptMackey

I'm all for lights when it's dark or dusk. But apart from that leave me alone. I'll wear a helmet when I feel like it. As for reflective gear .... No thanks

This is a 'story' posted by a shop that sells exactly the type of equipment being advocated. Save your congrats until it's on garda.ie?

Once it is out there it is out there. I've seen checks being done with cyclists in the mid-lands but never down my way. If their is hope of it being spread nation-wide, then I say Well Done! About time!

Their is no harm what so ever in getting statements like this being out there, regardless of where it originates. It needs to be done and hopefully will gather momentum too. Checks need to be done everywhere and cyclists need to be more vigilant on their safety measures from what I have seen down my way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Fantastic News!

The amount of cyclists I've seen out there with no lights on their bikes and wearing dark-clothing is something shockin'. The weather is so bad and their just is not that much 'day-light' these days but people are still taking un-necessary risks by not being visible on their bikes.

I think you'll find, if it exists at all, that it's an 'advisory' type deal....they'll pull people over and suggest that there might be better ways to be going about things....I doubt very much they'll be dishing out fines

Just on a personal note...I was knocked off the bike a few times (different reasons for that, such as kids trying to push me off the bike), and I was glad, I had the helmet.

Maybe, some people don't like wearing them, but always remember, you can be lucky in 99 cases, and then comes No100...that's how I learnt to wear a helmet.

steve9859 wrote: »
    I think you'll find, if it exists at all, that it's an 'advisory' type deal....they'll pull people over and suggest that there might be better ways to be going about things....I doubt very much they'll be dishing out fines

And where is the harm if it is only advisory? Some cyclists need, they actually need a talking to about safety measures, or their own lack of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭CptMackey

And where is the harm if it is only advisory? Some cyclists need, they actually need a talking to about safety measures, or their own lack of!

They will only drive people bonkers. If I got a lecture off a Garda about lights etc during the day I'll throw my eyes to heaven and carry on. Too much nanny state going on.

Once it is out there it is out there. I've seen checks being done with cyclists in the mid-lands but never down my way. If their is hope of it being spread nation-wide, then I say Well Done! About time!

Their is no harm what so ever in getting statements like this being out there, regardless of where it originates. It needs to be done and hopefully will gather momentum too. Checks need to be done everywhere and cyclists need to be more vigilant on their safety measures from what I have seen down my way.

Absolute nonsense. The law is there for lights and lack of them is easily detected. You're advocating going beyond that and enforcing a point of view which has no legal backing.
    I'd rather see the laws we already have being enforced. The streets are full of ninjas, salmon, RLJs and footpad cyclists. How about a crackdown on them? No, some would rather nanny the law-abiding.
    Juvenile nonsense.

CptMackey wrote: »
    They will only drive people bonkers. If I got a lecture off a Garda about lights etc during the day I'll throw my eyes to heaven and carry on. Too much nanny state going on.

& you won't be alone in that either. Not everyone will react that way though.

If the message gets through to even a fraction that need to hear it, then maybe, just maybe, it might make more people think more about the safety of everyone when they take to their bicycles with little to no safety measures.

Absolute nonsense. The law is there for lights and lack of them is easily detected. You're advocating going beyond that and enforcing a point of view which has no legal backing.
    I'd rather see the laws we already have being enforced. The streets are full of ninjas, salmon, RLJs and footpad cyclists. How about a crackdown on them? No, some would rather nanny the law-abiding.
    Juvenile nonsense.

In your opinion, and I can see exactly where you are coming from.

Some people need to be made more aware of all safety measures available though for when taking to their bicycles. Not every cyclist does btw, but some do.

If a friendly word saying such is done, and will be done nation-wide, even sporadically, then it gets my backing. It might just reach people who need to hear it.

Their is very little being done in the way of promoting safe cycling, imo, and this could well be a start of something, or nothing! Either way, I hope this is done and I say Well Done to those members who are. They have my support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭jetsonx

About time something was done about this scourge of these "ghost cyclists"
    that are on Irish roads.

As a motorist, I am fed of having to put my headlights on high beam in case
    any of these shadowy figures are attempting to cross my path.

As a cyclist who clocks up a lot of yearly kms, if my bike has no lights - the journey get canceled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

A garda stopped me one time no idea why ,i think he was just a bit pissed at the job, anyway he said theres not a lot of thread on those tires , no i said as a matter of fact theres none, well then you should not be on the road, i told him there were slicks.:D:D
    an hour later he told me to be on my way and get better tires.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

He kept you for an hour?

Big knobbly ones are best, as everyone knows...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Limestone1

Juvenile nonsense.

Salmon ?

Limestone1 wrote: »

Salmon ?

Swims against the flow.

Edit: He's the one that appears out of nowhere going against the flow of traffic. Advanced salmon will use a one-way cycle lane against the flow. Usually has ninja status as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

ThisRegard wrote: »
    He kept you for an hour?
    well near enough but only because i changed the subject and we had a great laugh,i told him he was too good looking and young to be a cop and had he ever tried scuba diving.
    yeah drove the poor fecker up the walls .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,049 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Helmets are not compulsory in Germany either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,049 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

A garda stopped me one time no idea why ,i think he was just a bit pissed at the job, anyway he said theres not a lot of thread on those tires
    A lot of people don't seem to know that bikes don't aquaplane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

I'd just like to know, can we be done for speeding? :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,740 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Their is very little being done in the way of promoting safe cycling, imo, and this could well be a start of something, or nothing!

there's little being done because there's little need. cycling is not dangerous, you don't need a hundred million stupid rules and you don't need to waste everyones timing trying to enforce them.
    By all means stop and fine people without lights but advising people to wear helmets or high vis or anything else is just nonsense and a complete waste of AGS and cyclists time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

Fantastic News!

yea and stop cycleing thru red lights.f.f.s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Maudi wrote: »
    yea and stop cycleing thru red lights.f.f.s

oh please dont start this again..